DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 6/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/17/2026.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sramek U.S 2022/0061925.
Claim 1: Sramek discloses a surgical robot 100 as best seen in fig. 1 comprising: a robot arm 12 including a holder (cart 11 is part of a holder) to allow a first instrument (endoscope 13) to be attached thereto and detached therefrom; an arm operation unit (support arm 105) on the robot arm including an operation tool to operate the robot arm (see paragraph 105); a detector 28/29 is equivalent as a detector, fig. 14, see paragraphs 72,94) in the holder to detect attachment and detachment of the first instrument to and from the holder; and a controller (see fig. 17, paragraph 145) configured or programmed to move the holder to a first replacement position when the detector detects that the first instrument has been removed; wherein the controller is configured or programmed to perform a control to move the holder from the first replacement position to a second replacement position based on an input to the operation tool (see paragraph 48).
Claims 2-3: Sramek discloses wherein the arm operation unit further includes an operator- operated input element (see paragraph 7); and the controller is configured or programmed to control operation of the robot arm to move the holder from the second replacement position to the first replacement position when the input element is operated with a second instrument attached to the holder at the second replacement position (see paragraph 48); comprising: a storage to store information on a pivot position; wherein the controller is configured or programmed to control the operation of the robot arm based on the pivot position and a distal end position of the first instrument at a time at which the first instrument has been removed when the input element is operated with the second instrument attached to the holder (see paragraphs 76,98).
Claims 6-7: Sramek discloses wherein the input element includes an enable switch on the arm operation unit (see paragraphs 87, 127); comprising: a storage to store information on a pivot position; wherein the controller is configured or programmed to control operation of the robot arm to maintain a distance between the pivot position and the holder when the first instrument is removed and the robot arm is operated based on the operation input to the operation tool (see paragraphs 76,98).
Claim 8: Sramek discloses wherein the robot arm includes: a linear motion mechanism at a distal end of the robot arm; and a movable element attached so as to be linearly movable with respect to the linear motion mechanism; and the holder and the arm operation unit are each engaged with the movable element (see paragraphs 72,93).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sramek in view of Mintz et al U.S 2021/0290324.
Claim 10: Sramek discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but is silent regarding wherein the operation tool includes a joystick; and the controller is configured or programmed to control the robot arm based on an operation input to the joystick. However, Mintz et al teach FIG. 16 illustrates an example command console 200 for a medical robotics system as described herein, for example in a medical robotic system as depicted in FIGS. 1-5 and 8-10. The command console 200 that can be used, for example, as the command console 105 in the example operating environment 100. The command console 200 includes a console base 201, display modules 202, e.g., monitors, and control modules, e.g., a keyboard 203 and joystick 204. In some embodiments, one or more of the command console 200 functionality may be integrated into a base of a medical robotic system as depicted in FIGS. 1-5 and 8-10 or another system communicatively coupled to the medical robotic system. A user 205, e.g., a physician, remotely controls the medical robotic system from an ergonomic position using the command console 200.
[0131] The console base 201 may include controller 206 including a one or more processors and memories, and optionally one or more data buses and associated data communication ports. Controller 206 is responsible for interpreting and processing signals such as robotic position data, camera imagery, and tracking sensor data, e.g., from a medical instrument such as endoscope 13, ureteroscope 32, medical instrument 34, laparoscope 59, gastroscope, bronchoscope, or another procedure-specific medical instrument. The memory of the controller 206 can store instructions for operation of the medical instruments and robotic systems described herein. In some embodiments, both the console base 201 and the base of the medical robotic system can perform signal processing for load-balancing, and thus the controller 206 may be split between different system components. The controller 206 may also process commands and instructions provided by the user 205 through the control modules 203 and 204. In addition to the keyboard 203 and joystick 204 shown in FIG. 16, the control modules may include other devices, for example, computer mice, trackpads, trackballs, control pads, controls such as handheld remote controllers, and sensors (e.g., motion sensors or cameras) that capture hand gestures and finger gestures. For example, for some laparoscopic robotic systems the control modules include a pair of seven degree-of-freedom (“7 DOF”) haptic masters. A haptic master is a force controlled haptic interface that translates input (e.g., force applied by a human user) to output (e.g., displacement of the end effector of the robotic system) and also provides tactile feedback back to the user. A 7 DOF haptic master can provide three degrees of motion in the X, Y, Z directions and four degrees of motion of the pitch, yaw, roll and articulation. A control can include a set of user inputs (e.g., buttons, joysticks, directional pads, etc.) mapped to an operation of the instrument (e.g., articulation, driving, water irrigation, etc.) (see paragraphs 130,131). It would have been obvious ot one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Sramek with the operation tool includes a joystick; and the controller is configured or programmed to control the robot arm based on an operation input to the joystick as taught by Mintz et al in order to control the robotic system from an ergonomic position using the command console 200 and the joystick 204.
Claim 15: Mintz et al teach wherein an operator-operated input element included in the arm operation unit includes an enable switch on the arm operation unit; the operation tool includes a joystick; and the controller is configured or programmed to control the robot arm based on an operation input to the joystick 204, see paragraphs 130,131.
Conclusion
/VI X NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771