Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Groups A and IV in the reply filed on January 28, 2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 6 and 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 28, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figures 2-5, 7-9, 13, 14, 17 and 20 each include multiple figures of the invention. Thus, each of the multiple figures in figures 2-5, 7-9, 13, 14, 17 and 20 require a separate figure designation and description in the specification. For example, see figure 2 which includes at least three figures. Thus, each of the three figures in figure 2 requires a separate figure designation and description in the specification.
Figure 5 is objected to because it is unclear what the two arrow heads are intended to represent. See annotated figure 5 below.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because “and combination thereof” on lines 2-3 is confusing because it is grammatically incorrect. It is suggested the applicant change “combination” to --combinations-- to avoid confusion. On line 5, “of” is grammatically incorrect. Did the applicant mean to recite --or--?
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because “is locked” on line 5 brings the clarity of the claim into question because it is unclear what element of the invention the window is locked relative to. Note that it appears that the arm 553 is locked to the keyed socket 531 as shown in figure 5.
Claim 3 is objected to because “on opposite sides” on line 2 brings the clarity of the claim into question because it is unclear what element of the invention includes the opposite sides to which the applicant is referring. Also, it is unclear how a sphere/ball has sides.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stenzel et al. (US 8671619) in view of WO 2025/003108. Stenzel et al. discloses a window drive mechanism 1 (fig. 1) comprising a base 8 (fig. 1) affixed to a window 6; and a collar 9 coupled to the base 8, and further comprising: an arm 4; and an actuator 2 coupled to the arm 4 and configured to move the arm 4 based on a control signal to cause the window 6 to move relative to a support 17.
Stenzel et al. is silent concerning a window disconnect.
However, WO 2025/003108 discloses a window disconnect comprising:
a keyed ball (labeled below); and
a keyed socket 19 configured to engage and disengage the keyed ball, wherein:
in a first rotational orientation of the keyed socket as shown in figure 4b, the keyed ball is locked in the keyed socket 19 such that a closure 2 is locked; and
in a second rotational orientation of the keyed socket as shown in figure 4c, the keyed ball is unlocked and removable from the keyed socket 19 such that the closure is removable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the arm and the collar of Stenzel et al. with a keyed ball and keyed socket connector, as taught by WO 2025/003108, with a reasonable expectation of success enabler a user to securely attach the arm 4 to the window 6 while allowing the selective release of the arm 4 from the window 6 for repair and/or maintenance work on the window 6 or the actuator.
With respect to claim 3, Stenzel et al., as modified above, discloses that the keyed socket 19 comprises a slot, as shown in figure 4a, and the keyed ball comprises a ball having flats (labeled below) on opposite sides as shown in figure 3a.
With respect to claim 4, Stenzel et al., as modified above, discloses that the first rotational orientation of the keyed socket 19, the flats are parallel with the sides of the slot, as shown in figure 4a, such that the keyed ball can translate into and out of the keyed socket 19; and in the second rotational orientation of the keyed socket 19, the flats are misaligned with the sides of the slot such that the keyed ball cannot translate into or out of the keyed socket 19, as shown in figure 4b.
With respect to claim 7, Stenzel et al., as modified above, discloses that the arm 4 is coupled to the keyed ball; and an actuator 2 is coupled to the arm 4 and configured to move the arm 4 based on a control signal to cause the window 6 to move relative to a support 17 when the keyed ball is locked in the keyed socket 19.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stenzel et al. in view of WO 2025/003108, as applied to claims 1, 3, 4 and 7 above. Stenzel et al., as modified above, discloses that the first rotational orientation and the second rotational orientation are in rotational separate positions, as shown in figures 4a-4c, but is silent concerning the degrees that the first and second rotational orientations are apart.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art is expected to routinely experiment with parameters so as to ascertain the optimum or workable ranges for a particular use. Accordingly, it would have been no more than an obvious matter of engineering design choice, as determined through routine experimentation and optimization, for one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to position the first rotational position between 80 and 100 degrees apart from the second rotational position, with a reasonable expectation of success to ensure that the keyed ball and the keyed socket do not unexpectedly separate from one another.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stenzel et al. in view of WO 2025/003108, as applied to claims 1, 3, 4 and 7 above. Stenzel et al., as modified above, discloses a base 8 affixed to the window 6; and a collar 7 coupled to the base 8, wherein the keyed socket is arranged at an end of the collar 7.
Stenzel et al. is silent concerning the collar being rotatably coupled to the base such that the keyed socket rotates with the collar.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art is expected to routinely experiment with parameters so as to ascertain the optimum or workable ranges for a particular use. Accordingly, it would have been no more than an obvious matter of engineering design choice, as determined through routine experimentation and optimization, for one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to make the collar and keyed slot rotatable relative to the base, with a reasonable expectation of success to enabler a user to easily connect and disconnect the arm 4 from the window 6.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
/GREGORY J STRIMBU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634