DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are examined and pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 19 and 20 recites the limitation "computer readable medium" comprising stored data. The specification exemplifies the computer readable medium as being "RAM memory, flash memory, ROM memory, EPROM memory, EEPROM memory, registers, a hard disk, a removable disk, a CD-ROM, or any other form of storage medium known in the art. " (Specification, para. [0155]).The recited embodiments does not limit "computer-readable medium" to a non-transitory embodiment. Thus, the claim as a whole covers a transitory signal, which does not fall within the definition of a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
"A claim drawn to such a computer readable medium that covers both transitoryand non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 by adding the limitation “non-transitory" to the claim." Kappos 1351 OG 212 (February 23, 2010)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bourdeau et al. (U.S. 2017/0003987 A1, hereinafter “Bourdeau”).
As to claims 1,10 and 19, Bourdeau discloses a method implemented by a cloud management platform and comprising:
recording a first correspondence between a first identifier of a source object in a data bucket of an object storage service and a first attribute of the source object, wherein the first attribute indicates a data chunk distribution location and a data size of the source object in an infrastructure running the object storage service (para. [0070]-[0074]; discloses data store includes source data objects that includes one or more properties or attributes and a plurality of data records each including values for these properties or attributes. Data records of the employees data object may each include values for these properties. However, a data collection may include any quantity of any types of properties or attributes and any quantity of data records having any values for those properties. );
receiving from a first client and via a hard link creation interface, a first hard link creation request, comprising the first identifier instructing to create, in the data bucket, a first object that has a first hard link relationship with the source object, and the hard link creation interface is disposed on the cloud management platform; and object (para. [0073]; discloses user interface screen that is used to establish a link between source and target data objects);
creating, in the data bucket based on the first hard link creation request, the first object (para. [0070]-[0071]; discloses instantiating a source data object that includes attributes in response to the information entered by a user);
setting a second identifier and a second attribute for the first object, wherein the second attribute is the same as the first attribute (para. [0092]; discloses the first object having a first identifier and a second identifier and additional employee information); and
recording a second correspondence between the second identifier and the second attribute (para. [0092]; discloses data records of employee data object are stored in the enterprise system).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9, 11-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (U.S. 2020/0250049 A1) discloses a system and method wherein application describes ways to back up and restore files that are linked more than once through hard links. In normal file systems, several filenames can point to the same underlying file data through the same inode. The invention stores only one copy of the file contents for such a group and uses metadata to remember which other filenames should point back to that copy. It can choose a “master” file for the group, or use inode/device-based mappings that do not depend on a master file.
/JOE CHACKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457