DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 12, 16 - 18, are currently subject to non-statutory double patenting rejections, but are otherwise not subject to any prior art rejections under either 35 U.S.C. § 102 or 35 U.S.C. § 103. Assuming that the foregoing shortcomings of these claims were rectified by the timely filing of a terminal disclaimer, these claims would be allowable.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regards to claim 5, several of the features of this claim were known in the art as evidenced by Ross et al (US PG Pub. No. 2016/0063633), which discloses receiving input of a geographical area of interest on a graphical user interface at ¶¶ [0033]-[0035] and FIG. 5. Ross further disclose retrieving all addresses, which would include home addresses, within the geographical area of interest from a storage of home addresses at ¶¶ [0039]-[0040](“a user may view a list of all data associated with all parcels within a selected boundary including, but not limited to, address…”); see, also, ¶ [0014](“dwelling units”) and FIG. 11. However, Ross does not disclose cropping raw street level images. Kappagantula et al (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0177808) discloses retrieving and storing raw street level images of houses for each address of interest at ¶¶ [0049]-[0050], [0091](“[T]he computer vision module 1018 may be configured to receive and process images (either labeled or selected training images, or new or raw images) from data storage 1022, from user interface 1008”). Kappagantula further discloses cropping the raw street level images to remove portions of adjacent houses in the images and storing the cropped images at ¶¶ [0049]- [0053]. However, neither Ross nor Kappagantula discloses cropping the raw street level images by identifying comers of the house in the street level image by determining the angular extent of the house from the nearest point on the street from the aerial outline, translating distance and angles from the determining step to pixel values in the street level image, calculating portions of the street level image in excess of pixel values representing the house and cropping the portions from the street level image, thereby removing at least a portion of neighboring houses from the image.
With regards to claim 12, several of the features of this claim were known in the art as evidenced by Ross et al (US PG Pub. No. 2016/0063633), which discloses receiving input of a geographical area of interest on a graphical user interface at ¶¶ [0033]-[0035] and FIG. 5. Ross further disclose retrieving all addresses, which would include home addresses, within the geographical area of interest from a storage of home addresses at ¶¶ [0039]-[0040](“a user may view a list of all data associated with all parcels within a selected boundary including, but not limited to, address…”); see, also, ¶ [0014](“dwelling units”) and FIG. 11. However, Ross does not disclose outputting text (i.e., image metadata) representing characteristics of each image. Swamy et al (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0360151) discloses the outputting comprises text (i.e., image metadata) representing characteristics of each image in the first set of one or more street level images, the text having information comprising: a street address, geographic location and date of image acquisition at ¶ [0046]. Inherently, the image would include a unique alphanumeric identifier comprising its file name because all image files must be named. However, Swamy does not disclose metadata comprising an image URL.
With regards to claim 16, several of the features of this claim were known in the art as evidenced by Ross et al (US PG Pub. No. 2016/0063633), which discloses receiving input of a geographical area of interest on a graphical user interface at ¶¶ [0033]-[0035] and FIG. 5. Ross further disclose retrieving all addresses, which would include home addresses, within the geographical area of interest from a storage of home addresses at ¶¶ [0039]-[0040](“a user may view a list of all data associated with all parcels within a selected boundary including, but not limited to, address…”); see, also, ¶ [0014](“dwelling units”) and FIG. 11. However, Ross does not disclose quantifying and outputting the counts of each of the identified exterior features in the first set of one or more street level images. Sonntag (German Patent Office Pub. No. DE 102016107925) discloses quantifying and outputting the counts of each of the identified exterior features in the first set of one or more street level images in the English translation at: p. 31 (“The number of windows (“two”) and the number of doors (“one”) can be on the in the street scene 8th identifiable facade can be determined. In addition, the facade size or facade area and the window area can be determined.”). However, Sonntag does not disclose the counts and/or two-dimensional areas for each of the identified exterior features for the first set of one or more street level images are outputted as a bar chart.
With regards to claim 17, several of the features of this claim were known in the art as evidenced by Ross et al (US PG Pub. No. 2016/0063633), which discloses receiving input of a geographical area of interest on a graphical user interface at ¶¶ [0033]-[0035] and FIG. 5. Ross further disclose retrieving all addresses, which would include home addresses, within the geographical area of interest from a storage of home addresses at ¶¶ [0039]-[0040](“a user may view a list of all data associated with all parcels within a selected boundary including, but not limited to, address…”); see, also, ¶ [0014](“dwelling units”) and FIG. 11. However, Ross does not disclose quantifying and outputting the counts of each of the identified exterior features in the first set of one or more street level images. Sonntag (German Patent Office Pub. No. DE 102016107925) discloses quantifying and outputting the counts of each of the identified exterior features in the first set of one or more street level images in the English translation at: p. 31 (“The number of windows (“two”) and the number of doors (“one”) can be on the in the street scene 8th identifiable facade can be determined. In addition, the facade size or facade area and the window area can be determined.”). However, Sonntag does not disclose the counts and/or two-dimensional areas for each of the identified exterior features for the first set of one or more street level images are outputted as a heat map.
With regards to claim 18, several of the features of this claim were known in the art as evidenced by Ross et al (US PG Pub. No. 2016/0063633), which discloses receiving input of a geographical area of interest on a graphical user interface at ¶¶ [0033]-[0035] and FIG. 5. Ross further disclose retrieving all addresses, which would include home addresses, within the geographical area of interest from a storage of home addresses at ¶¶ [0039]-[0040](“a user may view a list of all data associated with all parcels within a selected boundary including, but not limited to, address…”); see, also, ¶ [0014](“dwelling units”) and FIG. 11. However, Ross does not disclose quantifying and outputting the counts of each of the identified exterior features in the first set of one or more street level images. Sonntag (German Patent Office Pub. No. DE 102016107925) discloses quantifying and outputting the counts of each of the identified exterior features in the first set of one or more street level images in the English translation at: p. 31 (“The number of windows (“two”) and the number of doors (“one”) can be on the in the street scene 8th identifiable facade can be determined. In addition, the facade size or facade area and the window area can be determined.”). However, Sonntag does not disclose the counts and/or two-dimensional areas for each of the identified exterior features for the first set of one or more street level images are converted to a percentage of total counts or total area for all of the identified exterior features and outputted as a pie chart.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim of U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the following table:
Present Application
Claim 1
U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661
Claim 1
A method, comprising:
receiving input of a geographical area of interest on a graphical user interface; and
A method, comprising: receiving input of a geographical area of interest on a graphical user interface;
retrieving home addresses within the geographical area of interest from a storage of home addresses.
retrieving home addresses within the geographical area of interest from a storage of home addresses;
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the following table:
Present Application
Claim 2
U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661
Claim 2
The method of claim 1, wherein the geographical area of interest is inputted by placing a
boundary on a map.
The method of claim 1, wherein the geographical area of interest is inputted by placing a boundary on a map.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the following table:
Present Application
Claim 3
U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661
Claim 3
The method of claim 1, wherein the geographical area of interest is inputted by entering
one or more of street, block, neighborhood, town, city, county, state, metropolitan statistical area
(MSA), core-based statistical area (CBSA), five-digit ZIP Code, nine-digit ZIP Code, geographic
coordinates (latitude and longitude), and tax parcel number.
The method of claim 1, wherein the geographical area of interest is inputted by entering one or more of street, block, neighborhood, town, city, county, state, metropolitan statistical area (MSA), core-based statistical area (CBSA), five-digit ZIP Code, nine-digit ZIP Code, geographic coordinates (latitude and longitude), and tax parcel number.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the following table:
Present Application
Claim 4
U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661
Claim 1
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
A method, comprising:
retrieving and storing raw street level images of houses for each of the retrieved addresses;
retrieving and storing raw street level images of houses for each of the retrieved addresses;
cropping the raw street level images to remove portions of adjacent houses in the images;
storing the cropped images;
cropping the raw street level images to remove portions of adjacent houses in the images… and storing the cropped images.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the following table:
Present Application
Claim 5
U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661
Claim 1
The method of claim 4, wherein cropping the raw street level images comprises:
A method, comprising: … wherein cropping the raw street level images comprises:
identifying corners of the house in the street level image by:
identifying corners of the house in the street level image by:
determining the angular extent of the house from the nearest point on the street from the aerial outline; and
determining the angular extent of the house from the nearest point on the street from the aerial outline; and
translating distance and angles from the determining step to pixel values in the street level image; and
translating distance and angles from the determining step to pixel values in the street level image; and
calculating portions of the street level image in excess of pixel values representing the house; and
calculating portions of the street level image in excess of pixel values representing the house; and
cropping the portions from the street level image, thereby removing at least a portion of neighboring houses from the image.
cropping the portions from the street level image, thereby removing at least a portion of neighboring houses from the image;
(Continued on next page)
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the following table:
Present Application
Claim 6
U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661
Claim 4
The method of claim 4, further comprising:
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
(see note below)
providing the stored cropped images to a Machine Learned Model trained with a
training set of street level images of houses with one or more exterior features labeled;
providing the stored cropped images to a Machine Learned Model trained with a training set of street level images of houses with one or more exterior features labeled;
identifying the home exterior features of interest in the cropped images by way of
the Machine Learned Model;
identifying the home exterior features of interest in the cropped images by way of the Machine Learned Model.
Claim 4, of the present application, reads upon claim 1 of United States Patent No. 12,254,661. See the rejection of this claim above.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the following table:
Present Application
Claim 7
U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661
Claim 5
The method of claim 6, further comprising:
The method of claim 4, further comprising:
processing output of the Machine Learned Model by converting pixels of the identified exterior features into area dimensions; and
processing output of the Machine Learned Model by converting pixels of the identified exterior features into area dimensions; and
quantifying two-dimensional areas of the exterior features in one or more of the cropped images.
quantifying two-dimensional areas of the exterior features in one or more of the cropped images.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the following table:
Present Application
Claim 8
U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661
Claim 6
The method of claim 6, further comprising quantifying a number of identified exterior
features in one or more of the cropped images.
The method of claim 4, further comprising quantifying a number of identified exterior features in one or more of the cropped images.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the following table:
Present Application
Claim 9
U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661
Claim 7
The method of claim 6, wherein the identified exterior features are chosen from windows,
doors, garage doors, roofs, horizontal facades, vertical facades, stucco facades, brick facades,
shakes facades, and stone facades.
The method of claim 4, wherein the identified exterior features are chosen from windows, doors, garage doors, roofs, horizontal façades, vertical façades, stucco façades, brick façades, shakes façades, and stone façades.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the following table:
Present Application
Claim 10
U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661
Claim 8
The method of claim 9, wherein the identified exterior features are identified as requiring
repair or replacement.
The method of claim 7, wherein the identified exterior features are identified as requiring repair or replacement.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the following table:
Present Application
Claim 11
U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661
Claim 9
The method of claim 6, further comprising:
The method of claim 4, further comprising:
converting pixels of the identified exterior features into area dimensions; and
converting pixels of the identified exterior features into area dimensions; and
quantifying and outputting information for each of the identified exterior features in the one or more stored cropped images.
quantifying and outputting information for each of the identified exterior features in the one or more stored cropped images.
(Continued on next page)
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the following table:
Present Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661
Claim 10
(Incorporated from parent claim 1)
A method, comprising:
receiving input of a geographical area of interest on a graphical user interface; and retrieving home addresses within the geographical area of interest from a storage of home addresses.
A method, comprising: receiving input of a geographical area of interest on a graphical user interface; retrieving home addresses within the geographical area of interest from a storage of home addresses;
(Incorporated from parent claim 4)
The method of claim 1, further comprising: retrieving and storing raw street level images of houses for each of the retrieved addresses; cropping the raw street level images to remove portions of adjacent houses in the images;
storing the cropped images;
retrieving and storing raw street level images of houses for each of the retrieved addresses; cropping the raw street level images to remove portions of adjacent houses in the images; storing the cropped images;
(Incorporated from parent claim 6)
The method of claim 4, further comprising:
providing the stored cropped images to a Machine Learned Model trained with a training set of street level images of houses with one or more exterior features labeled; identifying the home exterior features of interest in the cropped images by way of the Machine Learned Model;
providing the stored cropped images to a Machine Learned Model trained with a training set of street level images of houses with one or more exterior features labeled; identifying the home exterior features of interest in the cropped images byway of the Machine Learned Model;
(Incorporated from parent claim 11)
The method of claim 6, further comprising: converting pixels of the identified exterior features into area dimensions; and quantifying and outputting information for each of the identified exterior features in the one or more stored cropped images.
converting pixels of the identified exterior features into area dimensions; and quantifying and outputting information for each of the identified exterior features in the one or more stored cropped images,
(Claim 12)
The method of claim 11, wherein the outputting compnses information representing characteristics of each image in the one or more of the cropped images, the information having text information comprising: a unique alphanumeric identifier; street address; geographic location; date of image acquisition; and image URL.
wherein the outputting comprises information representing characteristics of each image in the one or more of the cropped images, the information having text information comprising: a unique alphanumeric identifier; street address; geographic location; date of image acquisition; and image URL.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the following table:
Present Application
Claim 13
U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661
Claim 13
The method of claim 11, wherein the outputting comprises information representing
characteristics of each image in the first set of one or more street level images, wherein the
information further comprises counts of individual home exterior features identified in the image.
quantifying and outputting information for each of the identified exterior features in the one or more stored cropped images, wherein the outputted information for each one of the one or more street level images is the identification of exterior features for each one of the one or more street level images are outputted and converted to a percentage of total counts or total area for all of the identified exterior features and outputted as a pie chart.
See the rejection of claim 18, below, for a mapping of how claim 13 reads upon the parent claims.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim of U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the following table:
Present Application
Claim 14
U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661
Claim 13
The method of claim 11, wherein the outputting comprises information representing
characteristics of each image in the one or more street level images, wherein the information
further comprises calculated areas of individual home exterior features of the image.
quantifying and outputting information for each of the identified exterior features in the one or more stored cropped images, wherein the outputted information for each one of the one or more street level images is the identification of exterior features for each one of the one or more street level images are outputted and converted to a percentage of total counts or total area for all of the identified exterior features and outputted as a pie chart.
See the rejection of claim 18, below, for a mapping of how claim 13 reads upon the parent claims.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the following table:
Present Application
Claim 16
U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661
Claim 11
(Incorporated from parent claim 1)
A method, comprising: receiving input of a geographical area of interest on a graphical user interface; and retrieving home addresses within the geographical area of interest from a storage of home addresses.
A method, comprising: receiving input of a geographical area of interest on a graphical user interface; retrieving home addresses within the geographical area of interest from a storage of home addresses;
(Incorporated from parent claim 4)
The method of claim 1, further comprising: retrieving and storing raw street level images of houses for each of the retrieved addresses; cropping the raw street level images to remove portions of adjacent houses in the images;
storing the cropped images;
retrieving and storing raw street level images of houses for each of the retrieved addresses; cropping the raw street level images to remove portions of adjacent houses in the images; storing the cropped images;
(Incorporated from parent claim 6)
The method of claim 4, further comprising: providing the stored cropped images to a Machine Learned Model trained with a training set of street level images of houses with one or more exterior features labeled; identifying the home exterior features of interest in the cropped images by way of the Machine Learned Model;
providing the stored cropped images to a Machine Learned Model trained with a training set of street level images of houses with one or more exterior features labeled; identifying the home exterior features of interest in the cropped images byway of the Machine Learned Model;
(Incorporated from parent claim 11)
The method of claim 6, further comprising: converting pixels of the identified exterior features into area dimensions; and quantifying and outputting information for each of the identified exterior features in the one or more stored cropped images.
converting pixels of the identified exterior features into area dimensions; and quantifying and outputting information for each of the identified exterior features in the one or more stored cropped images,
(Claim 16)
The method of claim 11, wherein the outputted information for each one of the one or more
street level images is the identification of exterior features for each one of the one or more street
level images are outputted as a bar chart.
wherein the outputted information for each one of the one or more street level images is the
identification of exterior features for each one of the one or more street level images are outputted as a bar chart.
(Continued on next page)
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the following table:
Present Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661
Claim 12
(Incorporated from parent claim 1)
A method, comprising: receiving input of a geographical area of interest on a graphical user interface; and retrieving home addresses within the geographical area of interest from a storage of home addresses.
A method, comprising: receiving input of a geographical area of interest on a graphical user interface; retrieving home addresses within the geographical area of interest from a storage of home addresses;
(Incorporated from parent claim 4)
The method of claim 1, further comprising: retrieving and storing raw street level images of houses for each of the retrieved addresses; cropping the raw street level images to remove portions of adjacent houses in the images;
storing the cropped images;
retrieving and storing raw street level images of houses for each of the retrieved addresses; cropping the raw street level images to remove portions of adjacent houses in the images; storing the cropped images;
(Incorporated from parent claim 6)
The method of claim 4, further comprising: providing the stored cropped images to a Machine Learned Model trained with a training set of street level images of houses with one or more exterior features labeled; identifying the home exterior features of interest in the cropped images by way of the Machine Learned Model;
providing the stored cropped images to a Machine Learned Model trained with a training set of street level images of houses with one or more exterior features labeled; identifying the home exterior features of interest in the cropped images byway of the Machine Learned Model;
(Incorporated from parent claim 11)
The method of claim 6, further comprising: converting pixels of the identified exterior features into area dimensions; and quantifying and outputting information for each of the identified exterior features in the one or more stored cropped images.
converting pixels of the identified exterior features into area dimensions; and quantifying and outputting information for each of the identified exterior features in the one or more stored cropped images,
(Claim 17)
The method of claim 11, wherein the outputted information for each one of the one or more
street level images is the identification of exterior features for each one of the one or more street
level images are outputted as a heat map.
wherein the outputted information for each one of the one or more street level images is the identification of exterior features for each one of the one or more street level images are outputted as a heat map.
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the following table:
Present Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661
Claim 13
(Incorporated from parent claim 1)
A method, comprising: receiving input of a geographical area of interest on a graphical user interface; and retrieving home addresses within the geographical area of interest from a storage
of home addresses.
method, comprising: receiving input of a geographical area of interest on a graphical user interface; retrieving home addresses within the geographical area of interest from a storage of home addresses;
(Incorporated from parent claim 4)
The method of claim 1, further comprising: retrieving and storing raw street level images of houses for each of the retrieved addresses; cropping the raw street level images to remove portions of adjacent houses in the images;
storing the cropped images;
retrieving and storing raw street level images of houses for each of the retrieved addresses; cropping the raw street level images to remove portions of adjacent houses in the images; storing the cropped images;
(Incorporated from parent claim 6)
The method of claim 4, further comprising: providing the stored cropped images to a Machine Learned Model trained with a training set of street level images of houses with one or more exterior features labeled; identifying the home exterior features of interest in the cropped images by way of the Machine Learned Model;
providing the stored cropped images to a Machine Learned Model trained with a training set of street level images of houses with one or more exterior features labeled; identifying the home exterior features of interest in the cropped images byway of the Machine Learned Model;
(Incorporated from parent claim 11)
The method of claim 6, further comprising: converting pixels of the identified exterior features into area dimensions; and quantifying and outputting information for each of the identified exterior features in the one or more stored cropped images.
converting pixels of the identified exterior features into area dimensions; and quantifying and outputting information for each of the identified exterior features in the one or more stored cropped images,
(Claim 18)
The method of claim 11, wherein the outputted information for each one of the one or more
street level images is the identification of exterior features for each one of the one or more street
level images are outputted and converted to a percentage of total counts or total area for all of the identified exterior features and outputted as a pie chart.
wherein the outputted information for each one of the one or more street level images is the identification of exterior features for each one of the one or more street level images are outputted and converted to a percentage of total counts or total area for all of the identified exterior features and outputted as a pie chart.
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the following table:
Present Application
Claim 19
U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661
Claim 7
The method of claim 11, wherein the identified exterior features are chosen from windows,
doors, garage doors, roofs, horizontal facades, vertical facades, stucco facades, brick facades,
shakes facades, and stone facades.
The method of claim 4, wherein the identified exterior features are chosen from windows, doors, garage doors, roofs, horizontal façades, vertical façades, stucco façades, brick façades, shakes façades, and stone façades.
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the following table:
Present Application
Claim 20
U.S. Patent No. 12,254,661
Claim 8
The method of claim 19, wherein the identified exterior features are identified as requiring
repair or replacement.
The method of claim 7, wherein the identified exterior features are identified as requiring repair or replacement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ross et al (US PG Pub. No. 2016/0063633).
With regards to claim 1, Ross discloses receiving input of a geographical area of interest on a graphical user interface at ¶¶ [0033]-[0035] and FIG. 5:
Ross further disclose retrieving all addresses, which would include home addresses, within the geographical area of interest from a storage of home addresses at ¶¶ [0039]-[0040](“a user may view a list of all data associated with all parcels within a selected boundary including, but not limited to, address…”); see, also, ¶ [0014](“dwelling units”) and FIG. 11:
With regards to claim 2, Ross discloses the geographical area of interest is inputted by placing a boundary on a map at ¶¶ [0033]-[0035] and FIG. 5.
With regards to claim 3, Ross discloses the geographical area of interest can also be inputted by entering a street at ¶ [0035].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ross et al (US PG Pub. No. 2016/0063633) in view of Kappagantula et al (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0177808).
With regards to claim 4, Ross discloses retrieving data about each of the retrieved addresses of interest within user set boundaries at ¶ [0039], but does not specify data comprising raw street level images. However, this limitation was known in the art:
Kappagantula discloses retrieving and storing raw street level images of houses for each address of interest at ¶¶ [0049]-[0050], [0091](“[T]he computer vision module 1018 may be configured to receive and process images (either labeled or selected training images, or new or raw images) from data storage 1022, from user interface 1008”). Kappagantula discloses cropping the raw street level images to remove portions of adjacent houses in the images and storing the cropped images at ¶¶ [0049]- [0053]. At the time of the filing of the present application, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to retrieve (and crop) each of the one or more raw street level images to remove portions of adjacent houses, as taught by Kappagantula, when retrieving data about an address of interest, as taught by Ross. The motivation for doing so comes from Kappagantula, which discloses, “Street photos of properties are sometimes taken too wide, off-center, or with the property obscured by other objects such as trees, bushes, or vehicles. For example, a vehicle-mounted camera moving through a neighborhood may generate street -view images of properties all throughout the neighborhood, but some of the images may be unsuitable for property listings or targeted advertising in their original state. A custom trained object detector may be taught to recognize images of properties, and to crop the photos to better focus on the property of interest, or reject the image if the property of interest is not sufficiently visible. In some examples, the cropped images may be used to classify the property.” (Kappagantula, ¶ [0050]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kappagantula with Ross to obtain the invention specified in this claim.
With regards to claim 6, Kappagantula discloses providing the stored cropped images to a Machine Learned Model trained with a training set of street level images of houses with one or more exterior features labeled at ¶¶ [0017](“[S]uch as convolutional neural networks…”), [0038](“[T]raining data in the form of precropped images may be provided to NN3 222, such as from NN2 220. For example, the cropboxes drawn by NN2 220 may act as training indicia to teach NN3 222 how and where to draw crop boxes on images. The pre-cropped images may be further labeled, such as by a user or other system or service, to teach NN3 222 to perform categorization of objects or scenes within the crop window.”) Kappagantula further discloses identifying the home exterior features of interest in the cropped images by way of the Machine Learned Model at ¶¶ [0049], [0053]. The motivation for the combination is the same as previously presented.
Claims 7 - 11, 13 - 15, 19 - 20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ross et al (US PG Pub. No. 2016/0063633) in view of Kappagantula et al (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0177808), in further view of Sonntag (German Patent Office Pub. No. DE 102016107925).
With regards to claim 7, Kappagantula discloses identifying the home exterior features of interest in the cropped images by way of the Machine Learned Model at ¶¶ [0049], [0053]. The motivation for the combination is the same as previously presented.
Sonntag inherently discloses processing output of the Machine Learned Model by converting pixels of the identified exterior features into area dimensions in the English translation at: p. 23 (bottom two pars.) through p. 24 (top three pars.). See, also, p. 31 (bottom three pars.). Features within an image comprise pixels, thus, converting those features necessarily comprises converting pixels. Sonntag discloses quantifying two-dimensional areas of the exterior features in one or more of the cropped images in the English translation at: p. 23 (bottom two pars.) through p. 24 (top three pars.). See, also, p. 31 (bottom three pars.). At the time of the filing of the present application, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to quantify two-dimensional areas of the exterior features in one or more of the cropped images, as taught by Sonntag, after identifying the home exterior features of interest in the cropped images, as taught by Sonntag. The motivation for doing so comes from Sonntag, which discloses, “It is thus possible to detect as a visual parameter a roof surface, a roof type and a number of windows and to assign them to the object. Subsequently, for example, serve as consumption data, a gas consumption. From the consumption data …, it can be deduced whether a house insulation is sufficiently good or not.” (Sonntag, p. 23). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sonntag with Kappagantula and Ross to obtain the invention specified in this claim.
With regards to claim 8, Kappagantula discloses cropped images at ¶¶ [0049]-[0050], [0091](“[T]he computer vision module 1018 may be configured to receive and process images (either labeled or selected training images, or new or raw images) from data storage 1022, from user interface 1008”). Kappagantula discloses cropping the raw street level images to remove portions of adjacent houses in the images and storing the cropped images at ¶¶ [0049]- [0053]. The motivation for the combination is the same as previously presented.
Sonntag discloses quantifying a number of identified exterior features in one or more of the at: p. 31 (“The number of windows (“two”) and the number of doors (“one”) can be on the in the street scene 8th identifiable facade can be determined. In addition, the facade size or facade area and the window area can be determined.”). The motivation for the combination is the same as previously presented. The motivation for the combination is the same as previously presented.
With regards to claim 9, this claim recites a Markush grouping wherein the “identified exterior features” are selected from a group consisting of, “windows, doors, garage doors, roofs, horizontal façades, vertical façades, stucco façades, brick façades, shakes façades, and stone façades.” Identified exterior features comprising windows, doors and roofs are taught by the Sonntag reference in the English translation at: p. 22, par. 5; p. 12, bottom par.; p. 31, bottom 3 pars. The motivation for the combination is the same as previously presented.
With regards to claim 10, Sonntag discloses the identified exterior features are identified as requiring repair or replacement at p. 24, par. 4. The motivation for the combination is the same as previously presented.
With regards to claim 11, Sonntag inherently discloses converting pixels of the identified exterior features into area dimensions when it discloses converting exterior features identified within an image into area dimensions in the English translation at: p. 23 (bottom two pars.) through p. 24 (top three pars.). See, also, p. 31 (bottom three pars.). Features within an image comprise pixels, thus, converting those features necessarily comprises converting pixels. Sonntag discloses quantifying and outputting information for each of the identified exterior features in the one or more stored cropped images at: p. 23 (bottom two pars.) through p. 24 (top three pars.). See, also, p. 31 (bottom three pars.). The motivation for the combination is the same as previously presented.
With regards to claim 13, Sonntag discloses the outputting comprises information representing characteristics of each image in the first set of one or more street level images, wherein the information further comprises counts of individual home exterior features identified in the image in the English translation at: p. 31 (“The number of windows (“two”) and the number of doors (“one”) can be on the in the street scene 8th identifiable facade can be determined. In addition, the facade size or facade area and the window area can be determined.”). The motivation for the combination is the same as previously presented.
With regards to claim 14, Sonntag discloses the outputting comprises information representing characteristics of each image in the first set of one or more street level images, wherein the information further comprises calculated areas of individual home exterior features of the image at: p. 23 (bottom two pars.) through p. 24 (top three pars.). See, also, p. 31 (bottom three pars.). The motivation for the combination is the same as previously presented.
With regards to claim 15, Ross discloses the outputted information is formatted and standardized for input into a geographic information system application at ¶¶ [0014], [0025]-[0031].
With regards to claim 19, this claim recites a Markush grouping wherein the “identified exterior features” are selected from a group consisting of, “windows, doors, garage doors, roofs, horizontal façades, vertical façades, stucco façades, brick façades, shakes façades, and stone façades.” Identified exterior features comprising windows, doors and roofs are taught by the Sonntag reference in the English translation at: p. 22, par. 5; p. 12, bottom par.; p. 31, bottom 3 pars. The motivation for the combination is the same as previously presented.
With regards to claim 20, Sonntag discloses the identified exterior features are identified as requiring repair or replacement at p. 24, par. 4. The motivation for the combination is the same as previously presented.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAVID F DUNPHY whose telephone number is (571)270-1230. The examiner can normally be reached 9 am - 5 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Vu Le can be reached on 5712727332. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/DAVID F DUNPHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668