DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements of 02/12/2025 and 04/09/2025 have been received and reviewed. The crossed out references are references that could not be found. Please confirm the reference numbers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 4 recites a sensor that senses obstructions in the doorframe. It is unclear what obstruction the sensor is sensing in the doorframe. It is understood from the specs and drawings that the sensor senses obstructions between the doorframe, rather than in the door frame. Examiner will interpret the claims as best understood.
Claim 5 is rejected due to its dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190128022 to Markway.
Regarding claim 1, Markway discloses:
An electromechanical door system (fig 1), comprising: a door (D) including a latch assembly (L, see figs 19-20) configured to latch the door to a door frame (not shown) to maintain the door in a closed position and to unlatch to allow the door to open to an opened position (see paragraph 0050); and a foot pedal (10) operatively connected to contact a sensor (132); and at least one motor (not shown, see paragraph 0050) operatively connected the latch assembly.
Regarding claim 2, Markway discloses:
The electromechanical door system as recited in claim 2, further comprising, a microcontroller (134) operatively connected to the sensor, wherein the microcontroller includes machine readable instructions to actuate the at least one motor to unlatch the latch assembly upon actuation of the foot pedal and contact with the sensor (paragraph 0050).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190128022 to Markway in view of US 4994722 to Dolan.
Regarding claim 3, Markway discloses:
The electromechanical door system as recited in claim 3, wherein the sensor is a first sensor (132).
Markway does not explicitly disclose: and further comprising at least one additional sensor disposed on a doorframe configured to sense an obstruction in the doorframe.
However, Dolan teaches that it is well known in the art for a sensor (28) to be disposed on a doorframe (26) configured to sense an obstruction in the doorframe (see col 1 lines 50-56. The sensor detects the passenger in obstructing in the lavatory). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dolan into Markway at least because doing so would provide additional control over the latching mechanism to prevent unwanted situations.
Regarding claim 4, Markway in view of Dolan discloses:
The electromechanical door system as recited in claim 3, wherein the machine readable instructions are configured to cause the microcontroller to perform a method, the method including; actuating the at least one motor of the latch assembly to unlatch the door to move the door to an open position; holding the door in the open position for a threshold amount of time; sensing, after the threshold amount of time, if an obstruction is present in the door frame; and if no obstruction is present in the door frame, releasing the door from the open position and actuating the at least one motor of the latch assembly to move the door in the latched position; or if an obstruction is present in the door frame, maintaining the door in the open position until the obstruction is no longer present (see col 1 lines 50-56 of Dolan).
Regarding claim 5, Markway discloses:
The electromechanical door system as recited in claim 4, wherein the method further comprises, actuating the at least one motor of the latch assembly upon receipt of a user input (foot of user, see paragraph 0050 of Markway).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190128022 to Markway in view of US 20180245384 to Shipley.
Regarding claim 6, Markway does not explicitly disclose:
The electromechanical door system as recited in claim 2, wherein the latch assembly includes a pair of latch members at opposed ends of the door.
However, Shipley teaches that it is well known in the art for a latch assembly to include a pair of latch members (26) at opposed ends of the door (fig 2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shipley into Markway at least because doing so would provide additional security.
Regarding claim 7, Markway in view of Shipley discloses:
The electromechanical door system as recited in claim 6, wherein each latch member is operatively connected to a rack (28, Shipley), the rack including an upper rack (upper rack in fig 2) and a lower rack (lower rack in fig 2), wherein each rack is configured to move parallel to a hinge line (hinge line of 44), and wherein each rack is meshed with a pinion gear (20) for synchronized actuation of each latch member.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190128022 to Markway in view of GB 2089422 to Ward.
Regarding claim 8, Markway does not explicitly disclose:
The electromechanical door system as recited in claim 2, further comprising at least one removable access panel on the door positioned for at least one of: servicing the latch assembly or a rack and gear assembly, or for an emergency opening of the door.
However, Ward teaches a door system comprising at least one removable access panel on the door positioned for at least one of: servicing the latch assembly (see page 2, lines 60-63). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ward into Markway at least because doing so would increase safety of the latch mechanism from external factors.
Conclusion
/Y.S./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675