DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to amendment filed on 12/29/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2006/0262083) in view of Van Baarsen et al. (US 2013/0300779).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses an image processing device (300, fig. 3, para.
0040), comprising:
a controller (330, para. 0040) configured to provide an image data (image, para.
0040) and a plurality of waveform data (voltage waveform, para. 0009), wherein the
image data comprises a plurality of pixel values of a plurality of frame periods, and the plurality of waveform data corresponds to the plurality of frame periods (FT); and
a driver (100) coupled to the controller (330) and a display circuit (310), and
configured to receive the image data and a first part (DR1, fig. 10, paras. 0066-0067) of
the plurality of waveform data from the controller, wherein after the driver drives the
display circuit according to the first part of the plurality of waveform data, the driver
receives a second part (DR2, fig. 10, paras. 0066-0067) of the waveform data from the
controller.
Zhou does not specifically disclose transmitting a preparation signal to the controller to obtain a second part of the waveform data.
In a similar field of endeavor of display controller, Van Baarsen discloses transmitting a preparation signal (such as signal from update buffer 304, fig. 8 to the controller 222 and 800) to the controller (222 and 800) to obtain a second part (second and subsequent frames) of the waveform data (paras. 0078-0079).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the signal to the controller as taught by Van Baarsen in the system of Zhou in order to save time and space in the memory (para. 0080).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zhou and Van Baarsen discloses after the driver drives the display circuit according to the first part (such as first frame) of the plurality of waveform data, the driver transmits the preparation signal (such as signal from update buffer 304, fig. 8 to the controller 222 and 800) to the controller (222 and 800) to obtain the second part (second and subsequent frames) of the waveform data from the controller (paras. 0078-0079 of Van Baarsen).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, the combination of Zhou and Van Baarsen discloses when each of the plurality of frame periods ends, the driver transmits the preparation signal to the controller to obtain the second part of the waveform data from the controller (paras. 0078-0079 of Van Baarsen).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Zhou discloses the driver is configured to apply
voltage (voltage waveform) to the display circuit according to the plurality of waveform
data, and the first part (DR1) of the plurality of waveform data corresponds to one or
more of the plurality of frame periods (FT).
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Zhou discloses the driver is configured to decode the
plurality of waveform data to control the display circuit to display the plurality of pixel
values (paras. 0040 and 0043).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou discloses an image display method, comprising:
transmitting, by a controller (330, para. 0040), an image data (image, para. 0040)
to a driver (100), wherein the image data comprises a plurality of pixel values of a
plurality of frame periods;
transmitting, by the controller (330), a first part (DR1, fig. 10, paras. 0066-0067)
of a plurality of waveform data (voltage waveform, para. 0009) to the driver, wherein the
plurality of waveform data corresponds to the plurality of frame periods (FT);
driving, by the driver, a display circuit (310) according to the first part (DR1) of
the plurality of waveform data; and
receiving, by the driver, a second part (DR2, fig. 10, paras. 0066-0067) of the
waveform data from the controller.
Zhou does not specifically disclose transmitting a preparation signal to the controller to obtain a second part of the waveform data.
In a similar field of endeavor of display controller, Van Baarsen discloses transmitting a preparation signal (such as signal from update buffer 304, fig. 8 to the controller 222 and 800) to the controller (222 and 800) to obtain a second part (second and subsequent frames) of the waveform data (paras. 0078-0079).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the signal to the controller as taught by Van Baarsen in the system of Zhou in order to save time and space in the memory (para. 0080).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou discloses an image processing device (300, fig. 3,
para. 0040),, comprising:
a controller (330, para. 0040) configured to provide an image data (image, para.
0040) and a plurality of waveform data (voltage waveform, para. 0009), wherein the
image data comprises a plurality of pixel values of a plurality of frame periods (FT), and
the plurality of waveform data corresponds to the plurality of frame periods (FT); and
a driver (100) coupled to the controller (330) and a display circuit (310), and
configured to receive the image data and a first part (DR1, fig. 10, paras. 0066-0067) of
the plurality of waveform data from the controller, the driver receives a second part (DR2, fig. 10, paras. 0066-0067) of the waveform data from the controller.
Zhou does not specifically disclose the driver encodes the first part of the plurality of waveform data to generate a plurality of voltage data.
In a similar field of endeavor of display controller, Van Baarsen discloses driver encodes the first part of the plurality of waveform data to generate a plurality of voltage data (in the first frame of the waveform, the update pipe sequencer 223 may obtain the current and next state values from the buffer 800, para. 0079).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the data as taught by Van Baarsen in the system of Zhou in order to save time and space in the memory (para. 0080).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zhou and Van Baarsen discloses after the driver drives the display circuit according to the first part of the plurality of waveform data, the driver transmits a preparation signal to the controller to obtain a third part (such as subsequent frames) of the waveform data from the controller (paras. 0078-0079 of Van Baarsen).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou discloses the driver is configured to apply voltage to
the display circuit according to the plurality of waveform data, and the first part (DR1) of
the plurality of waveform data corresponds to one or more of the plurality of frame
periods (FT, fig. 10).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou discloses the display circuit is an electrophoretic
display device, and is configured to adjust a plurality of positions of a plurality of
electrophoretic particles in an electronic ink layer according to the plurality of voltage
data (paras. 0038-0039).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou discloses the electronic ink layer includes a plurality of electrophoretic particles, and the plurality of electrophoretic particles belongs to different types (paras. 0038-0039).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 and 8-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on at least one reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629