DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority
This application is a by-pass continuation application of International Application No. PCT/KR2023/010515, filed on 07/20/2023, which claims priority to Korean Patent Application No. 10-2022-0116684 filed on 09/15/2022 and Korean Patent Application No. 10-2022-0156686 filed on 11/21/2022. On 03/13/2025, electronic copies of these documents were retrieved by the USPTO, and thus on the office action summary sheet examiner has checked off the box “all” certified copies have been received at this time.
Specification Objections
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph 0205 includes the following typing error: “illustrating how illustrating how”. Appropriate correction is required.
The specification is objected to because the title is not descriptive. See MPEP 606.01 – “Where the title is not descriptive of the invention claimed, the examiner should require the substitution of a new title that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed”. Correction is needed. Examiner suggests by way of example the following title: “ELECTRONIC DEVICE AND OPERATION METHOD THEREOF INCLUDING SELECTION OF A FIRST OR SECOND DIRECTIONAL KEY OF A CONTROL APPARATUS ”.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 at line 5 includes extra spaces between words. This objection may be overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims. Appropriate correction is required. This objection applies to claims 2-9 that depend upon claim 1.
Claim 3 at line 1 includes extra spaces between words. This objection may be overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims. Appropriate correction is required. This objection applies to claims 4-6 that depend upon claim 3.
Claim 4 at line 1 includes extra spaces between words. This objection may be overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims. Appropriate correction is required. This objection applies to claims 5-6 that depend upon claim 4.
Claim 5 at line 1 includes extra spaces between words. This objection may be overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims. Appropriate correction is required. This objection applies to claim 6 that depends upon claim 5.
Claim 6 at line 1 includes extra spaces between words. This objection may be overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 at line 1 includes extra spaces between words. This objection may be overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims. Appropriate correction is required. This objection applies to claim 8 that depends upon claim 7.
Claim 8 at line 1 includes extra spaces between words. This objection may be overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 at line 1 includes extra spaces between words. This objection may be overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 at line 2 includes an extra spaces between “a” and “time”. This objection may be overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
7. Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Korea Patent Pub. No. 20130089405A to Sung.
As to claim 10, Sung discloses a control apparatus(110)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b,
11c: 250, 611, 612; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9) comprising:
an input interface(350)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c; p 6, ¶¶6, 10);
a communication interface(340)(FIG. 3; p 6, ¶¶3-5);
memory storing one or more instructions (p 13, ¶¶4-5); and
one or more processors(330)(FIG. 4; p 6, ¶¶3, 10; p 13, ¶¶4-5) operatively connected to the input interface(350)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c; p 6, ¶¶6, 10), the communication interface(340)(FIG. 3; p 6, ¶¶3-5, 8), and the memory (FIG. 4: 330; p 6, ¶¶3, 10; p 13, ¶¶4-5),
wherein the one or more instructions (p 13, ¶¶4-5), when executed by the
one or more processors(330)(FIG. 4; p 6, ¶¶3, 10; p 13, ¶¶4-5), cause the control apparatus(110)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250, 611, 612; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9) to transmit, via the communication interface(340)(FIG. 3; p 6, ¶¶3-5), a control signal to an electronic apparatus(250)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 110, 611, 612; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9 – sending a signal from 611 or 612),
wherein the input interface(350)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c; p 6, ¶¶6, 10)
comprises a first directional key(611 or 612)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9) and a second
directional key(612 or 611)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9) that is different from the first directional key(611 or 612)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9), and
wherein the first directional key(611 or 612)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250; p 6,
¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9) is provided on a front surface(611 or 612 on front surface of 110)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250, 611, 612; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9) of the control apparatus(110)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250, 611, 612; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9), and the second directional key(612 or 611)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9) is provided on the front surface(612 or 611 on 110)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250, 611, 612; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9), a back surface, a rear surface, or a side surface of the control apparatus(110)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250, 611, 612; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9).
As to claim 11, Sung discloses the control apparatus of claim 10, as applied above.
Sung further discloses wherein the first directional key(611 or 612)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9) and the second directional key(612 or 611)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9) are positioned within a range on the control apparatus(110)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250, 611, 612; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9) such that the first directional key(611 or 612)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9) and the second directional key(612 or 611)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9) are simultaneously operable by a user with one hand (FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250, 611 and 612; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9).
As to claim 12, Sung discloses an operating method of an electronic apparatus(250)(FIG. 3: 110; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10), the operating method (FIG. 3: 110, 250; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10) comprising:
receiving a control signal from a control apparatus(110)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b,
11c: 250, 611, 612; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9 – receiving a signal from 611 or 612);
based on content to be output, via a display(250)(FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11), being a first type of content(volume content or channel content)(FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b: 110, 250; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11), outputting the content, via the display(250)(FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11), in a first mode(volume adjustment mode or channel adjustment mode)(FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b: 110, 250; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11) based on the control signal (FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b: 110, 250; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11 - receiving a signal from 611 or 612); and
based on the content being output, via the display(250)(FIGs. 3, 11c; p 6, ¶4; p 10, ¶¶4-9), being a second type of content(virtual keyboard content)(FIGs. 3, 11c: 110, 250; p 6, ¶4; p 10, ¶¶4-9), outputting the content, via the display(250)(FIGs. 3, 11c; p 6, ¶4; p 10, ¶¶4-9), in a second mode(virtual keyboard input mode)(FIGs. 3, 11c: 110, 250; p 6, ¶4; p 10, ¶¶4-9) based on the control signal (FIGs. 3, 11c: 110, 250; p 6, ¶4; p 10, ¶¶4-9- receiving a signal from 611 or 612 ),
wherein the control signal (FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 110, 250, 611, 612; p 6,
¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9 – receiving a signal from 611 or 612) comprises at least one of a first control signal based on a selection of a first directional key(611 or 612)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9) of the control apparatus(110)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250, 611, 612; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9) and a second control signal based on a selection of a second directional key(612 or 611)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9) of the control apparatus(110)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9) that is different from the first directional key(611 or 612)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
9. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korea Patent Pub. No. 20130089405A to Sung in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0246387 A1 to Ikeda.
As to claim 1, Sung discloses an electronic apparatus(250)(FIG. 3: 110; p 6,
¶5) comprising:
a display(250)(FIG. 3: 110; p 6, ¶5);
a communication interface (p 6, ¶¶3-5 – electronic apparatus {FIG. 3: 250}
inherently includes a communication interface to receive communications from the wireless communication unit {FIG. 3: 340} of control apparatus {FIG. 3: 300}); and
one or more processors operatively connected to the display(250)(FIG. 3:
110; p 6, ¶5), the communication interface (p 6, ¶¶3-5, p 13, ¶¶4-5 – electronic apparatus {FIG. 3: 250} includes one or more processors to control its operations including: (i) controlling a communication interface to receive communications from the wireless communication unit {FIG. 3: 340} of control apparatus {FIG. 3: 300} and (ii) controlling displaying of images based on inputs from the control apparatus {FIG. 3: 300}),
wherein the one or more processors (p 6, ¶¶3-5, p 13, ¶¶4-5 – electronic
apparatus {FIG. 3: 250} includes one or more processors to control its operations),
cause the electronic apparatus(250)(FIG. 3: 110; p 6, ¶5) to:
receive a control signal from a control apparatus(110)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b,
11c: 250, 611, 612; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9 – receiving a signal from 611 or 612) via the communication interface (p 6, ¶¶3-5 – electronic apparatus {FIG. 3: 250} inherently includes a communication interface to receive communications from the wireless communication unit {FIG. 3: 340} of control apparatus {FIG. 3: 300}),
based on content to be output via the display(250)(FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11) being a first type of content(volume content or channel content)(FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b: 110, 250; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11), output the content, via the display(250)(FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11), in a first mode(volume adjustment mode or channel adjustment mode)(FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b: 110, 250; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11) based on the control signal (FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b: 110, 250; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11 - receiving a signal from 611 or 612), and
based on the content being a second type of content(virtual keyboard
content)(FIGs. 3, 11c: 110, 250; p 6, ¶4; p 10, ¶¶4-9), output the content,
via the display(250)(FIGs. 3, 11c; p 6, ¶4; p 10, ¶¶4-9), in a second mode(virtual keyboard input mode)(FIGs. 3, 11c: 110, 250; p 6, ¶4; p 10, ¶¶4-9) based on the control signal(FIGs. 3, 11c: 110, 250; p 6, ¶4; p 10, ¶¶4-9- receiving a signal from 611 or 612), and
wherein the control signal (FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 110, 250, 611, 612; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9 – receiving a signal from 611 or 612) comprises at least one of a first control signal based on a selection of a first directional key(611 or 612)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9) of the control apparatus(110)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250, 611, 612; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9), and a second control signal based on a selection of a second directional key(612 or 611)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9) of the control apparatus(110)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9) that is different from the first directional key(611 or 612)(FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9).
Sung does not expressly disclose memory storing one or more instructions;
and one or more processors operatively connected to the memory, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause (the electronic apparatus to carry out its operations).
Ikeda discloses an electronic apparatus(100)(FIG. 4; ¶0030) comprising:
memory(431)(FIG. 4; ¶¶0039, 0041) storing one or more instructions (FIG. 4: 431; ¶¶0039, 0041); and one or more processors(424, 427)(FIG. 4; ¶¶0036, 0038-0041) operatively connected to the display(102)(FIG. 4; ¶0038), the communication interface(429)(FIG. 4: 150; ¶0040) and the memory(431)(FIG. 4; ¶¶0039, 0041), wherein the one or more instructions (FIG. 4: 431; ¶¶0039, 0041), when executed by the one or more processors(424, 427)(FIG. 4; ¶¶0036, 0038-0041), cause the electronic apparatus(100)(FIG. 4; ¶0030) to carry out its operations (FIG. 4: 424, 427; ¶¶0036, 0038-0041).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sung with Ikeda to provide an electronic apparatus the operation of which may be readily updated/upgraded given that software is readily updated/upgraded.
10. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korea Patent Pub. No. 20130089405A to Sung as applied to claim 12 above, in view of Television Shows About the Metaverse to Radoff.
As to claim 13, Sung discloses the operating method of claim 12, as applied above.
Sung further discloses wherein the first type of content(channel content)(FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b: 110, 250, 912; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11) comprises content(channel content)(FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b: 110, 250, 912; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11), and the second type of content(virtual keyboard content)(FIGs. 3, 11c: 110, 250, 912; p 6, ¶4; p 10, ¶¶4-9) comprises viewing content(virtual keyboard content)(FIGs. 3, 11c: 110, 250, 912; p 6, ¶4; p 10, ¶¶4-9).
Sung does not expressly disclose wherein the first type of content comprises metaverse content.
Radoff discloses wherein the first type of content comprises metaverse content (p 7, especially – “Upload...a dark comedy set in a future in which human consciousness may be uploaded to a metaverse-afterlife”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sung with Radoff to provide an operating method of an electronic apparatus having a mode that allows a user to view science fiction content.
11. Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korea Patent Pub. No. 20130089405A to Sung in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0246387 A1 to Ikeda as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Television Shows About the Metaverse to Radoff.
As to claim 2, Sung and Ikeda teach the electronic apparatus of claim 1, as applied above.
Sung further discloses wherein the first type of content(channel content)(FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b: 110, 250, 912; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11) comprises content(channel content)(FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b: 110, 250, 912; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11), and the second type of content(virtual keyboard content)(FIGs. 3, 11c: 110, 250, 912; p 6, ¶4; p 10, ¶¶4-9) comprises viewing content(virtual keyboard content)(FIGs. 3, 11c: 110, 250, 912; p 6, ¶4; p 10, ¶¶4-9).
Sung and Ikeda do not expressly disclose wherein the first type of content comprises metaverse content.
Radoff discloses wherein the first type of content comprises metaverse content (p 7, especially – “Upload...a dark comedy set in a future in which human consciousness may be uploaded to a metaverse-afterlife”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sung and Ikeda with Radoff to provide an electronic apparatus having a mode that allows a user to view science fiction content.
As to claim 7, Sung, Ikeda and Radoff teach the electronic apparatus of claim 2, as applied above.
Sung, Ikeda and Radoff further teach wherein, the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to, based on the content being output being the second type of content, control the content to be output, via the display, in the second mode (Sung: FIGs. 3, 11c: virtual keyboard content; p 6, ¶¶3-5, p 10, ¶¶4-9; p 13, ¶¶4-5 – electronic apparatus {FIG. 3: 250} includes one or more processors to control its operations including: (i) controlling a communication interface to receive communications from the wireless communication unit {FIG. 3: 340} of control apparatus {FIG. 3: 300} and (ii) controlling displaying of images based on inputs from the control apparatus {FIG. 3: 300}; Ikeda: FIG. 4: 100, 012, 424, 427; ¶¶0030, 0036, 0038-0041 by:
controlling, based on the first control signal(Sung: FIGs. 3, 6, 11c: 250, 611 or 612 is a first control signal; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 10, ¶¶4-9), a movement direction of a focus for selecting an object included in the viewing content(Sung: FIGs. 3, 6, 11c: 250, 611 or 612 move an arrow/focus to select a letter on a virtual keyboard; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 10, ¶¶4-9), and
allowing, based on the second control signal(Sung: FIGs. 3, 6, 11c: 250, 612 or 611 is a second control signal; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 10, ¶¶4-9), a function(Sung: FIGs. 3, 6, 11c: 250, 612 or 611 move an arrow to select a letter on a virtual keyboard; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 10, ¶¶4-9) corresponding to the second control signal(Sung: FIGs. 3, 6, 11c: 250, 612 or 611 is a second control signal; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 10, ¶¶4-9) to be performed, the function(Sung: FIGs. 3, 6, 11c: 250, 612 or 611 move an arrow to select a letter on a virtual keyboard; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 10, ¶¶4-9) being performable on a screen for the viewing content currently being output(Sung: FIGs. 3, 6, 11c: 250, virtual keyboard; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 10, ¶¶4-9).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Ikeda is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
12. Claims 14-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korea Patent Pub. No. 20130089405A to Sung in view of Television Shows About the Metaverse to Radoff as applied to claim 13 above, in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0086686 A1 to Avent et al. (“Avent”).
As to claim 14, Sung and Radoff teach the operating method of claim 13, as applied above.
Sung and Radoff further teach a first operation to be performed based on the selection of the first directional key (Sung: FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b: 110, 250, 611, volume content; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11), and a second operation to be performed based on the selection of the second directional key (Sung: FIGs. 3, 11c: 110, 250; p 6, ¶4; p 10, ¶¶4-9- receiving a signal from 612 to view virtual keyboard content; Radoff: p 7, especially – “Upload...a dark comedy set in a future in which human consciousness may be uploaded to a metaverse-afterlife”).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Radoff is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 13.
Sung further discloses wherein the first type of content(channel content)(FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b: 110, 250; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11) comprises content(channel content)(FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b: 110, 250; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11), and the second type of content(virtual keyboard content)(FIGs. 3, 11c: 110, 250; p 6, ¶4; p 10, ¶¶4-9) comprises viewing content(virtual keyboard content)(FIGs. 3, 11c: 110, 250; p 6, ¶4; p 10, ¶¶4-9).
Sung and Radoff do not expressly disclose further comprising outputting, via the display, a guide user interface (Ul), wherein the guide UI comprises at least one of a first guide Ul indicating a first operation to be performed based on the selection of the first directional key, and a second guide Ul indicating a second operation to be performed based on the selection of the second directional key.
Avent discloses further comprising outputting, via the display(20)(FIG. 1A; ¶0048), a guide user interface (Ul)(159, arrow(s), 178)(FIGs. 7-8; ¶¶0104, 0109), wherein the guide UI(159, arrow(s), 178)(FIGs. 7-8; ¶¶0104, 0109) comprises at least one of a guide Ul(159, arrow(s), 178)(FIGs. 7-8; ¶¶0104, 0109) indicating an operation to be performed based on the selection of the directional input device(128)(FIGs. 2, 7-8: 159; ¶¶0053, 0104, 0109).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sung and Radoff with Avent to provide an operating method of an electronic apparatus that familiarizes a user how to make specific inputs (¶¶0046, 0095).
Sung, Radoff and Avent teach a guide user interface (UI)(Sung: FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b: 110, 250, 611, volume content; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11; Avent: FIGs. 2, 7-8: 159, arrow(s), 178; ¶¶0053, 0104, 0109), wherein the guide UI comprises at least one of a first guide Ul indicating a first operation to be performed based on the selection of the first directional key (Sung: FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b: 110, 250, 611, volume content; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11; Avent: FIGs. 2, 7-8: 159, arrow(s), 178; ¶¶0053, 0104, 0109), and a second guide Ul indicating a second operation to be performed based on the selection of the second directional key (Sung: FIGs. 3, 11c: 110, 250; p 6, ¶4; p 10, ¶¶4-9- receiving a signal from 612 to view virtual keyboard content; Radoff: p 7, especially – “Upload...a dark comedy set in a future in which human consciousness may be uploaded to a metaverse-afterlife”; Avent: FIGs. 2, 7-8: 159, arrow(s), 178; ¶¶0053, 0104, 0109).
As to claim 15, Sung, Radoff and Avent teach the operating method of claim 14, as applied above.
Avent further discloses wherein the outputting the guide UI(159, arrow(s), 178)(FIGs. 7-8; ¶¶0104, 0109) comprises outputting, via the display(20)(FIG. 1A; ¶0048), the guide UI(159, arrow(s), 178)(FIGs. 7-8; ¶¶0104, 0109) at a preset interval (¶¶0011, 0046, 0065-0068, 0070-0071, 0073, 0100 – time spent away from application, e.g., a game) or at a time based on an event occurring, and wherein the event comprises at least one of a first event in which a type of content being output, via the display, is changed, and a second event in which a function controlled based on the control signal is changed.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sung, Radoff and Avent with Avent’s further teachings to provide an operating method of an electronic apparatus that familiarizes a user how to make specific inputs tailored to a user’s particular needs (¶¶0046, 0095, 0101).
13. Claims 3-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korea Patent Pub. No. 20130089405A to Sung in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0246387 A1 to Ikeda in view of Television Shows About the Metaverse to Radoff as applied to claim 2 above, in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0086686 A1 to Avent et al. (“Avent”).
As to claim 3, Sung, Ikeda and Radoff teach the electronic apparatus of claim 2, as applied above.
Sung, Ikeda and Radoff further teach wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to output, via the display (Sung: p 6, ¶¶3-5, p 13, ¶¶4-5 – electronic apparatus {FIG. 3: 250} includes one or more processors to control its operations including: (i) controlling a communication interface to receive communications from the wireless communication unit {FIG. 3: 340} of control apparatus {FIG. 3: 300} and (ii) controlling displaying of images based on inputs from the control apparatus {FIG. 3: 300}; Ikeda: FIG. 4: 100, 012, 424, 427; ¶¶0030, 0036, 0038-0041); a first operation to be performed based on the selection of the first directional key (Sung: FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b: 110, 250, 611, volume content; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11), and a second operation to be performed based on the selection of the second directional key (Sung: FIGs. 3, 11c: 110, 250; p 6, ¶4; p 10, ¶¶4-9- receiving a signal from 612 to view virtual keyboard content; Radoff: p 7, especially – “Upload...a dark comedy set in a future in which human consciousness may be uploaded to a metaverse-afterlife”).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Ikeda is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 1 and the motivation to combine the additional teachings of Radoff is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 2.
Sung, Ikeda and Radoff do not expressly disclose to output, via the display a guide user interface (Ul), and wherein the guide UI comprises at least one of a first guide Ul indicating a first operation to be performed based on the selection of the first directional key, and a second guide Ul indicating a second operation to be performed based on the selection of the second directional key.
Avent discloses to output, via the display(20)(FIG. 1A; ¶0048) a guide user interface (Ul)(159, arrow(s), 178)(FIGs. 7-8; ¶¶0104, 0109), and wherein the guide UI (159, arrow(s), 178)(FIGs. 7-8; ¶¶0104, 0109) comprises at least one of a guide Ul(159, arrow(s), 178)(FIGs. 7-8; ¶¶0104, 0109) indicating an operation to be performed based on the selection of the directional input device(128)(FIGs. 2, 7-8: 159; ¶¶0053, 0104, 0109).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sung, Ikeda and Radoff with Avent to provide an electronic apparatus that familiarizes a user how to make specific inputs (¶¶0046, 0095).
Sung, Ikeda, Radoff and Avent teach wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to output, via the display (Sung: p 6, ¶¶3-5, p 13, ¶¶4-5 – electronic apparatus {FIG. 3: 250} includes one or more processors to control its operations including: (i) controlling a communication interface to receive communications from the wireless communication unit {FIG. 3: 340} of control apparatus {FIG. 3: 300} and (ii) controlling displaying of images based on inputs from the control apparatus {FIG. 3: 300}; Ikeda: FIG. 4: 100, 012, 424, 427; ¶¶0030, 0036, 0038-0041), a guide user interface (Ul) (Sung: FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b: 110, 250, 611, volume content; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11; Avent: FIGs. 2, 7-8: 159, arrow(s), 178; ¶¶0053, 0104, 0109), and wherein the guide UI comprises at least one of a first guide Ul indicating a first operation to be performed based on the selection of the first directional key (Sung: FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b: 110, 250, 611, volume content; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11; Avent: FIGs. 2, 7-8: 159, arrow(s), 178; ¶¶0053, 0104, 0109), and a second guide Ul indicating a second operation to be performed based on the selection of the second directional key (Sung: FIGs. 3, 11c: 110, 250; p 6, ¶4; p 10, ¶¶4-9- receiving a signal from 612 to view virtual keyboard content; Radoff: p 7, especially – “Upload...a dark comedy set in a future in which human consciousness may be uploaded to a metaverse-afterlife”; Avent: FIGs. 2, 7-8: 159, arrow(s), 178; ¶¶0053, 0104, 0109).
As to claim 4, Sung, Ikeda, Radoff and Avent teach the electronic apparatus of claim 3, as applied above.
Sung, Ikeda, Radoff and Avent further teach wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors cause the electronic apparatus to output, via the display (Sung: p 6, ¶¶3-5, p 13, ¶¶4-5 – electronic apparatus {FIG. 3: 250} includes one or more processors to control its operations including: (i) controlling a communication interface to receive communications from the wireless communication unit {FIG. 3: 340} of control apparatus {FIG. 3: 300} and (ii) controlling displaying of images based on inputs from the control apparatus {FIG. 3: 300}; Ikeda: FIG. 4: 100, 012, 424, 427; ¶¶0030, 0036, 0038-0041), the guide UI (Sung: FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b: 110, 250, 611, volume content; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11; Avent: FIGs. 2, 7-8: 159, arrow(s), 178; ¶¶0053, 0104, 0109) at a preset time interval (¶¶0011, 0046, 0065-0068, 0070-0071, 0073, 0100 – time spent away from application, e.g., a game) or at a time based on an event occurring, and wherein the event comprises at least one of a first event in which a type of content being output via the display is changed, and a second event in which a function controlled based on the control signal is changed.
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Ikeda is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sung, Radoff and Avent with Avent’s further teachings to provide an electronic apparatus that familiarizes a user how to make specific inputs tailored to a user’s particular needs (¶¶0046, 0095, 0101).
As to claim 8, Sung, Ikeda and Radoff teach the electronic apparatus of claim 7, as applied above.
Sung, Ikeda and Radoff further teach wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to: output, via the display (Sung: p 6, ¶¶3-5, p 13, ¶¶4-5 – electronic apparatus {FIG. 3: 250} includes one or more processors to control its operations including: (i) controlling a communication interface to receive communications from the wireless communication unit {FIG. 3: 340} of control apparatus {FIG. 3: 300} and (ii) controlling displaying of images based on inputs from the control apparatus {FIG. 3: 300}; Ikeda: FIG. 4: 100, 012, 424, 427; ¶¶0030, 0036, 0038-0041), an operation to be performed based on the selection of the second directional key (Sung: FIGs. 3, 11c: 110, 250; p 6, ¶4; p 10, ¶¶4-9 - receiving a signal from 612 to view virtual keyboard content; Radoff: p 7, especially – “Upload...a dark comedy set in a future in which human consciousness may be uploaded to a metaverse-afterlife”); and
based on the second control signal being received (Sung: FIGs. 3, 6, 9a, 9b, 11c: 250, 612 or 611 is a second control signal; p 6, ¶¶5, 8, 10; p 7, ¶¶4, 7-8; p 8, ¶8 to p 9, ¶3; p 9, ¶¶5-11; p 10, ¶¶4-9), allow the function corresponding to the second control signal to be performed without receiving an additional control signal (Sung: FIGs. 3, 11c: 110, 250, function: arrow on virtual keyboard is moved; p 6, ¶4; p 10, ¶¶4-9), and wherein the function corresponding to the second control signal corresponds to the operation (Sung: FIGs. 3, 11c: 110, 250, function: arrow on virtual keyboard is moved based on input to 612 or 611; p 6, ¶4; p 10, ¶¶4-9).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Ikeda is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
Sung, Ikeda and Radoff do not expressly disclose output, via the display, a second guide UI indicating an operation to be performed based on the selection of the second directional key; and the operation is guided by the second guide UI.
Avent discloses output, via the display(20)(FIG. 1A; ¶0048), a second guide UI(159, arrow(s), 178)(FIGs. 7-8; ¶¶0092, 0104, 0109) indicating an operation to be performed based on the selection of the input device(128)(FIGs. 2, 7-8: 159; ¶¶0053, 0102, 0104, 0109); and the operation is guided by the second guide UI(159, arrow(s), 178)(FIGs. 7-8; ¶¶0102, 0104, 0109).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sung, Ikeda and Radoff with Avent to provide an electronic apparatus that familiarizes a user how to make specific inputs (¶¶0046, 0095).
Sung, Ikeda and Radoff and Avent teach output, via the display, a second guide UI indicating an operation to be performed based on the selection of the second directional key (
Sung: FIGs. 3, 11c: 110, 250; p 6, ¶¶3-5; p 10, ¶¶4-9; p 13, ¶¶4-5; Ikeda: FIG. 4: 100, 012, 424, 427; ¶¶0030, 0036, 0038-0041; Avent: FIGs. 1A, 2, 7-8: 20, 128, 159, arrow(s), 178; ¶¶0048, 0053, 0092, 0102, 0104, 0109).
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
14. As to claims 5-6 and 9, if the above objection is overcome then it would become allowable (i.e., objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims).
Reasons for Allowance
15. The following is examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the claimed invention is directed to:
Dependent claim 5 identifies the distinct features: “the content to be output via the display in the first mode (FIG. 5) by: controlling a movement direction of an avatar (FIG. 5: 411) in the metaverse content (FIG. 5: 410) based on one control signal from among the first control signal (FIG. 5: 151) and the second control signal (FIG. 5: 155), and controlling a gaze direction of the avatar (FIG. 5: 411) based on another control signal from among the first control signal (FIG. 5: 151) and the second control signal (FIG. 5: 155)”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, Korea Patent Pub. No. 20130089405A to Sung, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0246387 A1 to Ikeda, Television Shows About the Metaverse to Radoff and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0086686 A1 to Avent et al. (“Avent”), fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 5, Sung, Ikeda, Radoff and Avent teach the electronic apparatus of claim 4, as applied above.
Sung, Ikeda, Radoff and Avent further teach wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus (Sung: p 6, ¶¶3-5, p 13, ¶¶4-5 – electronic apparatus {FIG. 3: 250} includes one or more processors to control its operations including: (i) controlling a communication interface to receive communications from the wireless communication unit {FIG. 3: 340} of control apparatus {FIG. 3: 300} and (ii) controlling displaying of images based on inputs from the control apparatus {FIG. 3: 300}; Ikeda: FIG. 4: 100, 012, 424, 427; ¶¶0030, 0036, 0038-0041) to, based on the content being output via the display being the first type of content (Sung: FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b: 110, 250, volume content or channel content; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11), control the content to be output via the display in the first mode (Sung: FIGs. 3, 9a or 9b: 110, 250, volume adjustment mode or channel adjustment mode; p 6, ¶4; p 9, ¶¶5-11).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Ikeda is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
Sung, Ikeda, Radoff and Avent do not teach the above underlined limitations.
Dependent claim 9 identifies the distinct features: “a third type of content comprising video call content (FIG. 8: 811, 813, 815, 820), control the content to be output, via the display (FIG. 8: 100), in a third mode (FIG. 8) based on the control signal by: controlling, based on the first control signal (FIG. 8: 151), a movement direction of a focus for selecting one screen (FIG. 8: 815) from among a plurality of screens (FIG. 8: 813, 815) included in the video call content (FIG. 8: 811, 813, 815, 820), and adjusting, based on the second control signal (FIG. 8: 155), at least one of a size, a position, an angle of view, and a zoom function, of the selected screen (FIG. 8: 815)”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, Korea Patent Pub. No. 20130089405A to Sung and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0246387 A1 to Ikeda, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 9, Sung and Ikeda teach the electronic apparatus of claim 1, as applied above.
Sung and Ikeda further teach wherein, the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to, based on the content to be output, via the display, being a third type of content (Sung: FIGs. 3, 11c: URL/address bar is third type of content; p 6, ¶¶3-5, p 10, ¶¶4-9; p 13, ¶¶4-5; Ikeda: FIG. 4: 100, 012, 424, 427; ¶¶0030, 0036, 0038-0041).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Ikeda is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
Sung and Ikeda do not teach the above underlined limitations.
Other Relevant Prior Art
16. Other relevant prior art includes:
(i) U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0106764 A1 to Chang discloses switching between (FIG. 2: 204, 207¶¶0046, 0048) interpreting a touch input as a gesture in a gesture mode (FIG. 2: 202, 203; ¶¶0045-0046) and a character in a character mode (FIG. 2: 205-206; ¶0047) based on one of : (i) a user defined gesture; (ii) a button; (iii) a side touch slider; and (iv) any other input selection element (¶0034).
(ii) U.S. Patent No. 10,279,264 B1 to Aghdaie et al. discloses tutorial information(210)(FIG. 2B; col 8, ln 39-42) displayed to a user at a detected gameplay state (FIG. 2B; col 8, ln 17-19), which may include images of buttons on an input device and arrows indicating to the user which buttons or combination of buttons need to be pressed to perform an operation (FIG. 2B: 210; col 8, ln 43-48).
Conclusion
/KIRK W HERMANN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619