Detailed Notice
Status of Claims
Claims 11-30 are pending.
Claims 1-10 are canceled.
Claims 11-30 are new.
Claims 11-30 are rejected.
Double Patenting
Claims 11-14, 17-19, 25-26, and 28-29 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13, and 16-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12/490,929 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 11-14, 17-19, 25-26, and 28-29 are similar to claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13, and 16-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12/490,929 as shown in the table below:
Application No. 19/051,685
U.S. Patent No. 12/490,929 B2
11. (New) A patient support apparatus comprising
a frame configured to support a patient,
a controller coupled to the frame, the controller being configured to receive an input signal that is used by the controller in determining whether the patient supported by the fame is septic,
and a projector coupled to the frame and to the controller,
the controller being configured to generate an output signal in response to the input signal,
the output signal causing the projector to project an image onto a floor adjacent the frame to indicate that the patient is septic.
1. A method comprising
providing a patient support apparatus embodied as a patient bed having a sensor configured to provide signals indicative of vital signs of a patient positioned on the patient support apparatus, a controller coupled to the sensor, and a sepsis-status notification system coupled to the controller…
displaying a first visual indication with the sepsis-status notification system to indicate that the patient is septic in response to the command signal…
outputting signals indicative of the vital signs from the sensor…
outputting from the controller a command signal to initiate a sepsis protocol administration if the sepsis risk assessment score is at or above a predetermined value…
5. The method of claim 4, wherein displaying the first visual indication includes projecting the first visual indication from a projector coupled to the patient support apparatus onto a floor supporting the patient support apparatus at the same time the first and second visual indications are displayed on the interface included in the patient support apparatus.
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to apply the method of claim 1 to a patient support apparatus of claim 11.
12. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 11, wherein the image comprises a timer showing an amount of time that has elapsed since the patient was determined to be septic.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein displaying the timer includes displaying a countdown timer that displays an amount of time remaining in the sepsis protocol administration.
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to apply the method of claim 3 to a patient support apparatus of claim 12.
13. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 12, wherein the image further comprises a color coded area adjacent the timer to indicate the septic status of the patient.
17. The method of claim 15, wherein the visual representation is a color that indicates that the patient is septic.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the color is displayed on each side of the second timer and the third timer.
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to apply the method of claims 17 and 18 to a patient support apparatus of claim 13.
14. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 11, wherein the image comprises a countdown timer showing an amount of time left in a sepsis protocol that is implemented by caregivers after the patient is determined to be septic.
7. The method of claim 5, wherein projecting the first visual indication on the floor includes displaying a first visual representation that indicates the patient is septic and a countdown timer that indicates an amount of time remaining in the sepsis protocol administration.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein displaying the second visual indication further includes displaying a second visual representation that indicates the patient is septic and a second countdown timer associated with the sepsis protocol administration.
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to apply the method of claims 7 and 8 to a patient support apparatus of claim 14.
15. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 14, wherein the sepsis protocol is a three hour protocol or a six hour protocol.
X
16. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 14, wherein the image further comprises a color area adjacent the countdown timer to indicate the septic status of the patient.
X
17. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 11, further comprising a graphical user interface coupled to the frame, the image projected onto the floor comprising a first timer that shows a time relating to the patient's septic status, and the controller causing the graphical user interface to display a second timer which also shows the time.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein displaying the first and second visual indications includes displaying the first and second visual indications on an interface included in the patient support apparatus.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein displaying the first visual indication includes projecting the first visual indication from a projector coupled to the patient support apparatus onto a floor supporting the patient support apparatus at the same time the first and second visual indications are displayed on the interface included
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to apply the method of claims 4 and 5 to a patient support apparatus of claim 17.
18. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 17, wherein the first and second timers each comprise a countdown timer and wherein the time relating to the patient's septic status comprises an amount of time left in a sepsis protocol that is implemented by caregivers after the patient is determined to be septic.
7. The method of claim 5, wherein projecting the first visual indication on the floor includes displaying a first visual representation that indicates the patient is septic and a countdown timer that indicates an amount of time remaining in the sepsis protocol administration.
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to apply the method of claim 7 to a patient support apparatus of claim 18.
19. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 17, wherein the controller further causes the graphical user interface to display protocol status information regarding procedures performed on the patient after the patient was determined to be septic.
11… displaying a first visual indication on an interface of the sepsis-notification system, the interface being coupled to the patient support apparatus and operable to indicate that the patient is septic in response to the command signal, and
16… displaying a first visual indication on an interface coupled to the patient support apparatus to indicate that the patient is septic in response to the command signal,
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to apply the method of claims 11 and 16 to a patient support apparatus of claim 19.
20. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 19, wherein the protocol status information comprises one or more iconic representations pertaining to the procedures performed on the patient since after the patient was determined to be septic.
X
21. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 11, wherein the image projected onto the floor comprises a first timer that shows a time relating to the patient's septic status, and wherein the controller is configured to communicate with an external nurse call station to cause a second timer on the nurse call station to also show the time relating to the patient's septic status.
X
22. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 21, wherein the first and second timers each comprise a countdown timer and wherein the time relating to the patient's septic status comprises an amount of time left in a sepsis protocol that is implemented by caregivers after the patient is determined to be septic.
X
23. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 11, wherein the image projected onto the floor comprises a first timer that shows a time relating to the patient's septic status, and wherein the controller is configured to communicate with a mobile device transported by a caregiver to cause a second timer on the mobile device to also show the time relating to the patient's septic status.
X
24. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 23, wherein the first and second timers each comprise a countdown timer and wherein the time relating to the patient's septic status comprises an amount of time left in a sepsis protocol that is implemented by caregivers after the patient is determined to be septic.
X
25. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 11, wherein the input signal received by the controller is used by the controller to calculate a sepsis risk assessment score, and, if the sepsis risk assessment score is at or above a predetermined value, the controller generates the output signal.
1… calculating with the controller a sepsis risk assessment score based on the signals,
outputting from the controller a command signal to initiate a sepsis protocol administration if the sepsis risk assessment score is at or above a predetermined value
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to apply the method of claim 1 to a patient support apparatus of claim 25.
26. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 25, further comprising a vital sign sensor carried by the frame and wherein the input signal comprises a vital sign of the patient that is detected by the vital sign sensor and that is used by the controller to calculate the sepsis risk assessment score.
11. A method comprising
providing a patient support apparatus embodied as a patient bed having a sensor configured to provide signals indicative of vital signs of a patient positioned on the patient support apparatus, a controller coupled to the sensor, and a sepsis-status notification system coupled to the controller,
sensing for vital signs of a patient positioned on the patient support apparatus,
outputting signals indicative of the vital signs from the sensor,
comparing with the controller the signals to pre-established acceptable limits,
calculating with the controller a sepsis risk assessment score based on the signals,
outputting from the controller a command signal to initiate a sepsis protocol administration,
displaying a first visual indication on an interface of the sepsis-notification system, the interface being coupled to the patient support apparatus and operable to indicate that the patient is septic in response to the command signal, and
projecting a second visual indication from a projector of the sepsis-notification system, the projector being coupled to the patient support apparatus and operable to project the second visual notification onto a floor adjacent the patient support apparatus to indicate that the patient is septic in response to the command signal, wherein the second visual notification projected onto the floor is included in an image that occupies a space which is more than half as wide as the patient support apparatus
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to apply the method of claim 11 to a patient support apparatus of claim 26.
27. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 26, wherein the vital sign sensor comprises one or more of the following: a heart rate sensor, a respiration rate sensor, a blood pressure sensor, and a temperature sensor.
X
28. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 26, wherein the input signal received by the controller further comprises patient data stored in an electronic medical record (EMR) of the patient and transmitted to the patient support apparatus from an EMR system, and wherein the sepsis risk assessment score is calculated by the controller based on the patient data received from the EMR system and the vital sign of the patient that is detected by the vital sign sensor.
10. The method of claim 1, further comprising communicating with an electronic medical record system to receive information from the electronic medical record system indicative of a medical history of a patient supported on the patient support apparatus and changing the first or second visual indications based on the medical history of the patient.
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to apply the method of claim 10 to a patient support apparatus of claim 28.
29. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 11, wherein the input signal received by the controller comprises a sepsis risk assessment score that is transmitted to the patient support apparatus from a computer that is remote from the patient support apparatus.
11. A method comprising
providing a patient support apparatus embodied as a patient bed having a sensor configured to provide signals indicative of vital signs of a patient positioned on the patient support apparatus, a controller coupled to the sensor, and a sepsis-status notification system coupled to the controller,
sensing for vital signs of a patient positioned on the patient support apparatus,
outputting signals indicative of the vital signs from the sensor,
comparing with the controller the signals to pre-established acceptable limits,
calculating with the controller a sepsis risk assessment score based on the signals,
outputting from the controller a command signal to initiate a sepsis protocol administration,
displaying a first visual indication on an interface of the sepsis-notification system, the interface being coupled to the patient support apparatus and operable to indicate that the patient is septic in response to the command signal, and
projecting a second visual indication from a projector of the sepsis-notification system, the projector being coupled to the patient support apparatus and operable to project the second visual notification onto a floor adjacent the patient support apparatus to indicate that the patient is septic in response to the command signal, wherein the second visual notification projected onto the floor is included in an image that occupies a space which is more than half as wide as the patient support apparatus.
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to apply the method of claim 11 to a patient support apparatus of claim 29.
30. (New) The patient support apparatus of clam 29, wherein the risk assessment score comprises a quick sequential (sepsis-related) organ failure assessment (qSOFA) score and/or a systematic inflammatory response syndrome (SIRS) score.
X
Claims 11 and 14, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11/653,872 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 11 and 14, are similar to claims 3 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11/653,872 B2 as shown in the table below:
Application No. 19/051,685
U.S. Patent No. 11/653,872 B2
11. (New) A patient support apparatus comprising
a frame configured to support a patient, a
controller coupled to the frame,
the controller being configured to receive an input signal that is used by the controller in determining whether the patient supported by the fame is septic,
and a projector coupled to the frame and to the controller,
the controller being configured to generate an output signal in response to the input signal,
the output signal causing the projector to project an image onto a floor adjacent the frame to indicate that the patient is septic.
5. A hospital bed comprising
a frame,
a sensor providing signals indicative of vital signs of a patient positioned on the frame,
a controller coupled to the sensor and including a processor and a memory device, the memory device including instructions that, when executed, cause the controller to receive the signals, compare the signals to pre-established acceptable limits, calculate a sepsis risk assessment score based on the signals, and, if the sepsis risk assessment score is at or above a predetermined value, output a command signal to initiate a sepsis protocol administration, and
a sepsis-status notification system responding to the command signal from the controller to display a first visual indication that shows that the patient is septic and display second visual indication that shows a status of the sepsis protocol administration,
wherein the sepsis-status notification system includes a projector coupled to the frame and configured to project the first visual indication on a floor around the frame, the first visual indication includes a countdown timer that indicates an amount of time remaining in the sepsis protocol administration.
12. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 11, wherein the image comprises a timer showing an amount of time that has elapsed since the patient was determined to be septic.
X
13. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 12, wherein the image further comprises a color coded area adjacent the timer to indicate the septic status of the patient.
X
14. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 11, wherein the image comprises a countdown timer showing an amount of time left in a sepsis protocol that is implemented by caregivers after the patient is determined to be septic.
3. The patient support apparatus of claim 2, wherein the timer is a countdown timer that displays an amount of time remaining in the sepsis protocol administration.
15. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 14, wherein the sepsis protocol is a three hour protocol or a six hour protocol.
X
16. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 14, wherein the image further comprises a color area adjacent the countdown timer to indicate the septic status of the patient.
X
17. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 11, further comprising a graphical user interface coupled to the frame, the image projected onto the floor comprising a first timer that shows a time relating to the patient's septic status, and the controller causing the graphical user interface to display a second timer which also shows the time.
X
18. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 17, wherein the first and second timers each comprise a countdown timer and wherein the time relating to the patient's septic status comprises an amount of time left in a sepsis protocol that is implemented by caregivers after the patient is determined to be septic.
X
19. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 17, wherein the controller further causes the graphical user interface to display protocol status information regarding procedures performed on the patient after the patient was determined to be septic.
X
20. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 19, wherein the protocol status information comprises one or more iconic representations pertaining to the procedures performed on the patient since after the patient was determined to be septic.
X
21. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 11, wherein the image projected onto the floor comprises a first timer that shows a time relating to the patient's septic status, and wherein the controller is configured to communicate with an external nurse call station to cause a second timer on the nurse call station to also show the time relating to the patient's septic status.
X
22. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 21, wherein the first and second timers each comprise a countdown timer and wherein the time relating to the patient's septic status comprises an amount of time left in a sepsis protocol that is implemented by caregivers after the patient is determined to be septic.
X
23. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 11, wherein the image projected onto the floor comprises a first timer that shows a time relating to the patient's septic status, and wherein the controller is configured to communicate with a mobile device transported by a caregiver to cause a second timer on the mobile device to also show the time relating to the patient's septic status.
X
24. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 23, wherein the first and second timers each comprise a countdown timer and wherein the time relating to the patient's septic status comprises an amount of time left in a sepsis protocol that is implemented by caregivers after the patient is determined to be septic.
X
25. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 11, wherein the input signal received by the controller is used by the controller to calculate a sepsis risk assessment score, and, if the sepsis risk assessment score is at or above a predetermined value, the controller generates the output signal.
X
26. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 25, further comprising a vital sign sensor carried by the frame and wherein the input signal comprises a vital sign of the patient that is detected by the vital sign sensor and that is used by the controller to calculate the sepsis risk assessment score.
X
27. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 26, wherein the vital sign sensor comprises one or more of the following: a heart rate sensor, a respiration rate sensor, a blood pressure sensor, and a temperature sensor.
X
28. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 26, wherein the input signal received by the controller further comprises patient data stored in an electronic medical record (EMR) of the patient and transmitted to the patient support apparatus from an EMR system, and wherein the sepsis risk assessment score is calculated by the controller based on the patient data received from the EMR system and the vital sign of the patient that is detected by the vital sign sensor.
X
29. (New) The patient support apparatus of claim 11, wherein the input signal received by the controller comprises a sepsis risk assessment score that is transmitted to the patient support apparatus from a computer that is remote from the patient support apparatus.
X
30. (New) The patient support apparatus of clam 29, wherein the risk assessment score comprises a quick sequential (sepsis-related) organ failure assessment (qSOFA) score and/or a systematic inflammatory response syndrome (SIRS) score.
X
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terry et al. (US 20190307405 A1), hereinafter Terry, in view of Murphy (US 20140204347 A1).
Regarding claim 11 Terry teaches a patient support apparatus comprising a frame configured to support a patient (Terry, [0074]: “An apparatus or system 10 includes sources 12 of patient data that communicate with an analytics engine 20 in substantially real time for real-time clinical data aggregation as shown diagrammatically in FIG. 1. In the illustrative example of FIG. 1, the sources 12 of patient data include a patient bed 14, an incontinence detection system 16, a vital signs monitor 18, and an international pressure ulcer prevalence (IPUP) survey 22. Bed data from patient bed 14 includes, for example, data indicating whether bed siderails are up or down, data indicating whether caster brakes are set, data indicating an angle at which a head section of a mattress support deck is elevated, data indicating whether or not an upper frame of the patient bed 14 is at its lowest height relative to a base frame of the bed 14, and other bed data as is known to those skilled in the art” and [0101]), a controller coupled to the frame (Terry, [0074]: “An apparatus or system 10 includes sources 12 of patient data that communicate with an analytics engine 20 in substantially real time for real-time clinical data aggregation as shown diagrammatically in FIG. 1. In the illustrative example of FIG. 1, the sources 12 of patient data include a patient bed 14, an incontinence detection system 16, a vital signs monitor 18, and an international pressure ulcer prevalence (IPUP) survey 22. Bed data from patient bed 14 includes, for example, data indicating whether bed siderails are up or down, data indicating whether caster brakes are set, data indicating an angle at which a head section of a mattress support deck is elevated, data indicating whether or not an upper frame of the patient bed 14 is at its lowest height relative to a base frame of the bed 14, and other bed data as is known to those skilled in the art” and [0101]), the controller being configured to receive an input signal that is used by the controller in determining whether the patient supported by the fame is septic (Terry, [0049]: “the method of the sixth aspect may further include receiving at the analytics engine admission data for the patient and using the admission data in connection with calculating the risk score. Optionally, the admission data may include data that may pertain to one or more of the following… septic”, [0182]: “The fundus imaging system can also be configured to measure blood flow velocity changes to detect that the patient is septic because blood vessel walls become “sticky” and blood cells become rigid causing sluggish blood flow in septic patients. The fundus imaging system further may be configured to measure blood vessel diameters and lumen to wall thickness ratios which change in response to dysregulated vasomotor reactions in septic patients”, [0183], and [0184]: “a portion of a patient support apparatus, such as a hospital bed, is moved to raise a patient's extremity and to determine whether a septic patient is responding to fluid resuscitation treatment”), and a projector coupled to the frame and to the controller (Terry, Abstract: “The apparatus further include displays that are communicatively coupled to the analytics engine and that display the sepsis, falls, and pressure injury risk score”, [0006]: “the system of the first aspect may further include a plurality of displays that may be communicatively coupled to the analytics engine and that may be operable to display the at least two first, second, and third scores. For example, the plurality of displays may include at least two of the following: a status board display that may be located at a master nurse station, an in-room display that may be provided by a room station of a nurse call system, an electronic medical records (EMR) display of an EMR computer, and a mobile device display of a mobile device of a caregiver that may be assigned to the patient”, [0014]: “a patient support apparatus, a nurse call computer, a physiological monitor, a patient lift, a locating computer of a locating system, and an incontinence detection pad. The analytics engine may analyze the data from the plurality of equipment to determine at least two of the following: a first score that may relate to a risk of the patient developing sepsis, a second score that may relate to a risk of the patient falling, and a third score that may relate to a risk of the patient developing a pressure injury. The apparatus may further include a plurality of displays that may be communicatively coupled to the analytics engine and that may be operable to display the at least two first, second, and third scores. The plurality of displays may include at least two of the following: a status board display that may be located at a master nurse station, an in-room display that may be provided by a room station of a nurse call system, an electronic medical records (EMR) display of an EMR computer, and a mobile device display of a mobile device of a caregiver that may be assigned to the patient”), the controller being configured to generate an output signal in response to the input signal (Terry, [0055]: “It is within the scope of the present disclosure that the method of the seventh aspect further may include outputting one or more recommended actions to one or more clinicians of the patient. For example, the one or more recommended actions may include sending the patient to an emergency department (ED). Alternatively, or additionally, the one or more recommended actions may include increasing monitoring of the patient by the one or more clinicians. Further alternatively or additionally, the one or more recommended actions may include ordering a set of labs for the patient”, [0085]: “The DSN platform also includes a Power over Ethernet (PoE) switch, router or gateway 32 (these terms are used interchangeably herein) that receives data from a multitude of sources 12, including bed 14, and routes risk assessment information to a plurality of output devices 34 which include graphical displays 36 and an indicator 38 (aka a dome light) of a nurse call system which provides visual information regarding the risk assessments performed by the analytics engine 20”, and [0088]: “Also beneath the upper center image of FIG. 2 are bullet points indicating that the risk levels or scores determined by the analytics engine 20 of the DSN platform 30 are displayed on the output devices 34 across the DSN platform 30 (i.e., at multiple locations throughout the healthcare facility) and that a rounding protocol is adjusted based on one or more of the determined risk scores for the patient's sepsis, falls, and pressure injury risks”), to indicate that the patient is septic (Terry, Abstract: “The apparatus further include displays that are communicatively coupled to the analytics engine and that display the sepsis, falls, and pressure injury risk score”, [0006]: “the system of the first aspect may further include a plurality of displays that may be communicatively coupled to the analytics engine and that may be operable to display the at least two first, second, and third scores. For example, the plurality of displays may include at least two of the following: a status board display that may be located at a master nurse station, an in-room display that may be provided by a room station of a nurse call system, an electronic medical records (EMR) display of an EMR computer, and a mobile device display of a mobile device of a caregiver that may be assigned to the patient”, [0014]: “a patient support apparatus, a nurse call computer, a physiological monitor, a patient lift, a locating computer of a locating system, and an incontinence detection pad. The analytics engine may analyze the data from the plurality of equipment to determine at least two of the following: a first score that may relate to a risk of the patient developing sepsis, a second score that may relate to a risk of the patient falling, and a third score that may relate to a risk of the patient developing a pressure injury. The apparatus may further include a plurality of displays that may be communicatively coupled to the analytics engine and that may be operable to display the at least two first, second, and third scores. The plurality of displays may include at least two of the following: a status board display that may be located at a master nurse station, an in-room display that may be provided by a room station of a nurse call system, an electronic medical records (EMR) display of an EMR computer, and a mobile device display of a mobile device of a caregiver that may be assigned to the patient”).
Terry does not teach the output signal causing the projector to project an image onto a floor adjacent the frame.
However, Murphy teaches the output signal causing the projector to project an image onto a floor adjacent the frame (Murphy, [0011]: “The present invention allows the creation of an image that is much larger than the device creating it. It also allows the projection of an image on a floor surface. The device may also be switched on and off or otherwise altered in order to alter the message in the display”, [0025]:“FIG. 1 shows an application where the desire is to project an image on a floor surface. Message projector 10 is secured in an elevated position. It is oriented to project a focused image on floor 24”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Terry to incorporate the teachings of Murphy and account for a display device that does not need to be as large as the message it displays. It would also be advantageous to provide a relatively inexpensive display device that can display a message on a floor surface (Murphy, Abstract and [0002]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 25 Terry further teaches the input signal received by the controller is used by the controller to calculate a sepsis risk assessment score, and, if the sepsis risk assessment score is at or above a predetermined value, the controller generates the output signal (Terry, [0027]: “According to a third aspect of the present disclosure, apparatus for assessing medical risks of a patient may include an analytics engine and a plurality of equipment that may provide data to the analytics engine. The plurality of equipment may include at least two of the following: a patient support apparatus, a nurse call computer, a physiological monitor, a patient lift, a locating computer of a locating system, and an incontinence detection pad. The analytics engine may analyze the data from the plurality of equipment to determine each of the following: a first score that may relate to a risk of the patient developing sepsis, a second score that may relate to a risk of the patient falling, and a third score that may relate to a risk of the patient developing a pressure injury. The apparatus may further include a plurality of displays that may be communicatively coupled to the analytics engine. At least one display of the plurality of displays may be operable to display the first, second, and third scores”, [0110]: “The best practice information may include relevant thresholds to use in risk assessment algorithms, steps to implement in a standard of care to keep patient risks to a minimum, and corrective actions to take in response to elevated patient risk scores, for example. Platform 64 also may implement analytics for predicting patient outcomes and communicate the predictions to subscribing healthcare facilities, for example”, and [0103]: “With the foregoing discussion in mind, if a mobile patient lift 52 is determined by the locating system 54 to be in the room of a patient, analytics engine increases the pressure injury risk score and/or the falls risk score for the patient in some embodiments. A similar increase in the sepsis risk score may be made by the analytics engine 20 if certain equipment is determined by locating system 54 to be in the patient room. For example, if a heart rate monitor, respiration rate monitor, and blood pressure monitor are all locating in the patient room for a threshold period of time, then the sepsis risk score is increased by the analytics engine 20 in some embodiments. If a bag or bottle of IV antibiotics in the patient room has a locating tag attached, then the sepsis risk score is increased by the analytics engine 20 in some embodiments”).
Regarding claim 26 Terry further teaches a vital sign sensor carried by the frame and wherein the input signal comprises a vital sign of the patient that is detected by the vital sign sensor and that is used by the controller to calculate the sepsis risk assessment score (Terry, [0010], [0020]: “Data from the patient support apparatus may include at least one patient vital sign that may be sensed by at least one vital sign sensor that may be integrated into the patient support apparatus. For example, the at least one patient vital sign that may be sensed by the at least one vital sign sensor may include heart rate or respiration rate. Alternatively, or additionally, data from the patient support apparatus may include patient weight”, and [0027]: “According to a third aspect of the present disclosure, apparatus for assessing medical risks of a patient may include an analytics engine and a plurality of equipment that may provide data to the analytics engine. The plurality of equipment may include at least two of the following: a patient support apparatus, a nurse call computer, a physiological monitor, a patient lift, a locating computer of a locating system, and an incontinence detection pad. The analytics engine may analyze the data from the plurality of equipment to determine each of the following: a first score that may relate to a risk of the patient developing sepsis, a second score that may relate to a risk of the patient falling, and a third score that may relate to a risk of the patient developing a pressure injury. The apparatus may further include a plurality of displays that may be communicatively coupled to the analytics engine. At least one display of the plurality of displays may be operable to display the first, second, and third scores”).
Regarding claim 27 Terry further teaches the vital sign sensor comprises one or more of the following: a heart rate sensor (Terry, [0010] and [0020]), a respiration rate sensor (Terry, [0010]-[0011] and [0020]), a blood pressure sensor (Terry, [0011] and [0013]), and a temperature sensor (Terry, [0021]-[0022], [036], and [0052]).
Regarding claim 28 Terry further teaches the input signal received by the controller further comprises patient data stored in an electronic medical record (EMR) of the patient and transmitted to the patient support apparatus from an EMR system (Terry, [0028], [0042], and [0066]), and wherein the sepsis risk assessment score is calculated by the controller based on the patient data received from the EMR system and the vital sign of the patient that is detected by the vital sign sensor (Terry, [0020], [0035], and [0053]).
Regarding claim 29 Terry further teaches the input signal received by the controller comprises a sepsis risk assessment score that is transmitted to the patient support apparatus from a computer that is remote from the patient support apparatus (Terry, [0014]: “The analytics engine may analyze the data from the plurality of equipment to determine at least two of the following: a first score that may relate to a risk of the patient developing sepsis, a second score that may relate to a risk of the patient falling, and a third score that may relate to a risk of the patient developing a pressure injury. The apparatus may further include a plurality of displays that may be communicatively coupled to the analytics engine and that may be operable to display the at least two first, second, and third scores”).
Claims 12-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terry and Murphy in view of Cohen et al. (US 20160019352 A1), hereinafter Cohen.
Regarding claim 12 Terry teaches since the patient was determined to be septic (Terry, Abstract: “The apparatus further include displays that are communicatively coupled to the analytics engine and that display the sepsis, falls, and pressure injury risk score”, [0006]: “the system of the first aspect may further include a plurality of displays that may be communicatively coupled to the analytics engine and that may be operable to display the at least two first, second, and third scores. For example, the plurality of displays may include at least two of the following: a status board display that may be located at a master nurse station, an in-room display that may be provided by a room station of a nurse call system, an electronic medical records (EMR) display of an EMR computer, and a mobile device display of a mobile device of a caregiver that may be assigned to the patient”, [0014]: “a patient support apparatus, a nurse call computer, a physiological monitor, a patient lift, a locating computer of a locating system, and an incontinence detection pad. The analytics engine may analyze the data from the plurality of equipment to determine at least two of the following: a first score that may relate to a risk of the patient developing sepsis, a second score that may relate to a risk of the patient falling, and a third score that may relate to a risk of the patient developing a pressure injury. The apparatus may further include a plurality of displays that may be communicatively coupled to the analytics engine and that may be operable to display the at least two first, second, and third scores. The plurality of displays may include at least two of the following: a status board display that may be located at a master nurse station, an in-room display that may be provided by a room station of a nurse call system, an electronic medical records (EMR) display of an EMR computer, and a mobile device display of a mobile device of a caregiver that may be assigned to the patient”.
Terry and Murphy do not teach the image comprises a timer showing an amount of time that has elapsed.
However, Cohen teaches the image comprises a timer showing an amount of time that has elapsed (Cohen, [0130]: “the trauma system dashboard 800 may include a time elapsed information object 811 and/or timer 813 configured to indicate the time that has elapsed since an event, such as patient admission, trauma event, surgery, shock, or the like. In some embodiments, one or more of the selection areas 805 may be associated with a different time elapsed information object 811 and/or timer 813. In some embodiments, the trauma system dashboard 800 may include a patient graphical representation selection object 817 that may allow a user to access a graphical representation of the patient, for example, such as depicted in FIG. 10”, [0142]: “In some embodiments, there is one main timer maintained within the system, for example, time elapsed since admission, time elapsed since trauma, or the like which the timer 1208 may display”, [0167]: “In some embodiments, the timer 2340 may be configured to indicate the time elapsed since a particular event, such as a trauma to a patient, admission, countdown to surgery, or the like”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Terry and Murphy to incorporate the teachings of Cohen and account for opportunities to improve safety and efficiency in the complex environment of acute trauma care (Cohen, Abstract and [0002]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 13 Terry teaches indicate the septic status of the patient (Terry, Abstract: “The apparatus further include displays that are communicatively coupled to the analytics engine and that display the sepsis, falls, and pressure injury risk score”, [0006]: “the system of the first aspect may further include a plurality of displays that may be communicatively coupled to the analytics engine and that may be operable to display the at least two first, second, and third scores. For example, the plurality of displays may include at least two of the following: a status board display that may be located at a master nurse station, an in-room display that may be provided by a room station of a nurse call system, an electronic medical records (EMR) display of an EMR computer, and a mobile device display of a mobile device of a caregiver that may be assigned to the patient”, [0014]: “a patient support apparatus, a nurse call computer, a physiological monitor, a patient lift, a locating computer of a locating system, and an incontinence detection pad. The analytics engine may analyze the data from the plurality of equipment to determine at least two of the following: a first score that may relate to a risk of the patient developing sepsis, a second score that may relate to a risk of the patient falling, and a third score that may relate to a risk of the patient developing a pressure injury. The apparatus may further include a plurality of displays that may be communicatively coupled to the analytics engine and that may be operable to display the at least two first, second, and third scores. The plurality of displays may include at least two of the following: a status board display that may be located at a master nurse station, an in-room display that may be provided by a room station of a nurse call system, an electronic medical records (EMR) display of an EMR computer, and a mobile device display of a mobile device of a caregiver that may be assigned to the patient”).
Terry does not teach the image further comprises a color coded area adjacent the timer.
However, Murphy teaches the image further comprises a color coded area adjacent the timer (Murphy, [0032]: “The ability to project a message in one or more colors” and [0071]-[0072]: “The use of an “active” display allows additional possibilities for the projected message, including: (1) the use of a variety of colors”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Terry to incorporate the teachings of Murphy and account for a display device that does not need to be as large as the message it displays. It would also be advantageous to provide a relatively inexpensive display device that can display a message on a floor surface (Murphy, Abstract and [0002]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 14 Terry teaches teaches a sepsis protocol duration (Terry, [0115]: “After the blood test of block 92, a determination is made as to whether or not the patient has sepsis as indicated at block 94. If the patient has sepsis, as determined at block 94, then a 3 hour (Hr) bundle is kicked-off as indicated at block 96. A 3 Hr bundle includes, for example, administration of broad spectrum antibiotics and administering 30 milliliters per kilogram (mL/kg) of Crystalloid for Hypotension or Lactate greater than or equal to 4 mmol/L. The 3 Hr bundle also may include measuring Lactate level and obtaining blood cultures at some healthcare facilities, but in FIG. 4A, these were done at block 92 prior to kicking off the 3 Hr bundle at block 96”) but Terry and Murphy do not teach the image comprises a countdown timer showing an amount of time left in a sepsis protocol that is implemented by caregivers after the patient is determined to be septic.
However, Cohen teaches the image comprises a countdown timer showing an amount of time left in a sepsis protocol that is implemented by caregivers after the patient is determined to be septic (Cohen, [0130]: “the trauma system dashboard 800 may include a time elapsed information object 811 and/or timer 813 configured to indicate the time that has elapsed since an event, such as patient admission, trauma event, surgery, shock, or the like. In some embodiments, one or more of the selection areas 805 may be associated with a different time elapsed information object 811 and/or timer 813. In some embodiments, the trauma system dashboard 800 may include a patient graphical representation selection object 817 that may allow a user to access a graphical representation of the patient, for example, such as depicted in FIG. 10”, [0142]: “In some embodiments, there is one main timer maintained within the system, for example, time elapsed since admission, time elapsed since trauma, or the like which the timer 1208 may display”, [0167]: “In some embodiments, the timer 2340 may be configured to indicate the time elapsed since a particular event, such as a trauma to a patient, admission, countdown to surgery, or the like”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Terry and Murphy to incorporate the teachings of Cohen and account for opportunities to improve safety and efficiency in the complex environment of acute trauma care (Cohen, Abstract and [0002]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 15 Terry further teaches the sepsis protocol is a three hour protocol or a six hour protocol (Terry, [0115]: “After the blood test of block 92, a determination is made as to whether or not the patient has sepsis as indicated at block 94. If the patient has sepsis, as determined at block 94, then a 3 hour (Hr) bundle is kicked-off as indicated at block 96. A 3 Hr bundle includes, for example, administration of broad spectrum antibiotics and administering 30 milliliters per kilogram (mL/kg) of Crystalloid for Hypotension or Lactate greater than or equal to 4 mmol/L. The 3 Hr bundle also may include measuring Lactate level and obtaining blood cultures at some healthcare facilities, but in FIG. 4A, these were done at block 92 prior to kicking off the 3 Hr bundle at block 96”).
Regarding claim 16 Terry teaches indicate the septic status of the patient (Terry, Abstract: “The apparatus further include displays that are communicatively coupled to the analytics engine and that display the sepsis, falls, and pressure injury risk score”, [0006]: “the system of the first aspect may further include a plurality of displays that may be communicatively coupled to the analytics engine and that may be operable to display the at least two first, second, and third scores. For example, the plurality of displays may include at least two of the following: a status board display that may be located at a master nurse station, an in-room display that may be provided by a room station of a nurse call system, an electronic medical records (EMR) display of an EMR computer, and a mobile device display of a mobile device of a caregiver that may be assigned to the patient”, [0014]: “a patient support apparatus, a nurse call computer, a physiological monitor, a patient lift, a locating computer of a locating system, and an incontinence detection pad. The analytics engine may analyze the data from the plurality of equipment to determine at least two of the following: a first score that may relate to a risk of the patient developing sepsis, a second score that may relate to a risk of the patient falling, and a third score that may relate to a risk of the patient developing a pressure injury. The apparatus may further include a plurality of displays that may be communicatively coupled to the analytics engine and that may be operable to display the at least two first, second, and third scores. The plurality of displays may include at least two of the following: a status board display that may be located at a master nurse station, an in-room display that may be provided by a room station of a nurse call system, an electronic medical records (EMR) display of an EMR computer, and a mobile device display of a mobile device of a caregiver that may be assigned to the patient”).
Terry does not teach the image further comprises a color area adjacent the countdown timer. However, Murphy teaches the image further comprises a color area adjacent the countdown timer (Murphy, [0032]: “The ability to project a message in one or more colors” and [0071]-[0072]: “The use of an “active” display allows additional possibilities for the projected message, including: (1) the use of a variety of colors”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Terry to incorporate the teachings of Murphy and account for a display device that does not need to be as large as the message it displays. It would also be advantageous to provide a relatively inexpensive display device that can display a color coded message on a floor surface to be able to immediately ascertain the status of the patient upon walking into the room instead of having to look at the patient medical chart, etc. (Murphy, Abstract and [0002]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 17 Terry teaches a graphical user interface coupled to the frame (Terry, FIG. 2, [0087]-[0088], and [0096]: “graphical displays of the sources 12, such as beds 14 and monitors 18, receiving such messages from analytics engine 20 display a message indicating that one or more of the pressure injury, falls, and sepsis risk scores have increased and, in appropriate circumstances, that a risk reduction protocol or function of the source 12 has been turned on or activated automatically”).
Terry does not teach the image projected onto the floor.
However, Murphy teaches the image projected onto the floor (Murphy, [0011]: “The present invention allows the creation of an image that is much larger than the device creating it. It also allows the projection of an image on a floor surface. The device may also be switched on and off or otherwise altered in order to alter the message in the display”, [0025]:“FIG. 1 shows an application where the desire is to project an image on a floor surface. Message projector 10 is secured in an elevated position. It is oriented to project a focused image on floor 24”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Terry to incorporate the teachings of Murphy and account for a display device that does not need to be as large as the message it displays. It would also be advantageous to provide a relatively inexpensive display device that can display a message on a floor surface (Murphy, Abstract and [0002]-[0008]).
Terry and Murphy do not teach the image comprising a first timer that shows a time relating to the patient's septic status, and the controller causing the graphical user interface to display a second timer which also shows the time.
However, Cohen teaches the image comprising a first timer that shows a time relating to the patient's septic status (Cohen, [0130]: “the trauma system dashboard 800 may include a time elapsed information object 811 and/or timer 813 configured to indicate the time that has elapsed since an event, such as patient admission, trauma event, surgery, shock, or the like. In some embodiments, one or more of the selection areas 805 may be associated with a different time elapsed information object 811 and/or timer 813. In some embodiments, the trauma system dashboard 800 may include a patient graphical representation selection object 817 that may allow a user to access a graphical representation of the patient, for example, such as depicted in FIG. 10”, [0142]: “In some embodiments, there is one main timer maintained within the system, for example, time elapsed since admission, time elapsed since trauma, or the like which the timer 1208 may display”, [0167]: “In some embodiments, the timer 2340 may be configured to indicate the time elapsed since a particular event, such as a trauma to a patient, admission, countdown to surgery, or the like”), and the controller causing the graphical user interface to display a second timer which also shows the time (Cohen, [0130]: “the trauma system dashboard 800 may include a time elapsed information object 811 and/or timer 813 configured to indicate the time that has elapsed since an event, such as patient admission, trauma event, surgery, shock, or the like. In some embodiments, one or more of the selection areas 805 may be associated with a different time elapsed information object 811 and/or timer 813. In some embodiments, the trauma system dashboard 800 may include a patient graphical representation selection object 817 that may allow a user to access a graphical representation of the patient, for example, such as depicted in FIG. 10”, [0142]: “In some embodiments, there is one main timer maintained within the system, for example, time elapsed since admission, time elapsed since trauma, or the like which the timer 1208 may display”, [0167]: “In some embodiments, the timer 2340 may be configured to indicate the time elapsed since a particular event, such as a trauma to a patient, admission, countdown to surgery, or the like”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Terry and Murphy to incorporate the teachings of Cohen and account for opportunities to improve safety and efficiency in the complex environment of acute trauma care (Cohen, Abstract and [0002]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 18 Terry teaches a sepsis protocol duration (Terry, [0115]: “After the blood test of block 92, a determination is made as to whether or not the patient has sepsis as indicated at block 94. If the patient has sepsis, as determined at block 94, then a 3 hour (Hr) bundle is kicked-off as indicated at block 96. A 3 Hr bundle includes, for example, administration of broad spectrum antibiotics and administering 30 milliliters per kilogram (mL/kg) of Crystalloid for Hypotension or Lactate greater than or equal to 4 mmol/L. The 3 Hr bundle also may include measuring Lactate level and obtaining blood cultures at some healthcare facilities, but in FIG. 4A, these were done at block 92 prior to kicking off the 3 Hr bundle at block 96”) but Terry and Murphy does not teach the first and second timers each comprise a countdown timer and wherein the time relating to the patient's septic status comprises an amount of time left in a sepsis protocol that is implemented by caregivers after the patient is determined to be septic.
However, Cohen teaches the first and second timers each comprise a countdown timer and wherein the time relating to the patient's septic status comprises an amount of time left in a sepsis protocol that is implemented by caregivers after the patient is determined to be septic (Cohen, [0113]: “In a still further example, a GUI element 382 may include a patient dashboard displayed on a display device (e.g., television monitor, display monitor, etc.) in the healthcare facility, such as in an operating room, nurses' station, or waiting room. In some embodiments, a GUI element 382 may include a navigation object, for example, including a plurality of navigation levels.”, [0130]: “the trauma system dashboard 800 may include a time elapsed information object 811 and/or timer 813 configured to indicate the time that has elapsed since an event, such as patient admission, trauma event, surgery, shock, or the like. In some embodiments, one or more of the selection areas 805 may be associated with a different time elapsed information object 811 and/or timer 813. In some embodiments, the trauma system dashboard 800 may include a patient graphical representation selection object 817 that may allow a user to access a graphical representation of the patient, for example, such as depicted in FIG. 10”, [0142]: “In some embodiments, there is one main timer maintained within the system, for example, time elapsed since admission, time elapsed since trauma, or the like which the timer 1208 may display”, [0167]: “In some embodiments, the timer 2340 may be configured to indicate the time elapsed since a particular event, such as a trauma to a patient, admission, countdown to surgery, or the like”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Terry and Murphy to incorporate the teachings of Cohen and account for opportunities to improve safety and efficiency in the complex environment of acute trauma care (Cohen, Abstract and [0002]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 19 Terry further teaches the controller further causes the graphical user interface to display protocol status information regarding procedures performed on the patient after the patient was determined to be septic (Terry, [0144] and [0184]: “In another aspect of the '844 application, a portion of a patient support apparatus, such as a hospital bed, is moved to raise a patient's extremity and to determine whether a septic patient is responding to fluid resuscitation treatment”).
Regarding claim 20 Terry further teaches the protocol status information comprises one or more iconic representations pertaining to the procedures performed on the patient since after the patient was determined to be septic (Terry, [0144] and [0184]: “In another aspect of the '844 application, a portion of a patient support apparatus, such as a hospital bed, is moved to raise a patient's extremity and to determine whether a septic patient is responding to fluid resuscitation treatment”).
Regarding claim 21 Terry teaches wherein the controller is configured to communicate with an external nurse call station to cause a second timer on the nurse call station to also show the time relating to the patient's septic status (Terry, [0005]-[0007]: “The plurality of equipment may include at least one of the following: a patient support apparatus, a nurse call computer, a physiological monitor, a patient lift, a locating computer of a locating system, and an incontinence detection pad… Alternatively, the plurality of equipment of the first aspect may include at least four of the following: the patient support apparatus, the nurse call computer, the physiological monitor, the patient lift, the locating computer, and the incontinence detection pad. Further alternatively, the plurality of equipment of the first aspect may include at least five of the following: the patient support apparatus, the nurse call computer, the physiological monitor, the patient lift, the locating computer, and the incontinence detection pad. Still further alternatively, the plurality of equipment of the first aspect may include all six of the following: the patient support apparatus, the nurse call computer, the physiological monitor, the patient lift, the locating computer, and the incontinence detection pad”, [0028], and [0042]).
Terry does not teach the image projected onto the floor.
Murphy teaches the image projected onto the floor (Murphy, [0011]: “The present invention allows the creation of an image that is much larger than the device creating it. It also allows the projection of an image on a floor surface. The device may also be switched on and off or otherwise altered in order to alter the message in the display”, [0025]:“FIG. 1 shows an application where the desire is to project an image on a floor surface. Message projector 10 is secured in an elevated position. It is oriented to project a focused image on floor 24”).
It would also be advantageous to provide a relatively inexpensive display device that can display a message on a floor surface (Murphy, Abstract and [0002]-[0008]).
Terry and Murphy do not teach the image comprises a first timer that shows a time relating to the patient's septic status.
However, Cohen teaches the image comprises a first timer that shows a time relating to the patient's septic status (Cohen, [0130]: “the trauma system dashboard 800 may include a time elapsed information object 811 and/or timer 813 configured to indicate the time that has elapsed since an event, such as patient admission, trauma event, surgery, shock, or the like. In some embodiments, one or more of the selection areas 805 may be associated with a different time elapsed information object 811 and/or timer 813. In some embodiments, the trauma system dashboard 800 may include a patient graphical representation selection object 817 that may allow a user to access a graphical representation of the patient, for example, such as depicted in FIG. 10”, [0142]: “In some embodiments, there is one main timer maintained within the system, for example, time elapsed since admission, time elapsed since trauma, or the like which the timer 1208 may display”, [0167]: “In some embodiments, the timer 2340 may be configured to indicate the time elapsed since a particular event, such as a trauma to a patient, admission, countdown to surgery, or the like”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Terry and Murphy to incorporate the teachings of Cohen and account for opportunities to improve safety and efficiency in the complex environment of acute trauma care (Cohen, Abstract and [0002]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 22 Terry teaches teaches a sepsis protocol duration (Terry, [0115]: “After the blood test of block 92, a determination is made as to whether or not the patient has sepsis as indicated at block 94. If the patient has sepsis, as determined at block 94, then a 3 hour (Hr) bundle is kicked-off as indicated at block 96. A 3 Hr bundle includes, for example, administration of broad spectrum antibiotics and administering 30 milliliters per kilogram (mL/kg) of Crystalloid for Hypotension or Lactate greater than or equal to 4 mmol/L. The 3 Hr bundle also may include measuring Lactate level and obtaining blood cultures at some healthcare facilities, but in FIG. 4A, these were done at block 92 prior to kicking off the 3 Hr bundle at block 96”) but Terry and Murphy does not teach the first and second timers each comprise a countdown timer and wherein the time relating to the patient's septic status comprises an amount of time left in a sepsis protocol that is implemented by caregivers after the patient is determined to be septic.
However, Cohen teaches the first and second timers each comprise a countdown timer and wherein the time relating to the patient's septic status comprises an amount of time left in a sepsis protocol that is implemented by caregivers after the patient is determined to be septic (Cohen, [0130]: “the trauma system dashboard 800 may include a time elapsed information object 811 and/or timer 813 configured to indicate the time that has elapsed since an event, such as patient admission, trauma event, surgery, shock, or the like. In some embodiments, one or more of the selection areas 805 may be associated with a different time elapsed information object 811 and/or timer 813. In some embodiments, the trauma system dashboard 800 may include a patient graphical representation selection object 817 that may allow a user to access a graphical representation of the patient, for example, such as depicted in FIG. 10”, [0142]: “In some embodiments, there is one main timer maintained within the system, for example, time elapsed since admission, time elapsed since trauma, or the like which the timer 1208 may display”, [0167]: “In some embodiments, the timer 2340 may be configured to indicate the time elapsed since a particular event, such as a trauma to a patient, admission, countdown to surgery, or the like”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Terry and Murphy to incorporate the teachings of Cohen and account for opportunities to improve safety and efficiency in the complex environment of acute trauma care (Cohen, Abstract and [0002]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 23 Murphy teaches the image projected onto the floor (Murphy, [0011]: “The present invention allows the creation of an image that is much larger than the device creating it. It also allows the projection of an image on a floor surface. The device may also be switched on and off or otherwise altered in order to alter the message in the display”, [0025]:“FIG. 1 shows an application where the desire is to project an image on a floor surface. Message projector 10 is secured in an elevated position. It is oriented to project a focused image on floor 24”).
It would also be advantageous to provide a relatively inexpensive display device that can display a message on a floor surface (Murphy, Abstract and [0002]-[0008]).
Terry and Murphy do not teach the image comprises a first timer that shows a time relating to the patient's septic status, and wherein the controller is configured to communicate with a mobile device transported by a caregiver to cause a second timer on the mobile device to also show the time relating to the patient's septic status.
However, Cohen teaches comprises a first timer that shows a time relating to the patient's septic status (Cohen, [0130]: “the trauma system dashboard 800 may include a time elapsed information object 811 and/or timer 813 configured to indicate the time that has elapsed since an event, such as patient admission, trauma event, surgery, shock, or the like. In some embodiments, one or more of the selection areas 805 may be associated with a different time elapsed information object 811 and/or timer 813. In some embodiments, the trauma system dashboard 800 may include a patient graphical representation selection object 817 that may allow a user to access a graphical representation of the patient, for example, such as depicted in FIG. 10”, [0142]: “In some embodiments, there is one main timer maintained within the system, for example, time elapsed since admission, time elapsed since trauma, or the like which the timer 1208 may display”, [0167]: “In some embodiments, the timer 2340 may be configured to indicate the time elapsed since a particular event, such as a trauma to a patient, admission, countdown to surgery, or the like”), and wherein the controller is configured to communicate with a mobile device transported by a caregiver to cause a second timer on the mobile device to also show the time relating to the patient's septic status (Cohen, [0093]-[0094], [0113], [0130], [0142], and [0167]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Terry and Murphy to incorporate the teachings of Cohen and account for opportunities to improve safety and efficiency in the complex environment of acute trauma care (Cohen, Abstract and [0002]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 24 Terry teaches a sepsis protocol duration (Terry, [0115]: “After the blood test of block 92, a determination is made as to whether or not the patient has sepsis as indicated at block 94. If the patient has sepsis, as determined at block 94, then a 3 hour (Hr) bundle is kicked-off as indicated at block 96. A 3 Hr bundle includes, for example, administration of broad spectrum antibiotics and administering 30 milliliters per kilogram (mL/kg) of Crystalloid for Hypotension or Lactate greater than or equal to 4 mmol/L. The 3 Hr bundle also may include measuring Lactate level and obtaining blood cultures at some healthcare facilities, but in FIG. 4A, these were done at block 92 prior to kicking off the 3 Hr bundle at block 96”) but Terry and Murphy does not teach the first and second timers each comprise a countdown timer and wherein the time relating to the patient's septic status comprises an amount of time left in a sepsis protocol that is implemented by caregivers after the patient is determined to be septic.
However, Cohen teaches the first and second timers each comprise a countdown timer and wherein the time relating to the patient's septic status comprises an amount of time left in a sepsis protocol that is implemented by caregivers after the patient is determined to be septic (Cohen, [0130]: “the trauma system dashboard 800 may include a time elapsed information object 811 and/or timer 813 configured to indicate the time that has elapsed since an event, such as patient admission, trauma event, surgery, shock, or the like. In some embodiments, one or more of the selection areas 805 may be associated with a different time elapsed information object 811 and/or timer 813. In some embodiments, the trauma system dashboard 800 may include a patient graphical representation selection object 817 that may allow a user to access a graphical representation of the patient, for example, such as depicted in FIG. 10”, [0142]: “In some embodiments, there is one main timer maintained within the system, for example, time elapsed since admission, time elapsed since trauma, or the like which the timer 1208 may display”, [0167]: “In some embodiments, the timer 2340 may be configured to indicate the time elapsed since a particular event, such as a trauma to a patient, admission, countdown to surgery, or the like”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Terry and Murphy to incorporate the teachings of Cohen and account for opportunities to improve safety and efficiency in the complex environment of acute trauma care (Cohen, Abstract and [0002]-[0004]).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terry and Murphy in view of Sharma et al. (US 20210315511 A1), hereinafter Sharma
Regarding claim 30 Terry and Murphy do not teach the risk assessment score comprises a quick sequential (sepsis-related) organ failure assessment (qSOFA) score and/or a systematic inflammatory response syndrome (SIRS) score.
However, Sharma teaches the risk assessment score comprises a quick sequential (sepsis-related) organ failure assessment (qSOFA) score (Sharma, [FIG. 5, [0021]: “FIG. 5 illustrates a histogram of quick Sequential organ failure assessment (qSOFA) and Sepsis correlation for different ICUs”, and [0044]) and/or a systematic inflammatory response syndrome (SIRS) score (Sharma, [0029]: “Various scoring systems include Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (SOFA) Score, Systematic Inflammatory Response Syndrome (SIRS) criteria and Simplified Acute Physiology Score (SAPS II). These methods result in a well-structured tabulation of vital signs and lab data to generate indicative scores and risk assessments”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Terry and Murphy to incorporate the teachings of Sharma and account for reliable means of annotated early prediction of sepsis using available lab data and vitals is a critical problem (Sharma, Abstract and [0007]).
Conclusion
/R.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3681
/PETER H CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3681