Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US5742370) hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches:
A process comprising:
applying a liquid or molten polymer on a substrate to form a thin polymer film (col 3, ln 51-ln 60);
laser heating and then solidifying the thin polymer film to effect directional crystallization so that the thin polymer film has highly directional properties as a result of a generated directional morphology (col 3, ln 61-67; col 4, ln 12-27).
Kim does not teach optionally at least partially embedding nanostructures into the thin polymer film. However, this limitation is optional and therefore not required.
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the method of claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein the solidified polymer film is a multifunctional polymer film (col 4, ln 50-56).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the method of claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein the thin polymer film is solid before the laser heating step (col 3, ln 22-39).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the method of claim 1.
Kim further teaches subjecting the thin polymer film to a magnetic field during the laser heating step (col 3, ln 61-67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gandhi (US2008/0128397).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the method of claim 1.
Kim does not teach wherein the process is performed with a roll-to-roll machine.
Kim teaches that the film is suitable for LCDs (col 1, ln 16-31).
In the same field of endeavor regarding polymer films, Zhong teaches forming an LCD using a roll-to-roll machine for the motivation of reducing capital equipment and part costs, while significantly increasing throughput ([0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process as taught by Kim to use a roll-to-roll process in order to reduce capital equipment and part costs, while significantly increasing throughput.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the method of claim 6.
Kim does not teach wherein the laser heating step comprises projecting at least one laser beam at a center of the magnetic field on the thin polymer film.
The remaining prior art of record does not teach or suggest wherein the laser heating step comprises projecting at least one laser beam at a center of the magnetic field on the thin polymer film in combination with the remainder of the claimed subject matter.
Since the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest each and every limitation of the claim, the claim is indicated for allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER A WANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/VIRAK NGUON/ Examiner, Art Unit 1741