DETAILED ACTION
The following FINAL Office Action is in response to Applicant’s communication filed 08/05/2026 regarding Application 19/052,223.
Status of Claim(s)
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, and 9-12 is/are currently pending and are rejected as follows.
Response to Arguments – 101 Rejection
Applicant’s arguments and amendments with regard to the previously applied 101 rejection have been fully considered and deemed persuasive.
Accordingly, Examiner withdraws the previously applied 101 rejection.
Response to Arguments – 102 Rejection
Applicant’s arguments with regards to the previously applied 102 rejection are rendered moot in view of the amended prior art rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomita (US 2020/0064863 A1) in view of Morimoto (US 2024/0081167 A1)
Claim(s) 1 and 9-10 –
Tomita discloses the following:
an information acquisition unit that acquires apparatus position information measured by a position measuring device and travel mode information wherein the apparatus position information indicates position a work apparatus that includes a plurality of travel modes, and performs work in a field, and wherein the travel mode information indicates a travel mode of the work apparatus; and (Tomita: Paragraph 13, “A work vehicle automatic traveling system, which is for a plurality of work vehicles that carry out work travel cooperatively in a work site while exchanging data, includes: an area setting unit that sets the work site to an outer peripheral area, and an area to be worked on an inner side of the outer peripheral area; a host vehicle position calculating unit that calculates a host vehicle position; a route managing unit that manages a travel route element set and a circling route element set so as to be capable of readout, the travel route element set being an aggregate of multiple travel route elements constituting a travel route that covers the area to be worked, and the circling route element set being an aggregate of circling route elements constituting a circling route that goes around the outer peripheral area; a route element selecting unit that, on the basis of state information, sequentially selects a next travel route element, on which the work vehicle is to travel next, from the travel route element set, or a next circling route element, on which the work vehicle is to travel next, from the circling route element set; and an autonomous travel controlling unit that executes autonomous travel on the basis of the next travel route element and the host vehicle position. Furthermore, the route element selecting unit includes a cooperative route element selection rule employed when the plurality of work vehicles carry out work travel cooperatively in the area to be worked, and an independent route element selection rule employed when one of the work vehicles acts as an independent work vehicle and carries out independent work travel in the area to be worked. In this work vehicle automatic traveling system, when the independent work vehicle is carrying out independent work travel in the area to be worked, and a work vehicle aside from that vehicle is carrying out circling travel based on the circling route element or is stopped, the route element selecting unit of the independent work vehicle selects the next travel route element on the basis of the independent route element selection rule.”; Paragraph 58, “Furthermore, in this specification, the term “work environment of the work vehicle” can include the state of the work vehicle, the state of the work site, commands from a person (a monitoring party, a driver, an administrator, or the like), and so on, and state information is found by evaluating the work environment. Mechanical factors such as refueling and unloading harvested crops, environmental factors such as changes in weather and the state of the work site, and furthermore, human requests such as unanticipated commands to suspend the work, are included in the state information. When a plurality of work vehicles carry out work travel cooperatively, state information of another vehicle is handled as a work travel state of the other vehicle, and another vehicle positional relationship indicating a positional relationship between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is also included in the work travel state of the other vehicle. Note that the monitoring party, the administrator, or the like may be inside the work vehicle, near the work vehicle, or far from the work vehicle.”; Paragraph 64, “In this work vehicle automatic traveling system, an overall travel route is not determined in advance before the work travel in the area CA to be worked. Rather, the travel route can be changed midway through travel in accordance with circumstances such as the work environment of the work vehicle. To that end, a work state evaluating unit 55 that evaluates the state of the harvester 1, the state of the work site, commands from the monitoring party, and so on, and outputs state information, is provided. Note that the minimum unit (link) between a point (node) and a point (node) where the travel route can be changed is a travel route element. When the autonomous travel is started from a specified location, a next travel route element, which is to be traveled next, is selected in sequence from the travel route element set by a route element selecting unit 63. An autonomous travel controlling unit 511 generates autonomous travel data on the basis of the selected travel route element and the host vehicle position, so that the vehicle follows that travel route element, and executes the autonomous travel.”; Paragraph 69, “Selection rules used when the route element selecting unit 63 selects the next travel route element, which is the next travel route element to be traveled in sequence, can be divided into static rules, which are set in advance before work travel, and dynamic rules, which are used in real time during work travel. The static rules include rules for selecting travel route elements on the basis of a predetermined basic travel pattern, e.g., selecting travel route elements so as to achieve linear back-and-forth travel while carrying out U-turn travel as illustrated in FIG. 3, rules for selecting travel route elements so as to achieve counterclockwise spiral travel moving from the outside to the inside as illustrated in FIG. 4, and so on. In principle, dynamic rules are used preferentially over static rules. The dynamic rules include the content of the state information, such as the state of the harvester 1, the state of the work site, commands from a monitoring party (including a driver, an administrator, and so on), and the like, which change in real time. The work state evaluating unit 55 takes various types of primary information (the work environment), the states of the harvesters 1, the state of the work site, commands from the monitoring party, and the like as input parameters, and outputs the state information. This primary information includes not only signals from various sensors and switches provided in the harvester 1, but also weather information, time information, external facility information from drying facilities or the like, and so on. Furthermore, when a plurality of harvesters 1 work cooperatively, the state information output from the work state evaluating unit 55 also includes the other vehicle positional relationship calculated by the other vehicle positional relationship calculating unit 56. This state information is used as the work travel state of the other vehicle.”)
an output unit that generates work apparatus information indicating a position of the work apparatus and a travel mode of the work apparatus, in association with each other. (Tomita: Paragraph 13, “A work vehicle automatic traveling system, which is for a plurality of work vehicles that carry out work travel cooperatively in a work site while exchanging data, includes: an area setting unit that sets the work site to an outer peripheral area, and an area to be worked on an inner side of the outer peripheral area; a host vehicle position calculating unit that calculates a host vehicle position; a route managing unit that manages a travel route element set and a circling route element set so as to be capable of readout, the travel route element set being an aggregate of multiple travel route elements constituting a travel route that covers the area to be worked, and the circling route element set being an aggregate of circling route elements constituting a circling route that goes around the outer peripheral area; a route element selecting unit that, on the basis of state information, sequentially selects a next travel route element, on which the work vehicle is to travel next, from the travel route element set, or a next circling route element, on which the work vehicle is to travel next, from the circling route element set; and an autonomous travel controlling unit that executes autonomous travel on the basis of the next travel route element and the host vehicle position. Furthermore, the route element selecting unit includes a cooperative route element selection rule employed when the plurality of work vehicles carry out work travel cooperatively in the area to be worked, and an independent route element selection rule employed when one of the work vehicles acts as an independent work vehicle and carries out independent work travel in the area to be worked. In this work vehicle automatic traveling system, when the independent work vehicle is carrying out independent work travel in the area to be worked, and a work vehicle aside from that vehicle is carrying out circling travel based on the circling route element or is stopped, the route element selecting unit of the independent work vehicle selects the next travel route element on the basis of the independent route element selection rule.”; Paragraph 58, “Furthermore, in this specification, the term “work environment of the work vehicle” can include the state of the work vehicle, the state of the work site, commands from a person (a monitoring party, a driver, an administrator, or the like), and so on, and state information is found by evaluating the work environment. Mechanical factors such as refueling and unloading harvested crops, environmental factors such as changes in weather and the state of the work site, and furthermore, human requests such as unanticipated commands to suspend the work, are included in the state information. When a plurality of work vehicles carry out work travel cooperatively, state information of another vehicle is handled as a work travel state of the other vehicle, and another vehicle positional relationship indicating a positional relationship between the host vehicle and the other vehicle is also included in the work travel state of the other vehicle. Note that the monitoring party, the administrator, or the like may be inside the work vehicle, near the work vehicle, or far from the work vehicle.”; Paragraph 64, “In this work vehicle automatic traveling system, an overall travel route is not determined in advance before the work travel in the area CA to be worked. Rather, the travel route can be changed midway through travel in accordance with circumstances such as the work environment of the work vehicle. To that end, a work state evaluating unit 55 that evaluates the state of the harvester 1, the state of the work site, commands from the monitoring party, and so on, and outputs state information, is provided. Note that the minimum unit (link) between a point (node) and a point (node) where the travel route can be changed is a travel route element. When the autonomous travel is started from a specified location, a next travel route element, which is to be traveled next, is selected in sequence from the travel route element set by a route element selecting unit 63. An autonomous travel controlling unit 511 generates autonomous travel data on the basis of the selected travel route element and the host vehicle position, so that the vehicle follows that travel route element, and executes the autonomous travel.”)
displaying on a display terminal, using the work apparatus information (Tomita: Paragraph 75, “The communication terminal 4 includes a communication control unit 40, a touch panel 41, and so on, and functions as a computer system, a user interface function for inputting conditions required for autonomous travel realized by the control unit 5, and so on. By using the communication control unit 40, the communication terminal 4 can exchange data with a management computer 100 over a wireless connection or the Internet, and can also exchange data with the control unit 5 of the harvester 1 using a wireless LAN, a wired LAN, or another communication method. The management computer 100 is a computer system installed in a management center KS in a remote location, and functions as a cloud computer. The management computer 100 stores information sent from farmers, agricultural associations, agriculture industry groups, and so on, and can also send information in response to requests. FIG. 6 illustrates a work site information storage unit 101 and a work plan managing unit 102 as units that realize such server functions. The communication terminal 4 processes data on the basis of external data obtained from the management computer 100, the control unit 5 of the harvester 1, and so on through the communication control unit 40, and on the basis of input data such as user instructions (conditions necessary for autonomous travel) input through the touch panel 41. Results of this data processing are displayed in a display panel unit of the touch panel 41, and can also be sent from the communication terminal 4 to the management computer 100, the control unit 5 of the harvester 1, and so on through the communication control unit 40.”)
Tomita does not explicitly disclose the following, however, in analogous art of work vehicle management, Morimoto discloses the following:
an image indicating a position of the work apparatus on a map, and a travel mode display area indicating the travel mode of the work apparatus in association with the image. (Morimoto: Paragraph 30, “An agricultural machine according to an aspect of a preferred embodiment of the present invention is an agricultural machine to perform agricultural work assisted by an agricultural work assistance system, the agricultural machine including a traveling vehicle body, a coupling portion to couple a working device to the traveling vehicle body, a position detector configured or programmed to detect a position of the traveling vehicle body, a display to display a map representing an agricultural field, and a controller configured or programmed to define or function as an area setter to set a first area and a second area located inward of the first area on the map displayed by the display and a route creator to create, in the first area and the second area, a travel route along which the traveling vehicle body is to travel, and an automatic controller configured or programmed to cause the working device to perform the agricultural work on the agricultural field, wherein the route creator is configured or programmed to set at least a portion of the travel route as an automatic steering route, and the automatic controller is configured or programmed to automatically steer the traveling vehicle body based on the position of the traveling vehicle body and the automatic steering route.”; Paragraph 130, “The positioning device 40 illustrated in FIG. 1 includes a receiver 41 and an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 42. The receiver 41 receives satellite signals (positions of positioning satellites, a transmission time, correction information, and so on) transmitted from a satellite positioning system (positioning satellites) such as D-GPS, GPS, GLONASS, BeiDou, Galileo, or Michibiki. Based on the satellite signals received by the receiver 41, the positioning device 40 detects a current position (for example, a latitude and a longitude). That is, the positioning device 40 is a position detector that detects a position of the traveling vehicle body 3 of the agricultural machine 1. The inertial measurement unit 42 includes an acceleration sensor, a gyroscope sensor, and the like. The inertial measurement unit 42 detects a roll angle, a pitch angle, and a yaw angle, etc. of the traveling vehicle body 3.”; Paragraph 142, “The agricultural field registration screen D2 displays a map MP1, a position Pv of the traveling vehicle body 3 of the agricultural machine 1, a new key B4, a register key B5, a call key B6, a cancel key B7, and a back key B8. The map MP1 displays an image depicting a map of an area around the position where the agricultural machine 1 is located. The data of the map is acquired by the positioning device 40 controlled by the controller 51 or is pre-stored in the storing unit 53. The map MP1 further displays an agricultural field in which the agricultural machine 1 performs agricultural work and is associated with position information such as latitude and longitude. When the user performs a predetermined operation on the map MP1, a map displayed in the map MP1 is zoomed in or out, or the displayed portion of the map is moved.”; Paragraph 143, “FIG. 5A is a diagram for explaining an agricultural field registration method. For example, the user (operator of the agricultural machine 1) selects the new key B4 on the agricultural field registration screen D2 illustrated in FIG. 4, and causes the agricultural machine 1 to travel in a circumferential direction in the agricultural field by manual operation. In so doing, the working device 2 may be raised by the raising/lowering device 8 such that agricultural work is not performed by the working device 2 on the agricultural field, or the working device 2 may be lowered by the raising/lowering device 8 such that agricultural work is performed by the working device 2 on the agricultural field. The controller 51 of the agricultural work assistance apparatus 50 (FIG. 1) acquires, at predetermined interval(s) via the communicator 54, the position Pv detected by the positioning device 40 and stores the detected position Pv in an internal memory upon each acquisition and causes the detected position Pv to be displayed on the map MP1 upon each acquisition. In FIGS. 4 and 5A, only some of the positions Pv are illustrated for convenience of description.”)
Tomita discloses a method for managing travel of work vehicles. Morimoto discloses a method for coordination and assistance of agricultural work vehicles. Before the effective filing date of Applicant’s filed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have deemed it obvious to combine the methods of Tomita with the teachings of Morimoto in order to reduce the overall burden on work vehicle operators as disclosed by Morimoto (Morimoto: Paragraph 5, “In view of the above problems, preferred embodiments of the present invention make it possible to reduce the burden on the operator of the agricultural machine and improve the efficiency of agricultural work.”)
Claim(s) 3 –
Tomita in view of Morimoto disclose the limitations of claim 1
Tomita further discloses the following:
the plurality of travel modes include a manual travel mode in which the work apparatus is manually controlled by a worker riding on the work apparatus (Tomita: Paragraph 73, “The harvester 1 is capable of autonomous travel through autonomous steering, and manual travel through manual steering. Conventional autonomous travel, in which the overall travel route is determined in advance, and autonomous travel in which the next travel route is determined in real time on the basis of state information, are possible as the autonomous travel. In the present application, the former travel, in which the overall travel route is determined in advance, will be called “traditional travel”, and the latter travel, in which the next travel route is determined in real time, will be called “autonomous travel”, so as to handle the two as distinct concepts. The configuration is such that the routes of the traditional travel are registered in advance according to several patterns, or can be set as desired by the monitoring party using the communication terminal 4 or the like, for example.”; Paragraph 98, “The input processing unit 8 is connected to the satellite positioning module 80, a travel system detection sensor group 81, a work system detection sensor group 82, an automatic/manual toggle operation implement 83, and so on. The travel system detection sensor group 81 includes sensors that detect travel states, such as engine RPM, a shift state, and so on. The work system detection sensor group 82 includes a sensor that detects a height position of the harvesting section 15, a sensor that detects an amount held in the harvested crop tank 14, and so on. The automatic/manual toggle operation implement 83 is a switch that selects either an autonomous travel mode, which travels with autonomous steering, or a manual travel mode, which travels with manual steering. Additionally, a switch for switching between autonomous travel and traditional travel is provided in the driving section 12, or configured in the communication terminal 4.”)
an automatic travel mode in which the work apparatus is controlled form a control terminal that is communicably connected to the work apparatus (Tomita: Paragraph 73, “The harvester 1 is capable of autonomous travel through autonomous steering, and manual travel through manual steering. Conventional autonomous travel, in which the overall travel route is determined in advance, and autonomous travel in which the next travel route is determined in real time on the basis of state information, are possible as the autonomous travel. In the present application, the former travel, in which the overall travel route is determined in advance, will be called “traditional travel”, and the latter travel, in which the next travel route is determined in real time, will be called “autonomous travel”, so as to handle the two as distinct concepts. The configuration is such that the routes of the traditional travel are registered in advance according to several patterns, or can be set as desired by the monitoring party using the communication terminal 4 or the like, for example.”; Paragraph 98, “The input processing unit 8 is connected to the satellite positioning module 80, a travel system detection sensor group 81, a work system detection sensor group 82, an automatic/manual toggle operation implement 83, and so on. The travel system detection sensor group 81 includes sensors that detect travel states, such as engine RPM, a shift state, and so on. The work system detection sensor group 82 includes a sensor that detects a height position of the harvesting section 15, a sensor that detects an amount held in the harvested crop tank 14, and so on. The automatic/manual toggle operation implement 83 is a switch that selects either an autonomous travel mode, which travels with autonomous steering, or a manual travel mode, which travels with manual steering. Additionally, a switch for switching between autonomous travel and traditional travel is provided in the driving section 12, or configured in the communication terminal 4.”)
Claim(s) 4 –
Tomita in view of Morimoto disclose the limitations of claim 1
Tomita further discloses the following:
wherein the automatic travel mode includes a boarding travel mode in which the work apparatus is controlled from the control terminal that is loaded in the work apparatus, while a worker is riding on the work apparatus, (Tomita: Paragraph 60, “For the harvester 1 incorporated into the work vehicle automatic traveling system according to the present invention to carry out the harvesting work through autonomous travel, it is necessary to provide a travel route managing device that generates travel routes serving as objectives of the travel and manages those travel routes. The basic configuration of this travel route managing device, and a basic flow of autonomous travel control using the travel route managing device, will be described using FIG. 2.”; Paragraph 64, “In this work vehicle automatic traveling system, an overall travel route is not determined in advance before the work travel in the area CA to be worked. Rather, the travel route can be changed midway through travel in accordance with circumstances such as the work environment of the work vehicle. To that end, a work state evaluating unit 55 that evaluates the state of the harvester 1, the state of the work site, commands from the monitoring party, and so on, and outputs state information, is provided. Note that the minimum unit (link) between a point (node) and a point (node) where the travel route can be changed is a travel route element. When the autonomous travel is started from a specified location, a next travel route element, which is to be traveled next, is selected in sequence from the travel route element set by a route element selecting unit 63. An autonomous travel controlling unit 511 generates autonomous travel data on the basis of the selected travel route element and the host vehicle position, so that the vehicle follows that travel route element, and executes the autonomous travel.”; Paragraph 66, “When a plurality of the harvesters 1, which carry out work travel cooperatively, are incorporated into the work vehicle automatic traveling system, another vehicle positional relationship calculating unit 56, which calculates the positional relationship between the harvesters 1, is included. The other vehicle positional relationship calculating unit 56 calculates the other vehicle positional relationship, which includes the position of the one harvester 1 (the host vehicle position), the position of the other harvester 1 (another vehicle position), the travel direction of the one harvester 1, the travel direction of the other harvester 1, and the like. The other vehicle positional relationship is one piece of data expressing the work travel states of the harvesters 1. The work travel state is state information output from the work state evaluating unit 55 by evaluating the states of the harvesters 1, the state of the work site, commands from the monitoring party, and so on. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the other vehicle positional relationship calculated by the other vehicle positional relationship calculating unit 56 is sent to the work state evaluating unit 55. When a plurality of harvesters carry out work travel cooperatively, the work state evaluating unit 55 sends the work travel state of the other vehicle to the route element selecting unit 63.”; Paragraph 69, “Selection rules used when the route element selecting unit 63 selects the next travel route element, which is the next travel route element to be traveled in sequence, can be divided into static rules, which are set in advance before work travel, and dynamic rules, which are used in real time during work travel. The static rules include rules for selecting travel route elements on the basis of a predetermined basic travel pattern, e.g., selecting travel route elements so as to achieve linear back-and-forth travel while carrying out U-turn travel as illustrated in FIG. 3, rules for selecting travel route elements so as to achieve counterclockwise spiral travel moving from the outside to the inside as illustrated in FIG. 4, and so on. In principle, dynamic rules are used preferentially over static rules. The dynamic rules include the content of the state information, such as the state of the harvester 1, the state of the work site, commands from a monitoring party (including a driver, an administrator, and so on), and the like, which change in real time. The work state evaluating unit 55 takes various types of primary information (the work environment), the states of the harvesters 1, the state of the work site, commands from the monitoring party, and the like as input parameters, and outputs the state information. This primary information includes not only signals from various sensors and switches provided in the harvester 1, but also weather information, time information, external facility information from drying facilities or the like, and so on. Furthermore, when a plurality of harvesters 1 work cooperatively, the state information output from the work state evaluating unit 55 also includes the other vehicle positional relationship calculated by the other vehicle positional relationship calculating unit 56. This state information is used as the work travel state of the other vehicle.”)
and a non-boarding travel mode in which the work apparatus is controlled from the control terminal that is not loaded in the work apparatus, without a worker riding on the work apparatus. (Tomita: Paragraph 60, “For the harvester 1 incorporated into the work vehicle automatic traveling system according to the present invention to carry out the harvesting work through autonomous travel, it is necessary to provide a travel route managing device that generates travel routes serving as objectives of the travel and manages those travel routes. The basic configuration of this travel route managing device, and a basic flow of autonomous travel control using the travel route managing device, will be described using FIG. 2.”; Paragraph 64, “In this work vehicle automatic traveling system, an overall travel route is not determined in advance before the work travel in the area CA to be worked. Rather, the travel route can be changed midway through travel in accordance with circumstances such as the work environment of the work vehicle. To that end, a work state evaluating unit 55 that evaluates the state of the harvester 1, the state of the work site, commands from the monitoring party, and so on, and outputs state information, is provided. Note that the minimum unit (link) between a point (node) and a point (node) where the travel route can be changed is a travel route element. When the autonomous travel is started from a specified location, a next travel route element, which is to be traveled next, is selected in sequence from the travel route element set by a route element selecting unit 63. An autonomous travel controlling unit 511 generates autonomous travel data on the basis of the selected travel route element and the host vehicle position, so that the vehicle follows that travel route element, and executes the autonomous travel.”; Paragraph 66, “When a plurality of the harvesters 1, which carry out work travel cooperatively, are incorporated into the work vehicle automatic traveling system, another vehicle positional relationship calculating unit 56, which calculates the positional relationship between the harvesters 1, is included. The other vehicle positional relationship calculating unit 56 calculates the other vehicle positional relationship, which includes the position of the one harvester 1 (the host vehicle position), the position of the other harvester 1 (another vehicle position), the travel direction of the one harvester 1, the travel direction of the other harvester 1, and the like. The other vehicle positional relationship is one piece of data expressing the work travel states of the harvesters 1. The work travel state is state information output from the work state evaluating unit 55 by evaluating the states of the harvesters 1, the state of the work site, commands from the monitoring party, and so on. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the other vehicle positional relationship calculated by the other vehicle positional relationship calculating unit 56 is sent to the work state evaluating unit 55. When a plurality of harvesters carry out work travel cooperatively, the work state evaluating unit 55 sends the work travel state of the other vehicle to the route element selecting unit 63.”; Paragraph 69, “Selection rules used when the route element selecting unit 63 selects the next travel route element, which is the next travel route element to be traveled in sequence, can be divided into static rules, which are set in advance before work travel, and dynamic rules, which are used in real time during work travel. The static rules include rules for selecting travel route elements on the basis of a predetermined basic travel pattern, e.g., selecting travel route elements so as to achieve linear back-and-forth travel while carrying out U-turn travel as illustrated in FIG. 3, rules for selecting travel route elements so as to achieve counterclockwise spiral travel moving from the outside to the inside as illustrated in FIG. 4, and so on. In principle, dynamic rules are used preferentially over static rules. The dynamic rules include the content of the state information, such as the state of the harvester 1, the state of the work site, commands from a monitoring party (including a driver, an administrator, and so on), and the like, which change in real time. The work state evaluating unit 55 takes various types of primary information (the work environment), the states of the harvesters 1, the state of the work site, commands from the monitoring party, and the like as input parameters, and outputs the state information. This primary information includes not only signals from various sensors and switches provided in the harvester 1, but also weather information, time information, external facility information from drying facilities or the like, and so on. Furthermore, when a plurality of harvesters 1 work cooperatively, the state information output from the work state evaluating unit 55 also includes the other vehicle positional relationship calculated by the other vehicle positional relationship calculating unit 56. This state information is used as the work travel state of the other vehicle.”)
Claim(s) 5 –
Tomita in view of Morimoto discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 3-4
Tomita further disclose the following:
control terminal information related to the control terminal that controls the work apparatus, when the work apparatus is controlled in the non-boarding travel mode. (Tomita: Paragraph 69, “Selection rules used when the route element selecting unit 63 selects the next travel route element, which is the next travel route element to be traveled in sequence, can be divided into static rules, which are set in advance before work travel, and dynamic rules, which are used in real time during work travel. The static rules include rules for selecting travel route elements on the basis of a predetermined basic travel pattern, e.g., selecting travel route elements so as to achieve linear back-and-forth travel while carrying out U-turn travel as illustrated in FIG. 3, rules for selecting travel route elements so as to achieve counterclockwise spiral travel moving from the outside to the inside as illustrated in FIG. 4, and so on. In principle, dynamic rules are used preferentially over static rules. The dynamic rules include the content of the state information, such as the state of the harvester 1, the state of the work site, commands from a monitoring party (including a driver, an administrator, and so on), and the like, which change in real time. The work state evaluating unit 55 takes various types of primary information (the work environment), the states of the harvesters 1, the state of the work site, commands from the monitoring party, and the like as input parameters, and outputs the state information. This primary information includes not only signals from various sensors and switches provided in the harvester 1, but also weather information, time information, external facility information from drying facilities or the like, and so on. Furthermore, when a plurality of harvesters 1 work cooperatively, the state information output from the work state evaluating unit 55 also includes the other vehicle positional relationship calculated by the other vehicle positional relationship calculating unit 56. This state information is used as the work travel state of the other vehicle.”; Paragraph 72, “In FIG. 5, the monitoring party (including a driver, an administrator, and the like), which monitors the movement of the harvester 1, boards the harvester 1, and brings a communication terminal 4, which the monitoring party uses for operation, into the harvester 1. However, the communication terminal 4 may be attached to the harvester 1. Furthermore, the monitoring party and the communication terminal 4 may be located outside the harvester 1.”; Paragraph 73, “The harvester 1 is capable of autonomous travel through autonomous steering, and manual travel through manual steering. Conventional autonomous travel, in which the overall travel route is determined in advance, and autonomous travel in which the next travel route is determined in real time on the basis of state information, are possible as the autonomous travel. In the present application, the former travel, in which the overall travel route is determined in advance, will be called “traditional travel”, and the latter travel, in which the next travel route is determined in real time, will be called “autonomous travel”, so as to handle the two as distinct concepts. The configuration is such that the routes of the traditional travel are registered in advance according to several patterns, or can be set as desired by the monitoring party using the communication terminal 4 or the like, for example.”; Paragraph 75, “The communication terminal 4 includes a communication control unit 40, a touch panel 41, and so on, and functions as a computer system, a user interface function for inputting conditions required for autonomous travel realized by the control unit 5, and so on. By using the communication control unit 40, the communication terminal 4 can exchange data with a management computer 100 over a wireless connection or the Internet, and can also exchange data with the control unit 5 of the harvester 1 using a wireless LAN, a wired LAN, or another communication method. The management computer 100 is a computer system installed in a management center KS in a remote location, and functions as a cloud computer. The management computer 100 stores information sent from farmers, agricultural associations, agriculture industry groups, and so on, and can also send information in response to requests. FIG. 6 illustrates a work site information storage unit 101 and a work plan managing unit 102 as units that realize such server functions. The communication terminal 4 processes data on the basis of external data obtained from the management computer 100, the control unit 5 of the harvester 1, and so on through the communication control unit 40, and on the basis of input data such as user instructions (conditions necessary for autonomous travel) input through the touch panel 41. Results of this data processing are displayed in a display panel unit of the touch panel 41, and can also be sent from the communication terminal 4 to the management computer 100, the control unit 5 of the harvester 1, and so on through the communication control unit 40.”)
Claim(s) 6 –
Tomita in view of Morimoto discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 3-5
Tomita further discloses the following:
wherein the control terminal information indicates a position of the control terminal. (Tomita: Paragraph 66, “When a plurality of the harvesters 1, which carry out work travel cooperatively, are incorporated into the work vehicle automatic traveling system, another vehicle positional relationship calculating unit 56, which calculates the positional relationship between the harvesters 1, is included. The other vehicle positional relationship calculating unit 56 calculates the other vehicle positional relationship, which includes the position of the one harvester 1 (the host vehicle position), the position of the other harvester 1 (another vehicle position), the travel direction of the one harvester 1, the travel direction of the other harvester 1, and the like. The other vehicle positional relationship is one piece of data expressing the work travel states of the harvesters 1. The work travel state is state information output from the work state evaluating unit 55 by evaluating the states of the harvesters 1, the state of the work site, commands from the monitoring party, and so on. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the other vehicle positional relationship calculated by the other vehicle positional relationship calculating unit 56 is sent to the work state evaluating unit 55. When a plurality of harvesters carry out work travel cooperatively, the work state evaluating unit 55 sends the work travel state of the other vehicle to the route element selecting unit 63.”; Paragraph 139, “When the slave harvester 1s finishes unloading the harvested crops, the route element selecting unit 63 of the slave harvester 1s selects the travel route elements to return along, on the basis of the current position and autonomous travel speed of the slave harvester 1s, the attributes of the travel route element in the area CA to be worked (untraveled/already traveled), the current position and autonomous travel speed of the master harvester 1m, and so on. In this embodiment, the travel route element L43, which is the unworked travel route element located furthest on the outside, is selected. The slave harvester 1s travels through the outer peripheral area SA from the parking position, in the counterclockwise direction, along the travel route element having a “return route” attribute, and enters the travel route element L43 from the left end of the travel route element L43. Once the route element selecting unit 63 of the slave harvester 1s selects the travel route element L43, that information is sent to the master harvester 1m as state information. Accordingly, the route element selecting unit 63 of the master harvester 1m cancels the independent route element selection rule and instead employs the cooperative route element selection rule. As a result, assuming a travel route up to the travel route element L33 had been selected, the route element selecting unit 63 of the master harvester 1m selects the travel route element L44 adjacent to the travel route element L43 on the inner side as the next travel route element. As this time, the other vehicle positional relationship calculating unit 56 estimates that the master harvester 1m and the slave harvester 1s will make contact near the point of intersection between the travel route element L33 and the travel route element L44 currently being traveled (selected) by the master harvester 1m and the slave harvester 1s. As a result, the other vehicle positional relationship calculating unit 56 calculates the vicinity of that point of intersection as the estimated contact position. Accordingly, the other vehicle positional relationship calculating unit 56 calculates a difference in the time when the master harvester 1m and the slave harvester 1s will pass near that point of intersection, and if the time difference is less than or equal to a predetermined value (if it is estimated that the master harvester 1m and the slave harvester 1s will come into contact), sends a command to the autonomous travel controlling unit 511 so that the harvester 1 which passes later (the master harvester 1m, here) stops temporarily to avoid a collision. After the slave harvester 1s has passed that point of intersection, the master harvester 1m once again starts the autonomous travel. In this manner, the master harvester 1m and the slave harvester 1s exchange information such as the host vehicle positions, the selected travel route elements, and so on, and thus collision avoidance behavior, delay avoidance behavior, and so on can be executed.”)
Claim(s) 7 –
Tomita in view of Morimoto discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 3-5
Tomita further discloses the following:
control terminal information indicates a worker who operates the control terminal. (Tomita: Paragraph 69, “Selection rules used when the route element selecting unit 63 selects the next travel route element, which is the next travel route element to be traveled in sequence, can be divided into static rules, which are set in advance before work travel, and dynamic rules, which are used in real time during work travel. The static rules include rules for selecting travel route elements on the basis of a predetermined basic travel pattern, e.g., selecting travel route elements so as to achieve linear back-and-forth travel while carrying out U-turn travel as illustrated in FIG. 3, rules for selecting travel route elements so as to achieve counterclockwise spiral travel moving from the outside to the inside as illustrated in FIG. 4, and so on. In principle, dynamic rules are used preferentially over static rules. The dynamic rules include the content of the state information, such as the state of the harvester 1, the state of the work site, commands from a monitoring party (including a driver, an administrator, and so on), and the like, which change in real time. The work state evaluating unit 55 takes various types of primary information (the work environment), the states of the harvesters 1, the state of the work site, commands from the monitoring party, and the like as input parameters, and outputs the state information. This primary information includes not only signals from various sensors and switches provided in the harvester 1, but also weather information, time information, external facility information from drying facilities or the like, and so on. Furthermore, when a plurality of harvesters 1 work cooperatively, the state information output from the work state evaluating unit 55 also includes the other vehicle positional relationship calculated by the other vehicle positional relationship calculating unit 56. This state information is used as the work travel state of the other vehicle.”; Paragraph 85, “A work site data input unit 42 inputs the field information downloaded from the management computer 100, information obtained from the work plan manual or the communication terminal 4, or the like. A schematic diagram of the field, the positions of exits from and entrances to the field, a parking position for receiving support from a work support vehicle, and so on included in the field information are displayed in the touch panel 41. This makes it possible to assist the circling travel for forming the outer peripheral area SA carried out by the driver. If data such as the exits from and entrances to the field, the parking position, and so on is not included in the field information, the user can input that information through the touch panel 41. The outer shape data generating unit 43 calculates an accurate outer shape and outer dimensions of the field, and an outer shape and outer dimensions of the area CA to be worked, from travel trajectory data obtained from the control unit 5 when the harvester 1 carries out the circling travel (that is, time series data of the host vehicle position). The area setting unit 44 sets the outer peripheral area SA and the area CA to be worked on the basis of the travel trajectory data from when the harvester 1 carries out the circling travel. Positional coordinates of the outer peripheral area SA and the area CA to be worked that have been set, i.e., the outer shape data of the outer peripheral area SA and the area CA to be worked, are used to generate the travel routes for autonomous travel. In this embodiment, the second travel route managing module CM2 constructed in the control unit 5 of the harvester 1 generates the travel routes, and thus the positional coordinates of the outer peripheral area SA and the area CA to be worked that have been set are sent to the second travel route managing module CM2.”; Paragraph 99, “Furthermore, the control unit 5 is provided with a travel control unit 51, a work control unit 52, the host vehicle position calculating unit 53, a notification unit 54, the work state evaluating unit 55, and the other vehicle positional relationship calculating unit 56. The host vehicle position calculating unit 53 calculates the host vehicle position on the basis of positioning data output from the satellite positioning module 80. Because the harvester 1 is configured to be capable of traveling through both autonomous travel (autonomous steering) and manual travel (manual steering), the travel control unit 51 that controls the vehicle travel device group 71 includes the autonomous travel controlling unit 511 and a manual travel controlling unit 512. The manual travel controlling unit 512 controls the vehicle travel device group 71 on the basis of operations made by the driver. The autonomous travel controlling unit 511 calculates directional skew and positional skew between the travel route set by the route setting unit 64 and the host vehicle position, generates autonomous steering commands, and outputs the commands to the steering device via the output processing unit 7. The work control unit 52 supplies control signals to the work device group 72 in order to control the operations of operation devices provided in the harvesting section 15, the threshing device 13, the discharge device 18, and so on that constitute the harvester 1. The notification unit 54 generates notification signals (display data, audio data, and so on) for notifying the driver, the monitoring party, or the like of necessary information through the notifying device 73, which is a display or the like. The work state evaluating unit 55 outputs the state information, which includes the states of the harvesters 1, the state of the work site, and commands from people (the monitoring party, a driver, an administrator, and the like), from the detection results from various types of sensors, operation results from various types of operational implements, and so on. If a plurality of harvesters 1 are working cooperatively, the other vehicle positional relationship calculating unit 56 calculates the other vehicle positional relationship, indicating the position of the other vehicle and the positional relationship between the host vehicle and the other vehicle. The host vehicle position and travel route elements selected by the host vehicle, and the other vehicle position and travel route elements selected by the other vehicle, are used in the calculation of the other vehicle positional relationship. Furthermore, the other vehicle positional relationship calculating unit 56 has a function for calculating an estimated contact position between the work vehicles.”)
Claim(s) 11 –
Tomita in view of Morimoto discloses the limitations of claim 1
Tomita does not explicitly disclose the following, however, in analogous art of work vehicle management, Morimoto discloses the following:
wherein the apparatus position information comprises latitude and longitude. (Morimoto: Paragraph 130, “The positioning device 40 illustrated in FIG. 1 includes a receiver 41 and an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 42. The receiver 41 receives satellite signals (positions of positioning satellites, a transmission time, correction information, and so on) transmitted from a satellite positioning system (positioning satellites) such as D-GPS, GPS, GLONASS, BeiDou, Galileo, or Michibiki. Based on the satellite signals received by the receiver 41, the positioning device 40 detects a current position (for example, a latitude and a longitude). That is, the positioning device 40 is a position detector that detects a position of the traveling vehicle body 3 of the agricultural machine 1. The inertial measurement unit 42 includes an acceleration sensor, a gyroscope sensor, and the like. The inertial measurement unit 42 detects a roll angle, a pitch angle, and a yaw angle, etc. of the traveling vehicle body 3.”; Paragraph 142, “The agricultural field registration screen D2 displays a map MP1, a position Pv of the traveling vehicle body 3 of the agricultural machine 1, a new key B4, a register key B5, a call key B6, a cancel key B7, and a back key B8. The map MP1 displays an image depicting a map of an area around the position where the agricultural machine 1 is located. The data of the map is acquired by the positioning device 40 controlled by the controller 51 or is pre-stored in the storing unit 53. The map MP1 further displays an agricultural field in which the agricultural machine 1 performs agricultural work and is associated with position information such as latitude and longitude. When the user performs a predetermined operation on the map MP1, a map displayed in the map MP1 is zoomed in or out, or the displayed portion of the map is moved.”; Paragraph 148, “Additionally or alternatively, when the agricultural machine 1 travels in the circumferential direction, the user may designate corners of the agricultural field as illustrated in FIG. 5C by operating a predetermined switch, etc. provided in the operation unit 62. In such a case, the agricultural field register 51a obtains a line K3 passing through the corners of the agricultural field in the designated order and then returning to the first designated corner. Then, the line H1 may be obtained between the travel path K1 and the outline of the map MP1 by displacing the line K3 by the displacement amount mentioned above, the line H1 may be set as the contour H1 of the agricultural field and the agricultural field map MP2, and the agricultural field map MP2 may be stored in the storing unit 53. The contour H1 of the agricultural field and the agricultural field map MP2 may be, for example, data represented by positions (latitude and longitude), data represented by coordinates (X axis, Y axis), or data represented in some other fashion.”)
Tomita discloses a method for managing travel of work vehicles. Morimoto discloses a method for coordination and assistance of agricultural work vehicles. Before the effective filing date of Applicant’s filed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have deemed it obvious to combine the methods of Tomita with the teachings of Morimoto in order to reduce the overall burden on work vehicle operators as disclosed by Morimoto (Morimoto: Paragraph 5, “In view of the above problems, preferred embodiments of the present invention make it possible to reduce the burden on the operator of the agricultural machine and improve the efficiency of agricultural work.”)
Claim(s) 12 –
Tomita in view of Morimoto discloses the limitations of claim 1
Tomita does not explicitly disclose the following, however, in analogous art of work vehicle management, Morimoto discloses the following:
wherein the position measuring device comprises a receiver of a global navigation satellite system or a quantum compass. (Morimoto: Paragraph 130, “The positioning device 40 illustrated in FIG. 1 includes a receiver 41 and an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 42. The receiver 41 receives satellite signals (positions of positioning satellites, a transmission time, correction information, and so on) transmitted from a satellite positioning system (positioning satellites) such as D-GPS, GPS, GLONASS, BeiDou, Galileo, or Michibiki. Based on the satellite signals received by the receiver 41, the positioning device 40 detects a current position (for example, a latitude and a longitude). That is, the positioning device 40 is a position detector that detects a position of the traveling vehicle body 3 of the agricultural machine 1. The inertial measurement unit 42 includes an acceleration sensor, a gyroscope sensor, and the like. The inertial measurement unit 42 detects a roll angle, a pitch angle, and a yaw angle, etc. of the traveling vehicle body 3.”; Paragraph 142, “The agricultural field registration screen D2 displays a map MP1, a position Pv of the traveling vehicle body 3 of the agricultural machine 1, a new key B4, a register key B5, a call key B6, a cancel key B7, and a back key B8. The map MP1 displays an image depicting a map of an area around the position where the agricultural machine 1 is located. The data of the map is acquired by the positioning device 40 controlled by the controller 51 or is pre-stored in the storing unit 53. The map MP1 further displays an agricultural field in which the agricultural machine 1 performs agricultural work and is associated with position information such as latitude and longitude. When the user performs a predetermined operation on the map MP1, a map displayed in the map MP1 is zoomed in or out, or the displayed portion of the map is moved.”; Paragraph 148, “Additionally or alternatively, when the agricultural machine 1 travels in the circumferential direction, the user may designate corners of the agricultural field as illustrated in FIG. 5C by operating a predetermined switch, etc. provided in the operation unit 62. In such a case, the agricultural field register 51a obtains a line K3 passing through the corners of the agricultural field in the designated order and then returning to the first designated corner. Then, the line H1 may be obtained between the travel path K1 and the outline of the map MP1 by displacing the line K3 by the displacement amount mentioned above, the line H1 may be set as the contour H1 of the agricultural field and the agricultural field map MP2, and the agricultural field map MP2 may be stored in the storing unit 53. The contour H1 of the agricultural field and the agricultural field map MP2 may be, for example, data represented by positions (latitude and longitude), data represented by coordinates (X axis, Y axis), or data represented in some other fashion.”)
Tomita discloses a method for managing travel of work vehicles. Morimoto discloses a method for coordination and assistance of agricultural work vehicles. Before the effective filing date of Applicant’s filed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have deemed it obvious to combine the methods of Tomita with the teachings of Morimoto in order to reduce the overall burden on work vehicle operators as disclosed by Morimoto (Morimoto: Paragraph 5, “In view of the above problems, preferred embodiments of the present invention make it possible to reduce the burden on the operator of the agricultural machine and improve the efficiency of agricultural work.”)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Philip N Warner/Examiner, Art Unit 3624
/Jerry O'Connor/Supervisory Patent Examiner,Group Art Unit 3624