DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to correspondence received February 11, 2025.
Claims 1-15 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
An association unit which automatically associates in claims 1 and 6.
Further association unit limitations in claims 3 and 8.
The association unit is described in, at least, pars 041-044 (terminal device, output device, storage unit, etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s):
Claims 1, 6, and 11, which are similar in scope:
automatically associates, with a first user, a second user who has decided to share, is sharing, or has shared a predetermined experience in a predetermined service with the first user
This is an abstract idea that is a certain method of organizing human activity - managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2). This step is management of relationship or interaction between people because it can only be understood as pairing people together based on a certain criteria. Therefore claims 1, 6, and 11 recite an abstract idea that is a certain method of organizing human activity.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements in claims 1, 6, and 11 recite generic computing components such as:
Claim 1:
A non-transitory computer readable medium having recorded thereon a program for causing a computer to function as: an association unit
Claim 6:
An information processing apparatus comprising: an association unit
Claim 11:
computer implemented
These elements amount to no more than instructions to apply the above identified abstract idea to a computer, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), see “A commonplace business method or mathematical algorithm being applied on a general purpose computer, Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. V. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S. 208, 223, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1983 (2014); Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 64, 175 USPQ 673, 674 (1972); Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015).” The elements in combination further amount to the same: instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer. Therefore there is no practical application of the abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, for the reasons identified above in the practical application section, there is not significantly more recited than the abstract idea, either alone or in combination.
Claims 2-5; 7-10; and 12-15 further describe the abstract idea of the independent claims, and the additional elements were previously described in the independent claims.
Therefore, claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 9-12, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saraf et al., US PGPUB 20150148127 A1 (“Saraf”).
Per claims 1, 6, and 11, which are similar in scope, Saraf teaches
Per claim 1, A non-transitory computer readable medium having recorded thereon a program for causing a computer to function as in par 083: “In one embodiment, the hardware system 900 comprises a processor 902, a cache memory 904, and one or more executable modules and drivers, stored on a tangible computer-readable storage medium, directed to the functions described herein. Additionally, the hardware system 900 may include a high performance input/output (I/O) bus 906 and a standard I/O bus 908.”
Per claim 6, An information processing apparatus comprising in par 085: “The hardware system 900 may include a variety of system architectures and various components of the hardware system 900 may be rearranged. For example, cache memory 904 may be on-chip with the processor 902. Alternatively, the cache memory 904 and the processor 902 may be packed together as a "processor module," with processor 902 being referred to as the "processor core." Furthermore, certain embodiments of the present disclosure may neither require nor include all of the above components.”
Per claim 11, A computer implemented method comprising is taught in par 093: “the methods described herein may be at least partially processor-implemented.”
Then, per claims 1, 6, and 11, which are similar in scope, Saraf teaches an association unit which automatically associates, with a first user, a second user who has decided to share, is sharing, or has shared a predetermined experience in a predetermined service with the first user in par 017-018: “"If the player wishes to play with someone outside of the player's social network, the player may send a request to play against that person. The game networking system associated with the game may forward the request to that person. If the person declines the request, the player may not be allowed to communicate with that person. However, if the person accepts the request, a match between the two players may be generated, and a communication channel may be provided to the players to allow the players to communicate with one another. The communication channel may be any suitable channel that may allow communication (e.g., instant message communication, video communication, audio communication, etc.).
In a specific example, Player A may wish to play a game against another player and may browse players associated with the game networking system of the game. In some embodiments, Player A may browse profiles associated with available players. A profile associated with a player may include any relevant information about a player, such as content provided by a player (e.g., pictures, video, comments, etc.), a username of a player, demographic information, geographic information associated with a player, games that the player plays and/or enjoys playing, and the like. When Player A finds a suitable opponent with whom Player A wishes to communicate (e.g., Player B), Player A may request that a match be created so that Player A may play against Player B. In some embodiments, the profile page for Player B may include a button that Player A may select to initiate the request. The request may be forwarded to Player B, which may appear as a notification to Player B. If Player B declines the request, Player A may not be allowed to communicate with Player B. If Player B accepts the request, the game networking system may create a match between Player A and Player B. When a match is created, a communication channel may be provided to Player A and Player B so that the players may begin communicating with one another." The communication channel automatically associates first and second user. The second user is player A who has decided to invite player B to a match, which is sharing a predetermined experience in a predetermined service with the first user.
Per claims 2, 7, and 12, which are similar in scope, Saraf teaches the limitations of claims 1, 6, and 11, above. Saraf further teaches wherein the second user is a user who has decided to use, is using, or has used predetermined content in the predetermined service together with the first user in par 051: “For example, Player A with six friends on Player A's team (e.g., the friends that are listed as being in the player's mob/gang/set/army/business/crew/etc. depending on the nature of the game) may be playing the virtual game and choose to confront Player B who has 20 friends on Player B's team. In some embodiments, a player may only have first-degree friends on the player's team. In other embodiments, a player may also have second-degree and higher degree friends on the player's team. To resolve the game event, in some embodiments the game engine may total up the weapon strength of the seven members of Player A's team and the weapon strength of the 21 members of Player B's team and decide an outcome of the confrontation based on a random variable applied to a probability distribution that favors the side with the greater total. In some embodiments, all of this may be done without any other current active participants other than Player A (e.g., Player A's friends, Player, B, and Player B's friends could all be offline or inactive). In some embodiments, the friends in a player's team may see a change in their state as part of the outcome of the game event. In some embodiments, the state (assets, condition, level) of friends beyond the first degree are taken into account.”
Per claims 4, 9, and 14, which are similar in scope, Saraf teaches the limitations of claims 1, 6, and 11, above. Saraf further teaches wherein the second user is a user who has a predetermined relationship with the first user in the predetermined service in par 016: “When a player wishes to find someone with whom to play a game, the player may browse through a list of players who are associated with the game. The list of players may include people outside of and/or within the player's social network, players who are online and/or offline, players who are publicly searchable, and the like. In some embodiments, if the player wishes to play a game with someone who is within the player's social network, the player may send a request to that person. In this case, the player may be allowed to communicate with that person since that person is already within the player's social network. In some embodiments, a game networking system associated with the game may suggest people with whom the player may be interested in playing the game.”
Per claims 5, 10, and 15, which are similar in scope, Saraf teaches the limitations of claims 4, 9, and 14, above. Saraf further teaches wherein the predetermined relationship is a relationship which is set by the first user and which satisfies a condition for automatically associating another user with the first user in par 018: “In a specific example, Player A may wish to play a game against another player and may browse players associated with the game networking system of the game. In some embodiments, Player A may browse profiles associated with available players. A profile associated with a player may include any relevant information about a player, such as content provided by a player (e.g., pictures, video, comments, etc.), a username of a player, demographic information, geographic information associated with a player, games that the player plays and/or enjoys playing, and the like. When Player A finds a suitable opponent with whom Player A wishes to communicate (e.g., Player B), Player A may request that a match be created so that Player A may play against Player B.”
Therefore, claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9-12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 USC 102.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 8, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saraf et al., US PGPUB 20150148127 A1 (“Saraf”) in view of Kane et al., US PGPUB 20120157212 (“Kane”).
Per claims 3, 8, and 13, which are similar in scope, Saraf teaches the limitations of claims 1, 6, and 11, above. Saraf further teaches wherein the automatically associating the second user with the first user is to automatically register the second user as a user whom the first user is to follow in par 065: “In some embodiments, the connections in a player's in-game social network is formed both explicitly (e.g., when users "friend" each other) and implicitly (e.g., when the system observes user behaviors and "friends" users to each other). Unless otherwise indicated, reference to a friend connection between two or more players can be interpreted to cover both explicit and implicit connections, using one or more social graphs and other factors to infer friend connections. The friend connections can be unidirectional or bidirectional. It is also not a limitation of this description that two players who are deemed "friends" for the purposes of this disclosure are not friends in real life (e.g., in disintermediated interactions or the like), but that could be the case.”
Saraf does not teach the association unit further allows mutually associating the first user and the second user to be registered as friends with each other, in a case where the first user follows the second user, as compared with a case where the first user does not follow the second user; the first user is more advantageous in terms of viewing of information related to the second user; and in a case where the first user follows the second user and the first user and the second user are not registered as friends, a specific function which is usable between users who are friends is not usable between the first user and the second user.
Kane teaches team challenges in networks of players. See abstract.
Kane teaches the association unit further allows mutually associating the first user and the second user to be registered as friends with each other, in a case where the first user follows the second user, as compared with a case where the first user does not follow the second user in par 073: “For example, if one of a player's buddies is making progress toward the completion of a team challenge, the exposure module 304 may cause a news item pertaining to the team challenge to be displayed in an in-game news feed (e.g., "Friend Feed") of the player. The news item may include a button or link related to team challenges. Upon a clicking of the button or link, the dashboard module 306 may present a user interface from which the player can indicate his willingness to help a buddy complete a challenge or from which the player can initiate a new challenge.”
Then, Kane teaches the first user is more advantageous in terms of viewing of information related to the second user in par 073: “For example, if one of a player's buddies is making progress toward the completion of a team challenge, the exposure module 304 may cause a news item pertaining to the team challenge to be displayed in an in-game news feed (e.g., "Friend Feed") of the player. The news item may include a button or link related to team challenges. Upon a clicking of the button or link, the dashboard module 306 may present a user interface from which the player can indicate his willingness to help a buddy complete a challenge or from which the player can initiate a new challenge.”
Then, Kane teaches and in a case where the first user follows the second user and the first user and the second user are not registered as friends, a specific function which is usable between users who are friends is not usable between the first user and the second user in par 086: “At operation 416, the helper-notification module 316 notifies the helpers of their selection to participate in the team challenge. For example, the helper-notification module 316 may notify the selected buddies via an email message or a posting on the player's behalf on an out-of-game social network. Thus, even selected buddies who have never accessed the social game network 120b may be notified of their selection by the player. The helper-notification module 316 may notify selected buddies who are also players of the game via one or more in-game mechanisms, such as shouts, pokergrams, friend feeds, message centers, or other mechanisms.” See also par 089: “At operation 424, the reward module 324 provides rewards to the initiator and the helpers based on the completion of the team challenge. For example, upon a completion of a team challenge, the initiator and the helpers may each receive $5,000 in virtual cash and 40 experience points. In various embodiments, the reward module 324 provides a reward only when the player takes an action to claim the reward (e.g., when the user clicks on a "Claim Reward" button).”
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the social connection association teaching of Saraf with the friends and advantages teaching of Kane because one would be motivated to incentivize players to make friendships so that the network effect of the platform was enhanced. The more players are encouraged to connect and add friends, the stronger the network effect and the more robust the subscription of the platform. For these reasons one would be motivated to modify Saraf with Kane.
Therefore, claims 3, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 USC 103.
Prior Art Considered Relevant
The following prior art is considered relevant to Applicant’s disclosure:
Winer et al., US Pat No 9391993 B1. Teaches in col 6 ln 29-56 that content streams can be shown to those who plus one someone’s post, which includes a public post. See also col 4 ln 40-046, Fig 2A. See also col 7 ln 34-44.
Conclusion
/RICHARD W. CRANDALL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619