DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites, “a first installation indicator arranged between the first end of the first coupling segment and the first end of the second coupling segment, wherein the first installation indicator is clamped between the first and second coupling segments in the tightened configuration wherein the first installation indicator comprises a bolt opening configured to retain the fastener on the bolt in the untightened configuration and a fluke positioned between the first end of the first coupling segment and the first end of the second coupling segment in the tightened configuration.” The original disclosure recites:
[0066] In some example aspects, each of the installation indicators 170 can be substantially T- shaped, Y-shaped, or V-shaped. In the present aspect, the installation indicators 170 can be substantially Y-shaped. For example, each of the installation indicators 170 can define a stem 376 extending radially outward from the gasket body 162, and pair of flukes 378 extending from the stem 376 opposite the gasket body 162. As such, the installation indicators 170 of the present aspect can be said to generally define the shape of a "whale tail". Other aspects of the installation indicator 170 may not comprise the stem 376 and can comprise the pair of flukes 378 only (e.g., can be substantially V-shaped). The pair of flukes 378 can comprise a first fluke 378a extending towards an axially front gasket end 366 of the coupling gasket 160 at an angle 0 relative to the stem 376 and a second fluke 378b extending towards an axially rear gasket end 368 of the coupling gasket 160 at the angle 0 relative to the stem 376. The angle 0 can be obtuse in the present aspect to define the Y-shape of the installation indicator 170. In other aspects, the angle 0 can be any other suitable angle. A fluke notch 380 can be defined between the first fluke 378a and the second fluke 378b at a distal indicator end 382 of the installation indicator 170, opposite the stem 376. The fluke notch 380 can be substantially arcuate in some aspects, and can be configured to provide suitable clearance between the installation indicator 170 and the adjacent coupling fastener 150 (shown in Figure 1).
Figure 12 is a perspective view of the installation indicator of Figure 11 mounted to a fastener.
Each of the first and second fasteners 150 a,b can be selectively loosened and tightened, as described in further detail below. In the present aspect, each of the first and second fasteners 150 a,b can comprise a threaded bolt 152 and a threaded nut 158. The threaded bolt 152 can define a bolt head 154 and a bolt shaft 156. The bolt shaft 156 can define shaft threading 157 distal to the bolt head 154, as shown, which can threadedly engaged the
threaded nut 158.
The original disclosure states that the fastener comprises a bolt, so it is impossible to retain the fastener on the bolt in the untightened configuration, as claimed. Also, when the first installation indicator is clamped between the first and second coupling segments in the tightened configuration, it is impossible for the first installation indicator comprises a bolt opening to be configured to retain the fastener on the bolt in the untightened configuration and a fluke positioned between the first end of the first coupling segment and the first end of the second coupling segment in the tightened configuration, as claimed. Therefore, the Examiner must conclude the claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 3 recites, “the first installation indicator is mounted to a first threaded nut”; however, the original disclosure is completely silent in regards to the first installation indicator being mounted to a first threaded nut. Figure 25 above clearly illustrates a first installation indicator being mounted on the bolt and not a first threaded nut. Therefore, the Examiner must conclude the claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20200309295, Belen.
In regards to claim 1, as best understood, in Figures 1-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Belen discloses a pipe coupling comprising: a coupling body comprising a first coupling segment (120) and a second coupling segment (121), each of the first and second coupling segments defining a first end and a second end opposite the first end; a fastener (134) mounted to the coupling body and configured to tighten the pipe coupling from an untightened configuration to a tightened configuration; and a first installation indicator (140) arranged between the first end of the first coupling segment and the first end of the second coupling segment, wherein the first installation indicator is clamped between the first and second coupling segments in the tightened configuration wherein the first installation indicator comprises a bolt opening (157) configured to retain the fastener on the bolt in the untightened configuration and a fluke (166) positioned between the first end of the first coupling segment and the first end of the second coupling segment in the tightened configuration.
In regards to claim 3, as best understood, in Figures 1-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Belen discloses the first installation indicator is mounted to a first threaded nut (functionally).
In regards to claim 4, as best understood, in Figures 1-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Belen discloses the installation indicator has a substantially Y- shape.
In regards to claim 5, as best understood, in Figures 1-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Belen discloses the installation indicator has a stem (426, 428) and a pair of flukes that extend from the stem.
In regards to claim 6, as best understood, in Figures 1-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Belen discloses the first installation indicator is substantially flat around the bolt opening.
Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20220146022, Bowman.
In regards to claim 2, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bowman discloses a pipe coupling comprising: a coupling body comprising a first coupling segment (12) and a second coupling segment (14), each of the first and second coupling segments defining a first end and a second end opposite the first end, wherein; the first coupling segment comprises a first fastener pad defining a primary pad shoulder (42) and the second coupling segment comprises a second fastener pad defining a secondary pad shoulder (50); a first indicator element is formed monolithically with the first coupling segment at the first end of the first fastener pad; and a second indicator element is formed monolithically with the second coupling segment at the first end of the second fastener pad; and a fastener (34, 36) mounted to the coupling body and configured to tighten the pipe coupling from an untightened configuration to a tightened configuration, wherein the first indicator element is pressed against the second indicator element in the tightened configuration has a first flat surface (44) that is pressed against a second flat surface (44) of the second indicator element in the tightened configuration, the first flat surface and the second flat surface being perpendicular to the fastener, and the first indicator element and the second indicator element configured to maintain a predetermined pad spacing between the primary pad shoulder and the secondary pad shoulder in the tightened configuration, wherein the fastener is between the first indicator element and the first fastener pad and between the second indicator element and the second fastener pad in the tightened configuration.
In regards to claim 8, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bowman discloses the first coupling segment and the second coupling segment are identical.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose a first installation indicator arranged between the first end of the first coupling segment and the first end of the second coupling segment, wherein the first installation indicator is clamped between the first and second coupling segments in the tightened configuration wherein the first installation indicator comprises a bolt opening configured to retain the fastener on the bolt in the untightened configuration and a fluke positioned between the first end of the first coupling segment and the first end of the second coupling segment in the tightened configuration. The Examiner disagrees. Belen clearly illustrates a first installation indicator (140) arranged between the first end of the first coupling segment and the first end of the second coupling segment, wherein the first installation indicator is clamped between the first and second coupling segments in the tightened configuration wherein the first installation indicator comprises a bolt opening (157) configured to retain the fastener on the bolt in the untightened configuration and a fluke (166) positioned between the first end of the first coupling segment and the first end of the second coupling segment in the tightened configuration, as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON M DUNWOODY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679