The title of the invention
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8, 11-13 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (US Pub No. 2022/0151092 A1 and Cho hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 1, Cho discloses (figs. 1-15 and annotated figs below) a display device comprising: a display panel (1130) comprising a fixed area, and an extension area extending in a first direction (D1) from the fixed area; a support plate (including 1120 and 1310) comprising: a first plate (1120) overlapping the fixed area, and comprising a flat part parallel to a plane defined by the first direction and by a second direction (D2) crossing the first direction, and an inclined part extending in the first direction from the flat part; and a second plate (1310) overlapping the extension area, and below a bottom surface of the inclined part; and an adhesion member (not shown) between the display panel and the support plate ([0138]).
Regarding Claim 2, Cho discloses (figs. 1-15) the display device of claim 1, wherein a height of a top surface of the inclined part decreases toward the second plate.
Regarding Claim 3, Cho discloses (figs. 1-15) the display device of claim 2, wherein a top surface of the first plate and a top surface of the second plate have a height difference.
Regarding Claim 8, Cho discloses (figs. 1-15) the display device of claim 1, wherein the flat part comprises a first non- folding part (top area non-folding) , a folding part defining openings (1351), and a second non-folding part (bottom area non-folding) arranged in the first direction.
Regarding Claim 11, Cho discloses (figs. 1-15 and anno) a display device comprising: a display panel (1130) comprising a fixed area, and an extension area extending in a first direction (D1) from the fixed area; a second plate (1310) below the extension area; a first plate (1120) below the fixed area, and having one side, which is adjacent to the second plate and which is opposite to an opposite side in the first direction, having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the opposite side; support bars(1360) coupled to a bottom surface of the second plate; and an adhesion member (not shown) between the display panel and the first plate, and between the display panel and the second plate ([0138]).
Regarding Claim 12, Cho discloses (figs. 1-15) the display device of claim 11, wherein a height of a top surface of the one side of the first plate is lower than a height of a top surface of the opposite side of the first plate, and wherein the top surface of the one side of the first plate is inclined.
Regarding Claim 13, Cho discloses (figs. 1-15) the display device of claim 11, wherein the second plate overlaps the one side of the first plate.
Regarding Claim 19, Cho discloses (figs. 1-15 and annotated fig below) an electronic device comprising a display device comprising: a display panel (1130) comprising a fixed area, and an extension area extending in a first direction (D1) from the fixed area; a support plate (including 1120 and 1310) comprising: a first plate (1120) overlapping the fixed area, and comprising a flat part parallel to a plane defined by the first direction and by a second direction (D2) crossing the first direction, and an inclined part extending in the first direction from the flat part; and a second plate (1310) overlapping the extension area, and below a bottom surface of the inclined part; and an adhesion member (not shown) between the display panel and the support plate ([0138]).
Regarding Claim 20, Cho discloses (figs. 1-15) the electronic device of claim 19, wherein the electronic device comprises a smartphone, a television, a monitor, a tablet, an electric vehicle, a mobile phone, a tablet personal computer (PC), a mobile communication terminal, an electronic notebook, an electronic book, a portable multimedia player (PMP), a navigation device, an ultra-mobile PC (UMPC), a laptop computer, a billboard, an Internet of Things (loT) device, a smartwatch, a watch phone, or a head-mounted display (HMD) ([0040]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 9-10 and 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art fails to disclose “wherein the adhesion member comprises: a first adhesion part above the top surface of the second plate and the top surface of the inclined part; and a second adhesion part above a top surface of the flat part and a top surface of the first adhesion part, and wherein an elastic modulus of the first adhesion part is greater than an elastic modulus of the second adhesion part.”
Lee et al US Pub No. US 20240212530 A1, Pang et al US Pub No. US 20240194095 A1, as well as, Zhang et al US Pub No. US 20240040717 A1 are all cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including the adhesion member attaching the support and display device . However, the prior art (stated above), when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Claims 5-7 are objected being depend on claim 4.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art fails to disclose “wherein the second plate comprises: first portions parallel to the plane defined by the first direction and the second direction; and second portions respectively between adjacent ones of the first portions that are adjacent to each other in the first direction, and defining flexible openings.”
Huang et al US Pub No. US 20250008671 A1, JIA et al US Pub No. US 20240377861 A1, as well as, Hu et al US Patent No. US 12111703 B2are all cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including the openings in the support and display device . However, the prior art (stated above), when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Claim 10 is objected being depend on claim 9.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art fails to disclose “Regarding claim 9, the prior art fails to disclose “wherein the adhesion member comprises: a first adhesion part above a top surface of the one side of the first plate and above a top surface of the second plate; and a second adhesion part above a top surface of the first adhesion part and above a top surface of the opposite side of the first plate.”
Lee et al US Pub No. US 20240212530 A1, Pang et al US Pub No. US 20240194095 A1, as well as, Zhang et al US Pub No. US 20240040717 A1 are all cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including the adhesion member attaching the support and display device . However, the prior art (stated above), when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Claims 15-18 are objected being depend on claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
O’Brien et al (US 20130058063 A1) (figs. 1-2) the expandable mobile device includes housing parts that slide-engage relative to each other to extend and retract the device having inclined parts.
Lee et al (US 12321197 B2) (figs. 1-6) The roll-slide display device includes a first frame, a second frame, and a third frame constituting an exterior and a flexible display unit including a first area that is coupled to the first frame.
Feng et al (US 11768519 B2) (figs. 1-6) The first support member and the second support member jointly provide the support for the flexible display screen.
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841