DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-13, 16,17,22,24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is confusing because it calls for “a second curvature”; however, there was never “a first curvature” previously recited.
Claim 4 line 3 calls for “the at least one arcuately extending arm”; claim 1 line 8 calls for “at least one arm extending arcuately”; it is unclear if and how they are related.
Claim 4 is confusing because it is the at least one arm (7826, 7828 or 7830,7832) that extends in a direction opposite of the at least one arcuately extending arm (7826,7828 or 7830,7832) not a “second curvature”.
Claim 5 line 4 calls for “at least one second arm extending arcuately away”; however, here was never “at least one first arm extending arcuately away” previously recited.
Claim 5 line 5 calls for “a direction”; claim 5 line 3 calls for “a first direction”; it is unclear if and how they are related.
Claim 5 lines 5-6, “the first arm extending arcuately away” lacks clear antecedent basis.
Claim 6 calls for “a second ring segment”; however, there was never “a first ring segment” previously recited.
Claim 6 line 2 calls for “the at least one arcuately extending arm”; claim 1 line 8 calls for “at least one arm extending arcuately away”; it is unclear if and how they are related.
Claim 7 line 5 calls for “a second arm extending arcuately”; however, there was never “a first arm extending arcuately” previously recited.
Claim 7 is confusing because it is not clear if the second branch (7822,7824,7834,7836) includes a first and second arm (7826,7828 or 7830,7832) extending therefrom or the first branch includes a first arm extending therefrom and the second branch includes a second arm extending therefrom.
Claim 8 is confusing because claim 8 depends from claim 7 which calls for the second branch (7822 or 7824) to have a second arm (7826,7828 or 7830,7832) extending arcuately from the second branch; however, claim 8 calls for the second branch (7834, 7836) to have radius of curvature the same as the at least one arcuately extending arm (7830,7832). The branch and arms are never both arcuately related. Claim 8 depending from claim 7 requires both the branch and arms to be arcuately related.
Claim 8 calls for “the at least one arcuately extending arm”; claim 1 calls for “at least one arm extending arcuately away”; it is unclear if and how they are related.
Claim 9 line 4 calls for “two adjacent ring segments”; claim 9 line 3 calls for “a plurality of additional ring segments”; it is unclear if and how they are related.
Claim 11 calls for “a plurality of additional ring segments”; claim 9 calls for “a plurality of additional ring segments”; it is unclear if and how they are related.
Claim 12 is confusing because it calls for the first ring segment and the two adjacent ring segments to be disconnected from others in the plurality of additional ring segments; however, as depicted in Fig. 78, the ring segments are connected via branch members (7834,7836) and axial arms (7840,7842).
Claim 16 calls for “at least 4 rods”; claim 14 calls for “a plurality of rods”; it is unclear how they are related.
Claim 17 calls for “having 8 rods”; it is unclear how it relates back to the “rods” called for in claims 16 and/or claim 14.
Claim 22 calls for “at least one arm”; claim 21 calls for “at least one arm”; it is unclear if and how they are related.
Claim 24 calls for “at least one ring segment”; claim 18 calls for “a plurality of ring segments”; it is unclear if and how they are related.
Claim 24 calls for “a blade head”; claim 18 calls for “a blade head”; it is unclear if and how they are related.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14,16-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by WO document (WO 2010/108351).
WO document ‘351 discloses a spacer (14) for an adjacent pair of rotary working blades (13) wherein the pair of rotary working blades are configured to be supported by a main shaft for centers of the blades and positioned on at least one rod that will be spaced radially outward from the main shaft and extending parallel thereto, the spacer comprising at least one ring segment (see marked up Figure below) for extending at least partly around the at least one rod, at least one branch (see marked up Figure below) extending away from the at least one ring segment, at least one arm extending from the at least one branch (see marked up Figure below), at least one arm extending arcuately away from the at least one ring segment (see marked up Figure below) having a radius of curvature less than a radius of curvature of a blade with which the spacer is to be used, and wherein the spacer is substantially a constant thickness in the axial direction.
Re claim 2, wherein the at least one ring segment (see marked up Figure below) extends in a complete circle having an inside diameter greater than or equal to a diameter of the at least one rod on which the at least one ring segment is to be positioned.
Re claim 3, wherein the at least one branch extends inwardly from the at least one ring segment and wherein the at least one arm extends on first and second sides of the at least one branch (see marked up Figure below).
Re claim 4, the at least one arm has a second curvature in a direction opposite of the at least one arcuately extending arm (see marked up Figure below).
Re claim 5, wherein the at least one arm extending arcuately away from the at least one ring segment is a first arcuately extending arm extending in a first direction and further including at least one second arm extending arcuately away from the at least one ring segment in a second direction opposite a direction of the first arm extending arcuately away from the at least one ring segment (see marked up Figure below).
Re claim 6, including a second ring segment coupled to the at least one arcuately extending arm (see marked up Figure below)
Re claim 7, the at least one branch is a first branch extending away from the ring segment and further including a second branch extending away from the ring segment and in a direction away from the first branch, and wherein the second branch includes at least a second arm extending arcuately from the second branch (see marked up Figure below).
Re claim 8, insofar claim 8 is understood, the second branch has a radius of curvature approximately the same as the radius of curvature of the at least one arcuately extending arm.
Re claim 9, wherein the at least one ring segment is a first ring segment and further including a plurality of additional ring segments wherein the first ring segment is connected to two adjacent ring segments and wherein the first ring segment and the plurality of additional ring segments are substantially uniformly spaced apart in a circle of a diameter substantially equal to twice a distance between a center of the main shaft and a center of the at least one rod (see marked up Figure below).
Re claim 10, wherein the first ring segment and the plurality of additional ring segments add up to at least four ring segments (see marked up Figure below).
Re claim 11, wherein the first ring segment and a plurality of additional ring segments add up to eight ring segments (see marked up Figure below).
Re claim 12, insofar claim 12 is understood, the first ring segment and the two adjacent ring segments are disconnected from others in the plurality of additional ring segments. Re claim 13, wherein all of the ring segments are connected in a circle (see marked up Figure below).
Re claim 14, cutting head having a main shaft, a plurality of rods (see machine translation how (members 13 “blades” are connected to member 14 “spacer”) extending parallel to the main shaft and at least first and second rotary working blades (13) mounted on the main shaft with respective ones of the plurality of rods extending through respective openings in the first and second rotary working blades, and wherein the spacer (14) of claim 1 is positioned between the first and second rotary working blades (13) with the at least one ring segment extending at least partly around a respective rod (see marked up Figure below).
Re claim 16, having at least 4 rods (how members 13 are connected to member 14, see machine translation).
Re claim 17, having 8 rods (how members 13 are connected to member 14, see machine translation).
Re claim 18, a spacer (14) for spacing apart a pair of rotary working blades (13) wherein the spacer includes a plurality of ring segments configured for receiving a respective rod of a blade head, wherein at least first and second ring segments in the plurality of ring segments include a respective branch extending from the ring segment (see marked up Figure below).
Re claim 19, wherein the plurality of ring segments are a monolithic structure (see marked up Figure below).
Re claim 20, wherein each of the plurality of ring segments includes radially extending branches (see marked up Figure below) and arcuately extending branches (some of the arms marked up below are considered as arcuately extending branches).
Re claim 21, wherein each of the respective branches includes at least one arm extending away from the branch (see marked up Figure below).
Re claim 22, at least one arm extends arcuately (see marked up Figure below).
Re claim 23, wherein the plurality of ring segments each form a complete circle (see marked up Figure below).
Re claim 24, wherein at least one ring segment includes an inner portion configured to face a main shaft on a blade head and wherein the inner portion includes walls defining a gap in the at least one ring segment (see marked up Figure below).
Re claim 25, a blade head assembly having a main shaft and a plurality of rods (how members 13 are attached to member 14, see machine translation), and a plurality of blades (13) supported by the main shaft and positioned on the rods with respective rods extending through respective openings in each of the plurality of blades, and a spacer (14) according to claim 18 positioned between adjacent blades.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
WO document (WO 2010/108351) in view of Gunzner et al. (US 4055204)
WO document ‘351 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, WO document ‘351 lacks pressure ring having an outside diameter greater than or equal to the diameter of the circle wherein the pressure ring presses the first and second rotary working blades together. Gunzner et al. discloses pressure ring (60,62) having an outside diameter greater than or equal to the diameter of the circle wherein the pressure ring presses the working blade. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WO document ‘351 to include pressure ring as taught by Gunzner et al. since such a modification retains the blades on the cutting tool.
Claim(s) 18,23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP document (EP 0869223) in view of Markley et al. (US 5560348).
EP document discloses a blade head assembly (see Figs. 13,14) having a main shaft and a plurality of rods, and a plurality of blades (19) supported by the main shaft and positioned on the rods with respective rods extending through respective openings in each of the plurality of blades, and a spacer (20) positioned between adjacent blades.
EP document ‘223 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, EP document ‘223 lacks a spacer having a plurality of ring segments, wherein at least first and second ring segments in the plurality of ring segments include a respective branch extending from the ring segment. Markley et al. teaches a spacer (Figs. 3A,3B) having a plurality of ring segments (wherein 30,34 pointing in Fig. 3A), wherein at least first and second ring segments in the plurality of ring segments include a respective branch (where 39,41, pointing in Fig. 3A) extending from the ring segment.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify EP document to have the spacer include a plurality of ring segments, wherein at least first and second ring segments in the plurality of ring segments include a respective branch extending from the ring segment as taught by Markley et al. since such a modification facilitates absorbing impact forces.
Re claim 23, wherein the plurality of ring segments each form a complete circle (see Fig. 3A of Markley et al.).
Re claim 24, wherein at least one ring segment includes an inner portion configured to face a main shaft on a blade head and wherein the inner portion includes walls defining a gap in the at least one ring segment (see Fig. 3A of Markely et al.).
Re claim 25, a blade head assembly having a main shaft and a plurality of rods, and a plurality of blades supported by the main shaft and positioned on the rods with respective rods extending through respective openings in each of the plurality of blades, and a spacer positioned between adjacent blades (see discussion above).
Conclusion
/SUNIL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SS
10/17/2026