DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,814,745. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding instant claim 1, claim 1 of Patent ‘745 discloses a method of making a monocrystalline silicon which is doped with red phosphorus, has a diameter of 301-330 mm, and a resistivity of 0.7-1.0 mΩcm, which overlaps the claimed range. While Patent ‘745 is directed to a method and not a product, the recited method is largely defined with respect to the properties of the product and the claimed product is obvious over the method of Patent ‘745.
Regarding claims 2-3, it would have been obvious at the effective time of filing for the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to further process the silicon produced by claim 1 of Patent ‘745 to obtain a silicon wafer and an epitaxial silicon wafer as these are conventional steps in the art.
Claims 2-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,233,564. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding instant claim 2, claim 9 of Patent ‘564 discloses a method of making a monocrystalline silicon which is doped with red phosphorus, has a diameter of 300 mm, and a resistivity of 0.7-1.5 mΩcm, which overlaps the claimed range.
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious at the effective time of filing for the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to further process the silicon of claim 13 of Patent ‘564 to obtain an epitaxial silicon wafer as this is a conventional step in the art.
Claim 3 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 34 of copending Application No. 17/979,879 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding instant claim 3, claim 34 of copending ‘879 discloses a silicon wafer having a diameter of 300 mm, doped with phosphorus, and having a resistivity of 1.2 mΩcm or less. This overlaps the claimed range, creating a prima facie case of obviousness. While claim 34 of copending ‘879 does not specify the phosphorus is red phosphorus, it is apparent from [0049] of the corresponding PGPub for copending ‘879 that the claimed phosphorus is red phosphorus.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narushima (JP 2017-031004). Reference to Narushima is made to English language equivalent US 2017/0029975.
Regarding claims 1-2, Narushima discloses a n-type silicon monocrystal (¶ 11) doped with red phosphorus (¶ 32). Narushima teaches the monocrystal can have a diameter of 300 mm or more (¶ 71), and exhibits an electrical resistivity of less than 4.0 mΩ·cm depending on the dopant used (¶ 22). Narushima teaches a wafer cut from the monocrystal which has a resistivity of 0.7 mΩ·cm to 2.0 mΩ·cm when red phosphorus is the dopant (¶ 72). These ranges overlap the claimed ranges, creating a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 3, Narushima teaches forming an epitaxial film on the monocrystal (¶ 73).
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falster et al. (US 2009/0130824) in view of Kawashima (US 2014/0001605).
Regarding claims 1-2, Falster teaches a phosphorus doped single crystal silicon wafer (¶ 7). The wafer is cut from a silicon ingot having a nominal diameter of 300 mm (¶ 13), which is interpreted to mean that the ingot diameter is about 300 mm and the wafer has a similar diameter. The wafer has a resistivity of about 0.1 mΩ-cm to about 2 mΩ-cm (¶ 15). It is presumed the ingot has the same resistivity absent objective evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2112. These ranges overlap the claimed ranges, creating a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Falster does not teach the phosphorus is red phosphorus. Kawashima teaches a red phosphorus doped monocrystal silicon ingot (¶ 178). It would have been obvious at the effective time of filing for the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to use red phosphorus because the prior art recognizes this is conventional for doping silicon with phosphorus.
Regarding claim 3, Falster teaches forming an epitaxial layer on the silicon wafer (¶ 37).
Conclusion
/XIAOBEI WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784