DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Korean parent Applications Nos. KR10-2022-0117755, filed on September 19, 2022 and KR10-2022-0136251, foiled on October 21, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 12, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Chen et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0175945 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an electronic device (Figs. 1-3, generally, Abstract, Summary), comprising:
a display bendable to be divided into a first area and a second area (Figs. 2-3, Detailed Description, [0076-0085]);
first sensor circuitry configured to generate first detection data related to a bending state of the display (Detailed Description, [0068-0069] “The Hall effect sensor may change a status when a nearby magnetic field changes, for example, from on to off, or from off to on. A combination of the Hall effect sensor and a magnet may be used to detect a proximity status of two components, for example, detect whether two screens of the mobile phone 100 are close, or whether edges of the two screens are close. A gyroscope, a barometer, a hygrometer, a thermometer, an infrared sensor, and other sensors may be further configured for the mobile phone 100”; Figs. 2-3, sensor, #150) and second sensor circuitry configured to generate second detection data related to a behavior state of the electronic device (Fig. 2-3, sensor, #150; Detailed Description, [0069], “The sensor 150 includes at least one optical sensor, a motion sensor, a location sensor, a Hall effect sensor, and another sensor…When the acceleration sensor is stationary, the acceleration sensor may detect a magnitude and a direction of gravity, and may be configured to recognize a posture application of the mobile phone (such as switching between landscape and portrait, related games, and magnetometer posture calibration), vibration recognition related functions (such as a pedometer and a stroke), and the like. The location sensor may be configured to obtain geographical location coordinates of the terminal. The geographical location coordinates may be obtained by using a Global Positioning System (GPS), a COMPASS system, a GLONASS system, and a Galileo system, and the like. The location sensor may alternatively perform positioning by using a base station of a mobile operation network or a local area network such as Wi-Fi or Bluetooth, or by comprehensively using the foregoing positioning manners, to obtain more accurate mobile phone location information.“);
memory storing one or more computer programs (Fig. 2, memory, #120; Detailed Description, [0064-0066]); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the display, the first sensor circuitry, the second sensor circuitry, and the memory (Fig. 2, processor, #180; Detailed Description, [0064-0066]),
wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (Fig. 2, processor, #180; Detailed Description, [0064-0066]), cause the electronic device to:
obtain the first detection data related to the bending state of the display from the first sensor circuitry and the second detection data related to the behavior state of the electronic device from the second sensor circuitry (Detailed Description, [0076-0085], “When the connection structure 130 is a magnetic connection structure, as shown in FIG. 2(B), the first screen 110 and the second screen 120 may be mutually connected or separated. The magnetic connection structure includes at least two groups of magnets, one group of magnets are disposed on a side edge of the first screen 110, and the other group of magnets are disposed at a corresponding position on a side edge of the second screen 120. When the two side edges approach each other, the two screens are connected to each other; and when the two side edges are apart, the two screens are separated from each other. In one embodiment, positioning structures that help the two screens to position may be further disposed on the two side edges, for example, a convex part is disposed on one side edge, and a concave part is disposed at a relative position on the other side edge. The magnetic connection structure may be of any known magnetic connection structure type. When the first screen 110 and the second screen 120 are placed face to face, a terminal structure is similar to that in a case of the single axis hinge…G. 3(A), FIG. 3(B), FIG. 3(C), and FIG. 3(D) are schematic diagrams of a relative position status of terminal screens according to an embodiment of the present invention. Based on the external structure of the terminal shown in FIG. 2(A), FIG. 2(B), and FIG. 2(C), a terminal 100 may have at least four relative position statuses: a first position status shown in FIG. 3(A), a second position status shown in FIG. 3(B), a third position status shown in FIG. 3(C), and a fourth position status shown in FIG. 3(D). The foregoing four relative position statuses are respectively corresponding to four use manners of the terminal, and the foregoing four relative position statuses are specifically described below.”),
determine whether a condition related to screen display of the display is met, based on the first detection data and the second detection data (See Figs. 3-5, Detailed Description, [0082-0100], “….Operation 201. The terminal obtains orientations and display statuses of the first screen and the second screen. Operation 202. When a trigger event occurs, the terminal displays adjusted display content on the first screen and the second screen based on the orientations and the display statuses of the first screen and the second screen.”; See also Detailed Description. [0137-0143] on combination of trigger events) and
display a screen related to a content of an executed application in the first area and a screen related to manipulation of the application in the second area when the condition is met (Fig. 3A ansd 8A/B; Detailed Description, [0082-0100], “In the first position status, two screens 110 and 120 are deployed side by side, and are both located on a front surface of the terminal. In other words, an included angle between a first screen 110 and a second screen 120 is 180°. The two screens 110 and 120 may constitute an expanded screen relative to a single screen. The expanded screen may display a same application interface, for example, a two-level menu of an application, two-page content of an electronic book, or an enlarged photograph or video. Alternatively, the expanded screen may display a plurality of application interfaces. For example, each of the two screens displays one application interface, or displays more application interfaces.”; See also Detailed Description. [0137-0143]).
Regarding claim 2, Chen wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to, for determining whether the condition is met, determine whether the display is in a folded state in which an angle between the first area and the second area is a set angle or less (Detailed Description, [0078-0085] [0115], “he screen posture includes landscape placement and portrait. Landscape may be that a connection structure for terminal screens is placed in a horizontal direction, and portrait may be that the connection structure for terminal screens is placed in a vertical direction. The terminal may obtain the screen posture by using a motion sensor. The motion sensor includes a gravity sensor or a gyroscope. The screen gesture of the terminal may be switched between landscape placement and portrait placement. For example, the terminal screen is rotated from landscape placement to portrait placement. In a rotation process, the terminal may measure a rotation angle of the terminal by using the motion sensor. When the rotation angle exceeds a preset threshold, the terminal determines that the screen posture is switched to portrait placement. The preset threshold may be determined based on an actual situation, for example, may be set to 45°.).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to obtain the first detection data including a magnetic field changed according to a bending state of the display from the first sensor circuitry (Detailed Description, [0069][0103-0105], “In addition, Hall effect sensors 115 and 116 may be disposed on a side edge of the first screen 110 opposite to the hinge, and magnets 125 and 126 may be disposed on a side edge of the second screen 120 opposite to the hinge. In addition, the Hall effect sensor 115 is located on the non-display surface of the first screen 110, and the magnet 125 is located on the non-display surface of the second screen 120. The Hall effect sensor 116 is located on the display surface of the first screen 110, and the magnet 126 is located on the display surface of the second screen 120.”) or the second detection data including a gravity direction changed according to rotation of the electronic device from the second sensor circuitry (Detailed Description, [0069][0115], “The motion sensor may include an acceleration sensor that may detect acceleration magnitudes in all directions (generally three axes). When the acceleration sensor is stationary, the acceleration sensor may detect a magnitude and a direction of gravity, and may be configured to recognize a posture application of the mobile phone (such as switching between landscape and portrait, related games, and magnetometer posture calibration), vibration recognition related functions (such as a pedometer and a stroke), and the like”)
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses wherein a controller related to a main function corresponding to the application is included in the screen related to the manipulation (See inter alia, Fig. 7A/8A and Detailed Description, [0162-0165], the manipulation is the video playback controls).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses wherein the controller is preset corresponding to the application (See inter alia, Fig. 7A/8A and Detailed Description, [0162-0165], the video playback controls are preset according to a video being the application displayed) or is set based on a use history of a user corresponding to the main function.
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to, when the application or the content is changed in a state of displaying the screen related to the content in the first area and the screen related to the manipulation in the second area, switch to a screen corresponding to the changed application or content (Detailed Description, [0176-0184], “In one embodiment, the terminal may separately display different application interfaces or different windows of an application on the two screens. When the positions of the two screens are exchanged, the terminal switches the display content of the two screens… In one embodiment, the second screen may be in an on state. When the user performs a preset user operation, the terminal determines that the trigger event occurs, and may switch the display content of the two screens.”).
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to display at least a portion of the screen related to the content in the second area when receiving a first input from a user in a state of displaying the screen related to the content in the first area and the screen related to the manipulation in the second area (See Figs. 7A/8A 8B; Detailed Description, [0162-0165][0179-0184]).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to display an edit screen capable of editing a controller included in the screen related to the manipulation when receiving a second input from a user in a state of displaying the screen related to the content in the first area and the screen related to the manipulation in the second area (Detailed Description, [0068], “The display screen 140 may be configured to display content, and the content includes a user interface (UI) or a graphical user interface (GUI), for example, a startup interface of the terminal and a user interface of an application. The content may further include information and data. The display screen 140 is connected to a display controller 173. The display controller 173 may process content that is being displayed or to be displayed on the display screen 140, for example, a system desktop or an application interface, generate display data, and send the display data to the display screen 140 for display. When there are a plurality of display screens 140, the display controller 173 separately generates corresponding display data for different screens, and distributes the display data to respective display screens 140 for display. The display screen 140 may be a built-in screen of the terminal or another external display device.”; See also Detailed Description, [0137-0140], “ In operation 202, the trigger event is used to trigger the terminal to adjust the display statuses of the first screen and the second screen. The trigger event may be orientation changes of the first screen and the second screen, or may be a preset user operation, or may be a preset application activity, or may be a combination of the foregoing trigger events….The preset user operation may be used to determine whether the user operation is a user operation for adjusting the display status and the display content of the terminal screen, for example, an operation such as finger pressing, sliding, or drawing a specific graph.”).
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses a method for operating an electronic device (See Chen, Figs, 1-4, generally), the method comprising the functional steps of claim 1. Thus, claim 11 is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, this is met by the rejection to claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, this is met by the rejection to claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, this is met by the rejection to claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, this is met by the rejection to claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, this is met by the rejection to claim 8.
Regarding claim 19, Chen discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions (Fig. 2, memory, #120; Detailed Description, [0064-0066], “The memory 120 may include a program storage area and a data storage area. The program storage area may store an operating system, an application required by at least one function (such as a sound playing function or an image playing function), and the like. The data storage area may store data (such as audio data, video data, or an address book) created based on use of the mobile phone 100, and the like. In addition, the memory 120 may include a volatile memory such as a nonvolatile dynamic random access memory (NVRAM), a phase change random access memory (PRAM), or a magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM), or may include a nonvolatile memory such as at least one magnetic disk storage device, an electrically erasable programmable read-only memory (EEPROM), a flash memory device such as a NOR flash memory or a NAND flash memory, a semiconductor such as a solid state disk (SSD), or the like.”) that, when executed by one or more processors (Fig. 2, processor, #180; Detailed Description, [0064-0066]) of an electronic device individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform operations, the operations comprising the functional aspects of claim 1 (and 11). Thus, claim 19 is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, this is met by the rejection to claim 8 (and 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Chen in view of Kwak et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2014/0101576 A1 (originally KR 20140046345 A, also attached).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses every element of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose
wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to, for determining whether the condition is met, determine whether the electronic device is in a mounted state of being placed on a floor to be limited from rotation.
Kwak, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses an electronic device (Figs. 1-4, generally) wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to, for determining whether the condition is met, determine whether the electronic device is in a mounted state of being placed on a floor to be limited from rotation (See Kwak, Fig,. 16, Detailed Description, [0285], “FIG. 16 illustrates a state in which the relative angle (.theta.) of the second body 4 to the first body 2 is less than 180.degree., that is, the first and second displays 190a and 190b, respectively, are almost folded out to face each other in the opposite direction. This state is called a standing mode. For example, the relative angle between the first and second bodies 2 and 4 is between 30.degree. and 90.degree.. In the following descriptions, this state will be referred to as a standing mode. In the standing mode, the first and second displays 190a and 190b, respectively, are folded out to face outwardly and the multi display device 100 may be placed on a bottom in a triangular shape. The standing mode is useful when the multi display device 100 is charged or used as a digital clock or album, or when the user views a private broadcast, movie, and moving image for a long time.”; Examiner’s note—the KR publication at the same paragraphs explicitly describes this as a “floor” at Fig. 16--“The stand-up mode is a structure in which the two display portions 190a and 190b are folded outward so that the multi-display device 100 can be erected in a triangular shape on the floor”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the computer-executable instructions of Chen to include the teachings of Kwak in such a way that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to for determining whether the condition is met, determine whether the electronic device is in a mounted state of being placed on a floor to be limited from rotation. The motivation to combine these arts is to provide a standing mode of the device for interactive media usage (See Kwak, Detailed Description, [0285], “he standing mode is useful when the multi display device 100 is charged or used as a digital clock or album, or when the user views a private broadcast, movie, and moving image for a long time. According to another exemplary embodiment of the present general inventive concept, the standing mode may be applied to an application that requires collaboration of two or more uses or interaction, for example, a video conference or a collaborative game.”). The fact that Chen and Kwak both disclose foldable multi-screen devices with differing presentation modes makes this combination more easily implemented.
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses every element of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to determine that the condition is met when the display is in a folded state and the electronic device is in a mounted state.
Kwak, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses an electronic device (Figs. 1-4, generally) wherein
the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to determine that the condition is met when the display is in a folded state and the electronic device is in a mounted state (See Kwak, Fig,. 16, Detailed Description, [0285], “FIG. 16 illustrates a state in which the relative angle (.theta.) of the second body 4 to the first body 2 is less than 180.degree., that is, the first and second displays 190a and 190b, respectively, are almost folded out to face each other in the opposite direction. This state is called a standing mode. For example, the relative angle between the first and second bodies 2 and 4 is between 30.degree. and 90.degree.. In the following descriptions, this state will be referred to as a standing mode. In the standing mode, the first and second displays 190a and 190b, respectively, are folded out to face outwardly and the multi display device 100 may be placed on a bottom in a triangular shape. The standing mode is useful when the multi display device 100 is charged or used as a digital clock or album, or when the user views a private broadcast, movie, and moving image for a long time.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the computer-executable instructions of Chen to include the teachings of Kwak in such a way that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to determine that the condition is met when the display is in a folded state and the electronic device is in a mounted state.
The motivation to combine these arts is to provide a standing or mounted mode of the device for interactive media usage (See Kwak, Detailed Description, [0285], “The standing mode is useful when the multi display device 100 is charged or used as a digital clock or album, or when the user views a private broadcast, movie, and moving image for a long time. According to another exemplary embodiment of the present general inventive concept, the standing mode may be applied to an application that requires collaboration of two or more uses or interaction, for example, a video conference or a collaborative game.”). The fact that Chen and Kwak both disclose foldable multi-screen devices with differing presentation modes makes this combination more easily implemented.
Regarding claim 13, this is met by the rejection to claim 3 with the combination and rationale of Chen and Kwak.
Regarding claim 14, this is met by the rejection to claim 4 with the combination and rationale of Chen and Kwak.
Other References
The following reference are also cited as pertinent on the PTO-892 to the Instant Invention but may not be specifically relied upon within this Action:
Kim (US 2016/0026219 A1); Choi et al. (US 2022/0394189 A1)
Conclusion
/KWIN XIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626