DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al (US 2023/0254831, hereinafter Su), in view of Agiwal et al (US 2022/0272758, hereinafter Agiwal), in view of Huang et al (US 2023/0064680, hereinafter Huang, claiming priority date of provisional application 63/233,053) and in view of Sarkis et al (US 2022/0240265, hereinafter Sarkis).
Regarding claim 1, Su discloses a first wireless device (terminal, Fig. 12) comprising: one or more processors and memory (processor and memory, Fig. 12) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the first wireless device to: receive, from a base station, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages comprising one or more configurations parameters indicating: a sidelink (SL) resource pool and a SL selection window for SL resource selection (receiving configuration information from the network device (base station), configuration information for sidelink resource pool, resource selection window and any other configuration information for sidelink communication, Para [0129], the configuration signaling can be RRC signaling, Para [0130]); select, based on the SL selection window, a first multi-slot resource from among a set comprising multi-slot candidate resources in the SL resource pool, wherein the first multi-slot resource comprises a plurality of SL slots (selecting candidate sending resource set in the selection window, the set including Y time units, Para [0081], candidate time unit set is a subset of resource selection window, including Y time units, Para [0100], the time units can be slots, Para [0085], therefore multiple number of slots); and transmit, to a second wireless device and via the first multi-slot resource, a second stage SL control information (SCI) (sending data from available time-frequency resources, Para [0083], terminal selecting available resources from the candidate time unit set, Para [0111], second-level SCI carried in PSSCH, Para [0144]); but does not explicitly disclose determining a random number, between zero and a value of a contention window, as an initial value of a counter for a type 1 channel access procedure and after a value of the counter is zero, sense a channel to be idle during one or more sensing slots. Agiwal discloses a category 3 LBT procedure, where a Ninit is a random number distributed between 0 and the contention window, Para [0212], UE senses channel to be idle and can transmit when the counter is zero, Para [0211] and if N=0, perform transmission, Para [0216]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Agiwal into the teachings of Su in order to improve LBT procedures for fair and friendly coexistence of device operating in unlicensed spectrum; and does not disclose comprising an SCI format 2-A, wherein: the SCI format 2-A indicates a duration of a channel occupancy time (COT); and the COT is initiated, by the first wireless device, based on sensing the channel to be idle. Huang discloses the SCI format 2-A, Para [0340], COT sharing information is in SCI format 2-A, Para [0676], COT sharing information includes the start and end times of the COT and remaining duration of the COT, Para [0639] and UE determines COT after successful LBT, Para [0005]. Also see pages 32, 71 and 74 from the provisional application. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Huang into the teachings of Su in view of Agiwal in order to efficiently increase spectrum usage, improve throughput and sharing between devices on the unlicensed spectrum; and is not explicit the candidate resources is a plurality of contiguous sub-channels in a plurality of consecutive SL slots in a time domain. Sarkis discloses sidelink resources in a selection window, where the selection window/resource pool includes consecutive time slots and consecutive sub-channels, Para [0062]/Fig. 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sarkis into the teachings of Su in view of Agiwal and Huang in order to further improve sidelink technology and improve resource selection for sidelink transmissions.
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Su discloses the first wireless device/method/CRM of claim 1/8/15, wherein the instructions cause the first wireless device to sense the channel based on an energy detection. Huang discloses channel access based on energy detection, Para [0564]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Huang into the teachings of Su in view of Agiwal in order to efficiently increase spectrum usage, improve throughput and sharing between devices on the unlicensed spectrum
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Su discloses the first wireless device/method/CRM of claim 1/10/15, but not wherein the instructions cause the first wireless device to decrement, for the type 1 channel access procedure, the value of the counter by one based on the value of the counter being greater than zero. Agiwal discloses if N>0, decrement the counter by 1, Para [0214]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Agiwal into the teachings of Su in order to improve LBT procedures for fair and friendly coexistence of device operating in unlicensed spectrum.
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Su discloses the first wireless device/method/CRM of claim 1/8/15, but not wherein the instructions cause the first wireless device to decrement, for the type 1 channel access procedure, the value of the counter by one based on sensing the channel to be idle. Agiwal discloses if the channel is sensed to be idle, decrementing the counter by 1, Para [0214, 215]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Agiwal into the teachings of Su in order to improve LBT procedures for fair and friendly coexistence of device operating in unlicensed spectrum.
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, Su discloses the first wireless device/method/CRM of claim 1/8/15, but not wherein the SCI format 2-A comprises a destination identifier of the second wireless device. Huang discloses the SCI format 2-A has a destination ID field, Para [0346]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Huang into the teachings of Su in view of Agiwal in order to efficiently increase spectrum usage, improve throughput and sharing between devices on the unlicensed spectrum
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, Su discloses the first wireless device/method/CRM of claim 1/8/15, but not wherein the SCI format 2-A comprises a source identifier of the first wireless device. Huang discloses the SCI format 2-A has a source ID field, Para [0345]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Huang into the teachings of Su in view of Agiwal in order to efficiently increase spectrum usage, improve throughput and sharing between devices on the unlicensed spectrum
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Su discloses the first wireless device/method of claim 1/8, but not wherein the SCI format 2-A indicates a cast type that is at least one of: a unicast; a multicast; or a broadcast. Huang discloses the SCI format 2-A has a cast type field indicating broadcast, groupcast or unicast, Para [0348]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Huang into the teachings of Su in view of Agiwal in order to efficiently increase spectrum usage, improve throughput and sharing between devices on the unlicensed spectrum
Regarding claim 8, Su discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a first wireless device from a base station, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages comprising one or more configurations parameters indicating: a sidelink (SL) resource pool and a SL selection window for SL resource selection (receiving configuration information from the network device (base station), configuration information for sidelink resource pool, resource selection window and any other configuration information for sidelink communication, Para [0129], the configuration signaling can be RRC signaling, Para [0130]); selecting, by the first wireless device and based on the SL selection window, a first multi-slot resource from among a set comprising multi-slot candidate resources in the SL resource pool, wherein the first multi-slot resource comprises a plurality of SL slots (selecting candidate sending resource set in the selection window, the set including Y time units, Para [0081], candidate time unit set is a subset of resource selection window, including Y time units, Para [0100], the time units can be slots, Para [0085], therefore multiple number of slots); and transmitting, by the first wireless device to a second wireless device and via the first multi-slot resource, a second stage SL control information (SCI) (sending data from available time-frequency resources, Para [0083], terminal selecting available resources from the candidate time unit set, Para [0111], second-level SCI carried in PSSCH, Para [0144]); but does not explicitly disclose determining a random number, between zero and a value of a contention window, as an initial value of a counter for a type 1 channel access procedure and after a value of the counter is zero, sense a channel to be idle during one or more sensing slots. Agiwal discloses a category 3 LBT procedure, where a Ninit is a random number distributed between 0 and the contention window, Para [0212], UE senses channel to be idle and can transmit when the counter is zero, Para [0211] and if N=0, perform transmission, Para [0216]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Agiwal into the teachings of Su in order to improve LBT procedures for fair and friendly coexistence of device operating in unlicensed spectrum; and does not disclose comprising an SCI format 2-A, wherein: the SCI format 2-A indicates a duration of a channel occupancy time (COT); and the COT is initiated, by the first wireless device, based on sensing the channel to be idle. Huang discloses the SCI format 2-A, Para [0340], COT sharing information is in SCI format 2-A, Para [0676], COT sharing information includes the start and end times of the COT and remaining duration of the COT, Para [0639] and UE determines COT after successful LBT, Para [0005]. Also see pages 32, 71 and 74 from the provisional application. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Huang into the teachings of Su in view of Agiwal in order to efficiently increase spectrum usage, improve throughput and sharing between devices on the unlicensed spectrum; and is not explicit the candidate resources is a plurality of contiguous sub-channels in a plurality of consecutive SL slots in a time domain. Sarkis discloses sidelink resources in a selection window, where the selection window/resource pool includes consecutive time slots and consecutive sub-channels, Para [0062]/Fig. 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sarkis into the teachings of Su in view of Agiwal and Huang in order to further improve sidelink technology and improve resource selection for sidelink transmissions.
Regarding claim 15, Su discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (computer readable storage medium, Para [0042]) comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a first wireless device, cause the first wireless device to: receive, from a base station, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages comprising one or more configurations parameters indicating: a sidelink (SL) resource pool and a SL selection window for SL resource selection (receiving configuration information from the network device (base station), configuration information for sidelink resource pool, resource selection window and any other configuration information for sidelink communication, Para [0129], the configuration signaling can be RRC signaling, Para [0130]); select, based on the SL selection window, a first multi-slot resource from among a set comprising multi-slot candidate resources in the SL resource pool, wherein the first multi-slot resource comprises a plurality of SL slots (selecting candidate sending resource set in the selection window, the set including Y time units, Para [0081], candidate time unit set is a subset of resource selection window, including Y time units, Para [0100], the time units can be slots, Para [0085], therefore multiple number of slots); and transmit, to a second wireless device and via the first multi-slot resource, a second stage SL control information (SCI) (sending data from available time-frequency resources, Para [0083], terminal selecting available resources from the candidate time unit set, Para [0111], second-level SCI carried in PSSCH, Para [0144]); but does not disclose determining a random number, between Zero and a value of a contention window, as an initial value of a counter for a type 1 channel access procedure and after a value of the counter is zero, sense a channel to be idle during one or more sensing slots. Agiwal discloses a category 3 LBT procedure, where a Ninit is a random number distributed between 0 and the contention window, Para [0212], UE senses channel to be idle and can transmit when the counter is zero, Para [0211] and if N=0, perform transmission, Para [0216]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Agiwal into the teachings of Su in order to improve LBT procedures for fair and friendly coexistence of device operating in unlicensed spectrum; and does not disclose comprising an SCI format 2-A, wherein: the SCI format 2-A indicates a duration of a channel occupancy time (COT); and the COT is initiated, by the first wireless device, based on sensing the channel to be idle. Huang discloses the SCI format 2-A, Para [0340], COT sharing information is in SCI format 2-A, Para [0676], COT sharing information includes the start and end times of the COT and remaining duration of the COT, Para [0639] and UE determines COT after successful LBT, Para [0005]. Also see pages 32, 71 and 74 from the provisional application. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Huang into the teachings of Su in view of Agiwal in order to efficiently increase spectrum usage, improve throughput and sharing between devices on the unlicensed spectrum; and is not explicit the candidate resources is a plurality of contiguous sub-channels in a plurality of consecutive SL slots in a time domain. Sarkis discloses sidelink resources in a selection window, where the selection window/resource pool includes consecutive time slots and consecutive sub-channels, Para [0062]/Fig. 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sarkis into the teachings of Su in view of Agiwal and Huang in order to further improve sidelink technology and improve resource selection for sidelink transmissions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/8/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant amends the limitations in the claim and argues the references do not disclose the amended limitations. Applicant argues Su does not disclose multi-slot candidate resource having a plurality of contiguous sub-channels in a plurality of consecutive SL slots in a time domain. In response, argument is moot in view of a new reference. Sarkis discloses sidelink resources in a selection window, where the selection window/resource pool includes consecutive time slots and consecutive sub-channels, Para [0062]/Fig. 4.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461