Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: remove the bullet points. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kircher (US 2009/0184487 A1).
Regarding claims 1 & 12, Kircher discloses a boarding system for vehicles the boarding system (see Abstract generally) comprising a step box (boarding aid 1; Fig. 1) with a box frame (portion 4c) and a step module (plate 2) configured to be moved relative to the box frame (Para. 0011), wherein the boarding system comprises an adapter frame (cover 4b; Claim 1), into which the box frame is configured to be inserted (Fig. 1), wherein the box frame has a vehicle-independent size, and wherein the adapter frame has a vehicle-dependent size for adapting the boarding system to a vehicle-side receptacle, so that the adapter frame can be inserted in the vehicle-side receptacle (Para. 0027).
Regarding claim 2, Kircher discloses the boarding system according to claim 1. Kircher further discloses wherein the box frame and/or the adapter frame has/have tabs (portions 4b) for the connection of the box frame to the adapter frame (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Kircher discloses the boarding system according to claim 2. Kircher further discloses wherein the tabs are formed in one piece with the box frame (Fig. 1; Claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Kircher discloses the boarding system according to claim 1. Kircher further discloses wherein the box frame is made of stainless steel (Para. 0027).
Regarding claim 5, Kircher discloses the boarding system according to claim 1. Kircher further discloses wherein the adapter frame is made of aluminum (Para. 0003).
Regarding claim 6, Kircher discloses the boarding system according to claim 1. Kircher further discloses wherein the boarding system comprises a cover for covering a top side of the step box, wherein the adapter frame has a cover receptacle, into which the cover is configured to be inserted (Paras. 0003-0004).
Regarding claim 7, Kircher discloses the boarding system according to claim 6. Kircher further discloses wherein in an installed state of the boarding system in the vehicle is intended, the cover configured to be inserted so as to be aligned with a floor of the vehicle and the cover is configured for forming at least a portion of the floor (Para. 0016).
Regarding claim 8, Kircher discloses the boarding system according to claim 6. Kircher further discloses wherein the cover has an anti-slip surface (see discussion of sheet/grate with anti-slip surface in Para. 0016).
Regarding claim 9, Kircher discloses the boarding system according to claim 1. Kircher further discloses wherein the step plate module has a vehicle-independent size (Paras. 0002, 0016 & 0027).
Regarding claim 10, Kircher discloses the boarding system according to claim 1. Kircher further discloses wherein the entire step box has a vehicle-independent size (Paras. 0002, 0016 & 0027).
Regarding claim 11, Kircher discloses a boarding system for vehicles, the boarding system comprising a step box with a box frame and a step plate module, configured to be moved relative to the box frame, wherein a single box frame is configured to be inserted into a plurality of different adapter frames with different dimensions, wherein the different adapter frames are embodied such that the different adapter frames are configured to each be used with other vehicles with other installation dimensions (Para. 0027).
Inquiry
/HILARY L JOHNS/Examiner, Art Unit 3613
/JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613