DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “One or more components configured to:” perform various functions such as retrieving, detecting and correcting in claim 1; “A memory controller configured to…” perform various functions such as retrieving, detecting and correcting in claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, 11, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schaefer, Scott (PG Pub. 2023/0,063,494 A1) [hereafter Schaefer].
As per claim 1, Schaefer teaches:
A memory device, comprising: one or more components configured to: retrieve, via one or more data pins associated with a user data block, host data; (Schaefer, ¶ [0040], write command issued by the host device; a data signal received on the DQ pins at the memory device and the memory device use the RDQS signal for sampling a received data signal, ¶ [0078], memory device receive data transmitted from host device for a write command)
retrieve, via one or more data mask inversion (DMI) pins associated with the user data block, error correction data; (Schaefer, ¶ [0040], DMI pin used to output error management information, ¶ [0101], ECC include information from DMI pin)
detect, using the host data and the error correction data, one or more multi-bit errors in the host data; and (Schaefer, ¶ [0048], correct one or more errors in the received data; correct and use received data having multiple bit errors, ¶ [0112], determining multiple bits error)
correct, using the host data and the error correction data, the one or more multi-bit errors (Schaefer, ¶ [0048], a host device attempting to correct and use received data having multiple bit errors; the host device may compare the received syndrome bits with the syndrome bits computed for the received data to detect (and, in some examples, correct) errors in the received data)
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Schaefer further teaches:
wherein the one or more components, to detect the one or more multi-bit errors in the host data, are configured to: compute, using the host data and the error correction data, a syndrome; and determine, using the syndrome, a pattern associated with the one or more multi-bit errors (Schaefer, ¶ [0048], syndrome bits to detect and/or correct one or more errors in the received data; error management information provided by the syndrome check signal, in combination with the error management information determined using the link ECC, may be used to decrease the likelihood of a host device attempting to correct and use received data having multiple bit errors, ¶ [0052])
Claims 11, 16 are method claims corresponding to the memory device claims 1, 10 respectively and are rejected for the same reasons set forth in connection of the rejections of claims 1, 10 above.
Claim 17 is a memory system claim corresponding to the memory device claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons set forth in connection of the rejection of claim 1 above, and Schaefer further teaches:
A memory system, comprising: a media subsystem organized into multiple user data blocks; and (Schaefer, Fig. 1, ¶ [0028])
a memory controller in communication with the media subsystem via multiple channels, wherein each of the multiple channels corresponds to a respective user data block, of the multiple user data blocks, and wherein the memory controller is configured to, for each user data block, of the multiple user data blocks: (Schaefer, Fig. 1, ¶ [0041])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer, and further in view of Brewer et al. (PG Pub. 2022/0,382,631 A1) [hereafter Brewer].
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated:
Schaefer does not teach:
wherein a host data portion of the user data block that is used to store the host data includes 64 bytes of storage, and wherein an error correction portion of the user data block that is used to store the error correction data includes 4 bytes of storage
However, Brewer in analogous art teaches:
wherein a host data portion of the user data block that is used to store the host data includes 64 bytes of storage, and wherein an error correction portion of the user data block that is used to store the error correction data includes 4 bytes of storage (Brewer, ¶ [0041], a first portion storing 64B user data, and a second portion storing 4B ECC data)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate teachings of Brewer into the method of Schaefer to provide a method wherein a host data portion of the user data block that is used to store the host data includes 64 bytes of storage, and wherein an error correction portion of the user data block that is used to store the error correction data includes 4 bytes of storage. The modification would be obvious because having different amount of data assigned for different types of data allows accessing the particular data types via different burst lengths (Brewer, ¶ [0041]).
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated:
Schaefer does not teach:
wherein the error correction data is associated with a Bose-Chaudhuri-Hocquenghem code capable of correcting at least a two-bit error
However, Brewer in analogous art teaches:
Bose-Chaudhuri-Hochquenghem (BCH) codes correcting multiple errors (Brewer, ¶ [0033], Bose-Chaudhuri-Hochquenghem (BCH) codes, ¶ [0049], correcting multiple errors, ¶ [0058], an error correction capability of correcting a quantity of errors not exceeding the threshold quantity)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate teachings of Brewer into the method of Schaefer to provide a method wherein a host data portion of the user data block that is used to store the host data includes 64 bytes of storage, and wherein an error correction portion of the user data block that is used to store the error correction data includes 4 bytes of storage. The modification would be obvious because it is possible to design binary BCH codes that can correct multiple bit errors.
Claim 18 is a memory system claim corresponding to the memory device claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons set forth in connection of the rejection of claim 2 above.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 12, 13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer, and further in view of Hampel et al. (WO 2022/119,704 A2) [hereafter Hampel].
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated:
Schaefer does not teach:
wherein the host data is associated with multiple data symbols, and wherein the error correction data is associated with a single symbol correction (SSC) code
However, Hampel in analogous art teaches:
error control scheme that provides single symbol correct (Hampel, ¶ [0010])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate teachings of Hamel into the method of Schaefer to provide a method wherein the host data is associated with multiple data symbols, and wherein the error correction data is associated with a single symbol correction (SSC) code. The modification would be obvious because such error correction scheme provide single error correct double error detect protection/resiliency policy from one memory region and also access another region of the same memory device(s) using a more sophisticated non-binary block code that provides single symbol correct double symbol detect for 4-bit symbols (Hampel, ¶ [0010]).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated and Hampel further teaches:
wherein the SSC code is one of a Reed-Solomon code or a non-binary Hamming code (Hampel, ¶ [0010], Reed-Solomon, Hamming code, non-binary block code)
Claims 12, 13 are method claims corresponding to the memory device claims 4, 5 respectively and are rejected for the same reasons set forth in connection of the rejections of claims 4, 5 above.
Claim 20 is a memory system claim corresponding to the memory device claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons set forth in connection of the rejection of claim 4 above.
Claim(s) 7, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer, Hampel, and further in view of Meaney et al. (PG Pub. 2019/0,163,565 A1) [hereafter Meaney].
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated:
Schaefer and Hampel do not teach:
wherein the error correction data is further associated with a cyclic redundancy check
However, Meaney in analogous art teaches:
host using Reed-Solomon ECC to provide the RAIM functionalities and at least one of the RAIM functionalities is selected from the group consisting of CRC checking (Meaney, ¶ [0083])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate teachings of Meaney into the combined method of Schaefer and Meaney to provide a method wherein the error correction data is further associated with a cyclic redundancy check. The modification would be obvious because such ECC word identifies and corrects memory failures (Meaney, ¶ [0023]).
Claim 14 is a method claim corresponding to the memory device claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons set forth in connection of the rejection of claim 7 above.
Claim(s) 8, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer, and further in view of Song et al. (PG Pub. 2023/0,055,293 A1) [hereafter Song].
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated:
Schaefer does not teach:
wherein the one or more components are further configured to retrieve, via the one or more DMI pins, metadata associated with the user data block
However, Song in analogous art teaches:
receiving metadata over DMI pins (Song, ¶ [0045])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate teachings of Song into the method of Schaefer to provide a method wherein the one or more components are further configured to retrieve, via the one or more DMI pins, metadata associated with the user data block. The modification would be obvious because data bus interface may be configured to transmit and receive data over the data bus and control information or metadata over the DMI pins (Song, ¶ [0045]).
Claim 15 is a memory method claim corresponding to the memory device claim 8 and is rejected for the same reasons set forth in connection of the rejection of claim 8 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PG Pub. 2020/0,012,558 A1 discloses method of parity training for a dynamic random access memory by enabling a link error checking and correcting, ECC, functionality in a write operation of the DRAM, and remapping a parity function of a write parity pin to an data inversion function.
PG Pub. 2019/0,340,067 A1 discloses a memory device comprising an error correction code (ECC) engine configured to detect and/or correct at least one error bit in read data and configured to generate a decoding status flag indicative of whether the at least one error bit is detected and/or corrected.
PG Pub. 2021/0,124,699 A1 discloses a memory device including a data mask inversion (DMI) pin that provide parity data during a read operation.
PG Pub. 2022/0,180,958 A1 discloses a memory device comprising an ECC engine configured to detect an error in first data that is read from the memory cell array in response to a read command and a read address, to output a first error occurrence signal, and to correct the error in the first data.
See PTO-892 for other cited references not listed above.
/CHAE M KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2114