Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PIRCHHEIM et al (Handling Pure Camera Rotation in Keyframe-Based SLAM) in view of PAPARI et al (Edge and line oriented contour detection: State of the art), RUZON et al (Edge, Junction, and Corner Detection Using Color Distributions), and KIM et al (US 20079914482)
As per claim 2, Pirchheim teaches the claimed “system” comprising: “one or more sensors for generating image data associated with a physical environment; a display; one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors” (Pirchheim, 6 RESULTS, The evaluation was performed on a laptop PC equipped with a quad-core 2.5GHz CPU and 8GB of RAM. We used a PointGrey Firefly MV handheld camera and recorded the images with a resolution of 640x480 pixels; 6.1 Mobile phone application - Our hybrid SLAM system also runs in real-time on modern mobile phones. We used a Samsung Galaxy S2 equipped with a dual-core 1.2GHz ARM CPU and 2GB RAM running Android OS 4 for our tests. As expected, we found the overall robustness and performance restricted in comparison to the PC version), cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: “generating, based at least in part on the image data, a point of interest map associated with the physical environment” (Pirchheim, 3.1 Incremental pose tracking - We select a feature set for matching from all map features by filtering features for (1) visibility from the predicted camera pose, (2) only infinite features of the currently enabled panorama map, (3) overlapping feature re-projections where we prefer finite over infinite features. At any point in time, either none or exactly one panorama map is enabled for tracking) (Noted: Pirchheim’s map features comprises point features as distinct visual or geometric landmarks that algorithms track across sequential frames). It is noted that Pirchheim does not teach, but Ruzon teaches “identifying, based at least in part on a contrast associated with a portion of the image data, at least a first line segment and a second line segment associated with the physical environment” (Ruzon, 4 EDGE DETECTION - Here, we present a method of estimating the strength and orientation of an edge hypothesized to split a window. To summarize, we divide the window in half with a line segment, compute a color signature for each half, and find the EMD between them. Repeating this process using line segments with different orientations reveals the true strength and orientation of the edge; 5 JUNCTION DETECTION - Fig. 6 shows different line segments representing edges); “forming a line associated with the physical environment based at least in part on the first line segment and the second line segment” (Ruzon, 5 JUNCTION DETECTION and 6 CORNER DETECTION – the detected junction or corners which are used to combine different detected edge segments; see also Kim, Figures 3E-3F - FIG. 3E shows a linked edge line formed by connecting edge point A and B according to an embodiment of the invention. The linked edge line has a slope S and the edge points A and B have directions DA and DB respectively. The linked edge line is formed due to DA and DB compatibility. However, if angle difference of slope S to DA or DB is significant, inconsistent data is generated in the missing block); and “projecting the line into a virtual scene representative of the physical environment” (Ruzon, 7.1 Edges and Junctions - Fig. 11 contains four regions, two light and two dark. The edge separating the two dark regions has relatively low contrast; see also Papari, 4.2. Grouping pixels into contours according to Gestalt principles, Figure 17 - Edge pixels can be grouped together into contours, according to the Gestalt laws of proximity, good continuation and, more recently, closure (Fig. 17), and symmetry; Figures 24-26 – the final projected edge is a combination of different detected edge segments). Thus, it would have been obvious, in view of Ruzon, Kim, and Papari, to configure Pirchheim’s system as claimed by performing an edge detection to generate an edge model representing the object in the real environment. The motivation is to enhance the visual representation of objects in the virtual augmented reality display.
Claim 3 adds into claim 2 “wherein the contrast is a color contrast or color variation” (Ruzon, Figure 4 - Ideal Step Edge). Thus, it would have been obvious, in view of Ruzon, Kim, and Papari, to configure Pirchheim’s system as claimed by performing an edge detection to generate an edge model based on the color contrast of the object’s surfaces. The motivation is to enhance the visual representation of objects in the virtual augmented reality display.
Claim 4 adds into claim 2 “a visual-inertial simultaneously location and mapping (SLAM) component and wherein generating the point of interest map associated with the physical environment is based at least in part on a six-degree of freedom (6DOF) pose output by the SLAM component” (Pirchheim, 2 SYSTEM OVERVIEW AND MAP REPRESENTATION - The system architecture of our hybrid approach follows the standard two-component design of optimization-based SLAM… The tracking component performs robust frame-rate map tracking of 6DOF or rotation-only camera motion and selects new keyframe candidates. In our system, keyframes can either be fully localized with a 6DOF pose, or panorama keyframes that are described with a rotation relative to a reference pose).
Claim 5 adds into claim 4 “wherein locating the line in the virtual scene representative of the physical environment further comprises: parameterizing the line using a first endpoint; placing the line using pairs of image associated with the image data, the first endpoint and the 6DOF pose” (Pirchheim, 2 SYSTEM OVERVIEW AND MAP REPRESENTATION - The map is represented as a collection of keyframes that store the camera pose Ci of the keyframe and an image pyramid for tracking points and finding new correspondences; Figure 2: Relationships in our hybrid map representation between keyframes and features depicted in two stages. In stage (a) 6DOF keyframes observe finite map features... In stage (b) infinite features are triangulated from corresponding observations matched between additional 6DOF keyframes and/or localized panorama keyframes from different local panorama maps; 4.1 6DOF mapping - 6DOF keyframes can be selected whenever we have a camera pose that is fully constrained in 6DOF. This is the case if enough finite feature points are part of the pose estimation as described in Section 3.1. Furthermore, we select regular 6DOF keyframes when they generate enough parallax to existing keyframes while imaging a new part of the scene. Parallax is required for robust feature triangulation).
Claim 6 adds into claim 2 “wherein forming the line associated with the physical environment is based at least in part on a first descriptor associated with the first line segment and a second descriptor associated with the second line segment” (Ruzon, Figure 6) (Noted: the example in figure 6 shows three (3) distinct regions of different descriptors (e.g., an edge segment formed by black and white regions; another edge segment formed by white and blue regions). Thus, it would have been obvious, in view of Ruzon, Kim, and Papari, to configure Pirchheim’s system as claimed by performing an edge detection of the object associated to edge segments of different descriptors. The motivation is to enhance the visual representation of objects in the virtual augmented reality display.
Claim 7 adds into claim 6 “wherein the first descriptor represents a first dominate color adjacent to the first line segment and the second descriptor represents a second dominate color adjacent to the second line segment” (Ruzon, Figure 6) (Noted: the example in figure 6 shows three (3) distinct regions of different descriptors (e.g., an edge segment formed by black and white regions where black is the first dominate color; another edge segment formed by white and blue regions where blue is the second dominate color). Thus, it would have been obvious, in view of Ruzon, Kim, and Papari, to configure Pirchheim’s system as claimed by performing an edge detection of the object associated to edge segments of different dominate colors. The motivation is to enhance the visual representation of objects in the virtual augmented reality display.
Claim 8 adds into claim 2 “adjusting the line within the virtual scene using a non-linear least squares model” which is well known in the art as “a non-linear least squares model” is a standard and highly effective approach for fitting curves to discrete edge feature samples in computer vision and image processing.
Claim 9 adds into claim 2 “locating the line in a model representative of the physical environment prior to projecting the line into the virtual scene” which is obvious because in an augmented reality AR space, the physical environment is pre-existed, then the detected edges of its objects can be early detected and projected into the virtual space scene allowing virtual objects interacting with the real world, like a virtual ball bouncing off your physical wall.
Claims 10-16 claim 1 method based on the system of claims 2-9; therefore, they are rejected under a similar rationale.
As per claim 17, Pirchheim teaches the claimed “method” comprising: “receiving image data associated with a physical environment” (Pirchheim, Figure 1: Rotation-only camera movements are handled by tracking and mapping local panorama maps registered within a global 3D map. The information contained in the panorama maps is also used for 3D reconstruction). It is noted that Pirchheim does not teach, but Ruzon teaches “generating, based at least in part on the image data, a plurality of edgelets associated with the physical environment” (Ruzon, 4 EDGE DETECTION - Here, we present a method of estimating the strength and orientation of an edge hypothesized to split a window. To summarize, we divide the window in half with a line segment, compute a color signature for each half, and find the EMD between them. Repeating this process using line segments with different orientations reveals the true strength and orientation of the edge; 5 JUNCTION DETECTION - Fig. 6 shows different line segments representing edges); “joining adjacent edgelets of the plurality of edgelets to generate a plurality of joined edgelets” (Ruzon, 5 JUNCTION DETECTION and 6 CORNER DETECTION – the detected junction or corners which are used to combine different detected edge segments; see also Kim, Figures 3E-3F - FIG. 3E shows a linked edge line formed by connecting edge point A and B according to an embodiment of the invention. The linked edge line has a slope S and the edge points A and B have directions DA and DB respectively. The linked edge line is formed due to DA and DB compatibility. However, if angle difference of slope S to DA or DB is significant, inconsistent data is generated in the missing block); “estimating, based at least in part on the plurality of joined edgelets, at least one contour associated with the physical environment” (Ruzon, 7.1 Edges and Junctions, Figures 13-14 – contours of the objects in the environment); “determining, based at least in part on the at least one contour, a surface” (Papari, 4.2. Grouping pixels into contours according to Gestalt principles, Figure 17 - Edge pixels can be grouped together into contours, according to the Gestalt laws of proximity, good continuation and, more recently, closure (Fig. 17), and symmetry; Figures 24-26 – the contour is a combination of different detected edge segments representing the surfaces of closed edge segments); and “projecting the surface into a virtual scene of the physical environment” (Ruzon, 7.1 Edges and Junctions - Fig. 11 contains four regions, two light and two dark. The edge separating the two dark regions has relatively low contrast; see also Papari, 4.2. Grouping pixels into contours according to Gestalt principles, Figure 17 - Edge pixels can be grouped together into contours, according to the Gestalt laws of proximity, good continuation and, more recently, closure (Fig. 17), and symmetry; Figures 24-26 – the final projected edge is a combination of different detected edge segments). Thus, it would have been obvious, in view of Ruzon, Kim, and Papari, to configure Pirchheim’s system as claimed by performing an edge detection to generate an edge model representing the object in the real environment. The motivation is to enhance the visual representation of objects in the virtual augmented reality display.
Claims 18 adds into claim 17 “wherein each of the plurality of edgelets define a small patch of the image data having an image gradient greater than a threshold” (Papari, Fig. 28. R–P plot related to the Canny edge detector for different values of the higher threshold tH; Kim, claim 2 - wherein an edge point is detected when the adjacent pixel difference exceeds a threshold).
Claims 19 adds into claim 17 “wherein a first edgelet of the plurality of edgelets is joined to a second edgelet of the plurality of edgelets in response to the first edgelet being less than or equal to a pixel threshold from the second edgelet” which is obvious because given any two (2) edgelets with their corresponding pixel thresholds, one of the pixel threshold must be less than or equal to other pixel threshold.
Claims 20 adds into claim 17 “wherein estimating the at least one contour associated with the physical environment further comprises: computing a reprojection error for each joined edgelet associated with the at least one contour; and rejecting a joined edgelet when the reprojection error is greater than or equal to a reprojection error threshold” which is obvious due to a “high” error in line projection because the reprojection error, by definition, is the pixel distance between an observed feature in an image and the assumed position predicted by a 3D model and camera pose (i.e., the geometric Euclidean distance between a real detected point and where the camera model expects that point should be).
Claims 21 adds into claim 17 “wherein determining the surface further comprises applying a Poisson reconstruction technique to the at least one contour” which is well-known in the art since the Poisson Surface Reconstruction is a highly effective global optimization technique used to determine a continuous, watertight 3D surface from oriented data samples. When applying it to contours, the process translates 2D or 3D contour lines into a smooth, closed volumetric boundary.
Claims 2-21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11481024. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the US patent, in view of the Papari, Pirchheim, Ruzon, and Kim reference, contains, or makes obvious, all features of the claims of the application.
Claims of this application
Claims of the US patent
2. A system comprising: one or more sensors for generating image data associated with a physical environment; a display; one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: generating, based at least in part on the image data, a point of interest map associated with the physical environment; identifying, based at least in part on a contrast associated with a portion of the image data, at least a first line segment and a second line segment associated with the physical environment; forming a line associated with the physical environment based at least in part on the first line segment and the second line segment; and projecting the line into a virtual scene representative of the physical environment.
2. A method comprising: presenting, on a display of a virtual reality or mixed reality system, a virtual scene to a user; detecting an edge of a physical object within a physical environment from one or more images captured by the virtual reality or mixed reality system, the physical object not displayed as part of the virtual scene; …
wherein detecting the edge of the physical object includes: detecting a first line segment based on a first color gradient within the one or more images; detecting a second line segment based on a second color gradient within the one or more images; merging the first line segment to the second line segment into the edge based at least in part on a similarly of the first color gradient to the second color gradient; and locating the edge within a three-dimensional model of the physical environment.
3. The system as recited in claim 2, wherein the contrast is a color contrast or color variation.
2… detecting a first line segment based on a first color gradient within the one or more images; detecting a second line segment based on a second color gradient within the one or more images…
4. The system as recited in claim 2, further comprising a visual-inertial simultaneously location and mapping (SLAM) component and wherein generating the point of interest map associated with the physical environment is based at least in part on a six-degree of freedom (6DOF) pose output by the SLAM component.
The Pirchheim reference (Pirchheim, 2 SYSTEM OVERVIEW AND MAP REPRESENTATION - The system architecture of our hybrid approach follows the standard two-component design of optimization-based SLAM… The tracking component performs robust frame-rate map tracking of 6DOF or rotation-only camera motion and selects new keyframe candidates. In our system, keyframes can either be fully localized with a 6DOF pose, or panorama keyframes that are described with a rotation relative to a reference pose).
5. The system as recited in claim 4, wherein locating the line in the virtual scene representative of the physical environment further comprises: parameterizing the line using a first endpoint; placing the line using pairs of image associated with the image data, the first endpoint and the 6DOF pose.
The Pirchheim reference (Pirchheim, 2 SYSTEM OVERVIEW AND MAP REPRESENTATION - The map is represented as a collection of keyframes that store the camera pose Ci of the keyframe and an image pyramid for tracking points and finding new correspondences; Figure 2: Relationships in our hybrid map representation between keyframes and features depicted in two stages. In stage (a) 6DOF keyframes observe finite map features... In stage (b) infinite features are triangulated from corresponding observations matched between additional 6DOF keyframes and/or localized panorama keyframes from different local panorama maps; 4.1 6DOF mapping - 6DOF keyframes can be selected whenever we have a camera pose that is fully constrained in 6DOF. This is the case if enough finite feature points are part of the pose estimation as described in Section 3.1. Furthermore, we select regular 6DOF keyframes when they generate enough parallax to existing keyframes while imaging a new part of the scene. Parallax is required for robust feature triangulation).
6. The system as recited in claim 2, wherein forming the line associated with the physical environment is based at least in part on a first descriptor associated with the first line segment and a second descriptor associated with the second line segment.
2. The method as recited in claim 1, wherein detecting the edge of the physical object includes: detecting a first line segment based on a first color gradient within the one or more images; detecting a second line segment based on a second color gradient within the one or more images; merging the first line segment to the second line segment into the edge based at least in part on a similarly of the first color gradient to the second color gradient; and locating the edge within a three-dimensional model of the physical environment.
7. The system as recited in claim 6, wherein the first descriptor represents a first dominate color adjacent to the first line segment and the second descriptor represents a second dominate color adjacent to the second line segment.
2. The method as recited in claim 1, wherein detecting the edge of the physical object includes: detecting a first line segment based on a first color gradient within the one or more images; detecting a second line segment based on a second color gradient within the one or more images; merging the first line segment to the second line segment into the edge based at least in part on a similarly of the first color gradient to the second color gradient; and locating the edge within a three-dimensional model of the physical environment.
8. The system as recited in claim 2, further comprising adjusting the line within the virtual scene using a non-linear least squares model.
which is well known in the art as “a non-linear least squares model” is a standard and highly effective approach for fitting curves to discrete edge feature samples in computer vision and image processing.
9. The system as recited in claim 2, further comprising locating the line in a model representative of the physical environment prior to projecting the line into the virtual scene.
8. The method as recited in claim 7, wherein the indicator is at least one of a ray projecting from the edge or the edge into a field of view of the user.
Claims 10-16 claim 1 method based on the system of claims 2-9; therefore, they are rejected under a similar rationale.
17. A method comprising:receiving image data associated with a physical environment; generating, based at least in part on the image data, a plurality of edgelets associated with the physical environment; joining adjacent edgelets of the plurality of edgelets to generate a plurality of joined edgelets; estimating, based at least in part on the plurality of joined edgelets, at least one contour associated with the physical environment; determining, based at least in part on the at least one contour, a surface; and projecting the surface into a virtual scene of the physical environment.
2. A method comprising: presenting, on a display of a virtual reality or mixed reality system, a virtual scene to a user; detecting an edge of a physical object within a physical environment from one or more images captured by the virtual reality or mixed reality system, the physical object not displayed as part of the virtual scene; …
wherein detecting the edge of the physical object includes: detecting a first line segment based on a first color gradient within the one or more images; detecting a second line segment based on a second color gradient within the one or more images; merging the first line segment to the second line segment into the edge based at least in part on a similarly of the first color gradient to the second color gradient; and locating the edge within a three-dimensional model of the physical environment.
18. The method as recited in claim 17, wherein each of the plurality of edgelets defines a small patch of the image data having an image gradient greater than a threshold.
Papari, Fig. 28. R–P plot related to the Canny edge detector for different values of the higher threshold tH; Kim, claim 2 - wherein an edge point is detected when the adjacent pixel difference exceeds a threshold
19. The method as recited in claim 17, wherein a first edgelet of the plurality of edgelets is joined to a second edgelet of the plurality of edgelets in response to the first edgelet being less than or equal to a pixel threshold from the second edgelet.
which is obvious because given any two (2) edgelets with their corresponding pixel thresholds, one of the pixel threshold must be less than or equal to other pixel threshold.
20. The method as recited in claim 17, wherein estimating the at least one contour associated with the physical environment further comprises: computing a reprojection error for each joined edgelet associated with the at least one contour; and rejecting a joined edgelet when the reprojection error is greater than or equal to a reprojection error threshold.
which is obvious due to a “high” error in line projection because the reprojection error, by definition, is the pixel distance between an observed feature in an image and the assumed position predicted by a 3D model and camera pose (i.e., the geometric Euclidean distance between a real detected point and where the camera model expects that point should be).
21. The method as recited in claim 17, wherein determining the surface further comprises applying a Poisson reconstruction technique to the at least one contour.
which is well-known in the art since the Poisson Surface Reconstruction is a highly effective global optimization technique used to determine a continuous, watertight 3D surface from oriented data samples. When applying it to contours, the process translates 2D or 3D contour lines into a smooth, closed volumetric boundary.
/PHU K NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616