Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “the steps of the steps of” should be changed to “steps of”.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “an operator” should be changed to “the operator”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Häberle (US20230010394A1).
Regarding claim 1, Häberle discloses a method for operating a material crushing plant (abstract; paragraphs 0094-105; and fig.1), wherein the material crushing plant has at least one crushing unit (fig.1: (22)) to which material to be crushed (fig.1: (32)) is continuously fed, and at least one conveyor belt (fig.1: (38)) by means of which the material crushed by the at least one crushing unit is transported away,
wherein the method comprises the steps of:
- taking an image of the crushed material on the conveyor belt using an optical analysis system (fig.1: (60)) (paragraphs 106-108),
- analyzing (fig.1: (48)) the image taken, wherein geometric properties of the crushed material are determined during the analysis process and a current material distribution of different material sizes in the crushed material is calculated on the basis of the determined geometric properties using the optical analysis system (paragraphs 106-108),
- calculating a difference between the calculated and current material distribution and a target material distribution specified by an operator using the optical analysis system (paragraph 0108), and
- autonomously adjusting at least one operating parameter of the crushing unit while the material crushing plant is operating by means of the optical analysis system if the calculated difference lies outside a specified tolerance range for a specified period of time (paragraph 0109).
Regarding claim 2, Häberle discloses wherein the image taken is entered into a neural network during the analysis process and the geometric properties of the crushed material are determined using the neural network (paragraphs 65-74).
Regarding claim 3, Häberle discloses wherein a convolutional neural network (CNN) is used as the neural network (paragraphs 65-74).
Regarding claim 4, Häberle discloses wherein, before the material crushing plant is started up, the neural network is trained using data records consisting of analyzed images of a material that is similar or identical to the material to be crushed (paragraphs 65-74).
Regarding claim 5, Häberle discloses wherein, during operation or during a test run of the material crushing plant, the neural network is supplied with a reference data record, wherein a sample of the crushed material is taken from the conveyor belt by an operator for the reference data record and the sample is analyzed by the operator (paragraphs 65-74).
Regarding claim 6, Häberle discloses wherein, during the analysis process, regions of crushed material are identified in the image taken and an associated cubic shape is determined for each identified region of crushed material in the image taken (paragraph 104).
Regarding claim 9, Häberle discloses wherein, during the autonomous adjustment process during operation, a gap width and/or a rotor speed of the crushing unit is adjusted in steps using closed-loop control until the calculated difference lies within the specified tolerance range (paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 10, Häberle disclose wherein the results of the analysis by the optical analysis system are sent to a machine console of the material crushing plant and/or to a decentralized database system and/or to a decentralized visualization system (paragraph 0098).
Claims 1 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by cited non-patent literature Gyto “IDS filed on 03/16/2026”.
Regarding claim 1, Gyto discloses a method for operating a material crushing plant, wherein the material crushing plant has at least one crushing unit to which material to be crushed is continuously fed, and at least one conveyor belt by means of which the material crushed by the at least one crushing unit is transported away (pages 1-2),
wherein the method comprises the steps of:
- taking an image of the crushed material on the conveyor belt using an optical analysis system (pages 1-2, fig.1),
- analyzing the image taken, wherein geometric properties of the crushed material are determined during the analysis process and a current material distribution of different material sizes in the crushed material is calculated on the basis of the determined geometric properties using the optical analysis system, - calculating a difference between the calculated and current material distribution and a target material distribution specified by an operator using the optical analysis system (paragraph 0108), and - autonomously adjusting at least one operating parameter of the crushing unit while the material crushing plant is operating by means of the optical analysis system if the calculated difference lies outside a specified tolerance range for a specified period of time (fig.5 and page 11: 3.2.1.2).
Regarding claim 7, Gyto discloses wherein at least five images are taken and analyzed per minute (page 3).
Regarding claim 8, Gyto discloses wherein a correction factor for the conveying path of the crushed material, which conveying path extends from the crushing unit to the position of the image, is taken into account when calculating the current material distribution (page 5).
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725