DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as
being anticipated by Couleaud et al. (US 20250371815 A1) (hereinafter Couleaud).
Regarding claim 1, Couleaud discloses An electronic device, comprising: (Fig. 1; Fig. 7; [0047])
a memory, configured to store a spatial video embedded with a plurality of background feature points; (Fig. 7; [0088] “In some examples, control circuitry 710 and/or 718 executes instructions for an application stored in memory (e.g., storage 714 and/or 728).”; [0047] “For example, a user may operate a camera, such as a headcam, to capture one or more images and/or videos. In the specific example shown, each user device 110 is configured to capture three-dimensional video data, such as spatial video, comprising point cloud data. It will be appreciated that any suitable data may be captured by the user device 110 which characterizes the environment in three-dimensions as discussed herein.”; [0005] “In particular, the earlier-captured and stored data may characterize the environment in three dimensions, for example by including a depth, or z-axis, component.”; [0009] “Generally, data characterizing the environment in three-dimensions may refer to the three spatial dimensions, and includes any data defining or including a depth or volumetric component of the environment, for example point cloud data, mesh data, or depth data in addition to two-dimensional image data. It will be appreciated that the term image data as used herein may be any suitable media content data including image or video data and may in some examples comprise audio data or may be associated with accompanying audio data.”; [0010] “Stored second image data of the environment, captured during a second time period earlier than the first time period, may be accessed, the second image data comprising data characterizing the environment in three dimensions during the second time period. The stored second image data may, for example, be stored at, and/or accessed from, any suitable memory, such as for example server memory or local memory of a user device. The stored second image data may be of the same type or different to the first image data. A display image may be caused to be rendered at a user device (for example an extended reality device) during the first time period, the rendering based on the first image data. The display image may for example be a two-dimensional display image or a three-dimensional display image. In examples wherein the display image is a two-dimensional display image, the display image may depict a planar view of the environment, or an object to be displayed within the environment, as viewed from a perspective of a user or a perspective of a user device. Generally, three-dimensional display image will be understood to mean any image having a depth or volumetric component, for example using voxels, and may include three-dimensional video data, such as spatial video. The display image may comprise an object from the stored second image data. An object of the stored second image data may therefore be identified for display at a user device during the first time period, the object identified from the second stored image data, and which may or may not also be identified in the first image data.”; [0028] “Use of the one or more unmatched features as part of the saliency evaluation may require a saliency evaluation of features already determined to be uniquely present in the stored second image data, or may direct to or provide, local or global context for a downstream saliency evaluation. The unmatched feature identification may therefore represent a first data reduction step prior to a saliency evaluation, thereby reducing the computational resources required for the downstream saliency evaluation. The one or more objects, regions or features of interest may comprise the object. It will be understood that the saliency evaluation may be any suitable saliency evaluation technique, and may comprise any combination of bottom-up or top-down saliency evaluation techniques. By way of example, in a bottom-up saliency evaluation technique the one or more objects, regions or features of interest may be identified based on any suitable features of the stored second image data such as color; intensity; texture; orientation; motion; size; spatial location; depth. By way of further example, in a top-down saliency evaluation technique the one or more objects, regions or features of interest may be identified based on any suitable factors, for example external factors, relating to the second image data, which may in some examples include data or metadata associated with the second image data.”)
a camera circuit, configured to capture an image of a current scene of a real space; ([0047] “For example, a user may operate a camera, such as a headcam, to capture one or more images and/or videos. In the specific example shown, each user device 110 is configured to capture three-dimensional video data, such as spatial video, comprising point cloud data. It will be appreciated that any suitable data may be captured by the user device 110 which characterizes the environment in three-dimensions as discussed herein.”)
a processor, coupled to the memory and the camera circuit, wherein the processor is configured to position the spatial video to the image of the current scene (live captured data [008]) of the real space according to the plurality of background feature points when a plurality of feature points of the image matches the plurality of background feature points (Fig. 5; Fig. 7; [0061] “In the example further process steps of FIG. 6, during the live capture of the first image data 602, the control circuitry may in some examples determine whether the environment of the live capture matches the environment of previously-stored second image data 604. The determination may be performed in any suitable manner, and may for example comprise the comparing of a current location, for example of a device used to capture the first image data, with location information of stored previously-captured second image data. The control circuitry may in some examples access a location database of a media platform and determine whether stored previously-captured second image data is present and associated with the same location as a location of the user device. If the environment matches an environment of stored, previously-captured second image data, the stored, previously-captured second image data may be accessed. In some examples, there may be multiple stored, previously captured second image data having the same environment as the live-captured first image data. This may be the case for popular tourist attractions or environments in which a popular event occurred or simply environments which see regular foot traffic.”); and
a display circuit, coupled to the processer, configured to display the spatial video. (Fig. 7; [0090] “In client/server-based examples, control circuitry 718 may include communication circuitry suitable for communicating with an application server (e.g., server 704) or other networks or servers. The instructions for carrying out the functionality described herein may be stored on the application server. Communication circuitry may include a cable modem, an Ethernet card, or a wireless modem for communication with other equipment, or any other suitable communication circuitry. Such communication may involve the Internet or any other suitable communication networks or paths (e.g., communication network 708). In another example of a client/server-based application, control circuitry 718 runs a web browser that interprets web pages provided by a remote server (e.g., server 704). For example, the remote server may store the instructions for the application in a storage device. The remote server may process the stored instructions using circuitry (e.g., control circuitry 710) and/or generate displays. Computing device 702 may receive the displays generated by the remote server and may display the content of the displays locally via display 724. This way, the processing of the instructions is performed remotely (e.g., by server 704) while the resulting displays, such as the display windows described elsewhere herein, are provided locally on computing device 702. Computing device 702 may receive inputs from the user via input interface 726 and transmit those inputs to the remote server for processing and generating the corresponding displays.”)
Regarding claim 2, Couleaud discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the camera circuit is further configured to simultaneously record the spatial video and a plurality of background images, and wherein the processor is further configured to:
extract the plurality of background feature points according to the plurality of background images; and
embed the plurality of background feature points into the spatial video. ([0010] “Stored second image data of the environment, captured during a second time period earlier than the first time period, may be accessed, the second image data comprising data characterizing the environment in three dimensions during the second time period. The stored second image data may, for example, be stored at, and/or accessed from, any suitable memory, such as for example server memory or local memory of a user device. The stored second image data may be of the same type or different to the first image data. A display image may be caused to be rendered at a user device (for example an extended reality device) during the first time period, the rendering based on the first image data. The display image may for example be a two-dimensional display image or a three-dimensional display image. In examples wherein the display image is a two-dimensional display image, the display image may depict a planar view of the environment, or an object to be displayed within the environment, as viewed from a perspective of a user or a perspective of a user device. Generally, three-dimensional display image will be understood to mean any image having a depth or volumetric component, for example using voxels, and may include three-dimensional video data, such as spatial video. The display image may comprise an object from the stored second image data. An object of the stored second image data may therefore be identified for display at a user device during the first time period, the object identified from the second stored image data, and which may or may not also be identified in the first image data.” [0009] “Generally, data characterizing the environment in three-dimensions may refer to the three spatial dimensions, and includes any data defining or including a depth or volumetric component of the environment, for example point cloud data, mesh data, or depth data in addition to two-dimensional image data. It will be appreciated that the term image data as used herein may be any suitable media content data including image or video data and may in some examples comprise audio data or may be associated with accompanying audio data.”; Examiner's note: capturing the second image data corresponds to record a plurality of background images. Comprising data characterizing the environment in three dimensions during the second time period corresponds to extracting background feature points; also see paragraph [0023] and [0084].)
Regarding claim 3, Couleaud discloses The electronic device of claim 2,
wherein the electronic device moves from a first pose to a second pose when recording the spatial video (see paragraphs 5-6, 15, 18), wherein the processor is further configured to:
obtain a plurality of first background feature points according to a first background image captured at the first pose, and embed the plurality of first background feature points into a first key frame of the spatial video; and
obtain a plurality of second background feature points according to a second background image captured at the second pose, and embed the plurality of second background feature points into a second key frame of the spatial video. ([0007] “In some cases, the environment of the later time may have changed when compared with the earlier time, for example to comprise a different arrangement of components. In some cases, the live-captured data and the earlier captured and stored data may each be captured by different capture methods or devices. Characterizing the environment in three-dimensions in the live-captured data and in the earlier captured and stored data may improve accuracy and precision in locating specific environmental components in order to correctly locate and position the event or occurrence for the purpose of reproduction at the later time.”; [0018] “In some examples, the stored second image data may comprise a geolocation tag or any suitable association with a physical location, such as in the form of metadata stored alongside or associated with the stored second image data.”; [0084] “In some examples, a location database linking locations or environments with corresponding stored image data may include information such as a time the image data was captured, a camera orientation, a weather condition, a color grading, or any suitable metadata associated with the image data. The control circuitry may use the information associated with the image data to determine or modify how the stored image data is rendered into a live-viewed environment based on the live-captured image data. In the examples described herein, the control circuitry may detect that the second image data was captured at noon on a clear day, with the sun behind the second user's back, whereas the live-captured first image data may be captured at the end of the day with the sun facing the first user. The control circuitry may therefore use this information when determining how to modify the object for rendering to the first user, for example to re-cast the shadows, and to adjust the impacts of lighting on elements it determines to mix into the live-viewed environment to improve a level of immersion of the first user and a spatial quality of the render. In further examples, wherein each stored second image data is associated with a corresponding time stamp, a sequential or historical layering of image data may be performed so that users can watch how the environment changes over time, which occur over any suitable length of time including years or hours. Such examples may find particular use for tourism, wherein tourists may be presented with a visual historical archive of a region or a place, or for example a four-seasonal transition of a region or a place, through combined three-dimensional or spatial videos.”; [0021] “The data representing the object may characterize one or more selected from: lighting; shadow; color; texture; reflectance; diffraction; luminance; chromaticity; contrast; brightness; transparency; opacity; scale; rotation; orientation; pose; position; transform; resolution; frame rate; frame density; dynamic range; color gamut. In some examples, during the first time period, a perspective from which the first image data is captured may be different to a perspective from which the stored second image data was captured.”; [0022] “The first image data may be captured using a different capture method or using a different device type or device generation to that of the stored second image data. Any resulting impact on, for example, resolution or frame rate of the capture technology may therefore be represented in the rendering during the first time period, which may for example include up-or down-scaling, increase or decrease in frame rate or frame density, or increase or decrease in dynamic range or color gamut, thereby improving visual quality in some cases while accounting for any reduced processing capability or display technology capability in others.”; Examiner's note: when the device moves from first pose to the second pose, it generates different geolocation tags, time stamps, and camera orientations. Also, it’s well known that video recording includes key frames as a core part of digital video compression and image processing. Therefore, it’s implicit that embedding background feature points into first and second key frames. Furthermore, in image and video processing, frame density (the concentration or sampling rate of frames over time) directly dictates how key frames (the primary, information-rich anchor frames) are selected, clustered, or spaced out. Therefore, keyframes are generated to apply/adjust frame density.)
Regarding claim 4, Couleaud discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
obtain a depth information (see [0005]) of the spatial video when recording the spatial video and embed the depth information into the spatial video; and
position the spatial video to the current scene of the real space according to the depth information when displaying the spatial video. ([0010] “Stored second image data of the environment, captured during a second time period earlier than the first time period, may be accessed, the second image data comprising data characterizing the environment in three dimensions during the second time period. The stored second image data may, for example, be stored at, and/or accessed from, any suitable memory, such as for example server memory or local memory of a user device. The stored second image data may be of the same type or different to the first image data. A display image may be caused to be rendered at a user device (for example an extended reality device) during the first time period, the rendering based on the first image data. The display image may for example be a two-dimensional display image or a three-dimensional display image. In examples wherein the display image is a two-dimensional display image, the display image may depict a planar view of the environment, or an object to be displayed within the environment, as viewed from a perspective of a user or a perspective of a user device. Generally, three-dimensional display image will be understood to mean any image having a depth or volumetric component, for example using voxels, and may include three-dimensional video data, such as spatial video. The display image may comprise an object from the stored second image data. An object of the stored second image data may therefore be identified for display at a user device during the first time period, the object identified from the second stored image data, and which may or may not also be identified in the first image data.”; [0009] “Generally, data characterizing the environment in three-dimensions may refer to the three spatial dimensions, and includes any data defining or including a depth or volumetric component of the environment, for example point cloud data, mesh data, or depth data in addition to two-dimensional image data. It will be appreciated that the term image data as used herein may be any suitable media content data including image or video data and may in some examples comprise audio data or may be associated with accompanying audio data.”; [0081] “The modified object may additionally, or alternatively, be combined with the first image data to form a composite third image data 628 wherein the object is depicted in the environment 106 of the first time period T1. As such the control circuitry may construct a composite scene that merges the live captured first image data with the inserted objects, maintaining a coherent 3D spatial appearance. The control circuitry may encode this composite scene into a new 3D spatial video format, preserving high-quality visual and depth information for playback on compatible devices. The composite third image data may then be stored 630 for accessing at a later time period, whether for viewing an object therein within the environment at a later time period, or for creating further composite image data. The composite image generation and storage may depend on the availability of sufficient bandwidth or computational resources, such as memory or processing capacity, for example at a user device 624.”)
Regarding claim 5, Couleaud discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
obtain a pose of the electronic device when recording the spatial video and embed the pose into the spatial video. ([0010] “Stored second image data of the environment, captured during a second time period earlier than the first time period, may be accessed, the second image data comprising data characterizing the environment in three dimensions during the second time period. The stored second image data may, for example, be stored at, and/or accessed from, any suitable memory, such as for example server memory or local memory of a user device. The stored second image data may be of the same type or different to the first image data. A display image may be caused to be rendered at a user device (for example an extended reality device) during the first time period, the rendering based on the first image data. The display image may for example be a two-dimensional display image or a three-dimensional display image. In examples wherein the display image is a two-dimensional display image, the display image may depict a planar view of the environment, or an object to be displayed within the environment, as viewed from a perspective of a user or a perspective of a user device. Generally, three-dimensional display image will be understood to mean any image having a depth or volumetric component, for example using voxels, and may include three-dimensional video data, such as spatial video. The display image may comprise an object from the stored second image data. An object of the stored second image data may therefore be identified for display at a user device during the first time period, the object identified from the second stored image data, and which may or may not also be identified in the first image data.”; [0009] “Generally, data characterizing the environment in three-dimensions may refer to the three spatial dimensions, and includes any data defining or including a depth or volumetric component of the environment, for example point cloud data, mesh data, or depth data in addition to two-dimensional image data. It will be appreciated that the term image data as used herein may be any suitable media content data including image or video data and may in some examples comprise audio data or may be associated with accompanying audio data.”; Examiner's note: it's well known that in order to obtain depth data, obtaining the pose of camera (electronic device) is required. Also see [0071]-[0072]; [0084] “In some examples, a location database linking locations or environments with corresponding stored image data may include information such as a time the image data was captured, a camera orientation, a weather condition, a color grading, or any suitable metadata associated with the image data. The control circuitry may use the information associated with the image data to determine or modify how the stored image data is rendered into a live-viewed environment based on the live-captured image data. In the examples described herein, the control circuitry may detect that the second image data was captured at noon on a clear day, with the sun behind the second user's back, whereas the live-captured first image data may be captured at the end of the day with the sun facing the first user. The control circuitry may therefore use this information when determining how to modify the object for rendering to the first user, for example to re-cast the shadows, and to adjust the impacts of lighting on elements it determines to mix into the live-viewed environment to improve a level of immersion of the first user and a spatial quality of the render. In further examples, wherein each stored second image data is associated with a corresponding time stamp, a sequential or historical layering of image data may be performed so that users can watch how the environment changes over time, which occur over any suitable length of time including years or hours. Such examples may find particular use for tourism, wherein tourists may be presented with a visual historical archive of a region or a place, or for example a four-seasonal transition of a region or a place, through combined three-dimensional or spatial videos.”
Regarding claim 6, Couleaud discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the spatial video comprises a first key frame and a second key frame, wherein the first key frame comprises a plurality of first background feature points and the second key frame comprises a plurality of second background feature points, wherein the processor is further configured to:
position the spatial video to a first position of the current scene of the real space when displaying the first key frame; and
position the spatial video to a second position of the current scene of the real space when displaying the second key frame. ([0007] “In some cases, the environment of the later time may have changed when compared with the earlier time, for example to comprise a different arrangement of components. In some cases, the live-captured data and the earlier captured and stored data may each be captured by different capture methods or devices. Characterizing the environment in three-dimensions in the live-captured data and in the earlier captured and stored data may improve accuracy and precision in locating specific environmental components in order to correctly locate and position the event or occurrence for the purpose of reproduction at the later time.”; [0021] “In some examples, the object is modified based on the first image data. The terms “the object is modified” and “modifying the object” will be understood to mean modifying, by any suitable implementation, data representing the object such that the object is rendered differently at the first time period to how it was captured in the stored second image data. The data representing the object may characterize one or more selected from: lighting; shadow; color; texture; reflectance; diffraction; luminance; chromaticity; contrast; brightness; transparency; opacity; scale; rotation; orientation; pose; position; transform; resolution; frame rate; frame density; dynamic range; color gamut. In some examples, during the first time period, a perspective from which the first image data is captured may be different to a perspective from which the stored second image data was captured. A resulting impact on positioning, rotation, orientation, pose and scale of the object may therefore be represented in the rendering during the first time period. Additionally, or alternatively, aspects of the environment may have changed compared with the environment during the second time period. For example, the environment may, during the first time period comprise a different arrangement of components as those of the environment characterized by the stored second image data. Such components may in some cases affect how the object is to be displayed at a user device during the first time period, and may therefore cause the object to be rendered temporarily or permanently, partially or wholly obstructed or occluded by one or more environment components. In such examples, there may be a resulting impact on a transparency or an opacity of part or all of the object which may therefore be represented in the rendering during the first time period. The environment may, in some cases, be subject to different weather or lighting conditions during the first time period to those of the second time period (for example a different time of the day or a different season) which may affect components of the environment differently at the first time period when compared to the environment during the earlier second time period. A resulting impact on, for example, lighting, shadow, or a surface quality of the object such as texture, reflectance, luminance, chromaticity, contrast, or brightness may therefore be represented in the rendering during the first time period.”; [0022] “The first image data may be captured using a different capture method or using a different device type or device generation to that of the stored second image data. Any resulting impact on, for example, resolution or frame rate of the capture technology may therefore be represented in the rendering during the first time period, which may for example include up-or down-scaling, increase or decrease in frame rate or frame density, or increase or decrease in dynamic range or color gamut, thereby improving visual quality in some cases while accounting for any reduced processing capability or display technology capability in others. In some examples, the object may, in the stored second image data, be captured such that at least a portion of the object is occluded, whether by the presence of a foreground occlusion or due to a field of view, a perspective or a device orientation from which the stored second image data was captured. In such examples, the stored second image data may not comprise the whole object to be rendered from a viewpoint or perspective of the first image data. As such, modifying the object for rendering at the first time period may comprise predicting the missing or occluded portion of the object for reconstructing the missing or occluded portion during the rendering of the object, which may include a prediction of a different view or perspective of the object from that captured in the second image data, such as a view or perspective of the first image data. In such cases, the prediction may comprise any suitable prediction technique such as interpolation or in-painting, which may comprise use of a trained machine learning model.”; Examiner's note: frame density (or keyframe interval) sets the distance or number of regular frames between a first key frame and a second key frame. Therefore, it corresponds to that the spatial video comprises a first key frame and a second key frame.; [0081] “The modified object may additionally, or alternatively, be combined with the first image data to form a composite third image data 628 wherein the object is depicted in the environment 106 of the first time period T1. As such the control circuitry may construct a composite scene that merges the live captured first image data with the inserted objects, maintaining a coherent 3D spatial appearance. The control circuitry may encode this composite scene into a new 3D spatial video format, preserving high-quality visual and depth information for playback on compatible devices. The composite third image data may then be stored 630 for accessing at a later time period, whether for viewing an object therein within the environment at a later time period, or for creating further composite image data. The composite image generation and storage may depend on the availability of sufficient bandwidth or computational resources, such as memory or processing capacity, for example at a user device 624.” Examiner’s note: in image and video processing, frame density (the concentration or sampling rate of frames over time) directly dictates how key frames (the primary, information-rich anchor frames) are selected, clustered, or spaced out. Therefore, keyframes are generated to apply/adjust frame density. When key frames are used during recording, the key frames are used during displaying as well.)
Regarding claim 7, Couleaud discloses The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: resize the spatial video according to the plurality of background feature points when displaying the spatial video. ([0073] “It will be appreciated that the environment 106 may have changed between the second time period T2 and the first time period T1. A direct re-rendering of the segmented string quartet performance 402 from the second image data in the environment during the first time period T1 may result in the string quartet performance 402 appearing incongruous with the environment 106 of the first time period T1. It may therefore be required to consider the updated environmental context of the environment 106 during the first time period Tl such that the environmental context may drive one or more modifications to the segmented string quartet performance 402 prior to rendering. As such, the live-captured first image data may be analyzed to obtain one or more environmental context values 620. For example, the control circuitry may analyze the live-captured first image data for environmental context (such as lighting, scale, and spatial layout) and may accordingly adapt a segmented object or objects to match the environmental context or conditions of the first image data, adjusting object scale, orientation, texture, and lighting to ensure a natural fit with the environment during the first time period.”; [0081] “The modified object may additionally, or alternatively, be combined with the first image data to form a composite third image data 628 wherein the object is depicted in the environment 106 of the first time period T1. As such the control circuitry may construct a composite scene that merges the live captured first image data with the inserted objects, maintaining a coherent 3D spatial appearance. The control circuitry may encode this composite scene into a new 3D spatial video format, preserving high-quality visual and depth information for playback on compatible devices. The composite third image data may then be stored 630 for accessing at a later time period, whether for viewing an object therein within the environment at a later time period, or for creating further composite image data. The composite image generation and storage may depend on the availability of sufficient bandwidth or computational resources, such as memory or processing capacity, for example at a user device 624.”; [0021] “In some examples, the object is modified based on the first image data. The terms “the object is modified” and “modifying the object” will be understood to mean modifying, by any suitable implementation, data representing the object such that the object is rendered differently at the first time period to how it was captured in the stored second image data. The data representing the object may characterize one or more selected from: lighting; shadow; color; texture; reflectance; diffraction; luminance; chromaticity; contrast; brightness; transparency; opacity; scale; rotation; orientation; pose; position; transform; resolution; frame rate; frame density; dynamic range; color gamut. In some examples, during the first time period, a perspective from which the first image data is captured may be different to a perspective from which the stored second image data was captured. A resulting impact on positioning, rotation, orientation, pose and scale of the object may therefore be represented in the rendering during the first time period. Additionally, or alternatively, aspects of the environment may have changed compared with the environment during the second time period. For example, the environment may, during the first time period comprise a different arrangement of components as those of the environment characterized by the stored second image data. Such components may in some cases affect how the object is to be displayed at a user device during the first time period, and may therefore cause the object to be rendered temporarily or permanently, partially or wholly obstructed or occluded by one or more environment components. In such examples, there may be a resulting impact on a transparency or an opacity of part or all of the object which may therefore be represented in the rendering during the first time period. The environment may, in some cases, be subject to different weather or lighting conditions during the first time period to those of the second time period (for example a different time of the day or a different season) which may affect components of the environment differently at the first time period when compared to the environment during the earlier second time period. A resulting impact on, for example, lighting, shadow, or a surface quality of the object such as texture, reflectance, luminance, chromaticity, contrast, or brightness may therefore be represented in the rendering during the first time period.”)
Regarding claims 8-14, the claims are method claims of device claims 1-7 respectively. The claims are similar in scope to claims 1-7 respectively and they are rejected under similar rationale as claims 1-7 respectively.
Regarding claims 15-20, the claims are non-transitory computer readable storage medium claims (para.[0047], [0087], [0088]) of device claims 1-6 respectively. The claims are similar in scope to claims 1-6 respectively and they are rejected under similar rationale as claims 1-6 respectively.
Conclusion
/Hyorim Park/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/ALICIA M HARRINGTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615