Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 02/12/2025 NPL YoutubeTM reference could not be accessed and there are not screenshots or explanation of relevance on file in this application
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 1-2 state “an first molding apparatus” instead of “a first molding apparatus”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “A method of molding a window using a window molding apparatus comprising an first molding part and an second molding part, wherein the second molding part comprises a first cavity having a first curved surface, a plurality of second cavities having second curved surfaces, and a plurality of movable molds supported for movement along the second curved surfaces of the second cavities, the window molding method comprising the steps of: “ thus the claim is directed to a method. The preamble recites a molding apparatus but the claimed active method steps are really positioning a workpiece, heating the workpiece and molding the workpiece. It is clear that the mold configuration and movements of the mold give life to the claimed method and are given full weight in this examination.
Examiner would appreciate if the first paragraph of claim 1 is rewritten to recite:
A method of molding a window comprising the steps of:
Providing a window molding apparatus comprising a
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eo et al. et al. (US 20170100875) and Stanley (US 2882952).
Eo discloses a method of molding glass or other thermoelastic materials [0060] suitable for use as a window [0089] comprising the steps of:
6
positioning a work piece for processing between the first molding part and the second molding part; heating the work piece; and molding the work piece (Fig 2 S1-S3)
Eo does not disclose the molding apparatus of claim 1. Eo depicts one desired molded shape in Fig 3C.
In an analogous art of molding flat stock, Stanley discloses a molding apparatus for bending flat stock (Col 1; lines 15-41- typically referred to in the molding art as a press brake die or brake press die/mold) comprising parts as labeled below in Fig 6 of Stanley for ease:
a first molding part and a second molding part,
the second molding part comprises a first cavity, a plurality of second cavities (cradles Col 2) having second curved surfaces, and a plurality of movable molds (die bars Col 2) supported for movement along the second curved surfaces of the second cavities (Col 2; line 56- Col 3; line 12) as depicted in Fig 3, 4, 6 and the molding apparatus labeled below.
the molding method by moving a portion of the work piece along the first curved surface of the first cavity to form a bent portion (See Fig 3 and 4-7) to form a first substantially non-bent portion and a second substantially non-bent portion facing the first portion with the bent portion disposed therebetween (Fig 5 and 7). Stanley indicates first cavity (25) being a groove (Col 3; line10) however fails to explicitly state it to be curved. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make groove 25 any shaped cavity, rounded or angular as long as it meets the needs of “an open unobstructed area” of Stanley (Col 3; lines 7-11) as motivated to mold the flat stock to obtain the desired molded shape of desired curvature or radius (Column 1; line 30-41).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the molding method of Eo with a molding shaped apparatus of Stanley as motivated to provide a simple inexpensive construction (Stanley Col 1; lines 45-48) and still obtain a desired radius of curvature.
Regarding claim 2, Eo discloses the work piece comprises a glass substrate [0060], and heated to be fluidized [0008], thus around 107.6 poises. Overlapping with the claimed viscosity of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Stanley discloses the first molding part comprises an inner molding part including a substantially flat molding part and a core rounded molding part (11’) disposed on one end of the substantially flat molding part as depicted in labeled Fig 6 above. The molding step comprises the core molding part is received in the first cavity with the work piece disposed therebetween cavities (Col 2; line 56- Col 3; line 12) as depicted in Fig 3, 4, 6.
Regarding claim 5, Stanley discloses each of the movable molds comprises a curved portion having a curved surface corresponding to the curved surface of each of the second cavities and a substantially flat portion facing the curved portion; wherein the step of positioning the work piece comprises positioning the substantially flat portions of the adjacent movable molds adjacent to each other below a workpiece in positions generally parallel to each other as depicted in Stanley Fig. 3, and
wherein the step of molding the work piece comprises moving the substantially flat portions of the adjacent movable molds to face each other with the work piece disposed therebetween (See Fig 4 and 6 as first molding part continues to enter the first cavity during molding).
Regarding claim 6, Stanley discloses the second cavities each having a corresponding movable mold to bend the flat workpiece around the first molding apparatus as it moves downward into the first cavity. Stanley describes in Col 2-3 that the dies/bars rotate in their cavities and permit the punch to extend into the cavity for the desired degree of bend and the dies support the side of the bend as the punch moves down (Col 3; lines 40-60). it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide additional movable molds in sub cavities necessarily along the second molding part in the such that the flat portion rotates to the sides of the bend as the punch extends downward as motivated to further support the sides of the bend; i.e. flat portion of the material around the bend.
the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced and in this scenario additional movable molds would yield the same result of additional support to the side of the material during a deep bend.
This yields the molding steps of claim 6.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eo et al. et al. (US 20170100875) and Stanley (US 2882952) as applied above and further in view of Honjo (US 5022908)
Regarding claim 7, It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to chemically strengthen the workpiece glass of Eo as motivated to strengthen glass and as evidenced as a known step in the art by Hwang [0089]/[0093].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5, 7-9 of U.S. Patent No. US 12428331. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Present invention:
US12428331
Claims 1-2 and 8-9 of US12428331 recite
A window molding method which requires a molding member to be processed, providing heat, inner molding part equivalent to the first molding part, bent and non-bent portions of the molded window, a groove equivalent to the first cavity, with inner molding part with a flat side and curved which move in their respective grooves during molding step.
Claim 5 of US12428331 requires the same viscosity as present claim 2
Claim 5 of US12428331 requires chemical strengthening like claim 7 of the present invention
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 4 requires that the first molding part comprises a flow path and air is injected into the flow path during molding having a pressure as indicated in present claim 4. None of the prior art available made obvious the molding apparatus and steps of claim 1 as interpreted herein with air pressure through the punch die.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gabel et al. (US 20120058303) bend angle
(US 6672127) U-Shaped bend
JODI COHEN FRANKLIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JODI C FRANKLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741