DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ELECTRIC MOTOR WITH STATOR HAVING SLOT SLEEVE FORMING PATH AND HOLE COMMUNICATING WITH PATH.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bradfield (US20130264897, “Bradfield”).
Re claim 1, Bradfield discloses an electric motor comprising:
a housing 44 (figs 1-2, [0017]);
a stator 24 positioned inside the housing (figs 1-2, [0015]); and a rotor 22 positioned inside the stator (figs 1-2, [0015]), wherein the stator comprises:
a core 26 having a hollow cylindrical shape (figs 1-2, [0015]), the core including a slot 30 formed by penetrating both ends of the core in an axial direction of the core (figs 1-2, [0015]);
a coil 28 wound around the slot and through which a current flows (figs 1-2, [0015]); and
a sleeve 58 extending along the slot and covering a lateral surface of the coil (figs 4-5, [0024]), the sleeve forming a path 54 between the sleeve and the coil (figs 4-5, [0023-0024]),
wherein the core comprises a hole 50 formed from an outer circumferential surface of the core toward the slot (figs 2-5, [0020] & [0025]), and communicating with the path of the sleeve (figs 2-5, [0025]),
wherein the housing 44 comprises an oil inlet formed at the housing (figs 1-2, [0017]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Down et al. (US20070138878, “Down”) in view of Sawada et al. (WO2012118008, “Sawada”, using machine translation).
Re claim 1, Down discloses an electric motor comprising:
a stator 106 positioned inside the housing (figs 1-2, inherent 106 inside housing); and a rotor 104 positioned inside the stator (fig 1, [0016]), wherein the stator comprises:
a core 210 having a hollow cylindrical shape (figs 1-2, [0017]), the core including a slot 218 formed by penetrating both ends of the core in an axial direction of the core (figs 1-3, [0018]);
a coil 206 wound around the slot and through which a current flows (figs 2-5, [0017]); and
a sleeve 204 extending along the slot and covering a lateral surface of the coil (figs 3-5, [0017] & [0021]), the sleeve forming a path 224 between the sleeve and the coil (figs 3-5, [0021-0022]),
wherein the core comprises a hole 220 formed from an outer circumferential surface of the core toward the slot, and communicating with the path of the sleeve (figs 2-4, [0018] & [0021-0022]).
Down discloses claim 1 except for:
a housing; and
the housing comprises an oil inlet formed at the housing.
Sawada discloses a housing 140 (figs 1-3, pg 3, indicated text); and
the housing comprises an oil inlet 230 formed at the housing (figs 1-3, pg 3, indicated text).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the electric motor of Down with a housing; and the housing comprises an oil inlet formed at the housing, as disclosed by Down, in order to connect the cooling medium from outside of the motor to the hole in the stator, as disclosed by Sawada (figs 1-3, pg 3, indicated text).
Re claim 2, Down in view of Sawada discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Down further discloses the slot 218 of the core 210 comprises a plurality of slots spaced apart from each other in a circumferential direction of the core (figs 1-2), wherein the sleeve 204 comprises a plurality of sleeves 204 positioned in the plurality of slots (figs 205), wherein the coil 206 comprises a plurality of coils 206 wound around the plurality of sleeves (figs 2-5, [0017]).
Re claim 3, Down in view of Sawada discloses claim 2 as discussed above. Down further discloses the hole 220 of the core comprises a plurality of holes 220 spaced apart from each other in the circumferential direction of the core (figs 2-3), wherein each of the plurality of holes is connected to each of the plurality of slots (figs 2-3, [0021]).
Re claim 4, Down in view of Sawada discloses claim 3 as discussed above and further discloses an annular channel 210 formed between the outer circumferential surface of the core 111 and an inner circumferential surface of the housing 140 (Sawada, figs 1-2, pg 3, indicated text), wherein the channel connects the oil inlet 230 of the housing and the plurality of holes 200 of the core (Sawada, figs 1-2, pg 3, indicated text).
Re claim 5, Down in view of Sawada discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Down further discloses the core 210 comprises: a first side core forming one end of the core (figs 2-3 & below); a second side core forming the other end of the core (figs 2-3 & below); and a middle core positioned between the first side core and the second side core (figs 2-3 & below), wherein the hole 220 of the core is formed at the middle core (figs 2-3 & below).
Re claim 6, Down in view of Sawada discloses claim 5 as discussed above. Down further discloses the slot 218 of the core 210 comprises: a first slot formed at the first side core (figs 2-3 & above for claim 5); a second slot formed at the second side core (figs 2-3 & above for claim 5); and a third slot formed at the middle core (figs 2-3 & above for claim 5), wherein the sleeve 204 comprises: a first sleeve positioned in the first slot (figs 2-3 & above for claim 5); and a second sleeve positioned in the second slot and opposite the first sleeve with respect to the third slot (figs 2-3 & above for claim 5), wherein the hole 220 of the core is connected to the third slot (figs 2-3 & above for claim 5).
Re claims 7 and 8, Down in view of Sawada discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Down further discloses the sleeve 204 comprises a non-conductive material ([0021]); and
the sleeve comprises a plastic material, and is coupled to the core by insert injection molding ([0021]).
Re claim 9, Down in view of Sawada discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Down further discloses the slot 218 of the core 210 is formed from an inner circumferential surface of the core in one direction intersecting the inner circumferential surface of the core (figs 2-5, w/ one direction being the radial direction), wherein the coil 206 comprises a plurality of coils 206 sequentially arranged in the one direction (figs 2-5), wherein the sleeve 204 comprises: a body covering the plurality of coils (figs 3-5 & below); and protrusions protruding from the body toward the plurality of coils (figs 3-5 & below), wherein the path 224 of the sleeve is formed between the protrusions of the sleeve (figs 3-5 & below).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Down in view of Sawada and in further view of Silva et al. (US20240413679, “Silva”).
Re claim 10, Down in view of Sawada discloses claim 9 as discussed above. Down further discloses each of the plurality of coils 206 has a rectangular cross-section (figs 4-5).
Down discloses claim 10 except for the protrusions of the sleeve contact four corners of each of the plurality of coils.
Silva discloses the protrusions 228 of the sleeve 224 contact four corners of each of the plurality of coils 218 (figs 6 & 7d, [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the protrusions of Down in view of Sawada so the protrusions of the sleeve contact four corners of each of the plurality of coils, as disclosed by Silva, in order to hold the coils and form openings for cooling paths, as taught by Silva ([0027]).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Down in view of Sawada and Silva in further view of Leonardi et al. (US20220216743, “Leonardi ‘743”).
Re claim 11, Down in view of Sawada and Silva discloses claim 11 as discussed above and further discloses a distal end of the protrusion of the sleeve is triangular (Silva, fig 6); but are silent with respect to the distal end of the protrusion of the sleeve is rounded.
Leonardi ‘743 discloses the distal end of the protrusion 506 of the sleeve 500 can be rectangular, triangular or rounded (fig 8, [0041])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one known element (triangular shaped distal end disclosed by Silva) for another known equivalent element (rounded/semicircular shaped distal end disclosed by Leonardi ‘743; equivalence disclosed by Leonardi ‘743) resulting in the predictable result of forming a distal end shape to hold coils.
Re claim 12, Down in view of Sawada, Silva and Leonardi ‘743disclose claim 11 as discussed above. Down further discloses the body of the sleeve 204 comprises: an outer surface at which an insertion groove is formed (Down discloses following portion after “or”); or an outer surface that is flat (figs 5 & above for claim 9),
wherein the slot 218 of the core 210 comprises: an inner surface from which a guide protrusion inserted into the insertion groove protrudes (Down discloses following portion after “or”); or an inner surface that is parallel to the flat outer surface of the body (figs 5 & above for claim 9).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Down in view of Sawada and in further view of Leonardi et al. (US20210234423, “Leonardi ‘423”) and Leonardi et al. (US20230134509, “Leonardi ‘509”).
Re claim 13, Down in view of Sawada discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Down further discloses the coil 206 comprises: a first portion positioned inside the sleeve 240 (figs 2-3 & below); and a second portion positioned outside the sleeve, bent from one end of the first portion of the coil (figs 2-3 & below).
Down is silent with respect to a holder including the sleeve, wherein the sleeve comprises a plurality of sleeves spaced apart from each other in a circumferential direction of the core, wherein the holder comprises: a first ring positioned on one end of the core and connecting the plurality of sleeves; and a plurality of first protruding portions protruding in a direction opposite the plurality of sleeves, and staggered with the plurality of sleeves, wherein the coil comprises: the second portion positioned on the first protruding portion.
Leonardi ‘423 discloses a holder 240 including the sleeve, wherein the sleeve comprises a plurality of sleeves 214 spaced apart from each other in a circumferential direction of the core 218 (figs 3-4, [0034]), wherein the holder comprises:
a first ring 242 positioned on one end of the core and connecting the plurality of sleeves (fig 4, [0034], 242 on one side).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the holder of Down in view of Sawada to include the sleeve, wherein the sleeve comprises a plurality of sleeves spaced apart from each other in a circumferential direction of the core, wherein the holder comprises: a first ring positioned on one end of the core and connecting the plurality of sleeves, as disclosed by Leonardi ‘423, in order to support the sleeves, as demonstrated by Leonardi ‘423.
Leonardi ‘509 discloses a plurality of first protruding portions 316 protruding in a direction opposite the plurality of sleeves (fig 3, [0027], says insulation extends from 316 into slots 322, 328), and staggered with the plurality of sleeves (fig 3, [0027]); and
the second portion on the first protruding portion (figs 2-3, [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the holder of Down in view of Sawada and Leonardi ‘423 to include a plurality of first protruding portions protruding in a direction opposite the plurality of sleeves, and staggered with the plurality of sleeves; and the second portion on the first protruding portion, as disclosed by Leonardi ‘509, in order to provide a surface to bend the coil, as taught by Leonardi ‘509 ([0027]).
Re claim 14, Down in view of Sawada, Leonardi ‘423 and Leonardi ‘509 discloses claim 13 as discussed above and further discloses the holder comprises: a second ring opposite the first ring with respect to the core (Leonardi ‘423, fig 4); and second protruding portions protruding in a direction opposite the plurality of first protruding portions (Leonardi ‘509, [0027[, says at least one end of coil can be bent on 316 implying both ends of coil can be bent on protruding portions on the other side), and staggered with the plurality of sleeves (Leonardi ‘509, fig 3), wherein the coil comprises a third portion positioned outside the sleeve, bent from another end of the first portion of the coil, and positioned on the second protruding portion (Leonardi ‘509, figs 2-3, [0027]).
Re claim 15, Down in view of Sawada, Leonardi ‘423 and Leonardi ‘509 discloses claim 13 as discussed above and further discloses the plurality of first protruding portions 316 have a corrugated shape on the first ring (Leonardi ‘509, fig 3, shows corrugated shape; Leonardi ‘423, fig 3, shows first ring), wherein the coil is one of the plurality of coils wound around the plurality of sleeves (Down, fig 2-3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bradfield appears to read on at least claims 2-7.
Weber (US20190149023), Lettich (US20240022130), Martinez-Iturralde Maiza (WO2023012381) and Koizumi (WO2017047247, also slot w/ projectinos) have sleeves with projections.
Suter (US20250125689) has projections on the holder.
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834