DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-29 are pending in the application. Claim 1 is currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 Dec 2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Examiner concurs with applicant’s assertion that Fink (WO Pub. 2009/111612 A1) fails to teach or suggest the amended portion of claim 1 (Pg. 6-7). The prior 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection is thus withdrawn.
Note is made that the below cited Robertson et al. (U.S. Patent 5487378) was brought to applicant’s attention in the Conclusion section of each of the two preceding Office actions. Applicant is encouraged to further review the additional prior art which have additionally been repeatedly noted and which may also be read on claim 1: Loeffler et al. (U.S. Pub. 2002/0134372; Figs. 2 & 6), Sugita et al. (U.S. Pub. 2010/0024814; Fig. 1), Mullinger et al. (U.S. Pub. 2014/0116426; Fig. 1), and Gallem et al. (U.S. Pub. 2017/0232211; Fig. 9a).
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 22 Dec 2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patents 9,962,507; 9,956,360; 10,449,314; 10,525,220; 10,898,666; 11,285,285; 11,738,158; 11,771,852 and U.S. Applications 18/219,329 and 17/609,610 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-29 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 25-26 of copending Application No. 19/052,152 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all requirements of instant claim 1 are reasonably found within the overall scope of reference claim 25 (e.g. the module insertion guide of reference claim 25 will obviously be received at a receiving region of the housing), the instant claim merely being broader in scope. A further mapping of dependent claims is as follows:
Instant claim 2 vs. reference claim 26
Instant claims 3-4 as obvious in view of reference claim 25 – the reference claim’s combination module can be disposed of if desired
Instant claims 5-12 as obvious in view of reference claim 25 – the reference claim’s reservoir must be either non-collapsible or collapsible as the instant claims indicate the difference between the two options to be merely an obvious matter of design choice alternative
Instant claims 13-24 vs. limitations in reference claim 25
Instant claims 25-29 vs. limitations in reference claim 25
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 1-29 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 19/052,182 in view of Smith Robertson et al. (U.S. Patent 5487378). Reference claim 2 includes all limitations of instant claim 1 with the exception of the specificity that the housing defining a receiving region into which the combined module is received.
Robertson teaches an inhaler (Figs. 15-19; Col. 15-17) including a fluid reservoir (Fig. 16 #606; Col. 16, Ln. 2-9) and an electronically actuated ejector mechanism (Fig. 16 #608; Col. 16), wherein the ejector mechanism is coupled to the reservoir as a combined module (Fig. 16; Col. 15, Ln. 58-67) removable from a housing of the inhaler (Fig. 16; Col. 15, Ln. 58-67), the housing defining a receiving region into which the combined module is received (Figs. 15a-16 – combined reservoir 606 and aerosol generator 608 received in lower portion of the inhaler’s housing). Robertson a receiving region of the housing as providing the benefit of allowing the inhaler housing to be reusable while the cartridge it receives (i.e. the cited combined module) is replaceable (Col. 15, Ln. 58-60).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in reference claim 2 the housing defining a receiving region into which the combined module is received in order to provide the benefit of presenting a portion of the housing which can receive the combined module in a replaceable manner in view of Robertson. A further mapping of dependent claims is as follows:
Instant claim 2 vs. limitations in reference claim 1
Instant claims 3-4 as obvious in view of reference claim 1 – the reference claim’s combination module can be disposed of if desired
Instant claims 5-12 as obvious in view of reference claim 1 – the reference claim’s reservoir must be either non-collapsible or collapsible as the instant claims indicate the difference between the two options to be merely an obvious matter of design choice alternative
Instant claims 13-24 vs. limitations in reference claim 1 (nicotine)
Instant claims 25-29 vs. limitations in reference claim 1
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 and 26-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robertson et al. (U.S. Patent 5487378).
Regarding claim 1, Robertson discloses an electronically actuated droplet delivery device (Figs. 15-19; Col. 15-17) comprising: a housing (#618 in text, #619 in figures) including a mouthpiece (Fig. 15b #602) located at an airflow exit side of the housing; a fluid reservoir (Fig. 16 #606; Col. 16, Ln. 2-9) disposed within or in fluid communication with the housing (Fig. 16); an electronically actuated ejector mechanism (Fig. 16 #608; Col. 16) including an aperture plate (Fig. 16 #622; Col. 16, Col. 3, Ln. 39-45) having a plurality of openings (Fig. 18; Col. 3, Ln. 39-45) formed through its thickness configured to generate an ejected stream of droplets, wherein the ejector mechanism is coupled to the reservoir as a combined module (Fig. 16; Col. 15, Ln. 58-67) removable from the housing (Fig. 16; Col. 15, Ln. 58-67), the housing defining a receiving region into which the combined module is received (Figs. 15a-16 – combined reservoir 606 and aerosol generator 608 received in lower portion of the inhaler’s housing); and an electronic actuator (Fig. 17 #624; Col. 16) operably coupled to oscillate the aperture plate at a frequency that generates the ejected stream of droplets.
Regarding claim 2, Robertson discloses at least about 50% of the droplets in the ejected stream of droplets have an average ejected droplet diameter of less than about 5 microns (Col. 3, Ln. 17-23 – maximum opening below 5 microns to produce droplets within that range).
Regarding claim 3, Robertson discloses the combined module is disposable (Col. 15, Ln. 58-60 – replaceable cartridge).
Regarding claim 4, Robertson discloses the combined module is disposable (Col. 15, Ln. 58-60 – replaceable cartridge).
Regarding claim 5, Robertson discloses the reservoir is non-collapsible (Fig. 2 #12 around #10 is a “solid vessel”; Col. 9, Ln. 31-58). The claim does not require the entire reservoir to be non-collapsible. Reservoir 606 will include the same solid outer vessel as Fig. 2. The reservoir is able to be read as a combination of the solid vessel 12 and the collapsible bag/sachet 10. Thus, a portion of the cited reservoir is non-collapsible.
Regarding claim 6, Robertson discloses the reservoir is non-collapsible (Fig. 2 #12 around #10 is a “solid vessel”; Col. 9, Ln. 31-58). The claim does not require the entire reservoir to be non-collapsible. Reservoir 606 will include the same solid outer vessel as Fig. 2. The reservoir is able to be read as a combination of the solid vessel 12 and the collapsible bag/sachet 10. Thus, a portion of the cited reservoir is non-collapsible.
Regarding claim 7, Robertson discloses the reservoir is non-collapsible (Fig. 2 #12 around #10 is a “solid vessel”; Col. 9, Ln. 31-58). The claim does not require the entire reservoir to be non-collapsible. Reservoir 606 will include the same solid outer vessel as Fig. 2. The reservoir is able to be read as a combination of the solid vessel 12 and the collapsible bag/sachet 10. Thus, a portion of the cited reservoir is non-collapsible.
Regarding claim 8, Robertson discloses the reservoir is non-collapsible (Fig. 2 #12 around #10 is a “solid vessel”; Col. 9, Ln. 31-58). The claim does not require the entire reservoir to be non-collapsible. Reservoir 606 will include the same solid outer vessel as Fig. 2. The reservoir is able to be read as a combination of the solid vessel 12 and the collapsible bag/sachet 10. Thus, a portion of the cited reservoir is non-collapsible.
Regarding claim 9, Robertson discloses the reservoir is collapsible (Col. 5, Ln. 30-33 & Col. 16, Ln. 36-39 – collapsible sachet).
Regarding claim 10, Robertson discloses the reservoir is collapsible (Col. 5, Ln. 30-33 & Col. 16, Ln. 36-39 – collapsible sachet).
Regarding claim 11, Robertson discloses the reservoir is collapsible (Col. 5, Ln. 30-33 & Col. 16, Ln. 36-39 – collapsible sachet).
Regarding claim 12, Robertson discloses the reservoir is collapsible (Col. 5, Ln. 30-33 & Col. 16, Ln. 36-39 – collapsible sachet).
Regarding claim 26, Robertson discloses the electronic actuator is a piezoelectric actuator (Col. 16, Ln. 14-18).
Regarding claim 27, Robertson discloses the electronic actuator is a piezoelectric actuator (Col. 16, Ln. 14-18).
Regarding claim 28, Robertson discloses the electronic actuator is a piezoelectric actuator (Col. 16, Ln. 14-18).
Regarding claim 29, Robertson discloses the electronic actuator is a piezoelectric actuator (Col. 16, Ln. 14-18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robertson et al. (U.S. Patent 5487378) in view of Smith et al. (U.S. Pub. 2003/0140921).
Regarding claim 13, Robertson fails to disclose the reservoir includes nicotine or a chemical that is in marijuana.
Smith teaches an aerosol generating system (Fig. 1) and teaches nicotine as one
particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device (¶0061).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Robertson the fluid reservoir includes nicotine based upon an obvious design choice to select nicotine as one particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device in view of Smith.
Regarding claim 14, Robertson fails to disclose the reservoir includes nicotine or a chemical that is in marijuana.
Smith teaches an aerosol generating system (Fig. 1) and teaches nicotine as one
particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device (¶0061).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Robertson the fluid reservoir includes nicotine based upon an obvious design choice to select nicotine as one particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device in view of Smith.
Regarding claim 15, Robertson fails to disclose the reservoir includes nicotine or a chemical that is in marijuana.
Smith teaches an aerosol generating system (Fig. 1) and teaches nicotine as one
particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device (¶0061).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Robertson the fluid reservoir includes nicotine based upon an obvious design choice to select nicotine as one particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device in view of Smith.
Regarding claim 16, Robertson fails to disclose the reservoir includes nicotine or a chemical that is in marijuana.
Smith teaches an aerosol generating system (Fig. 1) and teaches nicotine as one
particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device (¶0061).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Robertson the fluid reservoir includes nicotine based upon an obvious design choice to select nicotine as one particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device in view of Smith.
Regarding claim 17, Robertson fails to disclose the reservoir includes nicotine or a chemical that is in marijuana.
Smith teaches an aerosol generating system (Fig. 1) and teaches nicotine as one
particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device (¶0061).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Robertson the fluid reservoir includes nicotine based upon an obvious design choice to select nicotine as one particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device in view of Smith.
Regarding claim 18, Robertson fails to disclose the reservoir includes nicotine or a chemical that is in marijuana.
Smith teaches an aerosol generating system (Fig. 1) and teaches nicotine as one
particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device (¶0061).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Robertson the fluid reservoir includes nicotine based upon an obvious design choice to select nicotine as one particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device in view of Smith.
Regarding claim 19, Robertson fails to disclose the reservoir includes nicotine or a chemical that is in marijuana.
Smith teaches an aerosol generating system (Fig. 1) and teaches nicotine as one
particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device (¶0061).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Robertson the fluid reservoir includes nicotine based upon an obvious design choice to select nicotine as one particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device in view of Smith.
Regarding claim 20, Robertson fails to disclose the reservoir includes nicotine or a chemical that is in marijuana.
Smith teaches an aerosol generating system (Fig. 1) and teaches nicotine as one
particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device (¶0061).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Robertson the fluid reservoir includes nicotine based upon an obvious design choice to select nicotine as one particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device in view of Smith.
Regarding claim 21, Robertson fails to disclose the reservoir includes nicotine or a chemical that is in marijuana.
Smith teaches an aerosol generating system (Fig. 1) and teaches nicotine as one
particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device (¶0061).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Robertson the fluid reservoir includes nicotine based upon an obvious design choice to select nicotine as one particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device in view of Smith.
Regarding claim 22, Robertson fails to disclose the reservoir includes nicotine or a chemical that is in marijuana.
Smith teaches an aerosol generating system (Fig. 1) and teaches nicotine as one
particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device (¶0061).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Robertson the fluid reservoir includes nicotine based upon an obvious design choice to select nicotine as one particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device in view of Smith.
Regarding claim 23, Robertson fails to disclose the reservoir includes nicotine or a chemical that is in marijuana.
Smith teaches an aerosol generating system (Fig. 1) and teaches nicotine as one
particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device (¶0061).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Robertson the fluid reservoir includes nicotine based upon an obvious design choice to select nicotine as one particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device in view of Smith.
Regarding claim 24, Robertson fails to disclose the reservoir includes nicotine or a chemical that is in marijuana.
Smith teaches an aerosol generating system (Fig. 1) and teaches nicotine as one
particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device (¶0061).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Robertson the fluid reservoir includes nicotine based upon an obvious design choice to select nicotine as one particular fluid suitable for use as a pharmaceutical in an aerosol generating inhalation device in view of Smith.
Regarding claim 25, Robertson teaches the invention as modified above and further teaches the electronic actuator is a piezoelectric actuator (Col. 16, Ln. 14-18).
Conclusion
Regarding claim 1 further attention is drawn to the following references with teaching of a combined module in accordance with claim 1: Loeffler et al. (U.S. Pub. 2002/0134372; Figs. 2 & 6), Sugita et al. (U.S. Pub. 2010/0024814; Fig. 1), Mullinger et al. (U.S. Pub. 2014/0116426; Fig. 1), and Gallem et al. (U.S. Pub. 2017/0232211; Fig. 9a).
/JOSEPH D. BOECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785