DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. Clearly irrelevant and marginally pertinent cumulative information should be eliminated. If a long list is submitted, those documents which have been specifically brought to applicant's attention and/or are known to be of most significance should be highlighted. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), affd, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974). But cf. Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d 1823 (Fed. Cir. 1995). See MPEP §2004
Applicant's duty of disclosure of material and information is not satisfied by presenting a patent examiner with "a mountain of largely irrelevant [material] from which he is presumed to have been able, with his expertise and with adequate time, to have found the critical [material]. It ignores real world conditions under which, applicant has a duty not just to disclose pertinent prior art references but to make a disclosure in such way as not to "bury" it within other disclosures of less relevant prior art; See Golden Valley Microwave Foods Inc. v. Weaver Popcorn Co. Inc., 24 USPQ2d 1801 (N.D. Ind. 1992); Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 26 USPQ2d 1889, at 1899 (D.Del 1992); Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc. et al., 175 USPQ 260, at 272 (S.D. F1. 1972).
The examiner is not afforded the time to thoroughly review each reference, given the number of references cited. By initialing each of the cited references on the accompanying 1449 form(s), the examiner is merely acknowledging the submission of the cited references and indicating that only a cursory review was made of the cited references.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
reference character 16 has been used to designate both “opposing lower surface” and “bottom surface” (see [0022]).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
reference character 36 has been used to designate “angle” or “acute angle” (see [0025-0039])
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: as noted in the drawing objections above. Appropriate correction is required.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
“first angle”, “second angle”, “third angle” and “fourth angle” in claims 1-3, 8-16 and 18-20 (respectively).
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5, ln. 1, “…wherein…” should be added “…the second line of weakness…” to correct the typographical error.
The forgoing analysis may not be exhaustive. Applicant should carefully proofread all claims and make all necessary corrections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bassi (WO 2021014290 A1; hereinafter Bassi).
Regarding claim 1, Bassi discloses a closure embodiment (1; as shown in Fig. 14) comprising:
a top panel (4) including an upper surface and a lower surface;
a rotational axis (Z) about which the top panel is centered;
a cylindrical wall (3) extending from the lower surface of the top panel to a bottom edge of the cylindrical wall;
an inner surface of the cylindrical wall facing towards the rotational axis;
a retention band (301, 306 and 307) pivotally coupled to the cylindrical wall, the retention band attached to the bottom edge by a plurality of frangible members (503), the plurality of frangible members providing a visual indication, when broken, that the closure has been opened;
a first line of weakness (i.e. the form of separation line (5)) that separates the cylindrical wall and the retention band, wherein the plurality of frangible members extend across the first line of weakness and connect the cylindrical wall and the retention band, the first line of weakness extending circumferentially with respect to the rotational axis from a first end (501) to a second end (502), wherein the first end and the second end are separated by a first angle with respect to the rotational axis;
a second line of weakness (i.e. in the form of incision line (7)) that extends circumferentially with respect to the rotational axis, wherein the second line of weakness is distinct from the first line of weakness, the second line of weakness including a central portion (308a) that extends horizontally and circumferentially, and side portions (6) that extend upward from the central portion;
a first tether (306) that couples the cylindrical wall to the retention band, wherein the first tether extends between the second line of weakness and the first end of the first line of weakness;
a second tether (307) that couples the cylindrical wall to the retention band, wherein the second tether extends between the second line of weakness and the second end of the first line of weakness; and
a tab (308) that extends from the cylindrical wall, the tab defined by the central portion and the side portions of the second line of weakness, the tab configured to interface against a container neck of a container subsequent to the closure being opened, thereby biasing the cylindrical wall from the container neck, wherein the central portion defines a second angle with respect to the rotational axis, wherein the second angle is greater than the first angle (Bassi pg. 12 ln. 1 – pg. 28 ln. 4 and see annotated Fig. 14 below).
Regarding claim 4, Bassi further discloses wherein the closure is configured to be affixed to a container neck of a container (see annotated Bassi Fig. 14 above), and wherein the retention band is configured to remain coupled to the container after the closure has been opened.
Regarding claim 5, Bassi further discloses the second line of weakness comprising lateral portions (702 and 703) extending circumferentially away from the side portions, wherein the lateral portions are closer to the top panel than the central portion (see annotated Bassi Fig. 14 above).
Regarding claim 7, Bassi further discloses wherein the closure is configured to be affixed to a container neck of a container, wherein the retention band is configured to remain coupled to the container after the closure has been opened, the tab comprising an upper portion and a lower portion that is further from the top panel than the upper portion, the lower portion defining an interfacing surface that interfaces against the container neck to bias the top panel away from an opening of the container neck.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,252,304 (reference application).
Claims 1-7, 10-15 and 17 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 and 13-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,252,304. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 1 (of the instant application) and claims 1, 3-4, 8 and 18 (of the ‘304 patent), both disclose or teach a closure comprising:
a top panel including an upper surface and a lower surface;
a rotational axis about which the top panel is centered;
a cylindrical wall extending from the lower surface of the top panel to a bottom edge of the cylindrical wall;
an inner surface of the cylindrical wall facing towards the rotational axis;
a retention band pivotally coupled to the cylindrical wall, the retention band attached to the bottom edge by a plurality of frangible members, the plurality of frangible members providing a visual indication, when broken, that the closure has been opened;
a first line of weakness that separates the cylindrical wall and the retention band, wherein the plurality of frangible members extend across the first line of weakness and connect the cylindrical wall and the retention band, the first line of weakness extending circumferentially with respect to the rotational axis from a first end to a second end, wherein the first end and the second end are separated by a first angle with respect to the rotational axis;
a second line of weakness that extends circumferentially with respect to the rotational axis, wherein the second line of weakness is distinct from the first line of weakness, the second line of weakness including a central portion that extends horizontally and circumferentially, and side portions that extend upward from the central portion;
a first tether that couples the cylindrical wall to the retention band, wherein the first tether extends between the second line of weakness and the first end of the first line of weakness;
a second tether that couples the cylindrical wall to the retention band, wherein the second tether extends between the second line of weakness and the second end of the first line of weakness; and
a tab [that extends from the cylindrical wall], the tab defined by the central portion and the side portions of the second line of weakness, the tab configured to interface against a container neck of a container subsequent to the closure being opened, thereby biasing the cylindrical wall from the container neck, wherein the central portion defines a second angle with respect to the rotational axis, wherein the second angle is greater than the first angle.
As for claims 2-7 (of the instant application), the limitations can be found in claims 2, 5-7 and 9 (of the ‘304 patent).
Regarding claim 10 (of the instant application) and claim 13 (of the ‘304 patent), both disclose or teach a closure comprising:
a top panel including an upper surface and a lower surface;
a rotational axis about which the top panel is centered;
a cylindrical wall extending from the lower surface of the top panel to a bottom edge of the cylindrical wall;
an inner surface of the cylindrical wall facing towards the rotational axis;
a retention band pivotally coupled to the cylindrical wall, the retention band attached to the bottom edge by a plurality of frangible members, the plurality of frangible members providing a visual indication, when broken, that the closure has been opened;
a first line of weakness that separates the cylindrical wall and the retention band, wherein the plurality of frangible members extend across the first line of weakness and connect the cylindrical wall and the retention band, the first line of weakness extending circumferentially with respect to the rotational axis from a first end to a second end, wherein the first end and the second end are separated by a first angle with respect to the rotational axis, wherein the first angle is acute;
a second line of weakness extending circumferentially with respect to the rotational axis from a third end to a fourth end, wherein the second line of weakness is distinct from the first line of weakness, wherein the third end and the fourth end are separated by a second angle with respect to the rotational axis, wherein the second angle is acute, and wherein a ratio of the first angle to the second angle is between 1:3 and 1:8;
a first tether that couples the cylindrical wall to the retention band, wherein the first tether extends between the second line of weakness and the first end of the first line of weakness; and
a second tether that couples the cylindrical wall to the retention band, wherein the second tether extends between the second line of weakness and the second end of the first line of weakness.
As for claims 11-15 and 17 (of the instant application), the limitations can be found in claims 14-17 (of the ‘304 patent).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 and 16 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim (in particular claims 1, 7, 10 and 15 (respectively)), but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/B. V. P./
Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736