DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20200309295, Belen.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 1-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Belen discloses a pipe coupling comprising: a coupling body comprising a first coupling segment (120) and a second coupling segment (121), each of the first and second coupling segments defining a first end and a second end opposite the first end; a fastener (134) mounted to the coupling body and configured to tighten the pipe coupling from an untightened configuration to a tightened configuration; and a first installation indicator (140) arranged between the first end of the first coupling segment and the first end of the second coupling segment, wherein the first installation indicator is clamped between the first and second coupling segments in the tightened configuration wherein the first installation indicator comprises a bolt opening (157) configured to retain the first indicator on the bolt in the untightened configuration and a fluke (166) positioned between the first end of the first coupling segment and the first end of the second coupling segment in the tightened configuration.
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 1-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Belen discloses the fastener comprises a first bolt, and the first installation indicator is mounted to the bolt.
In regards to claim 4, in Figures 1-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Belen discloses the installation indicator has a substantially Y- shape.
In regards to claim 5, in Figures 1-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Belen discloses the installation indicator has a stem (426, 428) and a pair of flukes that extend from the stem.
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 1-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Belen discloses the first installation indicator is substantially flat around the bolt opening.
In regards to claim 10, in Figures 1-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Belen discloses the fluke is coplanar with the bolt opening in the untightened configuration and in the tightened configuration.
Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20220260188, Bowman.
In regards to claim 2, in Figures 10-13 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bowman discloses a pipe coupling comprising: a coupling body comprising a first coupling segment (86) and a second coupling segment (88), each of the first and second coupling segments defining a first end and a second end opposite the first end, wherein; the first coupling segment comprises a first fastener pad defining a primary pad shoulder (100) and the second coupling segment comprises a second fastener pad defining a secondary pad shoulder (100); a first indicator element (92) is formed monolithically with the first coupling segment at the first end of the first fastener pad; and a second indicator element (92) is formed monolithically with the second coupling segment at the first end of the second fastener pad; and a fastener (96, 98) mounted to the coupling body and configured to tighten the pipe coupling from an untightened configuration to a tightened configuration, wherein the first indicator element is pressed against the second indicator element in the tightened configuration has a first flat surface (102) that is pressed against a second flat surface (108) of the second indicator element in the tightened configuration, the first flat surface and the second flat surface being perpendicular to the fastener, and the first indicator element and the second indicator element configured to maintain a predetermined pad spacing between the primary pad shoulder and the secondary pad shoulder in the tightened configuration, wherein the fastener is between the first indicator element and the first fastener pad and between the second indicator element and the second fastener pad in the tightened configuration.
In regards to claim 8, in Figures 10-13 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bowman discloses the first coupling segment and the second coupling segment are identical.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Belen does not disclose a first installation indicator comprises a bolt opening configured to retain the first indicator on the bolt in the untightened configuration. The Examiner disagrees. Belen recites:
[0008] FIG. 1 is a front view of a pipe coupling comprising a pivot clip in accordance with one aspect of the current disclosure, showing the pipe coupling in an untightened configuration.
[0014] FIG. 7 is a front view of the pipe coupling of FIG. 1 in a tightened configuration.
Belen clearly illustrates a first installation indicator comprises a bolt opening configured to retain the first indicator on the bolt in the untightened configuration, as claimed.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is allowed.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679