DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 2/12/2025. These drawings are accepted for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwaya et al (US 2022/0071473).
Regarding claims 1-4, Iwaya et al discloses an ultrasonic endoscope with ultrasound T/R elements at the distal end (Fig 2-3), a cable connected to the ultrasound T/R section, and a filler that fills gap in the cable portion (0048, 0059). The cable includes multiple signal cables electrically connected to the T/R section, has covering member that bundles the cables, and a cover which shields the first cover member/layer (Abs, Fig 5, 8-10, 0059, 0065-0070). The cable includes a first region with cable elements exposed, second wherein there exists the first covering layer exposed, and a third whereby the outer layer is the second covering layer which is exposed (0065, 0069, 0070, 0013-0014, 0074-0075, and 0079-0087, including the multiple exposed layer recitation (0083-0087)). The filler and a protrusion are included in contact with and on the outer surface of the third region, respectively (Figs 3, 7, 0043-0044, 0065).
Regarding claims 13-16, Iwaya et al discloses and teaches a sealing/boundary element between the regions of the cables (0014-0016, 0083-0085) creating transition between regions.
Regarding claims 17-20, Iwaya et al discloses and teaches the use of a resin material as the sealing member for the layer (Fig 7), having a higher viscosity than filler material (0048, 0059), as well as the distal end imaging unit (Fig 2, 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwaya et al (US 2022/0071473) in view of Morimoto et al (US 2019/0133558).
Regarding claims 5-12, Iwaya et al does NOT specify the level of smoothness of the relative covering members, but does describe different material characteristics which can be used for shielding and covering layers. However, Iwaya et al does disclose the inclusion of laminating metallic foils (0074), specifically including copper foils. Additionally, the filling elements and coatings are both disclosed as including possible metallic particle inclusion in their composition (0074-0079).
Attention is hereby directed to the teaching reference to Morimoto et al which expressly teaches the inclusion of mesh shield layers ((as recited in claims 9-12 as the covering which has lower smoothness) (0193-0194)). The properties of the foil are discussed as being thermally conductive and capable of being set to various thickness and material characteristics based on desired thermal and electrical properties so desired (0187-0196). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have utilized the mesh designs of Morimoto et al with those of Iwaya et al to provide for a result effective smoothness for each of the coating/shielding layers of the coaxial cabling, given the material considerations of both references (0187-0196, Morimoto; 0074-0079, Iwaya et al).
Conclusion
/JOEL LAMPRECHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798