DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 09/30/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-2, 9-11, are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: it has abrasive grains "are dispersed are disposed". This is redundant and confusing. Please delete one.. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida (US 20230329673 A1) in view of Shibata (US 20050179344 A1) and Yamadera (US 20220385265 A1) or Suzuki (US 20100156241 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshida teaches an ultrasound probe in which a plurality of piezoelectric elements are arranged in an array on a backing material along a first direction[Fig 1,2, 0031 has ultrasonic probe with peizo electric elements #101 with backing layer #107 with 0051-0054 discussing layer direction either A or B], the ultrasound probe comprising:
a flexible circuit board disposed between the backing material and the plurality of piezoelectric elements[Fig 2 has circuit board #105 with elements #101 and backing layer #107],
wherein each of the plurality of piezoelectric elements comprising a laminate in which a signal electrode layer, a piezoelectric body portion, and a ground electrode layer are sequentially laminated in a lamination direction on a surface of the flexible circuit board[Fig 2 shows they are laminated layers. See also title, abstract and summary and 0051-0055],
the signal electrode layer is electrically connected to the flexible circuit board[the piezoelectric elements would necessarily need electrodes based on the principles of physics],
the flexible circuit board is longer than the piezoelectric body portion in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction and the lamination direction [Fig 2 has circuit board #105 with two directions A and B and it is longer than the elements in the direction],…..
and the ground electrode layer is electrically connected to the flexible circuit board via metal foil that extends from the surface of the laminate to the surfaces of the first members and side surfaces of the first members in the second direction. [Fig 12 and 0052-0053 has conductive surface plating]
Yoshida does not explicitly teach first members consisting of an adhesive in which abrasive grains are dispersed are disposed on the surface of the flexible circuit board and adjacent to end parts of the laminate in the second direction[Though members #106. 0054-0057 have the same shown to be in either direction in fig 3, 4, 12 and claims 15, 16 have abrasive grains surfaces of the first members form a a same surface as surface of the laminate in the lamination direction]
surfaces of the first members form a same surface as a surface of the laminate in the lamination direction,
Shibata teaches first members consisting of an adhesive in ….. on the surface of the flexible circuit board and adjacent to end parts of the laminate in the second direction [Fig 22 has adhesive layer 13b holding the layer as claimed]
surfaces of the first members form a same surface as a surface of the laminate in the lamination direction,[Fig 22 has adhesive layer 13b in the direction as claimed]
Yamadera[0034 has adhesive layer containing abrasive grains] or Suzuki [0005-0006, 0011, 0018, 0032 and claim 1 has abrasive grains in the adhesive layer] has adhesive in which abrasive grains are dispersed are disposed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic probe in Yoshida with the adhesives containing abrasive grains as taught by Yamadera or Suzuki attached in by the adhesive layer of Shibata in the lamination direction on the end parts in order to have an ultrasonic probe with abrasive grains attached in a particular direction.
Regarding claim 2, Yoshida, as modified, teaches wherein the first members are each disposed at both end parts of the laminate in the second direction. [members #106. 0054-0057 have the same shown to be in either direction in fig 3, 4, 12. Moreover members and laminate have to have an end sometime]
Shibata teaches wherein the first members are each disposed at both end parts of the laminate in the second direction. [Fig 22 has adhesive layer 13b holding the layer in the direction as claimed]
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Yoshida, as modified, teaches wherein the first members have an acoustic attenuation rate equal to or higher than an acoustic attenuation rate of the backing material. [0059, 0066 and claim 7 has attenuation and 0051-0052, 0070 and claims 2, 5, 8 has acoustic impedance of various layers].
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified attenuation rates of the material, since it has been held that where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art. See, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Moreover, Applicant should note that nothing of record, nor known in the art, suggests that using the specific claimed range or value yields any previously unexpected results.
Regarding claims 5, 6, 7, and 8 Yoshida, as modified, teaches wherein the first members consist of a vitreous adhesive or a ceramic adhesive in which any of a white alumina abrasive, a green silicon carbide, or a resinoid is dispersed as the abrasive grains. [0057-0059 has alumina, carbide, resin, ceramic and abrasive such as diamond or any other ]
Yamadera also teaches wherein the first members consist of a vitreous adhesive or a ceramic adhesive in which any of a white alumina abrasive, a green silicon carbide, or a resinoid is dispersed as the abrasive grains. [0034 has alumina, as abrasive].
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use such materials, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claims 9, 10, and 11, Yoshida, as modified, teaches wherein second members having an acoustic attenuation rate higher than an acoustic attenuation rate of the first members are disposed between the end parts of the laminate in the second direction and the first members. [0059, 0066 and claim 7 has attenuation and 0051-0052, 0070 and claims 2, 5, 8 has acoustic impedance of various layers]
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified attenuation rates of the layers, since it has been held that where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art. See, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Moreover, Applicant should note that nothing of record, nor known in the art, suggests that using the specific claimed range or value yields any previously unexpected results.
Regarding claims 12, 13, and 14, Yoshida, as modified, teaches wherein the second members consist of a buffer material. [0059 has epoxy resin].
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use such materials, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claims 15, 16, and 17, Yoshida, as modified, teaches wherein the buffer material consists of a silicone resin or an epoxy resin. [0059 has epoxy resin].
Regarding claims 18, 19, and 20, Yoshida, as modified, teaches further comprising: a dematching layer disposed between the flexible circuit board and the plurality of piezoelectric elements and having an acoustic impedance higher than an acoustic impedance of the piezoelectric body portion. [Fig 2, 3, 4 has dematching layer #104 between elements #101 and circuit board #105; 0059, 0066 and claim 7 has attenuation and 0051-0052, 0070 and claims 2, 5, 8 has acoustic impedance of various layers].
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified acoustic impedance rates of the dematching layer, since it has been held that where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art. See, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Moreover, Applicant should note that nothing of record, nor known in the art, suggests that using the specific claimed range or value yields any previously unexpected results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot because the arguments do not apply to the specific combination of the references being used in the current rejection.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Rejections are maintained – and no allowable subject matter can be identified at this time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VIKAS ATMAKURI/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645