DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action for the 19/051,333 application. Claims 1-7 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jackson (US 2006/0064089 A1).
Concerning claim 1, Jackson discloses a set screw for threadable engagement with a head of a pedicle screw for holding a spinal rod, the set screw having a spinal rod facing side and a set screw driver facing side, comprising: an opening (see Fig. 8, element 33) at the set screw driver facing side for engaging with the set screw driver (see par. 0037); and a convex surface (19) at the rod facing side, an apex (74) of the convex surface substantially corresponding with a rotational central axis (A) of the set screw, wherein a radius of curvature (see Fig. 8 below) of the convex surface is smaller at the center axis of the set screw as compared to a radius of curvature (see Fig. 8 below) of the convex surface in a peripheral area around the center axis.
[AltContent: textbox (Larger radius of curvature)][AltContent: textbox (Smaller radius of curvature)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Concerning claim 2, wherein the convex surface is an integral part of the set screw, and the convex surface configured to directly engage with a surface of the spinal rod (3).
Concerning claim 4, wherein an entire surface of the spinal rod facing side of the set screw forms a convex volume (see Fig. 16, element 115; and par. 0043 – “element 115 varies in radius of generation of curvature”).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Larger radius of curvature)][AltContent: textbox (Smaller radius of curvature)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spratt (US 9,782,204 B2).
Concerning claim 5, Spratt discloses a set screw (see Fig. 11, element 470) for threadable engagement with a head of a pedicle screw for holding a spinal rod, the set screw having a spinal rod facing side and a set screw driver facing side, comprising: an opening at the set screw driver traversing the set screw from the spinal rod facing side to the set screw driver facing side, the opening having a torque-engaging mechanism (see col. 7, lines 10-14) to apply a torque to the set screw by the set screw driver; and an annular surface (474A and 474B) at the rod facing side surrounding the opening.
Concerning claim 6, wherein the annular surface (474A and 474B) is flat, is beveled, or is spherical.
Concerning claim 7, wherein the annular surface (474A and 474B) is an integral part of the set screw.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson (US 2006/0064089 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2014/0249642 A1).
Jackson discloses the invention substantially as described above. However, Jackson does not explicitly disclose that the convex surface of the set screw is hardened relative to a body of the set screw.
Zhang et al. discloses a bearing surface for an orthopedic implant made of cobalt chrome molybdenum alloy coating deposited on a titanium substrate (see par. 0020), specifically because CoCr is harder and more wear-resistant than titanium.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to made to form the convex surface of Jackson’s set screw from cobalt chrome molybdenum alloy coating, the concept of which is disclosed by Zhang et al., in order to enhance the wear resistance of the set screw thereby reducing the chance of implant migration.
Conclusion
/ELLEN C HAMMOND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773