DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is responsive to claims filed on February 11, 2025.
Claims 1-7 are being examined in this office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The recitation:
“wherein rotating the rotatable latch includes engaging an actuation feature provided on a base of the rotatable latch with an actuator, and the actuator rotating the rotatable latch through the engagement with the actuating feature,”
appears to be repetitive in nature, and reads unclear. Consider amending for clear readability. Examiner proposes:
“wherein rotating the rotatable latch includes engaging an actuation feature provided on a base of the rotatable latch with an actuator, wherein the actuatorrotates the rotatable latch through the engagement with the actuating feature.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “actuation feature” and “actuator” (Claim 2) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kato et al. (US 2018/0068882 A1, herein Kato).
Regarding claim 1, Kato discloses [0041] a method of closing a reticle container (1) (Fig. 1), comprising passing a head (14c) (Fig. 1) of a rotatable latch (14a) (Fig. 1) through an aperture (15) (Fig. 5) provided on a first container segment (3) (Fig. 1) and rotating the rotatable latch (14a) such that the head (14c) engages a retention recess (6) (Fig. 1) intersecting the aperture (15).
Regarding claim 6, Kato discloses wherein the aperture (13) is a slot. In this case, the aperture defined by the gasket (13) is being interpreted as a slot for holding the lid (3).
Regarding claim 7, Kato discloses wherein the head (14c) (Fig. 1) includes two opposing projections.
Alternatively, claims 1, 3, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kato et al. (US 2018/0068882 A1, herein Kato).
Regarding claim 1, Kato discloses [0041] a method of closing a reticle container (1) (Fig. 1), comprising passing a head (14c) (Fig. 1) of a rotatable latch (14a) (Fig. 1) through an aperture (6) (Fig. 1) provided on a first container segment (2) (Fig. 1) and rotating the rotatable latch (14a) such that the head (14c) engages a retention recess (15) (Fig. 5) intersecting the aperture (6).
Regarding claim 3, Kato discloses wherein the rotatable latch (14a) (Fig. 1) is included in a second container segment (3) (Fig. 1), and a reticle (W) is located between the first container segment (2) and the second container segment (3).
Regarding claim 6, Kato discloses wherein the aperture (6) is a slot.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
** Please see the pertinent art section below regarding the prior art which Examiner has deemed to be the closest prior art. This prior art was not applied due to key structural differences, discussed in further detail below.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chuang et al. (US 2021/0116821 A1,herein Chuang) discloses a reticle retaining system comprising an inner pod and an outer pod. The inner pod comprises an inner base and an inner cover configured to couple to the inner base thereby forming an interior for housing a received workpiece, and a hold down pin movably arranged through the inner cover and configured to press the received workpiece.
Conn et al. (US 2011/0127895 A1, herein Conn) discloses an apparatus comprising a frame and a cover removably attached to the frame. The apparatus further comprises a geared latch assembly attached to the cover, the geared latch assembly having a geared latch. If the geared latch is rotated from a first position to a second position, the cover moves linearly from a closed state to an open state.
Wu et al. (US 6,622,883 B1, herein Wu) discloses a door for a wafer container, including a rotatable cammed member that is vertically aligned and moved in and out of respective first latch holes on the wafer transport module upon rotary motion of the rotatable cammed member, and two second links respectively coupled to the first links and horizontally moved in and out of respective second latch holes on the wafer transport module upon movement of the first links.
Neither Chuang, Conn, nor Wu disclose wherein rotating the rotatable latch includes engaging an actuation feature provided on a base of the rotatable latch with an actuator. Furthermore, neither Chuang nor Conn disclose wherein a spring contacting the rotatable latch applies force driving engagement of the head with the retention recess; or wherein a retention ring is provided in a retention ring groove formed in a shaft of the rotatable latch.
Furthermore, Wright et al. (Us 2006/0000747 A1, herein Wright) does not disclose a rotatable latch as recited in claim 1. Rather, Wright discloses four U-shaped latches which are received in a snap fit relation on a tab that is integrally connected to the base of the lower section and are received in the notch in the upper section (Wright, Paragraph [0031]-[0032]). These latches, when received in all sections, keep the container closed (Wright, Paragraph [0033]). The latches described in Wright are not rotatable, that is they are not configured to be rotated between a first and second orientation. The only movement the latches in Wright has a slight deformation in order to have the latches fit in the respective notches (Wright, Paragraph [0032]). As such, Wright does not disclose a rotatable latch as recited by claim 1.
/Praachi M Pathak/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
May 4, 2026