DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ahn et al, US 2003/0157441.
Ahn et al, US 2003/0157441, discloses a thinner composition comprising propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate, ethyl 3-ethoxy propionate, and at least one of gamma-butyro lactone and propylene glycol monomethyl ether (see abstract and paragraphs 15-17). It is further taught by Ahn et al that the propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate is present in an amount of 50-80% by weight (see paragraph 25), that the ethyl 3-ethoxy propionate is present in an amount of 10-45% by weight (see paragraph 27), that the gamma-butyro lactone is present in an amount of 1-12% by weight (see paragraph 28), that the propylene glycol monomethyl ether is present in an amount of 5-35% by weight (see paragraph 34), and that the thinner composition is used in a process to remove photoresist from a substrate (see paragraphs 36-56), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note Examples 1-5 and Experiments 1-8. Although Ahn et al is silent with respect to the Hansen solubility parameter value of their propylene glycol monomethyl ether component, the examiner asserts that the propylene glycol monomethyl ether component disclosed in Ahn et al would inherently meet this limitation, since products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Therefore, instant claims 1-7 and 9-10 are anticipated by Ahn et al, US 2003/0157441.
In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed composition, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Jeon et al, U.S. Patent No. 6,159,646.
Jeon et al, U.S. Patent No. 6,159,646, discloses a thinner composition for removing photoresist from a wafer comprising a mixture of ethyl lactate, ethyl-3-ethoxy propionate, and gamma-butyro lactone (see abstract). It is further taught by Jeon et al that the composition contains 70-80% by weight of ethyl-3-ethoxy propionate, 17-23% by weight of ethyl lactate, 3-7% by weight of gamma-butyro lactone (see col. 4, lines 13-35), and that the thinner composition may contain propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate (see col. 3, lines 17-21), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note the Examples and Tables 1-9. Although Jeon et al is silent with respect to the Hansen solubility parameter value of their ethyl lactate component, the examiner asserts that the ethyl lactate component disclosed in Jeon et al would inherently meet this limitation, since products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Therefore, instant claims 1-10 are anticipated by Jeon et al, U.S. Patent No. 6,159,646.
In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed composition, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chon et al, U.S. Patent No. 5,866,305.
Chon et al, U.S. Patent No. 5,866,305, discloses a thinner composition for washing a photoresist semiconductor device (see abstract and col. 1, lines 7-48) comprising 20-60% by weight of ethyl lactate, 39-72% by weight of ethyl-3-ethoxy propionate, and 1-8% by weight of gamma-butyrolactone (see col. 4, lines 9-22), wherein the composition may additionally contain ethylene glycol monoethyl ether acetate (see Tables 1-4), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note Examples 1-11 in Tables 1-4. Although Chon et al is silent with respect to the Hansen solubility parameter value of their ethyl lactate component, the examiner asserts that the ethyl lactate component disclosed in Chon et al would inherently meet this limitation, since products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Therefore, instant claims 1-10 are anticipated by Chon et al, U.S. Patent No. 5,866,305.
In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed composition, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 7, 9 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 19/537,790 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending Application No. 19/537,790 claims a similar thinner composition for removing photoresist from a substrate comprising 0.5-20% by weight of a lactone-based organic solvent, such as gamma-butyrolactone, 0.0005-0.2% by weight of a compound of formula (I), 30-60% by weight of a ketone-based organic solvent, 35-65% by weight of an ester-based organic solvent, such as ethyl 3-ethoxypropionate and ethyl lactate, and adjunct ingredients (see claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 19/537,790), as required in the instant claims. Therefore, instant claims 1-4, 7, 9 and 10 are an obvious formulation in view of claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 19/537,790.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/BRIAN P MRUK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
Brian P Mruk
September 22, 2026