Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended their application as follows:
Amended: 1, 9 and 17
Cancelled: None
Added: None
Therefore, claims 1-24 are currently pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, 13-19 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao et al. (US 2018/0088323 A1, hereinafter “Bao”) in view of Weston et al. (US 2020/0349249 A1, hereinafter “Weston”).
As to claim 9, Bao (Fig. 1B) discloses an electronic device (100) comprising:
one or more displays (112);
one or more controllable tinting layers (Fig. 2A element 220);
a memory (Para. 0061);
one or more input devices including an optical sensor (104; Para. 0061);
one or more processors (Para. 0061); and
one or more programs stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors (Fig. 5; Para. 0064), the one or more programs including instructions for:
applying a first tinting level to the one or more displays (Fig. 2A element 210; Para. 0047-0048, opaque state);
while applying the first tinting level to the one or more displays, determining that one or more criteria are satisfied (Para. 0049);
in response to determining that the one or more criteria are satisfied including a criterion that is satisfied when the electronic device detects a change in a body pose corresponding to reducing an amount of light incident on one or more eyes of a user (Para. 0103, 0105-0106, combination of movement sensor and ambient light sensor would meet the claimed limitation).
Bao does not disclose applying a second tinting level, greater than the first tinting level, to the one or more displays.
However, Weston teaches applying a second tinting level, greater than the first tinting level, to the one or more displays (Para. 0232).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Weston to include reactive lens in the device disclosed by Bao. The motivation would have been to adapt the degree of reflectance/tint based on the detected size of pupils, squinting, brightness of the environment, and the like (Weston; Para. 0232).
The above rejection also stands for the corresponding method of claim 1 and the corresponding media of claim 17.
As to claim 10, Bao (Fig. 11) discloses the electronic device of claim 9, wherein detecting the change in the body pose includes at least one of:
detecting a movement of one or more extremities (Para. 0119-0120);
detecting a movement of one or more eyes (Fig. 13);
detecting a movement of a head; or
detecting the change in the body pose for an amount of time greater than a threshold amount of time.
The above rejection also stands for the corresponding method of claim 2 and the corresponding media of claim 18.
As to claim 11, Bao discloses the electronic device of claim 9, wherein the one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the electronic device detects at least one of:
a movement of the electronic device greater than a threshold amount of movement (Para. 0131); or
a criterion that is satisfied when the electronic device detects a movement of the electronic device greater than a threshold amount of movement away from a light source.
The above rejection also stands for the corresponding method of claim 3 and the corresponding media of claim 19.
As to claim 13, Bao discloses the electronic device of claim 9, wherein the electronic device is further in communication with one or more displays, and wherein the second tinting level is applied to the one or more controllable tinting layers without changing a presentation of virtual content on the one or more displays (Para. 0103, adjusting based on ambient light).
The above rejection also stands for the corresponding method of claim 5 and the corresponding media of claim 21.
As to claim 14, Bao (Fig. 12) discloses The electronic device of claim 9, wherein the electronic device is further in communication with one or more displays (1220), and wherein the second tinting level is applied to the one or more controllable tinting layers while changing a presentation of virtual content on the one or more displays (1222; Para. 0123).
The above rejection also stands for the corresponding method of claim 6 and the corresponding media of claim 22.
As to claim 15, Bao discloses the electronic device of claim 9, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
determining that one or more second criteria are satisfied including a criterion that is satisfied when the electronic device detects a movement of one or more eyes that satisfies the one or more criteria without detecting a contextual change of an ambient light condition (Para. 0106); and
in response to determining that the one or more second criteria are satisfied:
presenting a visual indication on one or more displays in communication with the electronic device (Fig. 12 element 2116; Para. 0106, change of opacity).
The above rejection also stands for the corresponding method of claim 7 and the corresponding media of claim 23.
As to claim 16, Bao discloses the electronic device of claim 9, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while applying the second tinting level to the one or more controllable tinting layers, determining that one or more third criteria are satisfied (Para. 0110); and
in response to determining that the one or more third criteria are satisfied, applying a third tinting level to the one or more controllable tinting layers (Para. 0110).
The above rejection also stands for the corresponding method of claim 8 and the corresponding media of claim 24.
Claim(s) 4, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao and Weston as applied to claims 1, 9 and 17 above, and further in view of Tam (US 2017/0047046 A1, hereinafter “Tam”).
As to claim 12, Bao discloses the electronic device of claim 9, wherein the optical sensor is an inward facing camera (Fig. 13 element 216; Para. 0126).
Bao does not disclose the one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the electronic device detects an illumination of an eye greater than a threshold level of illumination.
However, Tam teaches the one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the electronic device detects an illumination of an eye greater than a threshold level of illumination (Fig. 4; Para. 0040-0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Tam to adjust the display based on the illumination of eye in the device disclosed by Bao/Weston. The motivation would have been to improve the viewing conditions (Tam; Para. 0019).
The above rejection also stands for the corresponding method of claim 4 and the corresponding media of claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant‘s disclosure.
Venkatasubramanya et al. (US 2025/0217090 A1) discloses adjusting transmission of display surface (Fig. 3).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BIPIN GYAWALI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2625
/BIPIN GYAWALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625