DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on June 16, 2026, have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perlman (US20260047630A1, hereinafter “Perlman”) in view of C.S. Tillotson (US 3474798 A, hereinafter “Tillotson”).
Claim 1. Perlman discloses a wig fixing headband (abstract and Fig 1-4B), comprising a band body (Fig 1A, body of headband 110), wherein the band body has a first connecting part (annotated Fig 1A, A) and a second connecting part (annotated Fig 1A, B); and a regulating component (annotated Fig 1A, C) arranged between the first connecting part and the second connecting part (Fig 1A) for adjusting a distance between the first connecting part and the second connecting part (annotated Fig 1A, the regulating component “C” is for adjusting the distance between “A” and “B”); wherein the regulating component comprises a foldable and extensible regulating band (annotated Fig 1A, “D” is foldable and extensible during adjustment); and wherein when the regulating band is folded, the distance between the first connecting part and the second connecting part decreases (annotated Fig 1A and ¶0048, folding/ shortening the regulating band “D” decreases the distance between the first connecting part “A” and the second connecting part “B”); and when the regulating band is extended, the distance between the first connecting part and the second connecting part increases (annotated Fig 1A, ¶0048, lengthening the regulating band “D” increases the distance between the first connecting part “A” and the second connecting part “B”);
wherein the regulating component further comprises a movable buckle (annotated Fig 1A, E) and a fixed buckle (annotated Fig 1A, F), both of which are provided with a first groove (annotated Fig 1A, opening inside the buckle “E” and “F”), and the movable buckle is further provided with a second groove (annotated Fig 1A, second opening inside movable buckle “E”);
wherein the regulating band (annotated Fig 1 above, D) sequentially passes through the first groove and the second groove of the movable buckle (Fig 1A) and is connected to the movable buckle in a sliding manner (Fig 1A), and the fixed buckle is attached to the second connecting part (Fig 1A); the regulating band has a first end (annotated Fig 1A, G) and a second end (annotated Fig 1A, H), the first end is attached to the first connecting part (Fig 1A), and the second end passes through the first groove of the fixed buckle and is attached to the movable buckle (annotated Fig 1A);
wherein the respective second groove (Fig 1A, I) of the fixed buckle (Fig 1A above, “F”) is sleeved with a connecting band (annotated Fig 1A, J) that is attached to the second connecting part (Fig 1A).
Perlman is silent to the band body is provided with a hairpin connecting part configured as a strip-shaped belt structure for connecting with hairpins of wigs.
Tillotson teaches a wig gridle (title and FIGs 1-4) including wig fixing headband (Fig 1, 10), hairpin connecting part (Fig 1, clip 16) configured as a strip-shaped belt structure for connecting with hairpins of wigs (clip 16 is capable to be a strip-shaped belt structure as shown in Fig 1 and Fig 4 for connecting with hairpins of wigs) so that the outer edge 19 of the wig cap 18 is pulled over the clip 16 and the band 10. The wig cap is thereby held in position by the clip 16 and by the friction of the band 10 against the wig cap where the two are in contact (col 2 lines 24-28).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the band body of Perlman’s wig fixing headband and incorporate hairpins connecting parts, as taught by Tillotson, so that the outer edge of the wig cap is pulled over the clip and the band. The wig cap is thereby held in position by the clip and by the friction of the band against the wig cap where the two are in contact.
Claim 5. Perlman and Tillotson teach the invention of claim 4. Perlman further teaches when the movable buckle slides in a direction close to the first connecting part (Fig 1A), the regulating band is folded (Fig 1A); and when the movable buckle slides in a direction away from the first connecting part, the regulating band extends (annotated Fig 1A and ¶0048 , the movable buckle “E” is slidable in a direction away from the first connecting part “A”, which extends the regulating band “D”).
Claim 11. Perlman discloses a wig fixing headband (abstract and Fig 1-4B), comprising a band body (Fig 1C, body of headband 110), wherein the band body comprises a first section (annotated Fig 1C, K) and a second section (annotated Fig 1C, L) which are separately arranged (Fig 1C, separately arranged by 116 and “C”), wherein the band body has a first connecting part (annotated Fig 1A above, A) and a second connecting part (annotated Fig 1A above, B), wherein the band body further comprises a regulating component (annotated Fig 1A above, C) for connecting the first section and the second section (Fig 1C), which is arranged and configured for adjusting a distance between the first section and the second section (annotated Fig 1A and 1C above, the regulating component “C” is capable to adjust the distance between the first section “K” and the second section “L”), wherein the regulating component comprises a foldable and extensible regulating band (annotated Fig 1Aabove, “D” is foldable and extensible during adjustment); and the band body further comprises a breathable section (mesh panel 116) arranged between and connecting the first section and the second section opposite the regulating component (Fig 1C); wherein the regulating component further comprises a movable buckle (annotated Fig 1A, E) and a fixed buckle (annotated Fig 1A, F), each of which are provided with a respective first groove (annotated Fig 1A, opening inside the buckle “E” and “F”) and a respective second groove (annotated Fig 1A, second opening inside movable buckle “E”);
wherein the regulating band (annotated Fig 1 above, D) sequentially passes through the respective first groove and the respective second groove of the movable buckle (Fig 1A) and is connected to the movable buckle in a sliding manner (Fig 1A), and the fixed buckle is attached to the second connecting part (Fig 1A); wherein the regulating band has a first end (annotated Fig 1A, G) and a second end (annotated Fig 1A, H), the first end is attached to the first connecting part (Fig 1A), and the second end passes through the respective first groove of the fixed buckle and is attached to the movable buckle (annotated Fig 1A);
wherein the respective second groove (Fig 1A, I) of the fixed buckle (Fig 1A above, “F”) is sleeved with a connecting band (annotated Fig 1A, J) that is attached to the second connecting part (Fig 1A).
Perlman is silent to wherein the band body is provided with a hairpin connecting part configured as a strip-shaped belt structure for connecting with hairpins of wigs.
Tillotson teaches a wig gridle (title and FIGs 1-4) including wig fixing headband (Fig 1, 10), hairpin connecting part (Fig 1, clip 16) configured as a strip-shaped belt structure for connecting with hairpins of wigs (clip 16 is capable to be a strip-shaped belt structure as shown in Fig 1 and Fig 4 for connecting with hairpins of wigs) so that the outer edge 19 of the wig cap 18 is pulled over the clip 16 and the band 10. The wig cap is thereby held in position by the clip 16 and by the friction of the band 10 against the wig cap where the two are in contact (col 2 lines 24-28).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the band body of Perlman’s wig fixing headband and incorporate hairpins connecting parts, as taught by Tillotson, so that the outer edge of the wig cap is pulled over the clip and the band. The wig cap is thereby held in position by the clip and by the friction of the band against the wig cap where the two are in contact.
Claim 15. Perlman and Tillotson teach the invention of claim 11. Perlman further discloses the regulating component (annotated Fig 1A, C) wherein when the regulating band is folded, the distance between the first section and the second section decreases (annotated Fig 1A and Fig 1C above and ¶0048, folding/ shortening the regulating band “D” decreases the distance between the first section “K” and the second section “L”), and when the regulating band is extended, the distance between the first section and the second section increases (annotated Fig 1A and Fig 1C above and ¶0048, lengthening the regulating band “D” increases the distance between the first section “K” and the second section “L”).
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US20260047630A1, hereinafter “Perlman”) in view of Tillotson (US 3474798 A, hereinafter “Tillotson”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Calix (US20220117340A1, hereinafter “Calix”).
Claim 7. Perlman and Tillotson teach the invention of claim 1, but silent to the band body is made of lace.
Calix teaches a wig grip including band body (Fig 1, 102) made of lace (¶0018) so that the elastomeric body 102 is fabricated from lace. The elasticity of the elastomeric body 102 enables a secure fit on the head of a user (¶0018), and to efficiently improve the breathability and comfort of the user’s wig fixing device in order to meet the user’s needs and preferences.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the material of the band body of the combination of Perlman and Tillotson wig fixing headband to be made of lace, as taught by Calix, to enable a secure fit on the head of a user, and to efficiently improve the breathability and comfort of the user’s wig fixing device in order to meet the user’s needs and preferences.
Claim 12. Perlman and Tillotson teach the invention of claim 11, but silent to the first section and the second section are made of lace.
Calix teaches a wig grip including band body (Fig 1, 102) with sections made of lace (¶0018) so
that the elastomeric body 102 is fabricated from alternating sections of woven lace and transparent lace. The elasticity of the elastomeric body 102 enables a secure fit on the head of a user (¶0018), and to efficiently improve the breathability and comfort of the user’s wig fixing device in order to meet the user’s needs and preferences.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the material of the first and second section of the band body of the combination of Perlman and Tillotson wig fixing headband to be made of lace, as taught by Calix, to enable a secure fit on the head of a user, and to efficiently improve the breathability and comfort of the user’s wig fixing device in order to meet the user’s needs and preferences.
Claims 8-9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US20260047630A1, hereinafter “Perlman”) in view of Tillotson (US 3474798 A, hereinafter “Tillotson”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen Minghong (CN205705546U, hereinafter “Minghong”).
Claim 8-9. Perlman and Tillotson teach the invention of claim 1, but silent to one side of the regulating band facing toward the band body is provided with an anti-slip strip; the anti-slip strip is made of silica gel.
Minghong teaches a band (Fig 1, 1 and Fig 4-5, 1’) including an anti-slip strip (Fig 2 and Page 3, highlighted 5th paragraph, strip 2 made of silica gel with flock layer 3) so that the adhesive layer 2 can be selected from a rubber material having a good adhesion ability, for example, silica gel. It should be particularly noted that the first surface 11 of the elastic band body 1 of the present invention is in contact with an object in practical applications, so that the flock layer 3 can provide frictional force to achieve the anti-slip effect (Page 3, highlighted 5th paragraph) to allow the user to achieve the anti-slip effect when using the elastic band (Page 2, highlighted 4th paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify to one side of the regulating band facing toward the band body of the combination of Perlman and Tillotson wig fixing device and incorporate the anti-slip strip made of silica gel, as taught by Minghong, to allow the user to achieve the anti-slip effect when using the elastic band.
Claim 16. Perlman and Tillotson teach the invention of claim 15, but silent to one side of the regulating band facing toward the band body is provided with an anti-slip strip.
Minghong teaches a band (Fig 1, 1 and Fig 4-5, 1’) including an anti-slip strip (Fig 2, strip 2 made of silica gel with flock layer 3) so that the adhesive layer 2 can be selected from a rubber material having a good adhesion ability, for example, silica gel, silica gel or silica gel and silica gel. It should be particularly noted that the first surface 11 of the elastic band body 1 of the present invention is in contact with an object in practical applications, so that the flock layer 3 can provide frictional force to achieve the anti-slip effect (Page 3, highlighted 5th paragraph) to allow the user to achieve the anti-slip effect when using the elastic band (Page 2, highlighted 4th paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify to one side of the regulating band facing toward the band body of the combination of Perlman and Tillotson wig fixing device and incorporate the anti-slip strip, as taught by Minghong, to allow the user to achieve the anti-slip effect when using the elastic band.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US20260047630A1, hereinafter “Perlman”) in view of Tillotson (US 3474798 A, hereinafter “Tillotson”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rossouw (US20210219642A1, hereinafter “Rossouw”).
Claim 13. Perlman and Tillotson teach the invention of claim 11. Perlman further teaches the breathable section (116) is a fan-shaped grid and is connected to the first section and the second section respectively (annotated Fig 1C above), but silent to the cloth material.
Rossouw teaches a hair piece (abstract and Fig 1-4) including a breathable section (Fig 1, 110) is a fan-shaped grid made of cloth material (¶0016, made of synthetic or natural fabrics or fibers) so that the base layer 110 may be constructed from various types of materials including synthetic or natural fabrics or fibers, etc. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the base layer 110 serves as attachment points for the hair filaments 105 (¶0016), to provide a natural look and minimize potential unwanted irritation or discomfort for the user.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the breathable section of the combination of Perlman and Tillotson wig fixing headband to be made of cloth, as taught by Rossouw’s hair piece, to serves as attachment points for the hair filaments, to provide a natural look and minimize potential unwanted irritation or discomfort for the user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed June 16, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 5, 7-9, 11-13 and 15-16 under 35 USC102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tillotson (US 3474798 A).
Regarding the Applicant remark and argument: Perlman has a filing date of July 23, 2025, which is after February 13, 2025, filing date of the instant application. The Office has not shown that the priority document of Pearlman provides the same disclosure. Accordingly, should this rejection be maintained, the Office is requested to show that the provisional application includes all the disclosure of Perlman relied upon by the Examiner to reject the claims.
In response: The Examiner notes that the provisional application includes all the disclosures of Perlman, and that the Applicant must specifically point out which limitation(s) the Applicant is alleging not to have support in the provisional application; See 37 CFR § 1.111.
Conclusion
Additional references were also reviewed during the examination of this application and listed for your reference in the notice of reference cited form.
/KARIM ASQIRIBA/Examiner, Art Unit 3772