DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanda et al. (US 2013/0221895), hereinafter Kanda.
Regarding claim 1, Kanda discloses (see figures 1-16) a power conversion apparatus (figure 1) comprising: a converter (figure 1, part 3) configured to convert an AC power source (figure 1, part AC power source from 1) into DC power (figure 1, part DC power at 4) and output the DC power to a DC terminal (figure 1, part DC terminal at 4); a DC link capacitor (figure 1, part 32) connected to the DC terminal (figure 1, part DC terminal at 4) and configured to store DC power (figure 1, part 32) from the converter (figure 1, part 3); an inverter (figure 1, part 5) configured to convert DC power (figure 1, part DC power at 4) from the DC link capacitor (figure 1, part 32) into AC power (figure 1, part AC power output from 5) and output the converted AC power (figure 1, part AC power output from 5) to a compressor (figure 1, part 6) (paragraph [0025]; As shown in FIG. 1, the motor drive circuit according to the first embodiment is configured to include a filter circuit 2, a rectifying circuit 3, a DC intermediate circuit 4, and an inverter circuit 5. In this motor drive circuit, power from an AC power supply (a three-phase AC power supply 1 is exemplified in FIG. 1) is rectified in the rectifying circuit 3 and smoothed in the DC intermediate circuit 4. The smoothed DC power is converted into AC power of a desired voltage and a desired frequency in the inverter circuit 5. The AC power is supplied to an AC motor 6 (a three-phase induction motor (IM) is exemplified in FIG. 1) connected to an output end (an AC output end) of the inverter circuit 5, thereby performing PWM driving of the AC motor 6); and a bandpass fitter damper (figure 1, part bandpass fitter generated by 22) disposed between the input AC power source (figure 1, part AC power source at 1) and the DC link capacitor (figure 1, part 32) and configured to allow a predetermined range of frequencies to pass through (figure 1, part bandpass fitter generated by 22), wherein the bandpass filter damper (figure 1, part bandpass fitter generated by 22) is electrically connected to a ground of the input AC power source (figure 1, part FG) (paragraphs [0028]-[0030]; The band elimination filter 22 is configured to include three Y capacitors (two Y capacitors in a case of a single-phase AC power supply) and a series-connection circuit, wherein one end of each of the three Y capacitors is connected to each of three-phase power-supply lines connecting the three-phase AC power supply 1 and the rectifying circuit 3, while the other ends are connected to each other, and the series-connection circuit is constituted by a resistance element and an inductance element that are inserted between the frame ground (FG) and a connection end of the three Y capacitors).
Regarding claim 2, Kanda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Kanda discloses (see figures 1-16) the bandpass fitter damper (figure 5, part bandpass fitter generated by 22a and 22b) comprises: an inductor (figure 5, part inductor at 22a), a capacitor (figure 5, part first capacitor at 22a connected to upper live line) and a resistor connected in series (figure 5, part resistor at 22a) between a live line of the input AC power source (figure 5, part upper live line from 1) and a ground line (figure 5, part FG); and an inductor (figure 5, part inductor at 22b), a capacitor (figure 5, part second capacitor at 22b connected to middle neutral line; in case of single-phase application) (paragraph [0028]; The band elimination filter 22 is configured to include three Y capacitors (two Y capacitors in a case of a single-phase AC power supply) and a series-connection circuit) and a resistor connected in series (figure 5, part resistor at 22b) between a neutral line of the input AC power source (figure 5, part middle neutral line from 1; in case of single-phase application) and the ground line (figure 5, part FG).
Regarding claim 3, Kanda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Kanda discloses (see figures 1-16) the bandpass filter damper (figure 1, part bandpass fitter generated by 22) comprises: capacitors (figure 1, part capacitors at 22 connected to upper live line from 1 and middle neutral line from 1; in case of single-phase application) (paragraph [0028]; The band elimination filter 22 is configured to include three Y capacitors (two Y capacitors in a case of a single-phase AC power supply) and a series-connection circuit) connected in series between a live line of the input AC power source (figure 1, part upper live line from 1) and a neutral line of the input AC power source (figure 1, part middle neutral line from 1); and an inductor (figure 1, part inductor at 22) and a resistor connected in series (figure 1, part resistor at 22) between a ground line (figure 1, part FG) and a first node between the capacitors (figure 1, part middle node that connected the capacitors at 22 to the inductor and resistor at 22).
Regarding claim 5, Kanda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Kanda discloses (see figures 1-16) the bandpass filter damper (figure 1, part bandpass fitter generated by 22) is configured to allow a part of a leakage current (figure 1, part leakage current from 6 to FG) flowing to the ground of the input AC power source (figure 1, part ground of 1 through FG) to pass through another path (figure 1, part another path generated through the bandpass fitter generated by 22) (paragraph [0040]; the motor drive circuit according to the present embodiment, the fifth-order harmonic noise component K5 appearing around 180 kilohertz can be reduced by using the band elimination filter 22).
Regarding claim 6, Kanda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Kanda discloses (see figures 1-16) a center frequency of the bandpass filter damper (figure 1, part center frequency of the bandpass fitter generated by 22) (figure 3) is set based on a frequency component having a largest current magnitude in a leakage current (figure 1, part leakage current from 6 to FG) generated in the compressor (figure 1, part 6) (paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 7, Kanda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Kanda discloses (see figures 1-16) a Y capacitor (figure 1, part 26) disposed between the bandpass filter damper (figure 1, part bandpass fitter generated by 22) and the converter (figure 1, part 3; option of arrangement with the band elimination filter 22 can be arranged at an anterior stage of the third circuit unit 26) (paragraph [0030]; while the band elimination filter 22 is arranged at a posterior stage of the third circuit unit 26 in the noise filter 21, the band elimination filter 22 can be arranged at an anterior stage of the third circuit unit 26).
Regarding claim 8, Kanda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7). Further, Kanda discloses (see figures 1-16) the Y capacitor (figure 1, part 26) comprises a first Y capacitor (figure 1, part left first Y capacitor at 26) and a second Y capacitor (figure 1, part middle second Y capacitor at 26) connected in series between a live line of the input AC power source (figure 1, part upper live line from 1) and a neutral line of the input AC power source (figure 1, part middle neutral line from 1; in case of single-phase application) (paragraph [0028]; The band elimination filter 22 is configured to include three Y capacitors (two Y capacitors in a case of a single-phase AC power supply) and a series-connection circuit), and wherein a node between the first and second Y capacitors (figure 1, part node between left first Y capacitor and middle second Y capacitor at 26) are connected to a ground line (figure 1, part FG).
Regarding claim 9, Kanda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7). Further, Kanda discloses (see figures 1-16) an electromagnetic interference (EMI) filter (figure 1, part 24/25) disposed between the input AC power source (figure 1, part 1) and the bandpass filter damper (figure 1, part bandpass fitter generated by 22; option of arrangement with the band elimination filter 22 can be arranged at an anterior stage of the third circuit unit 26) (paragraph [0030]; while the band elimination filter 22 is arranged at a posterior stage of the third circuit unit 26 in the noise filter 21, the band elimination filter 22 can be arranged at an anterior stage of the third circuit unit 26).
Regarding claim 10, Kanda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9). Further, Kanda discloses (see figures 1-16) the EMI filter (figure 1, part 24/25) comprises: a capacitor (figure 1, part first capacitor at 24) connected between a live line of the input AC power source (figure 1, part upper live line from 1) and a neutral line of the input AC power source (figure 1, part middle neutral line from 1; in case of single-phase application) (paragraph [0028]; The band elimination filter 22 is configured to include three Y capacitors (two Y capacitors in a case of a single-phase AC power supply) and a series-connection circuit); and a coil (figure 1, part first coil at 25) connected to the capacitor (figure 1, part first capacitor at 24).
Regarding claim 11, Kanda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Kanda discloses (see figures 1-16) an electromagnetic interference (EMI) filter (figure 1, part 24/25) disposed between the input AC power source (figure 1, part 1) and the bandpass filter damper (figure 1, part bandpass fitter generated by 22; option of arrangement with the band elimination filter 22 can be arranged at an anterior stage of the third circuit unit 26) (paragraph [0030]; while the band elimination filter 22 is arranged at a posterior stage of the third circuit unit 26 in the noise filter 21, the band elimination filter 22 can be arranged at an anterior stage of the third circuit unit 26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanda et al. (US 2013/0221895), hereinafter Kanda, in view of Lund (US 11,565,595).
Regarding claim 4, Kanda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Kanda discloses (see figures 1-16) the bandpass filter damper (figure 1, part bandpass fitter generated by 22) comprises: capacitors (figure 1, part capacitors at 22 connected to upper live line from 1 and middle neutral line from 1; in case of single-phase application) (paragraph [0028]; The band elimination filter 22 is configured to include three Y capacitors (two Y capacitors in a case of a single-phase AC power supply) and a series-connection circuit) connected in series between a live line of the input AC power source (figure 1, part upper live line from 1) and a neutral line of the input AC power source (figure 1, part middle neutral line from 1); and an inductor (figure 1, part inductor at 22) and a resistor connected in series (figure 1, part resistor at 22) between a ground line (figure 1, part FG) and a first node between the capacitors (figure 1, part middle node that connected the capacitors at 22 to the inductor and resistor at 22). However, Kanda does not expressly disclose resistors connected in series; and a capacitor connected in series between a ground line and a second node between the resistors.
Lund teaches (see figures 1-3) resistors (figure 3, parts R1 and R2) connected in series (figure 3, parts R1 and R2) between a line (figure 3, part upper line connected upper terminal of R1) and a line (figure 3, part lower line connected lower terminal of R2); and a capacitor (figure 3, part C1) connected in series between a line (figure 3, part left line connected to left terminal of C1) and a second node between the resistors (figure 3, parts node between R1 and R2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the bandpass filter damper of Kanda with the resistors and capacitor array as taught Lund (more specific: substitute the capacitors at 22 of Kanda with the resistors R1/R2 of Lund and the resistor at 22 of Kanda with the capacitor C1 of Lund) and obtain the bandpass fitter damper comprises: resistors connected in series between a live line of the input AC power source and a neutral line of the input AC power source; and an inductor and a capacitor connected in series between a ground line and a second node between the resistors, because the combination result in more effective and efficient filter circuit (column 2; lines 53-60).
Claims 12-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanda et al. (US 2013/0221895), hereinafter Kanda, in view of Cho et al. (US 2021/0247120), hereinafter Cho.
Regarding claim 12, Kanda discloses (see figures 1-16) a power conversion apparatus (figure 1), wherein the power conversion apparatus comprising: a converter (figure 1, part 3) configured to convert an AC power source (figure 1, part AC power source from 1) into DC power (figure 1, part DC power at 4) and output the DC power to a DC terminal (figure 1, part DC terminal at 4); a DC link capacitor (figure 1, part 32) connected to the DC terminal (figure 1, part DC terminal at 4) and configured to store DC power (figure 1, part 32) from the converter (figure 1, part 3); an inverter (figure 1, part 5) configured to convert DC power (figure 1, part DC power at 4) from the DC link capacitor (figure 1, part 32) into AC power (figure 1, part AC power output from 5) and output the converted AC power (figure 1, part AC power output from 5) to a compressor (figure 1, part 6) (paragraph [0025]; As shown in FIG. 1, the motor drive circuit according to the first embodiment is configured to include a filter circuit 2, a rectifying circuit 3, a DC intermediate circuit 4, and an inverter circuit 5. In this motor drive circuit, power from an AC power supply (a three-phase AC power supply 1 is exemplified in FIG. 1) is rectified in the rectifying circuit 3 and smoothed in the DC intermediate circuit 4. The smoothed DC power is converted into AC power of a desired voltage and a desired frequency in the inverter circuit 5. The AC power is supplied to an AC motor 6 (a three-phase induction motor (IM) is exemplified in FIG. 1) connected to an output end (an AC output end) of the inverter circuit 5, thereby performing PWM driving of the AC motor 6); and a bandpass fitter damper (figure 1, part bandpass fitter generated by 22) disposed between the input AC power source (figure 1, part AC power source at 1) and the DC link capacitor (figure 1, part 32) and configured to allow a predetermined range of frequencies to pass through (figure 1, part bandpass fitter generated by 22), wherein the bandpass filter damper (figure 1, part bandpass fitter generated by 22) is electrically connected to a ground of the input AC power source (figure 1, part FG) (paragraphs [0028]-[0030]; The band elimination filter 22 is configured to include three Y capacitors (two Y capacitors in a case of a single-phase AC power supply) and a series-connection circuit, wherein one end of each of the three Y capacitors is connected to each of three-phase power-supply lines connecting the three-phase AC power supply 1 and the rectifying circuit 3, while the other ends are connected to each other, and the series-connection circuit is constituted by a resistance element and an inductance element that are inserted between the frame ground (FG) and a connection end of the three Y capacitors).
Kanda does not expressly disclose a home appliance.
Cho teaches (see figures 1-10) a home appliance (figure 1, part 100) (paragraphs [0037]-[0039]; a power converting apparatus described in the present specification may be a power converting apparatus provided in a home appliance. The home appliance includes a refrigerator, a washing machine, a dryer, an air conditioner, a dehumidifier, a cooking appliance, a vacuum cleaner, and the like. Hereinafter, an air conditioner among various home appliances will be mainly described) comprising: a power conversion apparatus (figure 6), wherein the power conversion apparatus (figure 6) comprises: a converter (figure 6, part 215) configured to convert an input AC power source into DC power (figure 6, part DC power output from 215) and output the DC power to a DC terminal (figure 6, part DC terminal after 215); a DC link capacitor (figure 6, part C) connected to the DC terminal (figure 6, part DC terminal after 215) and configured to store DC power (figure 6, part C) from the converter (figure 6, part 215); an inverter (figure 6, part 220) configured to convert DC power from the DC link capacitor (figure 6, part C) into AC power (figure 6, part AC power output from 220) and output the converted AC power (figure 6, part AC power output from 220) to a compressor (figure 6, part 250) (paragraph [0094]; a compressor motor 250).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the power conversion apparatus of Kanda to the home appliance as taught by Cho and obtain a home appliance comprising: a power conversion apparatus, wherein the power conversion apparatus comprises: a converter configured to convert an input AC power source into DC power and output the DC power to a DC terminal; a DC link capacitor connected to the DC terminal and configured to store DC power from the converter; an inverter configured to convert DC power from the DC link capacitor into AC power and output the converted AC power to a compressor; and a bandpass filter damper disposed between the input AC power source and the DC link capacitor and configured to allow a predetermined range of frequencies to pass through, and wherein the bandpass filter damper is electrically connected to a ground of the input AC power source, because the combination result in more efficient and reliable power conversion system (paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 13, Kanda and Cho teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). Further, Kanda discloses (see figures 1-16) the bandpass fitter damper (figure 5, part bandpass fitter generated by 22a and 22b) comprises: an inductor (figure 5, part inductor at 22a), a capacitor (figure 5, part first capacitor at 22a connected to upper live line) and a resistor connected in series (figure 5, part resistor at 22a) between a live line of the input AC power source (figure 5, part upper live line from 1) and a ground line (figure 5, part FG); and an inductor (figure 5, part inductor at 22b), a capacitor (figure 5, part second capacitor at 22b connected to middle neutral line; in case of single-phase application) (paragraph [0028]; The band elimination filter 22 is configured to include three Y capacitors (two Y capacitors in a case of a single-phase AC power supply) and a series-connection circuit) and a resistor connected in series (figure 5, part resistor at 22b) between a neutral line of the input AC power source (figure 5, part middle neutral line from 1; in case of single-phase application) and the ground line (figure 5, part FG).
Regarding claim 14, Kanda and Cho teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). Further, Kanda discloses (see figures 1-16) the bandpass filter damper (figure 1, part bandpass fitter generated by 22) comprises: capacitors (figure 1, part capacitors at 22 connected to upper live line from 1 and middle neutral line from 1; in case of single-phase application) (paragraph [0028]; The band elimination filter 22 is configured to include three Y capacitors (two Y capacitors in a case of a single-phase AC power supply) and a series-connection circuit) connected in series between a live line of the input AC power source (figure 1, part upper live line from 1) and a neutral line of the input AC power source (figure 1, part middle neutral line from 1); and an inductor (figure 1, part inductor at 22) and a resistor connected in series (figure 1, part resistor at 22) between a ground line (figure 1, part FG) and a first node between the capacitors (figure 1, part middle node that connected the capacitors at 22 to the inductor and resistor at 22).
Regarding claim 16, Kanda and Cho teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). Further, Kanda discloses (see figures 1-16) the bandpass filter damper (figure 1, part bandpass fitter generated by 22) is configured to allow a part of a leakage current (figure 1, part leakage current from 6 to FG) flowing to the ground of the input AC power source (figure 1, part ground of 1 through FG) to pass through another path (figure 1, part another path generated through the bandpass fitter generated by 22) (paragraph [0040]; the motor drive circuit according to the present embodiment, the fifth-order harmonic noise component K5 appearing around 180 kilohertz can be reduced by using the band elimination filter 22).
Regarding claim 17, Kanda and Cho teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). Further, Kanda discloses (see figures 1-16) a center frequency of the bandpass filter damper (figure 1, part center frequency of the bandpass fitter generated by 22) (figure 3) is set based on a frequency component having a largest current magnitude in a leakage current (figure 1, part leakage current from 6 to FG) generated in the compressor (figure 1, part 6) (paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 18, Kanda and Cho teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). Further, Kanda discloses (see figures 1-16) a Y capacitor (figure 1, part 26) disposed between the bandpass filter damper (figure 1, part bandpass fitter generated by 22) and the converter (figure 1, part 3; option of arrangement with the band elimination filter 22 can be arranged at an anterior stage of the third circuit unit 26) (paragraph [0030]; while the band elimination filter 22 is arranged at a posterior stage of the third circuit unit 26 in the noise filter 21, the band elimination filter 22 can be arranged at an anterior stage of the third circuit unit 26).
Regarding claim 19, Kanda and Cho teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 18). Further, Kanda discloses (see figures 1-16) the Y capacitor (figure 1, part 26) comprises a first Y capacitor (figure 1, part left first Y capacitor at 26) and a second Y capacitor (figure 1, part middle second Y capacitor at 26) connected in series between a live line of the input AC power source (figure 1, part upper live line from 1) and a neutral line of the input AC power source (figure 1, part middle neutral line from 1; in case of single-phase application) (paragraph [0028]; The band elimination filter 22 is configured to include three Y capacitors (two Y capacitors in a case of a single-phase AC power supply) and a series-connection circuit), and wherein a node between the first and second Y capacitors (figure 1, part node between left first Y capacitor and middle second Y capacitor at 26) are connected to a ground line (figure 1, part FG).
Regarding claim 20, Kanda and Cho teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 19). Further, Kanda discloses (see figures 1-16) an electromagnetic interference (EMI) filter (figure 1, part 24/25) disposed between the input AC power source (figure 1, part 1) and the bandpass filter damper (figure 1, part bandpass fitter generated by 22; option of arrangement with the band elimination filter 22 can be arranged at an anterior stage of the third circuit unit 26) (paragraph [0030]; while the band elimination filter 22 is arranged at a posterior stage of the third circuit unit 26 in the noise filter 21, the band elimination filter 22 can be arranged at an anterior stage of the third circuit unit 26), and wherein the EMI filter (figure 1, part 24/25) comprises: a capacitor (figure 1, part first capacitor at 24) connected between a live line of the input AC power source (figure 1, part upper live line from 1) and a neutral line of the input AC power source (figure 1, part middle neutral line from 1; in case of single-phase application) (paragraph [0028]; The band elimination filter 22 is configured to include three Y capacitors (two Y capacitors in a case of a single-phase AC power supply) and a series-connection circuit); and a coil (figure 1, part first coil at 25) connected to the capacitor (figure 1, part first capacitor at 24).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanda et al. (US 2013/0221895), hereinafter Kanda, in view of Cho et al. (US 2021/0247120), hereinafter Cho, and further in view of Lund (US 11,565,595).
Regarding claim 15, Kanda and Cho teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). Further, Kanda discloses (see figures 1-16) the bandpass filter damper (figure 1, part bandpass fitter generated by 22) comprises: capacitors (figure 1, part capacitors at 22 connected to upper live line from 1 and middle neutral line from 1; in case of single-phase application) (paragraph [0028]; The band elimination filter 22 is configured to include three Y capacitors (two Y capacitors in a case of a single-phase AC power supply) and a series-connection circuit) connected in series between a live line of the input AC power source (figure 1, part upper live line from 1) and a neutral line of the input AC power source (figure 1, part middle neutral line from 1); and an inductor (figure 1, part inductor at 22) and a resistor connected in series (figure 1, part resistor at 22) between a ground line (figure 1, part FG) and a first node between the capacitors (figure 1, part middle node that connected the capacitors at 22 to the inductor and resistor at 22). However, Kanda does not expressly disclose resistors connected in series; and a capacitor connected in series between a ground line and a second node between the resistors.
Lund teaches (see figures 1-3) resistors (figure 3, parts R1 and R2) connected in series (figure 3, parts R1 and R2) between a line (figure 3, part upper line connected upper terminal of R1) and a line (figure 3, part lower line connected lower terminal of R2); and a capacitor (figure 3, part C1) connected in series between a line (figure 3, part left line connected to left terminal of C1) and a second node between the resistors (figure 3, parts node between R1 and R2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the bandpass filter damper of Kanda with the resistors and capacitor array as taught Lund (more specific: substitute the capacitors at 22 of Kanda with the resistors R1/R2 of Lund and the resistor at 22 of Kanda with the capacitor C1 of Lund) and obtain the bandpass fitter damper comprises: resistors connected in series between a live line of the input AC power source and a neutral line of the input AC power source; and an inductor and a capacitor connected in series between a ground line and a second node between the resistors, because the combination result in more effective and efficient filter circuit (column 2; lines 53-60).
Conclusion
/C.O.R. /
Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838