DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-12, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright (US 20230026498 A1) in view of Akazawa (US 20020113809 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wright teaches a method of retrieving augmented reality (AR) media data, the method comprising: (Fig. 1)
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) device engaged in an AR session, a scene description for the AR session from a device executing a media function or multimedia resource function (MF/MRF) of a radio access network (RAN) to which the UE device is communicatively coupled, (Fig. 1 and [0035]: The operating environment 100 includes one or more electronic devices 190 (also called “devices”, “client devices”, or “computing devices”; e.g., electronic devices 190-1 through 190-N) that are communicatively connected to an augmented reality server 140 off a messaging service via one or more communication networks 110. In some implementations, the electronic devices 190 are communicatively connected to one or more storage servers 160 that are configured to store and/or serve content 162 to users of the devices 190 (e.g., media content, programs, data, and/or augmented reality programs, or augmented realty content). [0039]: the electronic devices can connect to the communication networks and transmit and receive information thereby via a cellular connection (e.g., RAN). [0005]-[0007]: a user to send AR video content to a recipient who can view the content in augmented reality. When a creator of AR content shares his/her content, the content is sent to a cloud based server. In some implementations, a notification is delivered to a recipient. In some implementations, when a receiver accepts the notification, an application is launched.)
the scene description including data representing a virtual scene; (Fig. 4B. [0006]: an application launches a recipient's camera where he/she views a room the recipient is in and a sender's avatar (situated in the room) speaks to the recipient. In some implementations, a recipient can interact with the sender's avatar in the room (e.g. virtual scene).)
the scene description further including data representing how to access avatar data for one or more participants in the AR session; ([0010]-[0015]: upon detecting that a second user is proximate to the first specific location, the method includes sending operational information (e.g., how to access avatar data) for the first avatar to a second device (a UE), wherein the operational information is configured when executed on the second device to enable first interactions of the second user with the first avatar, including causing the first avatar to perform the first virtual action.)
the data representing how to access the avatar data being separate from the data representing a virtual scene; (Fig. 4B. [0006]. [0010]-[0015])
retrieving, by the UE device, the avatar data according to the scene description; and (Fig. 1. [0010]: In accordance with a determination that the second location is proximate to the first location, the method includes obtaining a first image of the physical environment at the first location, creating an overlay image by overlaying a second image of the avatar onto the first image (e.g., in a manner consistent with an orientation of the second user). [0042]: one or more storage server(s) 160 are disposed in the operating environment 100 to provide, to one or more users 102, messaging, AR-related content, and/or other information. For example, in some implementations, storage servers 160 store avatars and location information for the avatars associated with the one or more users 102.)
presenting, by the UE device, the avatar data to a user of the UE device during the AR session. ([0010]: causing the overlay image to be displayed on an electronic device used by the second user. [0015]: the operational information is configured when executed on the second device to enable first interactions of the second user with the first avatar, including causing the first avatar to perform the first virtual action.)
Wright does not explicitly disclose the data for the virtual scene including data indicating positions within the virtual scene of one or more virtual objects and one or more avatars for one or more participants in the AR session.
However, Akazawa teaches the data for the virtual scene including data indicating positions within the virtual scene of one or more virtual objects and one or more avatars for one or more participants in the AR session. ([0026]-[0028]: In the virtual worlds 20 and 30, the arrangement or positions of different objects are predefined in a known form by respective sets of Cartesian, directional orientation and angular coordinates (x, y, z, ox, oy, oz, rd) in the three-dimensional space. An avatar 26 of the user appears in the virtual worlds 20 and 30. A position, i.e. a location and a posture, and behavior of the avatar 26 in the virtual worlds 20 and 30 at each time can be also described similarly in a known form by a set of Cartesian, directional orientation and angular coordinates (x, y, z, ox, oy, oz, rd). A subset (x, y, z) of the set of coordinates represents Cartesian coordinates of a location of the avatar 26 in the three-dimensional space.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wright to include above limitations. One would have been motivated to do so because it is well-known in the art that a virtual world/scene is built by arrangement or positions of different objects, including avatar of user(s), by respective sets of Cartesian, directional orientation and angular coordinates (x, y, z, ox, oy, oz, rd) in the three-dimensional space. As taught by Akazawa, [0026]-[0028].
Regarding claim 2, Wright and Akazawa teach the method of claim 1.
Wright teaches wherein the data indicating how to access the avatar data comprises data representing a network location of a digital asset repository (DAR) device storing the avatar data. ([0010]: In accordance with a determination that the second location is proximate to the first location, the method includes obtaining a first image of the physical environment at the first location, creating an overlay image by overlaying a second image of the avatar onto the first image. Fig. 1 and [0042]: one or more storage server(s) 160 are disposed in the operating environment 100 to provide, to one or more users 102, messaging, AR-related content, and/or other information. For example, in some implementations, storage servers 160 store avatars and location information for the avatars associated with the one or more users 102.)
Regarding claim 3, Wright and Akazawa teach the method of claim 1.
Wright teaches obtaining user avatar data for the user of the UE device; and uploading the user avatar data for the user to the DAR device. ([0090]: receiving (648) a user input from the first user corresponding to one or more animated, emotional, and/or interactive 3D representation of the first user, and generating (650) the avatar of the first user based on the user input. In some implementations, the method further includes uploading (652) the avatar to a computer distinct from the first electronic device. Fig. 1 and [0042]: storage servers 160 store avatars and location information for the avatars associated with the one or more users 102.)
Regarding claim 5, Wright and Akazawa teach the method of claim 1.
Wright teaches wherein retrieving the avatar data comprises retrieving the avatar data from the DAR device. ([0010]: In accordance with a determination that the second location is proximate to the first location, the method includes obtaining a first image of the physical environment at the first location, creating an overlay image by overlaying a second image of the avatar onto the first image. Fig. 1 and [0042]: one or more storage server(s) 160 are disposed in the operating environment 100 to provide, to one or more users 102, messaging, AR-related content, and/or other information. For example, in some implementations, storage servers 160 store avatars and location information for the avatars associated with the one or more users 102.)
Regarding claim 7, Wright and Akazawa teach the method of claim 1.
Wright teaches wherein retrieving the avatar data comprises receiving a media stream including animated avatar data for one of the participants in the AR session from the device executing the MF/MRF, and wherein presenting the avatar data comprises presenting the media stream. ([0003]: Augmented Reality (AR) provides a view of the real world that is enhanced by digital information and media, such as video, graphics, and GPS overlays. [0011]: receiving a user input from the first user corresponding to one or more animated, emotional, and/or interactive 3D representation of the first user, and generating the avatar of the first user based on the user input. [0084]. [0100]: a second electronic device used by the second user to display the avatar, the first action comprises one of playing an audio or a video file, displaying an animation sequence.)
Regarding claim 8, Wright and Akazawa teach the method of claim 1.
Wright teaches wherein the avatar data comprises participant avatar data for a participant in the AR session different than a user of the UE device, the method further comprising uploading user avatar data for the user of the UE device to a digital avatar repository (DAR). ([0010]-[0011]: receiving a request from a first user to place an avatar of the first user in a first user-specified location in a physical environment. In response to receiving the request from the first user, the method includes obtaining an avatar of the first user, and associating the avatar with a first location in the physical environment (e.g., by using a geo-tagging technique). [0090]: receiving (648) a user input from the first user corresponding to one or more animated, emotional, and/or interactive 3D representation of the first user, and generating (650) the avatar of the first user based on the user input. In some implementations, the method further includes uploading (652) the avatar to a computer distinct from the first electronic device. Fig. 1 and [0042]: storage servers 160 store avatars and location information for the avatars associated with the one or more users 102.)
Regarding claim 9, Wright and Akazawa teach the method of claim 8.
Wright teaches wherein the DAR comprises a first DAR, and wherein retrieving the participant avatar data comprises retrieving the participant avatar data from a second DAR. (Fig. 1 and [0042]: one or more storage server(s) (e.g., first and second DAR) 160 are disposed in the operating environment 100 to provide, to one or more users 102, messaging, AR-related content, and/or other information. For example, in some implementations, storage servers 160 store avatars and location information for the avatars associated with the one or more users 102.)
Same rationales apply to claim 10 (UE device) because they are substantially similar to claim 1 (method).
Same rationales apply to claim 11 (UE device) because they are substantially similar to claim 2 (method).
Same rationales apply to claim 12 (UE device) because they are substantially similar to claim 3 (method).
Same rationales apply to claim 14 (UE device) because they are substantially similar to claim 5 (method).
Same rationales apply to claim 16 (UE device) because they are substantially similar to claim 7 (method).
Same rationales apply to claim 17 (UE device) because they are substantially similar to claim 8 (method).
Regarding claim 18, Wright teaches a method of distributing augmented reality (AR) media data, the method comprising: (Fig. 1)
receiving, by an AR application server (AS) device, data for each of a plurality of participants in an AR session indicating that the participant has an avatar to be presented in a scene corresponding to the AR session; ([0003]-[0004]: Augmented Reality (AR) provides a view of the real world that is enhanced by digital information and media, such as video, graphics, and GPS overlays. The device and/or the server system may be configured to allow users to generate and place personalized avatars in the real world, to interact with the avatars, to message other users using the avatars, and to have the avatars interact amongst themselves. [0014]: supports user interaction with one or more avatars and/or interaction amongst the one or more avatars.)
generating, by the AR AS device, a scene description for the AR session, (Fig. 1. [0005]-[0007]: a user to send AR video content to a recipient who can view the content in augmented reality. When a creator of AR content shares his/her content, the content is sent to a cloud based server. In some implementations, a notification is delivered to a recipient. In some implementations, when a receiver accepts the notification, an application is launched.)
the scene description including data representing a virtual scene; (Fig. 4B. [0006]: an application launches a recipient's camera where he/she views a room the recipient is in and a sender's avatar (situated in the room) speaks to the recipient. In some implementations, a recipient can interact with the sender's avatar in the room (e.g. virtual scene).)
the scene description further including data representing how to access avatar data for one or more participants in the AR session; ([0010]-[0015]: upon detecting that a second user is proximate to the first specific location, the method includes sending operational information (e.g., how to access avatar data) for the first avatar to a second device (a UE), wherein the operational information is configured when executed on the second device to enable first interactions of the second user with the first avatar, including causing the first avatar to perform the first virtual action.)
the data representing how to access the avatar data being separate from the data representing a virtual scene; (Fig. 4B. [0006]. [0010]-[0015])
sending, by the AR AS and to client devices of the plurality of participants, the scene description. ([0010]-[0015]: upon detecting that a second user is proximate to the first specific location, the method includes sending operational information (e.g., scene description) for the first avatar to a second device (a UE), wherein the operational information is configured when executed on the second device to enable first interactions of the second user with the first avatar, including causing the first avatar to perform the first virtual action.)
Wright does not explicitly disclose the data for the virtual scene including data indicating positions within the virtual scene of one or more virtual objects and one or more avatars for one or more participants in the AR session.
However, Akazawa teaches the data for the virtual scene including data indicating positions within the virtual scene of one or more virtual objects and one or more avatars for one or more participants in the AR session. ([0026]-[0028]: In the virtual worlds 20 and 30, the arrangement or positions of different objects are predefined in a known form by respective sets of Cartesian, directional orientation and angular coordinates (x, y, z, ox, oy, oz, rd) in the three-dimensional space. An avatar 26 of the user appears in the virtual worlds 20 and 30. A position, i.e. a location and a posture, and behavior of the avatar 26 in the virtual worlds 20 and 30 at each time can be also described similarly in a known form by a set of Cartesian, directional orientation and angular coordinates (x, y, z, ox, oy, oz, rd). A subset (x, y, z) of the set of coordinates represents Cartesian coordinates of a location of the avatar 26 in the three-dimensional space.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wright to include above limitations. One would have been motivated to do so because it is well-known in the art that a virtual world/scene is built by arrangement or positions of different objects, including avatar of user(s), by respective sets of Cartesian, directional orientation and angular coordinates (x, y, z, ox, oy, oz, rd) in the three-dimensional space. As taught by Akazawa, [0026]-[0028].
Regarding claim 19, Wright and Akazawa teach the method of claim 18.
Wright teaches wherein sending the scene description comprises sending the scene description via a device executing a media function (MF) or a multimedia resource function (MFR). (Fig. 1 and [0035]: The operating environment 100 includes one or more electronic devices 190 (also called “devices”, “client devices”, or “computing devices”; e.g., electronic devices 190-1 through 190-N) that are communicatively connected to an augmented reality server 140 off a messaging service via one or more communication networks 110. In some implementations, the electronic devices 190 are communicatively connected to one or more storage servers 160 that are configured to store and/or serve content 162 to users of the devices 190 (e.g., media content, programs, data, and/or augmented reality programs, or augmented realty content). [0039]: the electronic devices can connect to the communication networks and transmit and receive information thereby via a cellular connection (e.g., RAN).)
Regarding claim 20, Wright and Akazawa teach the method of claim 18.
Wright teaches wherein the data indicating how to access the avatar data comprises data representing a network location of a digital asset repository (DAR) device storing the avatar data. ([0010]: In accordance with a determination that the second location is proximate to the first location, the method includes obtaining a first image of the physical environment at the first location, creating an overlay image by overlaying a second image of the avatar onto the first image. Fig. 1 and [0042]: one or more storage server(s) 160 are disposed in the operating environment 100 to provide, to one or more users 102, messaging, AR-related content, and/or other information. For example, in some implementations, storage servers 160 store avatars and location information for the avatars associated with the one or more users 102.)
Claim(s) 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright (US 20230026498 A1) in view of Akazawa (US 20020113809 A1), and in view of Mukherjee (US 20240221323 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Wright and Akazawa teach the method of claim 1.
Wright and Akazawa do not explicitly disclose sending, to the DAR device, data indicating that the participants in the AR session are authorized to access the user avatar data.
However, Mukherjee teaches sending, to the DAR device, data indicating that the participants in the AR session are authorized to access the user avatar data. ([0008]: to determining the access privileges, the access privileges are implemented during the user's ensuing virtual reality computing session. In this regard, the access privileges provide permissions for a user to enter into certain virtual locations/areas and to interact with certain virtual objects/avatars or, conversely, the access privileges provide restrictions (e.g., warnings or denial) for a user to enter into certain virtual locations/areas and to interact with certain virtual objects/avatars.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wright and Akazawa to include above limitations. One would have been motivated to do so because a need exists to develop systems, methods, computer program products and the like which provide security for interactions that occur in virtual reality computing environments, such as Metaverse or the like. In this regard, the desired systems, methods and the like should provide the ability to restrict and allow a user to access designated virtual locations or interact with designated virtual objects/avatars. As taught by Mukherjee, [0005].
Same rationales apply to claim 13 (UE device) because they are substantially similar to claim 4 (method).
Claim(s) 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright (US 20230026498 A1) in view of Akazawa (US 20020113809 A1), and in view of Cameron (US 20250069308 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Wright and Akazawa teach the method of claim 1.
Wright teaches the avatar is one of or more of an animated, emotional, and/or interactive three-dimensional (3D) representation of the first user. ([0090])
Wright and Akazawa do not explicitly disclose receiving an animation stream from one of the participants in the AR session; determining an avatar of the avatar data corresponding to the one of the participants; and animating the avatar according to the animation stream, wherein presenting the avatar data comprises presenting the animated avatar for the one of the of participants.
However, Cameron teaches receiving an animation stream from one of the participants in the AR session; ([0110]: communicating with a further user device, wherein the animation of the avatar is used during the communication. [0080]: a user of a user device receiving an animation of an avatar of another user (e.g., a user using user device 102 n.)
determining an avatar of the avatar data corresponding to the one of the participants; and animating the avatar according to the animation stream, wherein presenting the avatar data comprises presenting the animated avatar for the one of the of participants. ([0080]: a user of a user device receiving an animation of an avatar of another user (e.g., a user using user device 102 n. [0067]: the avatar and a respective animation of the avatar may be output to one or more of: a user device of the user represented by the avatar (e.g., user device 102 a); a computing device (e.g., computing device 106 a); a further user device belonging to a further user (e.g., user device 102 b, 102 n). The avatar and the respective amination may be output alongside audio data 314.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wright and Akazawa to include above limitations. One would have been motivated to do so because it is well-known in the art that users can use an avatar to represent themselves during communication with other users. Such avatars may be customized by the user to change the appearance of the avatar. As well as visual appearance, the visual movements of avatars are also part of expressing a user's personality. Avatar movements may be enabled by animation derived from video or audio signals. For a given communication service, this animation may be generic for all users or customized to be unique for each user. As taught by Cameron, [0002]-[0005].
Same rationales apply to claim 15 (UE device) because they are substantially similar to claim 6 (method).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10, filed 08/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZI YE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455