DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Numata et al. (US 2021/0223465) in view of Lee et al. (US 2019/0154901).
Regarding claim 1, Numata et al. (figure 4) discloses a display device comprising:
an illumination device comprising:
a transparent substrate (30) having a first main surface, a second main surface, and a first side surface connecting the first main surface with the second main surface;
a lens (light guide LG1) opposed to the first side surface; and
a light source (LD1) irradiating light to the lens,
a display panel comprising:
an array substrate (10);
a counter substrate (20) having a third main surface and a second side surface connected to the third main surface; and
a liquid crystal layer (LC) sandwiched between the array substrate and the counter substrate, and
a transparent adhesive layer (AD), wherein the first main surface and the third main surface are fixed by the transparent adhesive layer.
Numata et al. (figure 4) further discloses a transparent substrate (30) overlaps with the counter substrate in a plan view. However, Numata et al. is silent regarding the first side surface includes a first intersection surface intersecting a thickness direction and a second intersection surface intersecting the thickness direction at a different angle from the first intersection surface, and the first intersection surface and the second intersection surface overlap with the counter substrate in a plan view. Lee et al. (figure 14) teaches the first side surface includes a first intersection surface intersecting a thickness direction and a second intersection surface intersecting the thickness direction at a different angle from the first intersection surface (10 and 10s1-10s3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transparent substrate as taught by Lee et al. in order to achieve an optical member having an excellent light guide function. Therefore, Numata et al. as modified by Lee et al. teaches the second intersection surface overlap with the counter substrate in a plan view.
Regarding claim 2, Numata et al. (figure 4) discloses wherein the liquid crystal layer is a polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer (see at least paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 3, Numata et al. (figure 4) as modified by Lee et al. teaches wherein the light source emits light toward both the first side surface and the second side surface (figure 4).
Regarding claim 4, Numata et al. disclose the claimed invention but is silent regarding wherein a first acute angle formed between the thickness direction and the first intersection surface is 30 degrees or more and 70 degrees or less, and a second acute angle formed between the thickness direction and the second intersection surface is 30 degrees or more and 70 degrees or less. Numata et al. (figure 4) teaches wherein a first acute angle formed between the thickness direction and the first intersection surface is 30 degrees or more and 70 degrees or less, and a second acute angle formed between the thickness direction and the second intersection surface is 30 degrees or more and 70 degrees or less (An inclination angle θ1 of the edge surface 10r with respect to the upper/lower surface 10a/10b may be about 6 degrees (°) to about 20°, therefore the acute angles are between 70° and 84°; see at least paragraph 0038)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Conclusion
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871