DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on 2/12/2025, as modified by the preliminary amendment, also filed on 2/12/2025. Claims 21-40 are pending in the present application.
Priority
Domestic
Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C.120, 121, or 365(c) or 365 (a) of any PCT Application international application is
acknowledged, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23, 25-30, 32-37, 39 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faraone, et al (US PG Publication 2018/0184236), hereafter Faraone, in view of Hogberg, et al (US PG Publication 2009/0054029), hereafter Hogberg.
Regarding claim 21, Faraone teaches
a method comprising:
receiving data describing a priority communication region, the priority communication region including a location of an emergency dispatch event
([0021] Controller 110 is implemented in a server computer such as a computer aided dispatch (CAD) console, hereafter controller 110/dispatch console, deployed by public safety agencies to monitor a public safety incident and provide instructions to public safety officers responding to the incident
[0030] At block 310, the controller 110/dispatch console identifies a region of interest (e.g. region of interest 170 shown in FIG. 1) corresponding to a geographic area or physical feature i.e. incident area 180 that is impacted by the public safety incident, hereafter emergency incident area 180
(Controller/dispatch console identifies (receives) data describing emergency incident area 180 and corresponding to a public safety incident, for which the controller/dispatch console provides instructions to public safety officers responding to the incident));
identifying a plurality of devices in a vicinity of the location of the emergency dispatch event, each of the plurality of devices associated with an emergency responder
([0025] The assignment of each portable communication device 150 in the DOI list 240 to trusted group that can be further divided into sub-groups (e.g. fire fighters group, medical responders group, police officers group)
[0030] The controller/dispatch console 110 to identify and monitor the devices located within the perimeter of the incident area 180 as well as the devices operating in the vicinity, but outside of the incident area 180
[0032] Next, at block 330, the controller 110 selects a subset of devices. The subset of devices is referred to as devices of interest (DOI) and included in a DOI list 240. The controller/dispatch console 110 selects a device based on a predefined criteria that is satisfied, for example: a) if the communication device is operating in the incident area 180
(The controller/dispatch console 110 identifies devices operating in the vicinity of the emergency incident area 180, the devices being included in a DOI list that includes responder devices));
identifying a device from the plurality of devices that is associated with an emergency responder assigned to respond to the emergency dispatch event
([0025] The group assignment information 280 identifies each portable communication device 150 included in the DOI list 240 as being associated with either a trusted group of devices (for example, hostage devices during hostage situation). The trusted group can be further divided into sub-groups (e.g. fire fighters group, medical responders group, police officers group, hostage devices group etc.)
(The controller/dispatch console identifies each device from the trusted group that includes responder devices)).
Faraone does not teach
transmitting a request to a communications network to increase a level of service for communications from the identified device, wherein, responsive to the request, the communications network is configured to prioritize delivery of a first message received from the identified device with the increased level of service relative to a second message received from a second device having a lower level of service.
In the same field of endeavor, Hogberg teaches
transmitting a request to a communications network to increase a level of service for communications from the identified device, wherein, responsive to the request, the communications network is configured to prioritize delivery of a first message received from the identified device with the increased level of service relative to a second message received from a second device having a lower level of service
([0020] Within the depicted cellular coverage area is an emergency dispatch center 104 in communicative contact with multiple mobile response units (MRUs) 114, 116, and 118. Included among the tasks handled by dispatch center 104 are receiving and processing emergency call messages. The emergency responders utilize dispatch services of dispatch center 104 to send/relay information and coordinate emergency response operations
[0047] FIG. 6 is a high-level flow diagram illustrating steps performed by emergency dispatch QoS management to facilitate allocation of network resources to emergency responders
[0048] Responsive to determining that presently available resources are insufficient to accommodate the QoS allocation request, the QoS manager may re-allocate network bandwidth/channel resources using either licensed spectrum (step 606) and/or unlicensed spectrum (step 608), preempt currently active communication sessions (step 610) and/or may adjust the QoS priority allocated to non-emergency users having access to resources in the specified emergency response zone (step 612). The QoS adjustment option depicted at step 612 may include lowering the QoS priority level of non-emergency responders using a specified bandwidth to, for example, a “best effort,” or other level that is a reduced QoS level than has been commercially or otherwise allocated
(An adjustment is made to a QOS priority level of service to non-emergency responders through a network to make an adjustment of communications resources used by devices such as emergency responders (first device) to perform communication, the adjustment including lowering the QoS priority allocated to the non-emergency responders (second device) to facilitate allocation of network resources to emergency responders and the communications including receiving emergency messages sent by the emergency responders)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Faraone, which includes changing level of service based on emergency location, to include Hogberg’s teaching of changing level of service based on emergency location, for the benefit of enabling emergency dispatch control of communication resources in accordance with emergency event driven criteria (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 22, Faraone, in view of Hogberg, teaches the method of claim 21.
Faraone further teaches
wherein the emergency responder assigned to respond to the emergency dispatch event is not a dedicated emergency responder.
([0025] The group assignment information 280 identifies each portable communication device 150 included in the DOI list 240 as being associated with a trusted group of devices (for example, hostage devices during hostage situation). The trusted group can be further divided into sub-groups (e.g. hostage devices group) based on predefined parameters depending on the context and type of public safety incident
(The assigned trusted devices also include a hostage devices group that includes hostages that are not responders)).
Regarding claim 23, Faraone, in view of Hogberg, teaches the method of claim 21.
Hogberg further teaches
further comprising:
in response to closing the emergency dispatch event, transmitting a request to the communications network to reduce the level of service for communications from the identified device
([0051] The network resource allocation/adjustment as illustrated in the foregoing steps continues until the QoS manager determines that the emergency response sequence has terminated (step 616) and emergency response settings are cleared (step 618) as previously described with reference to FIG. 5 (pre-emergency settings restored and emergency response QoS settings are cleared – see [0046]) and the process ends (step 620).
(Adjustment of network resources continues until emergency response sequence terminated, based on which pre-emergency settings restored and QoS settings for emergency response are cleared)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Faraone, in view of Hogberg, which includes changing level of service based on emergency location, to include Hogberg’s teaching of changing level of service based on emergency location, for the benefit of enabling emergency dispatch control of communication resources in accordance with emergency event driven criteria (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 25, Faraone, in view of Hogberg, teaches the method of claim 21.
Hogberg further teaches
further comprising:
receiving a selection of a portion of map in a graphical interface, wherein the location of the emergency dispatch event is within the selected portion of the map, and the selected portion of the map is the vicinity of the location of the emergency dispatch event
([0038] Path routing data may be specified by the dispatcher manually or as aided by a map tool that enables the dispatcher to find and specify the likely path zone on a geographic/geopolitical map
[0041] As part of specifying the QoS levels for the communication devices using object 316, the dispatcher specifies the affected zone area such as by using a map tool and identifies and prioritizes the likely emergency response paths that may be traveled by the specified emergency responders (steps 416 and 418)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Faraone, in view of Hogberg, which includes changing level of service based on emergency location, to include Hogberg’s teaching of changing level of service based on emergency location, for the benefit of dynamically forming location-based groups ensuring inclusion of required responders, and as a result, creating location-based response groups more efficiently and effectively (see [0023]).
Regarding claim 26, Faraone, in view of Hogberg, teaches the method of claim 21.
Hogberg further teaches
wherein prioritizing delivery of the first message received from the identified device comprises:
receiving the message from the first device at a network access point
([0024] RAN 220 comprises multiple base transceiver stations 232a-232n that provide the air interface links with the ER (Emergency Responder) mobile communication devices 234a-234m. Access gateway 230 supports various packet data session functions for a multiple-access technology such as 3GPP Long Term Evolution (LTE), and thus provides suitable interface connectivity between RAN 220 and packet switched nodes (not depicted) within WAN 225
[0026] ER mobile communication devices 234a-234m are readily transported or hand-carried across different service coverage areas such as those maintained by RAN 220 and transmit and receive calls, pages, data and control messages over-the-air with base transceiver stations 232a-232n); and
transmitting the message from the network access point to a second networking device in the communications network based on the increased level of service
([0023] BSCs may, in turn, be coupled to an access gateway that provides a connection between the RAN and an external network, such as a Public Switched Telephone Network (PSTN), as well as interconnection to other RANs
[0026] ER mobile communication devices 234a-234m are readily transported or hand-carried across different service coverage areas such as those maintained by RAN 220 and transmit and receive calls, pages, data and control messages over-the-air with base transceiver stations 232a-232n
[0030] ERC system 200 includes features that enable dispatcher-controlled dynamic adjustment of QoS policies and profiles for ER Emergency Responder mobile communication devices 234a-234m).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Faraone, in view of Hogberg, which includes changing level of service based on emergency location, to include Hogberg’s teaching of changing level of service based on emergency location, for the benefit of dynamically forming location-based groups ensuring inclusion of required responders, and as a result, creating location-based response groups more efficiently and effectively (see [0023]).
Regarding claim 27, Faraone, in view of Hogberg, teaches the method of claim 21.
Faraone further teaches
further comprising automatically determining a boundary of the vicinity of the location of the emergency dispatch event based on the location of the emergency dispatch event
([0030] The controller 110 may receive initial information about the public safety incident such as incident location (e.g. address, location coordinates, features of the location etc.). Based on instruction and information received about the public safety incident, the controller 110 identifies the region of interest 170 for identifying devices operating in the region of interest 170. The identified region of interest 170 may have a perimeter larger than the perimeter of the incident area 180. The term ‘incident area’ (also referred herein as a ‘geo-fence’ of the incident) refers to an area within the region of interest 170 that is most impacted by the incident).
Regarding claim 28, Faraone teaches
a system, comprising
([0015] The communication system 100 includes a controller 110):
a processor
([0022] Controller includes processor 210); and
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions that are executable by the processor for
([0023] The memory 220 includes read-only memory (ROM), random-access memory (RAM), other non-transitory computer-readable media, or a combination thereof. The electronic processor 210 is configured to receive instructions and data from the memory 220 and execute, among other things, the instructions. In particular, the electronic processor 210 executes instructions stored in the memory 220 to perform the methods described herein):
receiving data describing a priority communication region, the priority communication region including a location of an emergency dispatch event
([0021] Controller 110 is implemented in a server computer such as a computer aided dispatch (CAD) console, hereafter controller 110/dispatch console, deployed by public safety agencies to monitor a public safety incident and provide instructions to public safety officers responding to the incident
[0030] At block 310, the controller 110/dispatch console identifies a region of interest (e.g. region of interest 170 shown in FIG. 1) corresponding to a geographic area or physical feature i.e. incident area 180 that is impacted by the public safety incident, hereafter emergency incident area 180
(Controller/dispatch console identifies (receives) data describing emergency incident area 180 and corresponding to a public safety incident, for which the controller/dispatch console provides instructions to public safety officers responding to the incident));
identifying a plurality of devices in a vicinity of the location of the emergency dispatch event, each of the plurality of devices associated with an emergency responder
([0025] The assignment of each portable communication device 150 in the DOI list 240 to trusted group that can be further divided into sub-groups (e.g. fire fighters group, medical responders group, police officers group)
[0030] The controller/dispatch console 110 to identify and monitor the devices located within the perimeter of the incident area 180 as well as the devices operating in the vicinity, but outside of the incident area 180
[0032] Next, at block 330, the controller 110 selects a subset of devices. The subset of devices is referred to as devices of interest (DOI) and included in a DOI list 240. The controller/dispatch console 110 selects a device based on a predefined criteria that is satisfied, for example: a) if the communication device is operating in the incident area 180
(The controller/dispatch console 110 identifies devices operating in the vicinity of the emergency incident area 180, the devices being included in a DOI list that includes responder devices));
identifying a device from the plurality of devices that is associated with an emergency responder assigned to respond to the emergency dispatch event
([0025] The group assignment information 280 identifies each portable communication device 150 included in the DOI list 240 as being associated with either a trusted group of devices (for example, hostage devices during hostage situation). The trusted group can be further divided into sub-groups (e.g. fire fighters group, medical responders group, police officers group, hostage devices group etc.)
(The controller/dispatch console identifies each device from the trusted group that includes responder devices)).
Faraone does not teach
transmitting a request to a communications network to increase a level of service for communications from the identified device, wherein, responsive to the request, the communications network is configured to prioritize delivery of a first message received from the identified device with the increased level of service relative to a second message received from a second device having a lower level of service.
In the same field of endeavor, Hogberg teaches
transmitting a request to a communications network to increase a level of service for communications from the identified device, wherein, responsive to the request, the communications network is configured to prioritize delivery of a first message received from the identified device with the increased level of service relative to a second message received from a second device having a lower level of service
([0020] Within the depicted cellular coverage area is an emergency dispatch center 104 in communicative contact with multiple mobile response units (MRUs) 114, 116, and 118. Included among the tasks handled by dispatch center 104 are receiving and processing emergency call messages. The emergency responders utilize dispatch services of dispatch center 104 to send/relay information and coordinate emergency response operations
[0047] FIG. 6 is a high-level flow diagram illustrating steps performed by emergency dispatch QoS management to facilitate allocation of network resources to emergency responders
[0048] Responsive to determining that presently available resources are insufficient to accommodate the QoS allocation request, the QoS manager may re-allocate network bandwidth/channel resources using either licensed spectrum (step 606) and/or unlicensed spectrum (step 608), preempt currently active communication sessions (step 610) and/or may adjust the QoS priority allocated to non-emergency users having access to resources in the specified emergency response zone (step 612). The QoS adjustment option depicted at step 612 may include lowering the QoS priority level of non-emergency responders using a specified bandwidth to, for example, a “best effort,” or other level that is a reduced QoS level than has been commercially or otherwise allocated
(An adjustment is made to a QOS priority level of service to non-emergency responders through a network to make an adjustment of communications resources used by devices such as emergency responders (first device) to perform communication, the adjustment including lowering the QoS priority allocated to the non-emergency responders (second device) to facilitate allocation of network resources to emergency responders and the communications including receiving emergency messages sent by the emergency responders)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Faraone, which includes changing level of service based on emergency location, to include Hogberg’s teaching of changing level of service based on emergency location, for the benefit of dynamically forming location-based groups ensuring inclusion of required responders, and as a result, creating location-based response groups more efficiently and effectively (see [0023]).
Regarding claim 29, Faraone, in view of Hogberg, teaches the system of claim 28.
Faraone further teaches
wherein the emergency responder assigned to respond to the emergency dispatch event is not a dedicated emergency responder
([0025] The group assignment information 280 identifies each portable communication device 150 included in the DOI list 240 as being associated with a trusted group of devices (for example, hostage devices during hostage situation). The trusted group can be further divided into sub-groups (e.g. hostage devices group) based on predefined parameters depending on the context and type of public safety incident
(The assigned trusted devices also include a hostage devices group that includes hostages that are not responders)).
Regarding claim 30, Faraone, in view of Hogberg, teaches the system of claim 28.
Faraone further teaches
the instructions further executable for:
in response to closing the emergency dispatch event, transmitting a request to the communications network to reduce the level of service for communications from the identified device
([0051] The network resource allocation/adjustment as illustrated in the foregoing steps continues until the QoS manager determines that the emergency response sequence has terminated (step 616) and emergency response settings are cleared (step 618) as previously described with reference to FIG. 5 (pre-emergency settings restored and emergency response QoS settings are cleared – see [0046]) and the process ends (step 620).
(Adjustment of network resources continues until emergency response sequence terminated, based on which pre-emergency settings restored and QoS settings for emergency response are cleared)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Faraone, in view of Hogberg, which includes changing level of service based on emergency location, to include Hogberg’s teaching of changing level of service based on emergency location, for the benefit of enabling emergency dispatch control of communication resources in accordance with emergency event driven criteria (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 32, Faraone, in view of Hogberg, teaches the system of claim 28.
Hogberg further teaches
the instructions further executable for:
receiving a selection of a portion of map in a graphical interface, wherein the location of the emergency dispatch event is within the selected portion of the map, and the selected portion of the map is the vicinity of the location of the emergency dispatch event
([0038] Path routing data may be specified by the dispatcher manually or as aided by a map tool that enables the dispatcher to find and specify the likely path zone on a geographic/geopolitical map
[0041] As part of specifying the QoS levels for the communication devices using object 316, the dispatcher specifies the affected zone area such as by using a map tool and identifies and prioritizes the likely emergency response paths that may be traveled by the specified emergency responders (steps 416 and 418)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Faraone, in view of Hogberg, which includes changing level of service based on emergency location, to include Hogberg’s teaching of changing level of service based on emergency location, for the benefit of dynamically forming location-based groups ensuring inclusion of required responders, and as a result, creating location-based response groups more efficiently and effectively (see [0023]).
Regarding claim 33, Faraone, in view of Hogberg, teaches the system of claim 28.
Hogberg further teaches
wherein prioritizing delivery of the first message received from the identified device comprises:
receiving the message from the first device at a network access point
([0024] RAN 220 comprises multiple base transceiver stations 232a-232n that provide the air interface links with the ER (Emergency Responder) mobile communication devices 234a-234m. Access gateway 230 supports various packet data session functions for a multiple-access technology such as 3GPP Long Term Evolution (LTE), and thus provides suitable interface connectivity between RAN 220 and packet switched nodes (not depicted) within WAN 225
[0026] ER mobile communication devices 234a-234m are readily transported or hand-carried across different service coverage areas such as those maintained by RAN 220 and transmit and receive calls, pages, data and control messages over-the-air with base transceiver stations 232a-232n); and
transmitting the message from the network access point to a second networking device in the communications network based on the increased level of service
([0023] BSCs may, in turn, be coupled to an access gateway that provides a connection between the RAN and an external network, such as a Public Switched Telephone Network (PSTN), as well as interconnection to other RANs
[0026] ER mobile communication devices 234a-234m are readily transported or hand-carried across different service coverage areas such as those maintained by RAN 220 and transmit and receive calls, pages, data and control messages over-the-air with base transceiver stations 232a-232n
[0030] ERC system 200 includes features that enable dispatcher-controlled dynamic adjustment of QoS policies and profiles for ER Emergency Responder mobile communication devices 234a-234m).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Faraone, in view of Hogberg, which includes changing level of service based on emergency location, to include Hogberg’s teaching of changing level of service based on emergency location, for the benefit of dynamically forming location-based groups ensuring inclusion of required responders, and as a result, creating location-based response groups more efficiently and effectively (see [0023]).
Regarding claim 34, Faraone, in view of Hogberg, teaches the system of claim 28.
Faraone further teaches
the instructions further executable for:
automatically determining a boundary of the vicinity of the location of the emergency dispatch event based on the location of the emergency dispatch event
([0030] The controller 110 may receive initial information about the public safety incident such as incident location (e.g. address, location coordinates, features of the location etc.). Based on instruction and information received about the public safety incident, the controller 110 identifies the region of interest 170 for identifying devices operating in the region of interest 170. The identified region of interest 170 may have a perimeter larger than the perimeter of the incident area 180. The term ‘incident area’ (also referred herein as a ‘geo-fence’ of the incident) refers to an area within the region of interest 170 that is most impacted by the incident).
Regarding claim 35, Faraone teaches
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions executable by a processor to
([0023] The memory 220 includes read-only memory (ROM), random-access memory (RAM), other non-transitory computer-readable media, or a combination thereof. The electronic processor 210 is configured to receive instructions and data from the memory 220 and execute, among other things, the instructions. In particular, the electronic processor 210 executes instructions stored in the memory 220 to perform the methods described herein):
receive data describing a priority communication region, the priority communication region including a location of an emergency dispatch event
([0021] Controller 110 is implemented in a server computer such as a computer aided dispatch (CAD) console, hereafter controller 110/dispatch console, deployed by public safety agencies to monitor a public safety incident and provide instructions to public safety officers responding to the incident
[0030] At block 310, the controller 110/dispatch console identifies a region of interest (e.g. region of interest 170 shown in FIG. 1) corresponding to a geographic area or physical feature i.e. incident area 180 that is impacted by the public safety incident, hereafter emergency incident area 180
(Controller/dispatch console identifies (receives) data describing emergency incident area 180 and corresponding to a public safety incident, for which the controller/dispatch console provides instructions to public safety officers responding to the incident));
identify a plurality of devices in a vicinity of the location of the emergency dispatch event, each of the plurality of devices associated with an emergency responder
([0025] The assignment of each portable communication device 150 in the DOI list 240 to trusted group that can be further divided into sub-groups (e.g. fire fighters group, medical responders group, police officers group)
[0030] The controller/dispatch console 110 to identify and monitor the devices located within the perimeter of the incident area 180 as well as the devices operating in the vicinity, but outside of the incident area 180
[0032] Next, at block 330, the controller 110 selects a subset of devices. The subset of devices is referred to as devices of interest (DOI) and included in a DOI list 240. The controller/dispatch console 110 selects a device based on a predefined criteria that is satisfied, for example: a) if the communication device is operating in the incident area 180
(The controller/dispatch console 110 identifies devices operating in the vicinity of the emergency incident area 180, the devices being included in a DOI list that includes responder devices));
identify a device from the plurality of devices that is associated with an emergency responder assigned to respond to the emergency dispatch event
([0025] The group assignment information 280 identifies each portable communication device 150 included in the DOI list 240 as being associated with either a trusted group of devices (for example, hostage devices during hostage situation). The trusted group can be further divided into sub-groups (e.g. fire fighters group, medical responders group, police officers group, hostage devices group etc.)
(The controller/dispatch console identifies each device from the trusted group that includes responder devices)).
Faraone does not teach
transmit a request to a communications network to increase a level of service for communications from the identified device, wherein, responsive to the request, the communications network is configured to prioritize delivery of a first message received from the identified device with the increased level of service relative to a second message received from a second device having a lower level of service.
In the same field of endeavor, Hogberg teaches
transmit a request to a communications network to increase a level of service for communications from the identified device, wherein, responsive to the request, the communications network is configured to prioritize delivery of a first message received from the identified device with the increased level of service relative to a second message received from a second device having a lower level of service
([0020] Within the depicted cellular coverage area is an emergency dispatch center 104 in communicative contact with multiple mobile response units (MRUs) 114, 116, and 118. Included among the tasks handled by dispatch center 104 are receiving and processing emergency call messages. The emergency responders utilize dispatch services of dispatch center 104 to send/relay information and coordinate emergency response operations
[0047] FIG. 6 is a high-level flow diagram illustrating steps performed by emergency dispatch QoS management to facilitate allocation of network resources to emergency responders
[0048] Responsive to determining that presently available resources are insufficient to accommodate the QoS allocation request, the QoS manager may re-allocate network bandwidth/channel resources using either licensed spectrum (step 606) and/or unlicensed spectrum (step 608), preempt currently active communication sessions (step 610) and/or may adjust the QoS priority allocated to non-emergency users having access to resources in the specified emergency response zone (step 612). The QoS adjustment option depicted at step 612 may include lowering the QoS priority level of non-emergency responders using a specified bandwidth to, for example, a “best effort,” or other level that is a reduced QoS level than has been commercially or otherwise allocated
(An adjustment is made to a QOS priority level of service to non-emergency responders through a network to make an adjustment of communications resources used by devices such as emergency responders (first device) to perform communication, the adjustment including lowering the QoS priority allocated to the non-emergency responders (second device) to facilitate allocation of network resources to emergency responders and the communications including receiving emergency messages sent by the emergency responders)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Faraone, which includes changing level of service based on emergency location, to include Hogberg’s teaching of changing level of service based on emergency location, for the benefit of dynamically forming location-based groups ensuring inclusion of required responders, and as a result, creating location-based response groups more efficiently and effectively (see [0023]).
Regarding claim 36, Faraone teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 35.
Faraone further teaches
wherein the emergency responder assigned to respond to the emergency dispatch event is not a full-time emergency responder
([0025] The group assignment information 280 identifies each portable communication device 150 included in the DOI list 240 as being associated with a trusted group of devices (for example, hostage devices during hostage situation). The trusted group can be further divided into sub-groups (e.g. hostage devices group) based on predefined parameters depending on the context and type of public safety incident
(The assigned trusted devices also include a hostage devices group that includes hostages that are not responders)).
Regarding claim 37, Faraone, in view of Hogberg, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 35.
Faraone further teaches
the instructions further comprising:
in response to closing the emergency dispatch event, transmitting a request to the communications network to reduce the level of service for communications from the identified device
([0051] The network resource allocation/adjustment as illustrated in the foregoing steps continues until the QoS manager determines that the emergency response sequence has terminated (step 616) and emergency response settings are cleared (step 618) as previously described with reference to FIG. 5 (pre-emergency settings restored and emergency response QoS settings are cleared – see [0046]) and the process ends (step 620).
(Adjustment of network resources continues until emergency response sequence terminated, based on which pre-emergency settings restored and QoS settings for emergency response are cleared)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Faraone, in view of Hogberg, which includes changing level of service based on emergency location, to include Hogberg’s teaching of changing level of service based on emergency location, for the benefit of enabling emergency dispatch control of communication resources in accordance with emergency event driven criteria (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 39, Faraone, in view of Hogberg, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 35.
Hogberg further teaches
the instructions further comprising:
receiving a selection of a portion of map in a graphical interface, wherein the location of the emergency dispatch event is within the selected portion of the map, and the selected portion of the map is the vicinity of the location of the emergency dispatch event
([0038] Path routing data may be specified by the dispatcher manually or as aided by a map tool that enables the dispatcher to find and specify the likely path zone on a geographic/geopolitical map
[0041] As part of specifying the QoS levels for the communication devices using object 316, the dispatcher specifies the affected zone area such as by using a map tool and identifies and prioritizes the likely emergency response paths that may be traveled by the specified emergency responders (steps 416 and 418)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Faraone, in view of Hogberg, which includes changing level of service based on emergency location, to include Hogberg’s teaching of changing level of service based on emergency location, for the benefit of dynamically forming location-based groups ensuring inclusion of required responders, and as a result, creating location-based response groups more efficiently and effectively (see [0023]).
Regarding claim 40, Faraone, in view of Hogberg, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 35.
Faraone further teaches
the instructions further comprising:
automatically determining a boundary of the vicinity of the location of the emergency dispatch event based on the location of the emergency dispatch event
([0030] The controller 110 may receive initial information about the public safety incident such as incident location (e.g. address, location coordinates, features of the location etc.). Based on instruction and information received about the public safety incident, the controller 110 identifies the region of interest 170 for identifying devices operating in the region of interest 170. The identified region of interest 170 may have a perimeter larger than the perimeter of the incident area 180. The term ‘incident area’ (also referred herein as a ‘geo-fence’ of the incident) refers to an area within the region of interest 170 that is most impacted by the incident).
Claims 24, 31 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faraone, in view of Hogberg, and further in view of Meijers, et al (US PG Publication 2020/0304971), hereafter Meijers.
Regarding claim 24, Faraone, in view of Hogberg, teaches the method of claim 21.
Faraone, in view of Hogberg, does not teach
further comprising:
determining that the identified device is outside of the location of the emergency dispatch event; and
transmitting a request to the communications network to reduce the level of service for communications from the identified device in response to the identified device being outside of the location of the emergency dispatch event.
In the same field of endeavor, Meijers teaches
further comprising:
determining that the identified device is outside of the location of the emergency dispatch event
([0036] Geo-fences are layered for specific types of service combinations in overlap regions. For example, in a first-responder scenario in which there is a fire, geo-fences can be established as concentric polygons around the center of the fire
[0060] In response to the geo-location information, processing logic determines, for each of the plurality of remote devices, whether the geo-location information for the remote device of indicates that the remote device has entered or exited geo-fence (processing block 252)); and
transmitting a request to the communications network to reduce the level of service for communications from the identified device in response to the identified device being outside of the location of the emergency dispatch event
([0007] Being based on its respective geo-location includes directionality of movement across a geo-fence, as this allows instrumenting slow degradation of extra services (e.g., allowing a user to finish a call (e.g., a vide call) after exiting a high-privilege zone before removing that capability).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Faraone, in view of Hogberg, which includes changing level of service based on emergency location, to include Meijers’ teaching of changing level of service based on emergency location, for the benefit of managing services and/or service levels of remote devices in a network based on their geo-location (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 31, Faraone, in view of Hogberg, teaches the system of claim 28.
Faraone, in view of Hogberg, does not teach
the instructions further executable for:
determining that the identified device is outside of the location of the emergency dispatch event; and
transmitting a request to the communications network to reduce the level of service for communications from the identified device in response to the identified device being outside of the location of the emergency dispatch event
In the same field of endeavor, Meijers teaches
the instructions further executable for:
determining that the identified device is outside of the location of the emergency dispatch event
([0036] Geo-fences are layered for specific types of service combinations in overlap regions. For example, in a first-responder scenario in which there is a fire, geo-fences can be established as concentric polygons around the center of the fire
[0060] In response to the geo-location information, processing logic determines, for each of the plurality of remote devices, whether the geo-location information for the remote device of indicates that the remote device has entered or exited geo-fence (processing block 252)); and
transmitting a request to the communications network to reduce the level of service for communications from the identified device in response to the identified device being outside of the location of the emergency dispatch event
([0007] Being based on its respective geo-location includes directionality of movement across a geo-fence, as this allows instrumenting slow degradation of extra services (e.g., allowing a user to finish a call (e.g., a vide call) after exiting a high-privilege zone before removing that capability).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Faraone, in view of Hogberg, which includes changing level of service based on emergency location, to include Meijers’ teaching of changing level of service based on emergency location, for the benefit of managing services and/or service levels of remote devices in a network based on their geo-location (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 38, Faraone, in view of Hogberg, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 35.
Faraone, in view of Hogberg, does not teach
the instructions further comprising:
determining that the identified device is outside of the location of the emergency dispatch event; and
transmitting a request to the communications network to reduce the level of service for communications from the identified device in response to the identified device being outside of the location of the emergency dispatch event.
In the same field of endeavor, Meijers teaches
the instructions further comprising:
determining that the identified device is outside of the location of the emergency dispatch event
([0036] Geo-fences are layered for specific types of service combinations in overlap regions. For example, in a first-responder scenario in which there is a fire, geo-fences can be established as concentric polygons around the center of the fire
[0060] In response to the geo-location information, processing logic determines, for each of the plurality of remote devices, whether the geo-location information for the remote device of indicates that the remote device has entered or exited geo-fence (processing block 252)); and
transmitting a request to the communications network to reduce the level of service for communications from the identified device in response to the identified device being outside of the location of the emergency dispatch event
([0007] Being based on its respective geo-location includes directionality of movement across a geo-fence, as this allows instrumenting slow degradation of extra services (e.g., allowing a user to finish a call (e.g., a vide call) after exiting a high-privilege zone before removing that capability).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Faraone, in view of Hogberg, which includes changing level of service based on emergency location, to include Meijers’ teaching of changing level of service based on emergency location, for the benefit of managing services and/or service levels of remote devices in a network based on their geo-location (see [0002]).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art Not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Igumnov, et al (US PG Publication 2017/0265045), hereafter Igumnov, teaches location-based group formation for ensuring required responders.
Song, et al (US PG Publication 2010/0248742), hereafter Song, teaches regulating scope of service geographically in wireless networks based on proximity.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK E DONADO/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641