DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 9/17/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of Applicant’s amendments. The rejection has been withdrawn.
The Double Patenting rejections are maintained over Applicant’s amendments and arguments. US Patent 11,814,745 appears to describe a similar resistivity profile along the straight body length in the claimed silicon. Regarding the other rejections, wafers cut out from an ingot of claim 1 would not exhibit the distinguishing feature of a resistivity profile along the straight body length, absent objective evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2112. Accordingly, the rejections of claims 2-3 are maintained.
With respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections of claims 2-3, wafers cut out from the claimed ingot of claim 1 would not exhibit the distinguishing feature of a resistivity profile along the straight body length, absent objective evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2112. Accordingly, the rejections of claims 2-3 are maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,814,745. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding instant claims 1-3, claim 1 of Patent ‘745 discloses a method of making a monocrystalline silicon which is doped with red phosphorus, has a diameter of 301-330 mm, and a resistivity of 0.7-1.0 mΩcm, which overlaps the claimed range. The silicon has a resistivity of 1.2-1.35 mΩcm at the straight-body start point (i.e., 0% length point) and a resistivity of 0.7-1.0 mΩcm at some point farther along the ingot. While the claims do not specify where this point is, it is apparent from the specification that a resistivity of about 1.0 mΩcm begins at about the 60% straight-body length point (see Table 1). Although Patent ‘745 is directed to a method and not a product, the recited method is largely defined with respect to the properties of the product made and the claimed product is obvious over the method of Patent ‘745. It would have been obvious at the effective time of filing for the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to further process the silicon produced by claim 1 of Patent ‘745 to obtain a silicon wafer and an epitaxial silicon wafer as these are conventional steps in the art.
Claims 2-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 10,233,564. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding instant claims 2-3 , claim 9 of Patent ‘564 discloses a method of making a monocrystalline silicon which is doped with red phosphorus, has a diameter of 300 mm, and a resistivity of 0.7-1.5 mΩcm, which overlaps the claimed range. While Patent ‘564 does not expressly recite processing the silicon into a wafer, it would have been obvious at the effective time of filing for the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to further process the silicon of claim 13 of Patent ‘564 to obtain a wafer or an epitaxial silicon wafer as these are conventional steps in the art. While the wafer is not cut from an ingot having the claimed resistivity profile, such a wafer would not exhibit the profile of the ingot absent objective evidence to the contrary, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the prior art wafer to be indistinguishable from the claimed wafer. See MPEP 2112.
Claim 3 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 34 of copending Application No. 17/979,879 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding instant claim 3, claim 34 of copending ‘879 discloses a silicon wafer having a diameter of 300 mm, doped with phosphorus, and having a resistivity of 1.2 mΩcm or less. This overlaps the claimed range, creating a prima facie case of obviousness. While claim 34 of copending ‘879 does not specify the phosphorus is red phosphorus, it is apparent from [0049] of the corresponding PGPub for copending ‘879 that the claimed phosphorus is red phosphorus. While the epitaxial wafer is not cut from an ingot having the claimed resistivity profile, such a wafer would not exhibit the profile of the ingot absent objective evidence to the contrary, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the prior art wafer to be indistinguishable from the claimed wafer. See MPEP 2112.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narushima (JP 2017-031004). Reference to Narushima is made to English language equivalent US 2017/0029975.
Regarding claim 2, Narushima discloses a n-type silicon monocrystal (¶ 11) doped with red phosphorus (¶ 32). Narushima teaches the monocrystal can have a diameter of 300 mm or more (¶ 71), and exhibits an electrical resistivity of less than 4.0 mΩ·cm depending on the dopant used (¶ 22). Narushima teaches a wafer cut from the monocrystal which has a resistivity of 0.7 mΩ·cm to 2.0 mΩ·cm when red phosphorus is the dopant (¶ 72). These ranges overlap the claimed ranges, creating a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05 I. While the wafer is not cut from an ingot having the claimed resistivity profile, such a wafer would not exhibit the profile of the ingot from which the wafers are cut, absent objective evidence to the contrary, and one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the prior art wafer to be indistinguishable from the claimed wafer. See MPEP 2112.
Regarding claim 3, Narushima teaches forming an epitaxial film on the monocrystal (¶ 73).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falster et al. (US 2009/0130824) in view of Kawashima (US 2014/0001605).
Regarding claim 2, Falster teaches a phosphorus doped single crystal silicon wafer (¶ 7). A wafer is cut from a silicon ingot having a nominal diameter of 300 mm (¶ 13), which is interpreted to mean that the ingot diameter is about 300 mm and the wafer has a similar diameter. The wafer has a resistivity of about 0.1 mΩ-cm to about 2 mΩ-cm (¶ 15). While the wafer is not cut from an ingot having the claimed resistivity profile, such a wafer would not exhibit the profile of the ingot from which the wafers are cut, absent objective evidence to the contrary, and one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the prior art wafer to be indistinguishable from the claimed wafer. See MPEP 2112.
Falster does not teach the phosphorus is red phosphorus. Kawashima teaches a red phosphorus doped monocrystal silicon ingot (¶ 178). It would have been obvious at the effective time of filing for the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to use red phosphorus because the prior art recognizes this is conventional for doping silicon with phosphorus.
Regarding claim 3, Falster teaches forming an epitaxial layer on the silicon wafer (¶ 37).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOBEI WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784