DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the body" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the body" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
With regard to claim 4, it is unclear to examiner what the supply count refers to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9, 11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hohberger (US 2003/0048050).
With regard to claim 1, Hohberger discloses a method comprising:
defining a tag mount body [Fig. 12D] of a tag mount (1415) [Para. 0078] for a media supply roll (1410) [spool; Para. 0078] having a hollow cylindrical core (1420) [Fig. 12D], the tag mount body defined to include an inner wall, an outer wall, and a carrier surface [Fig. 12D];
configuring the inner wall to face the core when the tag mount is mounted to the hollow core [Fig. 12D], the inner wall having a retaining element [Fig. 12D] to engage with the core and affix the tag mount body to the core,
disposing of the outer wall opposite the inner wall;
defining a carrier surface, distinct from the retaining element, on one of the inner wall or the outer wall;
affixing an antenna (1430) to the carrier surface [Para. 0080; Fig. 12D].
coupling an integrated circuit with the antenna [memory components are provided by a chip and operatively connected through leads to the antenna; Para. 0008].
With regard to claim 2, Hohberger discloses further comprising: forming a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag with the antenna and the integrated circuit [Para. 0008].
With regard to claim 3, Hohberger discloses further comprising: configuring the RFID tag to transmit an attribute corresponding to the media supply roll in response to interrogation by an RFID reader of a printer in which the media supply roll is installed [Para. 0011].
With regard to claim 5, Hohberger discloses wherein the attribute includes at least one of: a type of media on the media supply roll [Para. 0045]; a print method compatible with the media; and a print width of the media.
With regard to claim 6, Hohberger discloses further comprising: defining the inner wall and the outer wall to be substantially perpendicular to a center axis of the core [Fig. 12D].
With regard to claim 7, Hohberger discloses further comprises: defining the retaining element to include a plurality of tabs extending from the inner wall substantially parallel to the center axis, the tabs configured for insertion into respective slots defined in an end of the core [Fig. 12D].
With regard to claim 9, Hohberger discloses wherein the inner wall includes a sleeve extending substantially parallel to the center axis of rotation, the sleeve defining the retaining element and configured for insertion into a channel extending through the core [Fig. 12D].
With regard to claim 11, Hohberger discloses further comprising: defining the inner wall and the outer wall to be substantially parallel to a center axis of the core [Figs. 11-12].
With regard to claim 13, Hohberger discloses wherein the retaining element includes a ridge configured to engage with a corresponding channel of the core to snap the tag mount onto the core [Fig. 12D].
With regard to claim 14, Hohberger discloses a media supply (1410) [Para. 0079] comprising:
a hollow cylindrical core [Fig. 12D], the hollow cylindrical core including a channel formed at one end of the hollow cylindrical [Fig. 12D], the channel extending circumferentially about an interior of the hollow cylindrical channel [Fig. 12D];
a web of continuous media [ribbon or film; Para. 0078] wrapped around the hollow cylindrical core defining a media roll [Para. 0078];
a tag mount (1415) having a cylindrical body defining a first (inner) wall and a second (outer) wall, the first wall and the second wall are substantially parallel to center axis of the core [Fig. 12D];
an antenna (1430) affixed to the second wall [Fig. 12D];
integrated circuit coupled to the antenna [memory components are provided by a chip and operatively connected through leads to the antenna; Para. 0008], and
the cylindrical body configured to be inserted into the channel formed about the interior of the hollow cylindrical core such that the first wall is press-fit against the channel [Fig. 12D].
With regard to claim 15, Hohberger discloses wherein a thickness of the hollow cylindrical core is reduce by the channel [Fig. 12D].
With regard to claim 16, Hohberger discloses wherein a thickness of the cylindrical body of the tag mount compensates for the reduced thickness of the hollow cylindrical core for the channel [Fig. 12D].
With regard to claim 17, Hohberger discloses wherein the tag mount nests entirely within the hollow cylindrical core [Fig. 12D].
With regard to claim 18. Hohberger discloses wherein the tag mount and the hollow cylindrical core are coaxially aligned relative to the center axis [Fig. 12D].
With regard to claim 19, Hohberger discloses further comprising: forming a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag with the antenna and the integrated circuit [Para. 0008].
With regard to claim 20. Hohberger discloses wherein the RFID tag is configured to transmit an attribute corresponding to the media roll in response to interrogation by an RFID reader of a printer in which the media supply roll is installed [Para. 0011],
wherein the attribute includes at least one of:
a type of media on the media supply roll [Para. 0045];
a print method compatible with the media; or a print width of the media.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hohberger (US 2003/0048050) in view of Hayashi (JP 2007261769).
With regard to claim 4, Hohberger does not disclose further comprising: configuring the RFID tag to store a supply count, receive an updated supply count from the printer, and update the stored supply count.
Hayashi teaches wherein the RFID tag is configured to: store a supply count [information regarding the remaining amount of paper is stored; Para. 0026]; receive an updated supply count from the printer [control unit of printer provides updated information to rewrite in storage, such as the amount of paper remaining; Para. 0021]; and update the stored supply count [the storage is rewritten to update the amount of paper remaining; Para. 0024].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the RFID tag of Hohberger to store a supply count, receive an updated supply count from the printer and update the stored supply count for the purpose of authenticating an article paper used in the printer.
With regard to claim 10, Hohberger does not disclose further comprising: defining the carrier surface on the outer wall.
Hayashi teaches defining a carrier surface (3) on the outer wall [antenna 35 is affixed to the carrier surface; Fig. 4A].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a carrier surface on the outer wall of Hohberger for the purpose of disposing an antenna for communication with the main body.
Conclusion
/TRACEY M MCMILLION/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/KRISTAL FEGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853