DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1, 7, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koss et al. (2022/0159365) in view of Bewley (2013/0216078) and JP 4410929.
As to claim 1, Koss teaches a headphone device comprising: a headband (Fig. 1C, headband 19); a first headphone unit connected to a first portion of the headband (Figs. 1A-1C and [0020] – the two left and right earphones 10 connect to headband 19); and a second headphone unit connected to a second portion of the headband (Figs. 1A-1C and [0020] – the two left and right earphones 10 connect to headband 19) and electrically connected to the first head phone unit through the headband ([0020] - each earphone 10 comprises a transceiver circuit; hence, each earphone 10 may receive and transmit separately the wireless communication signals. In other embodiments comprising a headband 19, only one earphone 10 may comprise the transceiver circuit, and a wire may run along the headband 19 to the other earphone 10 to connect thereby the transceiver circuit to the acoustic transducer in the earphone that does not comprise the transceiver circuit). Koss does not teach the first headphone unit and the second headphone unit comprises an interface to connect to a second interface capable of wireless communication with a user terminal; a low voltage differential signaling (LVDS) conversion circuit to receive, via the interface, and LVDS signal based on first data from the earphone unit, and convert the received LVDS signal into the first data; a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) configured to convert audio data comprised in the first data into an analog signal; and a speaker configured to output sound based on the analog signal.
Bewley teaches earphone comprises ear interface components include transducers that transduce electrical signals received from wires 230 which in-turn receive the electrical signals from input jack 240 which is configured to connect to, for example, a portable electronic device ([0041]); an acoustic coupler is a removably attachable component to the BTE device or to the earphone ear interface ([0088]); an acoustic coupler 1300 that enables side mounting of an earphone ear interface (Fig. 13A and [0083]).
JP 4410929 teaches a voltage level conversion circuit, and the like when the input digital video signal is a differential multiplexed signal such as LVDS (Low Voltage Differential Signaling) ([0030]); an audio signal related to an image displayed in the maximum screen window is reproduced by the main speaker 109a and an audio signal related to an image displayed in the sub screen window is reproduced by the headphones 109b and the audio output from the audio control unit 108 is converted from digital to analog by the DAC 134 ([0029]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Bewley and JP 4410929 into the teachings of Koss for the purpose of attaching the earphone ear interface component to the device to establish an acoustic seal; having a voltage level conversion circuit when the input digital video signal is a differential multiplexed signal such as Low Voltage Differential Signaling and outputting audio from the audio control unit 108 is converted from digital to analog by the DAC.
As to claim 7, Koss teaches the headphone device of claim 1, wherein the first headphone unit and the second headphone unit further comprise at least one headphone battery ([0031] - The power source 102 may comprise, for example, a rechargeable or non-rechargeable battery (or batteries). In other embodiments, the power source 102 may comprise one or more ultracapacitors (sometimes referred to as supercapacitors) that are charged by a primary power source. In embodiments where the power source 102 comprises a rechargeable battery cell or an ultracapacitor, the battery cell or ultracapacitor, as the case may be, may be charged for use, for example, when the earphone 10 is connected to a docking station or computer) and wherein the first headphone unit and the second headphone unit are respectively configured to connect to the earphone unit via the interface (Bewley teaches earphone comprises ear interface components include transducers that transduce electrical signals received from wires 230 which in-turn receive the electrical signals from input jack 240 which is configured to connect to, for example, a portable electronic device ([0041]); an acoustic coupler is a removably attachable component to the BTE device or to the earphone ear interface ([0088]); an acoustic coupler 1300 that enables side mounting of an earphone ear interface (Fig. 13A and [0083]) and charge a battery of the earphone unit using the at least one headphone battery (claims 71 and 104).
As to claim 14, Koss teaches wireless earphones comprising: a first headphone unit connected to a first portion of the headband (Fig. 1C, headband 19) of a headphone device (Figs. 1A-1C and [0020] – the two left and right earphones 10 connect to headband 19); and a second headphone unit connected to a second portion of the headband (Figs. 1A-1C and [0020] – the two left and right earphones 10 connect to headband 19) and electrically connected to the first head phone unit ([0020] - each earphone 10 may comprise a transceiver circuit; hence, each earphone 10 receives and transmits separately the wireless communication signals. In other embodiments comprising a headband 19, only one earphone 10 comprises the transceiver circuit, and a wire runs along the headband 19 to the other earphone 10 to connect thereby the transceiver circuit to the acoustic transducer in the earphone that does not comprise the transceiver circuit); wherein the first earphone unit and the second earphone unit comprise: a battery; an antenna configured to wirelessly receive second data from a user terminal; a processor to generate first data based on the second data received from the user terminal (claims 71 and 104). Koss does not teach an interface to connect to the headphone unit of the headphone device; a low voltage differential signaling (LVDS) conversion circuit to convert the first data into an LVDS signal via the interface, and transmit the converted LVDS signal to the headphone unit of the headphone device.
Bewley teaches earphone comprises ear interface components include transducers that transduce electrical signals received from wires 230 which in-turn receive the electrical signals from input jack 240 which is configured to connect to, for example, a portable electronic device ([0041]); an acoustic coupler is a removably attachable component to the BTE device or to the earphone ear interface ([0088]); an acoustic coupler 1300 that enables side mounting of an earphone ear interface (Fig. 13A and [0083]).
JP 4410929 teaches a voltage level conversion circuit, and the like if the input digital video signal is a differential multiplexed signal such as LVDS (Low Voltage Differential Signaling) ([0030].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Bewley and JP 4410929 into the teachings of Koss for the purpose of attaching the earphone ear interface component to the device to establish an acoustic seal and having a voltage level conversion circuit when the input digital video signal is a differential multiplexed signal such as Low Voltage Differential Signaling.
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
3. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koss, Bewley and JP 4410929 in view of Osaka (2009/0167545).
As to claim 2, Bewley teaches the headphone device of claim 1, wherein earphone comprises ear interface components include transducers that transduce electrical signals received from wires 230 which in-turn receive the electrical signals from input jack 240 ([0041]). Koss, Bewley and JP 4410929 do not explicitly discuss an earphone cover part to cover and support the earphone unit in a state in which the earphone unit coupling portion is coupled to the earphone unit via the interface.
Osaka teaches a state where an earphone cap 16 covers an earphone interface unit30 (Fig. 3 and [0012, 0035]); detection of the open/closed state of the earphone cap 16, which covers the earphone interface unit 30 to which the earphone is connected, and the cap 17, which covers the interface unit 31 for communicating with the external device ([0071]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Osaka into the teachings of Koss, Bewley and JP 4410929 for the purpose of covering the interface unit 31 for communicating with the external device.
4. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koss, Bewley and JP 4410929 in view of Abreu (2016/0198838).
As to claim 4, Koss, Bewley and JP 4410929 do not explicitly discuss the headphone device of claim 1, wherein the first headphone and the second headphone units comprises a cradle unit coupling portion in which the interface is provided and configured to couple to a cradle unit; and a fastening hook configured to prevent the cradle unit separating from the cradle unit coupling portion.
Abreu teaches support system 10 includes a wearable article 12, an interface portion 14, and cradle 16 ([0098]); cradle 16 is configured to include a housing 42 and a housing cover 44, as shown in FIGS. 2-4 ([0107]); cradle 16 includes a female earbud, earphone, or speaker jack or connector 114, which in the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 5 is positioned in top 106 of housing 42. Cradle 16 further includes a male earbud, earphone, or speaker jack 116, also positioned in top 106 of housing 42 in the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 5 ([0114]); and cradle includes a hook and loop fasten 370, which in the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 26 is positioned longitudinally between magnets 368. Case 364 includes magnets 374 positioned thereon in a dimensional arrangement to mate with magnets 368 positioned on cradle 360. Case 364 further includes a hook and loop fastener 376 positioned to mate with hook and loop fastener 370 when magnets 374 mate with magnets ([0152]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Abreu into the teachings of Koss, Bewley and JP 4410929 for the purpose of securing thereto on an exterior plate and securing lanyard portions and strap to each other.
5. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koss, Bewley and JP 4410929 in view of Dai et al. (2022/0377450).
As to claim 8, Bewley teaches the headphone device of claim 1, wherein earphone comprises ear interface components include transducers that transduce electrical signals received from wires 230 which in-turn receive the electrical signals from input jack 240 which is configured to connect to, for example, a portable electronic device such as a radio, an MP3 player, a tape player, a CD player, etc. ([0041]). Koss, Bewley and JP 4410929 do not explicitly discuss third data obtained by a plurality of sensors comprises in the earphone unit.
Dai teaches a receiving unit 11, configured to receive sensor data from a sensor of the earphones, in particular first data indicating motion of the earphones and second data indicating proximity of the earphones to a user's skin ([0070]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Dai into the teachings of Koss, Bewley and JP 4410929 for the purpose of receiving data obtained from sensors of the earphone.
6. Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koss, Bewley, and JP 4410929 in view of Cui et al. (CN 205992226 U).
As to claim 9, Koss, Bewley, and JP 4410929 do not teach the headphone device of claim 7, wherein the LVDS conversion circuit is configured to receive the LVDS signal from the earphone unit through a bidirectional channel comprising a first line and a second line.
Cui teaches using LVDS differential input port (TX (D5: D0) and an output port (RX [D5 D0]) to transmit data, the transmission level mode as LVDS level, the first receiving channel RX1 and the second receiving channel RX2 is LVDS differential input, a first transmission channel TX1 and second transmission channel TX2 is LVDS differential output. The two transmission modes, can be flexibly configured to meet system demand of data port connection; there are two kinds of working mode, bi-directional (TDD) mode and full duplex (FDD) mode (Example I, 11th paragraph).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Cui into the teachings of Koss, Bewley and JP 4410929 for the purpose of providing the need for flexible, high-speed , and noise resistant communication in complex systems.
As to claim 10, Cui teaches the headphone device of claim 9, wherein the LVDS signal is a differential signal and is transmitted through the first line and the second line (Example I, 11th paragraph - the transmission level mode as LVDS level, the first receiving channel RX1 and the second receiving channel RX2 is LVDS differential input, a first transmission channel TX1 and second transmission channel TX2 is LVDS differential output).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 3, 5, 12-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 6 is objected because they depend on objected claim 5. Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim (claim 1) and any intervening claims (claims 7, 9, and 10).
Conclusion
/QUYNH H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693