DETAILED ACTION
The Art Unit location of your application in the PTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Group Art Unit 2691.
This communication is responsive to the claims filed 02/12/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-12, 14, 16-20 and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KIM et al. (U. S. Pat. App. Pub. No. – 2018/0007463).
Regarding claim 1, KIM et al. disclose a sound apparatus (20) comprising: a sound output structure (22, 212); an opening portion (center portion of 212) in the sound output structure; a support structure (Fig. 2) adjacent to the sound output structure; and a guide member (23) adjacent to the opening portion.
Regarding claim 2, KIM et al. further disclose the sound apparatus, wherein the guide member (23) includes: a bottom portion (233) having a size larger than that of the opening portion; a top portion (231/232) overlapping the center of the opening portion; and an inclined portion continuously and contiguously extends between the top portion and the bottom portion (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, KIM et al. further disclose the sound apparatus, wherein the bottom portion has a circular shape, and wherein the inclined portion has a curved shape (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, KIM et al. further disclose the sound apparatus, wherein the support structure includes a plurality of support portions for supporting the guide member, and wherein the guide member is disposed between the plurality of support portions while being overlapped with the opening portion from a plan view (Figs. 2 and 6-8).
Regarding claim 5, KIM et al. further disclose the sound apparatus, wherein the sound output structure includes: a sound generating structure (22) ; and an enclosure (212) provided in the sound generating structure and configured to have the opening portion, the enclosure having a rear surface, wherein the support structure is configured on the rear surface of the enclosure (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, KIM et al. further disclose the sound apparatus, comprising a reflective layer provided on a rear surface of the sound output structure facing the guide member (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, KIM et al. further disclose the sound apparatus, comprising a low-pitched sound generating structure (22) provided in the support structure.
Regarding claim 10, KIM et al. further disclose the sound apparatus, wherein the enclosure has an inner space, and wherein the sound generating structure is configured in the inner space (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, KIM et al. further disclose the sound apparatus, wherein a length of the opening portion is 50% or less of a length of the enclosure (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, KIM et al. further disclose the sound apparatus, wherein the sound generating structure (22) includes: a vibration member (222) configured in the inner space and provided spaced apart from the opening portion; and a vibration apparatus (p) configured in the vibration member (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, KIM et al. further disclose the sound apparatus, wherein the vibration apparatus includes: a first vibration apparatus (222) configured on a first surface of the vibration member; and a second vibration apparatus (224) configured on a second surface which is different from the first surface of the vibration member.
Regarding claim 16, KIM et al. further disclose the sound apparatus, wherein the enclosure includes: a first enclosure (212) having the opening portion; and a second enclosure (21) connected with the first enclosure, wherein the sound generating structure is configured in an inner space between the first enclosure and the second enclosure (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, KIM et al. further disclose the sound apparatus, wherein the inner space includes: a first space between a first surface of the sound generating structure and the first enclosure and connected to the opening portion; and a second space between a second surface opposite the first surface of the sound generation structure and the second enclosure (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, KIM et al. further disclose the sound apparatus, wherein the sound generating structure includes: a vibration member (22) disposed in the inner space and supported by the first enclosure and the second enclosure; a first vibration apparatus (222) connected to the first surface of the vibration member; and a second vibration apparatus (224) connected to the second surface different from the first surface of the vibration member or connected to the first vibration apparatus.
Regarding claim 19, KIM et al. further disclose the sound apparatus, wherein the first enclosure (212) includes an inner surface facing the vibration member and an outer surface opposite to the inner surface, and the enclosure further includes a protrusion protruding from the outer surface of the first enclosure to enclose the opening portion (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, KIM et al. further disclose the sound apparatus, wherein the vibration apparatus (22) includes one or more vibration generators (222, 224), wherein the one or more vibration generators include: a vibration portion; a first electrode portion on a first surface of the vibration portion; and a second electrode portion on a second surface different from the first surface of the vibration portion.
Regarding claim 25, KIM et al. further disclose the sound apparatus, wherein the vibration apparatus includes a first vibration generator (222) and a second vibration generator stacked on each other, wherein each of the first vibration generator and the second vibration generator (224) includes: a vibration portion; a first electrode portion on a first surface of the vibration portion; and a second electrode portion on a second surface different from the first surface of the vibration portion (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 26, KIM et al. further disclose the sound apparatus, wherein the vibration apparatus further includes an intermediate member (223) connected between the first vibration generator and the second vibration generator, and wherein the first vibration generator and the second vibration generator are displaced in the same direction (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 27, KIM et al. further disclose the sound apparatus, wherein the opening portion has a size smaller than that of the first vibration apparatus (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 28, KIM et al. further disclose the sound apparatus, wherein a length of the opening portion is smaller than that of the sound generating structure (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 13, 15, 21-24, 29-34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (U. S. Pat. App. Pub. No. – 2018/0007463).
Regarding claims 6 and 35, KIM et al. disclose a sound apparatus (20) comprising: a sound output structure (22, 212); an opening portion (center portion of 212) in the sound output structure; a support structure (Fig. 2) adjacent to the sound output structure; and a guide member (23) adjacent to the opening portion. But KIM et al. may not specially teach a lighting structure positioned adjacent to the guide member, and configured to output light towards the guide member as claimed. Since providing suitable light structure for a sound apparatus is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable light structure, such as LEDs, adjacent to the guide member of the sound apparatus taught by KIM et al., in order to provide indication of the sound source of the sound apparatus.
Regarding claims 13, KIM et al. may not specially teach that a distance between the guide member and the center of the vibration member is 55 mm or less as claimed. Since providing suitable distance between a guide member and a center of a vibration member of a sound apparatus is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable distance, such as 55mm, between the guide member and the center of the vibration member of the sound apparatus taught by KIM et al., in order to utilize the sound apparatus for suitable applications.
Regarding claim 15, KIM et al. may not specially teach that the vibration member comprises a metallic material or comprises a single non-metallic or composite non-metallic material of one or more of wood, rubber, plastic, carbon, glass, fiber, cloth, paper, mirror, and leather as claimed. Since providing suitable material for a vibration member of a sound apparatus is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable material, such as fiber, for the vibration member of the sound apparatus taught by KIM et al., in order to effectively and efficiently manufacture the sound apparatus, especially for certain applications.
Regarding claims 21-24 and 29-32, KIM et al. may not specially teach that the vibration portion includes a piezoelectric material as claimed. Since providing suitable and well-known material/elements for a vibration portion of a sound apparatus is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable material/elements, such as a piezoelectric module, for the vibration member of the sound apparatus taught by KIM et al., in order to effectively and efficiently manufacture the sound apparatus, especially for certain applications.
Regarding claims 33-34, KIM et al. may not specially teach a first signal line and a second signal line as claimed. Since providing suitable signal inputting means for a sound apparatus is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable signal inputting means, such as a pair conductive wires, for the vibration member of the sound apparatus taught by KIM et al., in order to effectively and efficiently manufacture the sound apparatus, especially for certain applications.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SUHAN NI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691