DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is rejected because it does not appear to be a complete sentence.
Claim 7 is rejected because it contains two “4-ethylpentanoic acid” compounds.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pourreau (US 20200102516-appears on the PTO-1449).
Pourreau teaches an aviation gasoline composition having: from about 70 vol % to about 80 vol % isooctane; from about 5 vol % to about 9 vol % isopentane; from about 10 vol % to about 20 vol % of one or more dialkyl ether; from about 1 vol % to about 5 vol % of one or more alcohol, from about 0.02 vol % to about 0.07 vol % of one or more octane enhancer such as methylcyclopentadienyl manganese tricarbonyl (MMT), and, optionally, one or more additives selected from the group consisting of: antioxidants, anti-icing agents, antistatic additives, corrosion inhibitors, dyes, lubricants, and mixtures thereof, wherein the aviation gasoline has a motor octane number of at least 99.6, or at least 100.5 (see abstract; para 0013-0014; 0029). Pourreau teaches that the dialkyl ethers maybe ethyl-tert-butyl ether or methyl-tert-butyl ether (see para 0019-0020).
The octane booster MMT is present in a concentration of from about 0 to about 0.15 g/gal of aviation gasoline (up to about 39.6 mg/l) (see para 0025). Composition F of Pourreau teaches an aviation gasoline comprising: from about 45 vol % to about 80 vol % isooctane; from about 10 vol % to about 45 vol % ethyl-tert-butyl-ether; from about 0 vol % to about 15 vol % methyl-tert-butyl-ether; from about 0 vol % to about 40 vol % of one or more monocyclic aromatic compounds; and from about 0 vol % to about 5 vol % of one or more alcohols (methanol), wherein the aviation gasoline has a MON of at least 99.6 (see para 0067; 0071). Pourreau meets the limitations of the claims other than the differences that are set forth below.
Pourreau does not specifically teach about 81 vol% isooctane. However, Pourreau does teach about 80 vol% of isooctane. The term “about” is a term that is used to broaden a range. Thus, Pourreau would read on the claimed range of about 81 vol%. In the absence of unexpected results the about 81 vol% of isooctane does not establish patentability because it is too close to the disclosed about 80 vol %.
With respect to the claimed 1.8-3.2% total oxygen, it would be reasonable to expect that Pourreau would meet this limitation because he teaches the same oxygen compounds, i.e., ethers and alcohols, and proportions as those set forth in the present composition.
Claim(s) 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pourreau (US 2020102516) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Johnston (US 4,690,687-appears on the PTO-892).
Pourreau has been discussed above. Pourreau does not specifically teach the use of a valve seat recession additive. However, Johnston teaches this difference.
Johnston teaches a gasoline composition comprising sodium salts of carboxylic acids (see col. 2, lines 14-29). Johnston teaches that the prior art has discovered that the amount of sodium additive in the fuel is an amount to provide 2.86g/1000 liters to 1lb/1000 bbl of sodium (see col. 2, lines 39-42; col. 4, lines 45-61)). The fuel may be aviation gasoline (see col. 4, lines 34-35). A particular salt may be that of 2-ethylhexanoic acid (see col. 6, lines 34-41 and 52). The amount of the sodium salt is generally less than 0.1 g of the sodium salt per liter of fuel (see col. 29, lines 38-47; 62-64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a valve seat recession additive because Johnston teaches that these additives reduce deposit formation within engine cylinders and prevent or minimize valve seat recession in the engine.
Claim(s) 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pourreau U(S 20200102516) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Eckert (US 3,541,723-appears on PTO-892).
Pourreau has been discussed above. Pourreau does not specifically teach the addition of an alkanoic acid. However, Eckert teaches this difference. Eckert teaches a gasoline composition comprising at least 0.1 vol % of the fuel (see col. 1, lines 50-55; col. 3, lines 56-60). Eckert uses 2-ethylhexanoic acid (see col. 1, line 63 through col. 2, lines 1-17; col. 2, line 64 through col. 3, line1, 36-37). Tables I-VII exemplify gasoline containing 2-ethylhexanoic acid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included an alkanoic acid in the gasoline composition because Pourreau teaches using octane enhancers and Eckert teaches that alkanoic acids are non-metallic octane enhancers. The use of these enhancers would allow for the presence of fewer metals in the fuel.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited for teaching the general state of the art and is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CEPHIA D TOOMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771 19051414/20260123