Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the reply filed on 6/10/2026, wherein claims 1, 3-4, 11, 13-14 were amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “a stirring member” in claim 9 and 19 renders the claim indefinite. Firstly, the claim states "a stirring member detachably attached to the lid body". This claim is positively claiming the stirring member attached to the lid. However, the independent claim already positively recites a discharge member as detachably attached to the lid. From the specification and drawings, the discharge Claims 10 and 20 directly or indirectly depend from claim 9 or 19 and are also rejected. See response to arguments for further reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramarenko (US 20220281660 A1) in view of Cheng (US 20090020495 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Kramarenko discloses a lid for a beverage container having a container cavity, comprising: a lid body (100) detachably attached on a beverage container to selectively enclose a container cavity, the lid body having a beverage opening (104) and a discharge opening (126 opening), the beverage opening and the discharge opening communicating with the container cavity; and a supplements discharge arrangement which comprises a supplements discharge member (120) detachably attached on the lid body, the supplements discharge member comprising: a main body (122) having a storage cavity for storing a predetermined amount of beverage supplements, the storage cavity communicating with the container cavity, and a discharge membrane (129) attached to the main body to normally prevent the beverage supplements from being discharged to the container cavity.
Kramarenko failed to disclose the lid body further having a supporting platform and a protruding tube upwardly protruding from the supporting platform; actuation member provided on the main body, the actuation member comprising an engagement cap detachably engaging with the protruding tube, wherein the engagement between the engagement cap and the protruding tube are accomplished through threads, the engagement cap having an engagement cavity and a plurality of engagement threads formed on an inner sidewall of the engagement cavity, wherein the engagement threads are arranged to detachably engage with the threaded portion of the protruding tube, an internal diameter of the engagement cap being larger than an external diameter of the protruding tube; at least one punching member connecting to the actuation member and extending in the storage cavity; wherein when the actuation member is actuated, the punching member is arranged to be driven to break the discharge membrane so as to allow the beverage supplements to be discharged out of the storage cavity and disposed in the container cavity. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely containers with beverage supplements, Cheng taught of an supplement discharge arrangement that featured a support platform (15 or alternatively surface of 110 of Kramarenko adjacent 126) with a protruding tube extending from it with threads (14), an actuation member (35), engagement cap (30) with threads (32) and punching member (51), when the actuated member (35) is pressed, the punching member can push through the membrane. The internal diameter of the engagement cap is inherently larger than an external diameter of a protruding tube in order to allow for mating. This allows for selectively releasing the liquid dissolvable additive while attached (page 1 [0002]). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the supplements discharge member of Kramarenko of to include a punching member and actuation member as taught by Cheng in order to allow for selective release of the additive. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of drinking containers before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the actuation member as taught by Cheng in the system of Kramarenko since the claimed invention is only a combination of these old and well known elements which would have performed the same function in combination as each did separately. In the present case Kramarenko teaches of a lid with a cartridge attachment member and adding an actuation member as taught by Cheng would maintain the same functionality of the Kramarenko, making the results predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143).
With respect to claim 2, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Kramarenko further discloses wherein the lid body has a top cover panel and a peripheral panel (figure 3 above) peripherally and downwardly extending from the top cover panel, wherein the beverage opening (104) and the discharge opening (126 opening) are spacedly formed on the top cover panel.
With respect to claim 3, the references as applied to claim 2, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Kramarenko further discloses wherein the discharge opening (opening in 126) is formed in the protruding tube for communicating with the container cavity when the lid is attached on the container body, the supplements discharge member (120) being detachably engaged with the discharge opening so that the main body is to be selectively inserted in the protruding tube.
With respect to claim 4, the references as applied to claim 3, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the actuation member further comprises a depressing button (35 of Cheng) operatively provided on top of the engagement cap. See claim 1 rejection, above, for Cheng combination rationale.
With respect to claim 5, the references as applied to claim 4, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the punching member (50 of Cheng) extends from the depressing button (35 of Cheng) to the discharge membrane in the main body of the supplements discharge member, so that when the depressing button is depressed, the depressing button is arranged to slightly deform and drive the punching member to move in a corresponding direction for breaking the discharge membrane. See claim 1 rejection, above, for Cheng combination rationale.
With respect to claim 11, Kramarenko discloses a beverage container, comprising: a container body (140) having a container cavity; and a lid (100) detachably attached on the container body, the lid comprising: a lid body detachably attached on the container body to selectively enclose the container cavity, the lid body having a beverage opening (104) and a discharge opening (126 opening), the beverage opening and the discharge opening communicating with the container cavity; and a supplements discharge arrangement which comprises a supplements discharge member (120) detachably attached on the lid body, the supplements discharge member comprising: a main body (122) having a storage cavity for storing a predetermined amount of beverage supplements, the storage cavity communicating with the container cavity ; and a discharge membrane (129) attached on the main body to normally prevent the beverage supplements from being discharged to the container cavity.
Kramarenko failed to disclose the lid body further having a supporting platform and a protruding tube upwardly protruding from the supporting platform; actuation member provided on the main body, the actuation member comprising an engagement cap detachably engaging with the protruding tube, wherein the engagement between the engagement cap and the protruding tube are accomplished through threads, the engagement cap having an engagement cavity and a plurality of engagement threads formed on an inner sidewall of the engagement cavity, wherein the engagement threads are arranged to detachably engage with the threaded portion of the protruding tube, an internal diameter of the engagement cap being larger than an external diameter of the protruding tube; at least one punching member connecting to the actuation member and extending in the storage cavity; wherein when the actuation member is actuated, the punching member is arranged to be driven to break the discharge membrane so as to allow the beverage supplements to be discharged out of the storage cavity and disposed in the container cavity. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely containers with beverage supplements, Cheng taught of an supplement discharge arrangement that featured a support platform (15 or alternatively surface of 110 of Kramarenko adjacent 126) with a protruding tube extending from it with threads (14), an actuation member (35), engagement cap (30) with threads (32) and punching member (51), when the actuated member (35) is pressed, the punching member can push through the membrane. The internal diameter of the engagement cap is inherently larger than an external diameter of a protruding tube in order to allow for mating. This allows for selectively releasing the liquid dissolvable additive while attached (page 1 [0002]). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the supplements discharge member of Kramarenko of to include a punching member and actuation member as taught by Cheng in order to allow for selective release of the additive. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of drinking containers before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the actuation member as taught by Cheng in the system of Kramarenko since the claimed invention is only a combination of these old and well known elements which would have performed the same function in combination as each did separately. In the present case Kramarenko teaches of a lid with a cartridge attachment member and adding an actuation member as taught by Cheng would maintain the same functionality of the Kramarenko, making the results predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143).
With respect to claim 12, the references as applied to claim 11, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Kramarenko further discloses wherein the lid body has a top cover panel and a peripheral panel (figure 3 above) peripherally and downwardly extending from the top cover panel, wherein the beverage opening (104) and the discharge opening (126 opening) are spacedly formed on the top cover panel.
With respect to claim 13, the references as applied to claim 12, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Kramarenko further discloses wherein the discharge opening (opening in 126) is formed in the protruding tube for communicating with the container cavity when the lid is attached on the container body, the supplements discharge member (120) being detachably engaged with the discharge opening so that the main body is to be selectively inserted in the protruding tube.
With respect to claim 14, the references as applied to claim 13, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the actuation member further comprises a depressing button (35 of Cheng) operatively provided on top of the engagement cap. See claim 11 rejection, above, for Cheng combination rationale.
With respect to claim 15, the references as applied to claim 14, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the punching member (50 of Cheng) extends from the depressing button (35 of Cheng) to the discharge membrane in the main body of the supplements discharge member, so that when the depressing button is depressed, the depressing button is arranged to slightly deform and drive the punching member to move in a corresponding direction for breaking the discharge membrane. See claim 11 rejection, above, for Cheng combination rationale.
Claim(s) 6-8 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramarenko (US 20220281660 A1) in view of Cheng (US 20090020495 A1) and Macken (US 20070193894 A1).
With respect to claim 6, the references as applied to claim 5, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the supplements discharge arrangement further comprises a bottom punching portion (item 53 of figures 5-6 of Cheng) provided on top of the discharge membrane, having a plurality of teeth (each bottom blade of 53) formed at the bottom punching portion. See claim 1 rejection, above, for Cheng combination rationale. The references failed to disclose wherein the supplements discharge arrangement further comprises a plurality of punching members extending from the depressing button, each of the punching members being elongated in shape and having a top connecting portion connecting to the depressing button. Cheng did not teach of a plurality of punching members. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely mixing containers, Macken taught of a mixing component that comprises multiple elongate slots (58) with multiple legs (59) in a mixing member to permit the free passage of liquid within the component (page 17 [0326]). Additionally having multiple points of legs/ points of contact allows for a stabler punch. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of mixing containers before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the plurality of punching members as taught by Macken for the singular punching member as disclosed by Kramarenko in view of Cheng since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, with the difference being the substitution of the elements. In the present case, having multiple legs would allow the flow of liquid through the center. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the one known element for the other to produce a predictable result (MPEP 2143).
With respect to claim 7, the references as applied to claim 6, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the bottom punching portions (bottom of 53 Cheng with combination of Macken as described in claim 6 rejection above) of the punching members are integrally connected to form an annular punching tip portion.
With respect to claim 8, the references as applied to claim 7, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the discharge membrane (40 of Cheng) is attached on the main body of the supplements discharge membrane in such a manner that when at least one of the punching members is driven to cut the discharge membrane (page 2 [0029] of Cheng), the teeth are arranged to break the discharge membrane which are in direct contact with the teeth while at the same time the discharge membrane is kept attaching to the main body of the supplements discharge member. (this is inherent in the puncture process, especially at lighter breaking pressures, see claim 1 rejection above for combination rationale.)
With respect to claim 16, the references as applied to claim 15, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the supplements discharge arrangement further comprises a bottom punching portion (item 53 of figures 5-6 of Cheng) provided on top of the discharge membrane, a plurality of teeth (each bottom blade of 53) formed at the bottom punching portion. See claim 11 rejection, above, for Cheng combination rationale. The references failed to disclose wherein the supplements discharge arrangement further comprises a plurality of punching members extending from the depressing button, each of the punching members being elongated in shape and having a top connecting portion connecting to the depressing button. Cheng did not teach of a plurality of punching members. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely mixing containers, Macken taught of a mixing component that comprises multiple elongate slots (58) with multiple legs (59) in a mixing member to permit the free passage of liquid within the component (page 17 [0326]). Additionally having multiple points of legs/ points of contact allows for a stabler punch. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of mixing containers before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the plurality of punching members as taught by Macken for the singular punching member as disclosed by Kramarenko in view of Cheng since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, with the difference being the substitution of the elements. In the present case, having multiple legs would allow the flow of liquid through the center. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the one known element for the other to produce a predictable result (MPEP 2143).
With respect to claim 17, the references as applied to claim 16, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the bottom punching portions (bottom of 53 Cheng with combination of Macken as described in claim 6 rejection above) of the punching members are integrally connected to form an annular punching tip portion.
With respect to claim 18, the references as applied to claim 17, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the discharge membrane (40 of Cheng) is attached on the main body of the supplements discharge membrane in such a manner that when at least one of the punching members is driven to cut the discharge membrane (page 2 [0029] of Cheng), the teeth are arranged to break the discharge membrane which are in direct contact with the teeth while at the same time the discharge membrane is kept attaching to the main body of the supplements discharge member. (this is inherent in the puncture process, especially at lighter breaking pressures, see claim 1 rejection above for combination rationale.)
Claim(s) 9-10 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramarenko (US 20220281660 A1) in view of Cheng (US 20090020495 A1), Macken (US 20070193894 A1) and Winn (US 20080099487 A1).
With respect to claim 9, the references as applied to claim 8, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the supplements discharge arrangement further comprises a stirring member (another one of the supplement discharge members with punching members as taught by Cheng and Macken combination of claim 6) detachably attached to the lid body so as to allow a user to thoroughly mix the supplements with the beverage in the container cavity. The references failed to disclose the stirring member extending in the container cavity. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely mixing containers, Winn taught of a container whose supplement discharge arrangement extends into the container cavity. In the present case, having more additive results in a longer supplement discharge member that can extend into the container. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of mixing containers before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a longer supplement discharge member (length teaching) as taught by Winn for the shorter supplement discharge member as disclosed by Kramarenko, Cheng and Macken since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, with the difference being the substitution of the elements. In the present case, a longer supplement discharge member can hold more volume. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the one known element for the other to produce a predictable result (MPEP 2143).
Examiner Note: In figure 2 of Kramarenko, a supplement discharge arrangement is shown that extends into the container cavity. Ng (US 9549633 B2) teaches of a mixing apparatus with similarly shaped bottom as the bottom portion of the punching member taught by the combination of Cheng and Macken.
With respect to claim 10, the references as applied to claim 9, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the stirring member (another one of the supplement discharge members with punching members as taught by Cheng and Macken combination of claim 6) has a connecting portion (31 of Cheng) detachably connected to the protruding tube, and an elongated stirring portion extending from the connecting portion, the elongated stirring portion having a plurality of elongated slots (58 of Macken as taught by claim 6 rejection above).
With respect to claim 19, the references as applied to claim 18, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the supplements discharge arrangement further comprises a stirring member (another one of the supplement discharge members with punching members as taught by Cheng and Macken combination of claim 16) detachably attached to the lid body so as to allow a user to thoroughly mix the supplements with the beverage in the container cavity. The references failed to disclose the stirring member extending in the container cavity. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely mixing containers, Winn taught of a container whose supplement discharge arrangement extends into the container cavity. In the present case, having more additive results in a longer supplement discharge member that can extend into the container. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of mixing containers before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a longer supplement discharge member (length teaching) as taught by Winn for the shorter supplement discharge member as disclosed by Kramarenko, Cheng and Macken since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, with the difference being the substitution of the elements. In the present case, a longer supplement discharge member can hold more volume. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the one known element for the other to produce a predictable result (MPEP 2143).
Examiner Note: In figure 2 of Kramarenko, a supplement discharge arrangement is shown that extends into the container cavity. Ng (US 9549633 B2) teaches of a mixing apparatus with similarly shaped bottom as the bottom portion of the punching member taught by the combination of Cheng and Macken.
With respect to claim 20, the references as applied to claim 19, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the stirring member (another one of the supplement discharge members with punching members as taught by Cheng and Macken combination of claim 6) has a connecting portion (31 of Cheng) detachably connected to the protruding tube, and an elongated stirring portion extending from the connecting portion, the elongated stirring portion having a plurality of elongated slots (58 of Macken as taught by claim 6 rejection above).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20070193894-A1 OR US-20090020495-A1 OR US-20220281660-A1 OR US-20180178958-A1 OR US-20140202895-A1 OR US-20110089059-A1 OR US-20210380332-A1 OR US-20100300904-A1 OR US-20190367231-A1 OR US-20180208363-A1 OR US-20160280430-A1 OR US-20110139739-A1 OR US-20220265516-A1 OR US-20080099487-A1 OR US-20050284302-A1 OR US-20140263313-A1 OR US-20110068102-A1 OR US-10065775-B2 OR US-9549633-B2 OR US-4785931-A OR US-6959841-B2 OR US-8613372-B2 OR US-8777044-B1 OR US-8960424-B1 OR US-6572256-B2 OR US-6305576-B1 OR US-5114011-A OR US-7017735-B2 OR US-6976578-B1
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the 112b over the "stirring member", applicant amended the claim language to include the phrasing "detachably attached". However, this does not remedy the issue. Both the stirring member and discharge member are stated to be “detachably attached” or “detachably engaging” to the lid. However, these two features cannot coexist at the same time. The term “detachably attached” means an active connection that has the ability to be removed and reattached. The term attached specifically indicates an active connection between objects. Therefore, the claim language conveys an active connection between the stirring member and the lid, as well as the discharge member and the lid. However, this is not true of the present invention.
With respect to claims 1 and 11, applicant argues that Kramarenko failed to disclose of the claimed actuation member and the Cheng is taught to cover the only opening of the main body of the receptacle, where as the present invention covers only the discharge opening of the lid body. However, Kramarenko taught of multiple openings, including one of which openings is the equivalent of the discharge opening of the present invention. Kramarenko is the prior reference. Said opening of Kramarenko is intended to insert a cartridge (aka an actuation member). However, the structure of Kramarenko’s actuation member does not allow for selective dispensing once assembled. However, Cheng teaches of a cartridge (actuation member) that can be attached and advantageously dispensed at a later time. A combination of Cheng and Kramarenko produce the claimed invention. Cheng and Kramarenko are similar fields of endeavor, relating to drinking containers with additive members. Both inventions seek to allow introduction and release of a cartridge and its contents. The combination of these two pieces of art would result in an obvious modification of the prior art. It is only a substitution of Chengs actuation member with Kramarenko’s actuation member. This substitution would advantageously allow selective use of the additive member. The combination of these two references appear to be reasonable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.K.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/ERNESTO A GRANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735