DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al. (US Pat. 10,693,460).
Regarding claims 10 and 17, Fig. 5A of Takahashi discloses a method and apparatus comprising:
a first logic level driver [combination of 142 and 143] coupled to a data terminal [DQ], the first logic level driver configured to provide a first logic level voltage [voltage on drain of transistor 142] when activated by output driver data control signals [signal output by 126];
a second logic level driver [combination of 144 and 145] coupled to the data terminal [DQ], the second logic level driver configured to provide a second logic level voltage [ground] when activated by the output driver data control signals [signal output by 128]; and
a third logic level driver [combination of 154 and 152] coupled to the data terminal [DQ], the third logic level driver configured to provide a third logic level voltage [voltage output source of 142] when activated by the output driver data control signals [SWPU],
wherein one of the first, second, and third logic level drivers is activated at a time [each driver provides different voltage to data terminal at different time. Therefore, it is inherent that one of the driver is activated at a time], and
wherein the third logic level voltage has a magnitude between [since voltage at the drain of 154 is a drop voltage from 142, it is smaller than the voltage at the first level] the first [high] and second logic level [low] voltages.
Regarding claim 11, Fig. 5A of Takahashi discloses wherein activating the high logic level driver comprises: receiving a first data output driver data control signal [signal output by 126] and a first voltage [voltage at drain of 142]; and activating a p-channel transistor [142] coupled to the high logic level driver to provide the first voltage to a resistance [143] coupled to the data terminal [DQ] to provide the high logic level voltage to the terminal.
Regarding claim 12, Fig. 5A of Takahashi discloses wherein activating the low logic level driver comprises: receiving a second data output driver data control signal [signal output by 128] and a second voltage [ground voltage connects to source of 144]; and activating an n-channel transistor [144] coupled to the low logic level driver to provide the second voltage to a resistor [145] coupled to the data terminal to provide the low logic level voltage [ground level].
Regarding claim 13, Fig. 5A of Takahashi discloses wherein activating the intermediate logic level driver comprises: receiving a third output driver data control signal [SWPU] and a third voltage [voltage outputs by source of transistor 142]; activating a p-channel transistor [154] coupled to the intermediate logic level driver to provide the third voltage [voltage at source of transistor 142] to a first resistor [152] coupled to the data terminal [DQ]; and activating an n-channel transistor [154B in Fig. 5B] to provide the third voltage to a second resistor [152B, Fig. 5B] coupled to the data terminal.
Regarding claim 14, Fig. 5A of Takahashi discloses receiving the first voltage [high voltage at drain of 142] and a cutoff control signal [signal outputs by 126] at a cutoff circuit, wherein the third voltage is cutoff [signal SWPU] when the cutoff circuit is activated by the cutoff control signal.
Regarding claim 15, Fig. 5A of Takahashi discloses transitioning an output data signal from a first logic level voltage [high] to a second logic level voltage [low], wherein the transitioning comprises: deactivating one of the low logic level driver the high logic level driver, and the intermediate logic level driver corresponding to the first logic level voltage [if low level voltage is connected to DQ, then first and third drivers are deactivated]; and activating another one of the low logic level driver, the high logic level driver, and the intermediate logic level driver corresponding to the second logic level voltage [intermediate logic level driver will be activated].
Regarding claim 16, Fig. 5A of Takahashi discloses maintaining a remaining one of the low logic level driver, the high logic level driver, and the intermediate logic level driver [maintaining third driver 154] not corresponding to the first logic level voltage or the second logic level voltage.
Regarding claim 18, Fig. 5A of Takahashi discloses wherein the first logic level driver [142] is configured to be activated responsive to an active first control signal of the output driver data control signals [signal output by 126]; the second logic level driver [144] is configured to be activated responsive to an active second control signal of the output driver data control signals [signal outputs by 128]; and the third logic level driver configured to be activated responsive to an active third control signal and an active fourth control signal of the output driver data control signals [SWPU and SWPD], the third and fourth control signals are complementary.
Regarding claim 19, Fig. 5A of Takahashi discloses wherein the third logic level driver comprises a first resistance [152] and a first middle driver [154] coupled to the first resistance [152] and further comprises a second resistance [152B, Fig. 5B] and a second middle driver [154B, Fig. 5B] coupled to the second resistance [152B], the first middle driver configured to be activated responsive to an active high third control signal [SWPU<0>] and the second middle driver configured to be activated responsive to an active low fourth control signal [SWPU<1>].
Regarding claim 20, Fig. 5A of Takahashi discloses wherein the first middle driver is further coupled to a cutoff circuit [circuit that generates SWPU signal to turn off the driver], wherein the third logic level voltage is cutoff to the first middle driver when the cutoff circuit is activated [when the driver is selected to be off], and wherein the third logic level voltage [voltage provided by transistor 154 to data terminal DQ] is provided to the first middle driver when the cutoff circuit is deactivated.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 1-9, the prior art does not teach or suggest either alone or in combination an output driver, comprising: third and fourth transistors coupled to the data terminal, and the third and fourth transistors configured to be provided a third level voltage, wherein a voltage corresponding to the third level voltage is provided by the third and fourth transistors being activated and the first transistor and the second transistor being deactivated.
Conclusion
/ANTHAN TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825