DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Songatikamas et al. (US 2018/0085786 A1).
RE claim 1, Songatikamas teaches a device 100 providing a haptic tactile sensation (Fig.1-5 and ¶ 18), comprising: a haptic module 10 implementing a haptic tactile sensation (¶ 19); and a control unit 607 transmitting an operation signal of the haptic module (¶ 35); wherein the haptic module 10 is applied to a surface (of glass 102) of the device to be in contact with a user (Fig.1), and provides a haptic tactile sensation to a user according to a signal transmitted by the control unit corresponding to various operation situations (¶ 19).
RE claim 2/1, Songatikamas teaches the device the device is any one of a game console, a joystick, a mouse, a keyboard, a tablet, and a smartphone (¶ 19).
RE claim 3/1, Songatikamas teaches a plurality of the haptic modules (504, 506) are respectively applied to a surface of the device (see Fig.5 for a plurality of magnetic cores).
RE claim 4/1, Songatikamas teaches a plurality of the haptic modules (504, 506) provide a haptic tactile sensation for a plurality of areas on a single horizontal plane (Fig.5).
RE claim 5/3, Songatikamas teaches the device has a three-dimensional surface (¶ 31 and Fig.4), and the plurality of haptic modules are respectively applied to the three- dimensional surface to provide haptic tactile sensation in different directions on the three-dimensional surface (¶ 30, 31)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Songatikamas in view of Kim et al. (US 2020/0241643 A1).
RE claim 6/1, Kim teaches the haptic module comprises: a haptic device including a housing 602 (Fig.6 and ¶ 34), a magnetic field generation unit 603 disposed in the housing 602, a fixing unit 508 (Fig.5) that fixes the haptic device (504, 506).
Songatikamas does not teaches a vibration unit including an elastic material in which magnetic particles are dispersed in a matrix and a tactile transmission unit that transmits a haptic sensation generated by the haptic device.
Kim does not teach a vibration unit including an elastic material in which magnetic particles (ferrite particles) are dispersed in a matrix (Fig.8 and ¶ 102); a tactile transmission unit 320 that transmits a haptic sensation generated by the haptic device (¶ 102, 103, 114), such that properties thereof, such as stiffness, tensile strength, elongation rate, and the like, may be changed by the application of an external magnetic field. The haptic unit may be in the shape of at least one of a fine projection, a hollow cylinder, a polyhedron, such as a dome, a plate, a seesaw, and a tunnel (¶ 103).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Songatikamas by having a vibration unit including an elastic material in which magnetic particles are dispersed in a matrix and a tactile transmission unit that transmits a haptic sensation generated by the haptic device, as taught by Kim, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE claim 7/6, as discussed above, Kim teaches the surface (of cover 310) of the device 300 functions as a cover portion connected to the tactile transmission unit 320.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Songatikamas in view of Kim as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Colgate et al. (US 2020/0249761 A1).
RE claim 8/6, Songatikamas has been discussed above. Songatikamas does not teach a vibration force at a contact portion between the tactile transmission unit and the haptic device is greater than that of other portions, thereby providing localized haptic tactile sensations.
It is noted that limitation “a vibration force at a contact portion between the tactile transmission unit and the haptic device is greater than that of other portions” is a method of operating the haptic device. As user press on one specific surface, such surface would necessarily have greater vibration force compare to other portion.
MPEP 2112.02: “PRIOR ART DEVICE ANTICIPATES A CLAIMED PROCESS IF THE DEVICE CARRIES OUT THE PROCESS DURING NORMAL OPERATION. Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986)”.
Colgate teaches a vibration force at a contact portion between the tactile transmission unit and the haptic device is greater than that of other portions (see ¶ 8), thereby providing localized haptic tactile sensations (¶ 3), doing so provides the user a sensation of a pressing, engaging and/or clicking of a button, switch and/or key (¶ 31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Songatikamas in view of Kim by having a vibration force at a contact portion between the tactile transmission unit and the haptic device is greater than that of other portions, thereby providing localized haptic tactile sensations, as taught by Colgate, for the same reasons as discussed above.
Conclusion
/THOMAS TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834