DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
NOTE:
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art reference and any interpretations of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The title is meant to have an “informative value in indexing, classifying, searching”. See MPEP606.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In Claims 1, 13, and 20, the recited “marker information” is indefinite because one of ordinary skill in the art would not have known the metes and bounds of this limitation. It is not clear if the maker information is information that marks the request or information about something else that marks the request.
Claims 2-12, 14-19 are rejected based on dependency from claims 1 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) (a)(2) as being anticipated by Gyllenskog et. al., U.S Patent Pub No. 2022/0164487 (hereinafter Gyllenskog).
Regarding Claim 1, Gyllenskog teaches a data deletion method, applied to an electronic device and comprising: receiving a first instruction, wherein the first instruction is used to instruct the electronic device to delete target data (Fig.2,5; Para10-11 "In some instances, it may be desirable to erase data stored within the RPMB" Para32-33 "That is, the host system 105 may transmit a purge command to the memory system 110") , and the first instruction comprises marker information of the target data(Fig.5, 6; Para 32-33 "To execute the purge command of the RPMB 140, the memory system 110 may transfer a latest version of the data stored by the addresses (e.g., the logical block addresses) of the RPMB 140 to other addresses ( e.g., other logical block addresses)." LBA corresponds to marker information); and
deleting, in response to the first instruction, the target data from a target storage area based on the marker information in the first instruction, wherein the target storage area comprises a replay protected memory block (RPMB), or a user data area (UDA) and a replay protected memory block (RPMB) (Fig.5, 6; Para 31-33 "The memory device 130-a may then erase the block 170-a." Para46-47, 74-78).
Regarding claims 13, and 20, Gyllenskog teaches these claims according to the reasoning set forth in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5,8,9,12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over .
Regarding claim 2, Gyllenskog teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
However, Gyllenskog fails to teach but Kim teaches wherein the target data comprises encrypted key information; and the method further comprises: encrypting either of an encryption key of sensitive data and a key material for generating the encryption key, to form the encrypted key information; storing the encrypted key information in the target storage area, wherein the key material for generating the encryption key comprises at least one of the following: a random number, an initialization vector, a timestamp, or a file identifier (Fig1,2,7; Para7-10 "wherein the UFID is based on an identifier of the generated file and at least one logical address corresponding to the generated file, and a storage device that generates a key for encrypting or decrypting write data corresponding to the generated file based on the UFID and a random number, and encrypts the write data by using the key.").
Gyllenskog and Kim are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They both relate to data management in a storage system.
Therefore, before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Gyllenskog, and incorporating the example of encryption key, as taught by Kim.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to utilize more efficient approach of data management, as suggested by Kim (Para4-6).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Gyllenskog and Kim teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Kim teaches wherein the deleting the target data from a target storage area based on the marker information in the first instruction comprises: in a case that the target data is stored in the RPMB, sending a physical deletion request message to the RPMB based on the marker information in the first instruction by using a trusted application in a trusted execution environment; sending the physical deletion request message to an RPMB listener by using an RPMB kernel driver and a file operation interface; and deleting the target data from the RPMB through a control module of a universal flash storage (UFS)-based file system by using the RPMB listener (Fig.2; Para40-44 "UFS" "the flash translation layer FTL performs mapping between a logical address of the file system 12 and a physical address of the storage device 1200").
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Gyllenskog and Kim teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Gyllenskog teaches wherein the target data comprises first target data and second target data; and the deleting the target data from a target storage area based on the marker information in the first instruction comprises: in a case that the target data is stored in the RPMB and the UDA, deleting the first target data from the RPMB and the second target data from the UDA based on the marker information in the first instruction(Fig.5, 6; Para 31-33 "The memory device 130-a may then erase the block 170-a." Para46-47, 74-78).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Gyllenskog and Kim teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Kim teaches wherein the deleting the first target data from the RPMB based on the marker information in the first instruction comprises: sending a physical deletion request message to the RPMB based on the marker information in the first instruction by using a trusted application in a trusted execution environment; sending the physical deletion request message to an RPMB listener by using an RPMB kernel driver and a file operation interface; and deleting the first target data from the RPMB through a control module of a universal flash storage (UFS)-based file system by using the RPMB listener(Fig.2; Para40-44 "UFS" "the flash translation layer FTL performs mapping between a logical address of the file system 12 and a physical address of the storage device 1200").
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Gyllenskog and Kim teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Kim teaches wherein the encrypting either of an encryption key of sensitive data and a key material for generating the encryption key, to form the encrypted key information comprises: starting, in an application layer, a trusted application corresponding to the application layer in a trusted execution environment; invoking, based on the trusted application corresponding to the application layer, a trusted application corresponding to the RPMB, and sending either of the encryption key of the sensitive data and the key material for generating the encryption key from the application layer to the trusted application corresponding to the RPMB; and encrypting, by using the trusted application corresponding to the RPMB, either of the encryption key of the sensitive data and the key material for generating the encryption key, to form the encrypted key information(Fig.2; Para40-44 "UFS" "the flash translation layer FTL performs mapping between a logical address of the file system 12 and a physical address of the storage device 1200").
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Gyllenskog and Kim teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Kim teaches wherein at least part of the target data is stored in the RPMB; and the storing the encrypted key information in the target storage area comprises: sending the encrypted key information and a file operation system command to an RPMB listener by using an RPMB kernel driver and using a trusted application corresponding to the RPMB; sending the encrypted key information and the file operation system command to a universal flash storage (UFS)-based file system by using the RPMB listener; and storing the encrypted key information in the RPMB based on the file operation system command by using the UFS-based file system(Fig.2; Para40-44 "UFS" "the flash translation layer FTL performs mapping between a logical address of the file system 12 and a physical address of the storage device 1200").
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Gyllenskog and Kim teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Kim teaches wherein the target data further comprises data attribute information, the data attribute information is used to identify attributes of the sensitive data, and the data attribute information comprises at least one of the following: a file size, a file permission, a file timestamp, an extended attribute, or configuration information; and the data attribute information and the key information are both stored in the target storage area(Fig1,2,7; Para7-10).
Regarding claims 14-17, Gyllenskog and Kim teaches these claims according to the reasoning set forth in claim 2-5.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6,7, 10, 11, 18, and 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record , listed on form PTO-892, and not relied upon, if any, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Low et.al. US20220164484 teaches removing credential of user from a memory based on indication received by the user device.
TASNIMA . MATIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2135
/TASNIMA MATIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2135