DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 05/13/2026.
Claims 1, 6, 11, 17 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “One or more components configured to:” perform various functions such as retrieving, detecting and correcting in claim 1; “A memory controller configured to…” perform various functions such as retrieving, detecting and correcting in claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, 11, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer, Scott (PG Pub. 2023/0,063,494 A1) [hereafter Schaefer], and further in view of Boehm et al. (PG Pub. 2021/0,318,928 A1) [hereafter Boehm].
As per claim 1, Schaefer teaches:
A memory device, comprising: one or more components configured to: retrieve, via one or more data pins associated with a user data block, host data; (Schaefer, ¶ [0040], write command issued by the host device; a data signal received on the DQ pins at the memory device and the memory device use the RDQS signal for sampling a received data signal, ¶ [0078], memory device receive data transmitted from host device for a write command)
retrieve, via one or more data mask inversion (DMI) pins associated with the user data block, error correction data; (Schaefer, ¶ [0040], DMI pin used to output error management information, ¶ [0101], ECC include information from DMI pin)
detect, using the host data and the error correction data, one or more multi-bit errors in the host data; and (Schaefer, ¶ [0048], correct one or more errors in the received data; correct and use received data having multiple bit errors, ¶ [0112], determining multiple bits error)
correct, using the host data and the error correction data, the one or more multi-bit errors (Schaefer, ¶ [0048], a host device attempting to correct and use received data having multiple bit errors; the host device may compare the received syndrome bits with the syndrome bits computed for the received data to detect (and, in some examples, correct) errors in the received data)
Schaefer does not specifically teach:
wherein the error correction data is retrieved simultaneously with the host data
However, Boehm in an analogous art teaches:
concurrently use cycles of data-associated pins such as data mask/invert (DMI)) unused for the command to convey parity information (Boehm, ¶ [0012])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate teachings of Boehm into the method of Schaefer to provide a method wherein the error correction data is retrieved simultaneously with the host data. The modification would be obvious because such setup allows for conveying the CA parity information without using a pin dedicated to performing CA parity (Boehm, ¶ [0012]).
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Schaefer further teaches:
wherein the one or more components, to detect the one or more multi-bit errors in the host data, are configured to: compute, using the host data and the error correction data, a syndrome; and determine, using the syndrome, a pattern associated with the one or more multi-bit errors (Schaefer, ¶ [0048], syndrome bits to detect and/or correct one or more errors in the received data; error management information provided by the syndrome check signal, in combination with the error management information determined using the link ECC, may be used to decrease the likelihood of a host device attempting to correct and use received data having multiple bit errors, ¶ [0052])
Claims 11, 16 are method claims corresponding to the memory device claims 1, 10 respectively and are rejected for the same reasons set forth in connection of the rejections of claims 1, 10 above.
Claim 17 is a memory system claim corresponding to the memory device claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons set forth in connection of the rejection of claim 1 above, and Schaefer further teaches:
A memory system, comprising: a media subsystem organized into multiple user data blocks; and (Schaefer, Fig. 1, ¶ [0028])
a memory controller in communication with the media subsystem via multiple channels, wherein each of the multiple channels corresponds to a respective user data block, of the multiple user data blocks, and wherein the memory controller is configured to, for each user data block, of the multiple user data blocks: (Schaefer, Fig. 1, ¶ [0041])
Claim(s) 2, 9, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer, Boehm and further in view of Brewer et al. (PG Pub. 2022/0,382,631 A1) [hereafter Brewer].
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated:
Schaefer and Boehm do not teach:
wherein a host data portion of the user data block that is used to store the host data includes 64 bytes of storage, and wherein an error correction portion of the user data block that is used to store the error correction data includes 4 bytes of storage
However, Brewer in analogous art teaches:
wherein a host data portion of the user data block that is used to store the host data includes 64 bytes of storage, and wherein an error correction portion of the user data block that is used to store the error correction data includes 4 bytes of storage (Brewer, ¶ [0041], a first portion storing 64B user data, and a second portion storing 4B ECC data)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate teachings of Brewer into the combined method of Schaefer and Boehm to provide a method wherein a host data portion of the user data block that is used to store the host data includes 64 bytes of storage, and wherein an error correction portion of the user data block that is used to store the error correction data includes 4 bytes of storage. The modification would be obvious because having different amount of data assigned for different types of data allows accessing the particular data types via different burst lengths (Brewer, ¶ [0041]).
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated:
Schaefer and Boehm do not teach:
wherein the error correction data is associated with a Bose-Chaudhuri-Hocquenghem code capable of correcting at least a two-bit error
However, Brewer in analogous art teaches:
Bose-Chaudhuri-Hochquenghem (BCH) codes correcting multiple errors (Brewer, ¶ [0033], Bose-Chaudhuri-Hochquenghem (BCH) codes, ¶ [0049], correcting multiple errors, ¶ [0058], an error correction capability of correcting a quantity of errors not exceeding the threshold quantity)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate teachings of Brewer into the combined method of Schaefer and Boehm to provide a method wherein a host data portion of the user data block that is used to store the host data includes 64 bytes of storage, and wherein an error correction portion of the user data block that is used to store the error correction data includes 4 bytes of storage. The modification would be obvious because it is possible to design binary BCH codes that can correct multiple bit errors.
Claim 18 is a memory system claim corresponding to the memory device claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons set forth in connection of the rejection of claim 2 above.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 12, 13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer, Boehm and further in view of Hampel et al. (WO 2022/119,704 A2) [hereafter Hampel].
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated:
Schaefer and Boehm do not teach:
wherein the host data is associated with multiple data symbols, and wherein the error correction data is associated with a single symbol correction (SSC) code
However, Hampel in analogous art teaches:
error control scheme that provides single symbol correct (Hampel, ¶ [0010])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate teachings of Hamel into the combined method of Schaefer and Boehm to provide a method wherein the host data is associated with multiple data symbols, and wherein the error correction data is associated with a single symbol correction (SSC) code. The modification would be obvious because such error correction scheme provide single error correct double error detect protection/resiliency policy from one memory region and also access another region of the same memory device(s) using a more sophisticated non-binary block code that provides single symbol correct double symbol detect for 4-bit symbols (Hampel, ¶ [0010]).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated and Hampel further teaches:
wherein the SSC code is one of a Reed-Solomon code or a non-binary Hamming code (Hampel, ¶ [0010], Reed-Solomon, Hamming code, non-binary block code)
Claims 12, 13 are method claims corresponding to the memory device claims 4, 5 respectively and are rejected for the same reasons set forth in connection of the rejections of claims 4, 5 above.
Claim 20 is a memory system claim corresponding to the memory device claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons set forth in connection of the rejection of claim 4 above.
Claim(s) 7, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer, Boehm, Hampel, and further in view of Meaney et al. (PG Pub. 2019/0,163,565 A1) [hereafter Meaney].
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated:
Schaefer, Boehm and Hampel do not teach:
wherein the error correction data is further associated with a cyclic redundancy check
However, Meaney in analogous art teaches:
host using Reed-Solomon ECC to provide the RAIM functionalities and at least one of the RAIM functionalities is selected from the group consisting of CRC checking (Meaney, ¶ [0083])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate teachings of Meaney into the combined method of Schaefer, Boehm and Meaney to provide a method wherein the error correction data is further associated with a cyclic redundancy check. The modification would be obvious because such ECC word identifies and corrects memory failures (Meaney, ¶ [0023]).
Claim 14 is a method claim corresponding to the memory device claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons set forth in connection of the rejection of claim 7 above.
Claim(s) 8, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer, Boehm and further in view of Song et al. (PG Pub. 2023/0,055,293 A1) [hereafter Song].
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated:
Schaefer and Boehm do not teach:
wherein the one or more components are further configured to retrieve, via the one or more DMI pins, metadata associated with the user data block
However, Song in analogous art teaches:
receiving metadata over DMI pins (Song, ¶ [0045])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate teachings of Song into the combined method of Schaefer and Boehm to provide a method wherein the one or more components are further configured to retrieve, via the one or more DMI pins, metadata associated with the user data block. The modification would be obvious because data bus interface may be configured to transmit and receive data over the data bus and control information or metadata over the DMI pins (Song, ¶ [0045]).
Claim 15 is a memory method claim corresponding to the memory device claim 8 and is rejected for the same reasons set forth in connection of the rejection of claim 8 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-18 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PG Pub. 2023/0,061,144 A1 discloses a memory device that enables handing an error during a read operation by outputting a link ECC signal on a DMI pin.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAE M KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2114