DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, line 3: “the content user” lacks antecedent basis” and should read –a content user–.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 1042 ([0134]).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 706 (Figure 7).
The drawings are objected to because the text does not measure at least .32cm (1/8 inch) (see Figure 3). Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least .32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height. They should not be placed in the drawing so as to interfere with its comprehension. Therefore, they should not cross or mingle with the lines. They should not be placed upon hatched or shaded surfaces. When necessary, such as indicating a surface or cross section, a reference character may be underlined and a blank space may be left in the hatching or shading where the character occurs so that it appears distinct. See 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a content fragment unit configured to obtain, an author state recognition unit configured to generate, and a first output unit configured to create in claim 8; and a content receiving unit configured to receive content, a user communication unit configured to request, an input unit configured to obtain, and an authentication unit configured to authenticate in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 is recites the limitation "the biometrics vector" in line 1 and “the first state user vector” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tang et al. (“DeepMark: A Scalable and Robust Framework for DeepFake Video Detection” and Tang hereinafter).
As to claims 1, 8, and 17, Tang discloses a system and method for deepfake video detection, the system and method having:
obtaining a first author fragment of content by the content author (page 4, §2.4, lines 2-4; page 7, Algorithm 1, input);
generating a first state author vector from the first author fragment of content (page 7, Algorithm 1, output);
creating a first block of key information (features field and signature) based on the first author fragment of content (page 4, §3, line 6);
wherein the first block of key information comprises information of the first state author vector and a first digital signature (page 2, §1, lines 33-35; page 6, §3.2.2, lines 3-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang as applied to claim 1 above.
As to claim 2, Tang discloses:
obtaining a author fragment of content from the content author (page 4, §2.4, lines 2-4; page 7, Algorithm 1, input);
generating a state author vector from the author fragment of content (page 7, Algorithm 1, output);
creating a block of key information based on the author fragment of content (page 4, §3, line 6);
wherein the block of key information comprises information of the state author vector and a digital signature (page 2, §1, lines 33-35; page 6, §3.2.2, lines 3-5), but fails to explicitly disclose performing these steps for a second fragment (i.e. second instance). However, Tang discloses that performing methods for each frame (page 7, §3.2.3); therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the steps for a second instance.
As to claim 3, Tang discloses:
wherein the second author fragment of content is a subsequent fragment of the first author fragment of content, and wherein the first author fragment of content and the second author fragment of content are connected sequentially (page 4, §2.4, lines 2-3).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lu et al. (WO 2021/128846 A1 and Lu hereinafter).
As to claim 6, Tang fails to specifically disclose:
passing a pre-defined time of content that is transmitted continuously prior to obtaining the first author fragment of content.
Nonetheless, this feature is well known in the art and would have been an obvious modification of the teachings disclosed by Tang, as taught by Lu.
Lu discloses a system and method for electronic file control, the system and method having:
passing a pre-defined time of content that is transmitted continuously prior to obtaining the first author fragment of content (page 8, lines 28-30).
Given the teaching of Lu, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying the teachings of Tang with the teachings of Lu by obtaining a fragment after a period. Lu recites motivation by disclosing that frames are obtained from a real-time stream at a preset time interval in order to obtain a preset number of frames (page 8, lines 28-30). It is obvious that the teachings of Lu would have improved the teachings of Tang by obtaining a fragment of content after a pre-defined time in order to obtain a preset number of frames.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Holland et al. (WO 2023/033933 A1 and Holland hereinafter).
As to claim 7, Tang fails to specifically disclose:
providing, by the content author, biometrics vector data of the content author;
sending the biometrics vector data for verification and confirmation of the identity of the content author to the key center;
sending instructions for storing verified biometrics vector data of the content author in a biometrics vector database.
Nonetheless, these features are well known in the art and would have been an obvious modification of the teachings disclosed by Tang, as taught by Holland.
Holland discloses a system and method for extended reality control of smart devices, the system and method having:
providing, by the content author, biometrics vector data of the content author (0093, lines 10-11);
sending the biometrics vector data for verification and confirmation of the identity of the content author to the key center (0094, lines 1-8);
sending instructions for storing verified biometrics vector data of the content author in a biometrics vector database (0093, lines 6-7).
Given the teaching of Holland, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying the teachings of Tang with the teachings of Holland by confirming identity using a biometrics vector. Holland recites motivation by disclosing that using a biometrics vector limits control to only certain users (0093, lines 5-7). It is obvious that the teachings of Holland would have improved the teachings of Tang by using a biometrics vector to confirm identity in order to limit control to certain users.
Claim(s) 9, 13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Ruckriemen (WO 2020/002341 A1).
As to claims 9 and 16, Tang discloses:
receiving content of the content author by the content user (page 4, §2.4, lines 2-4; page 7, Algorithm 1, input);
requesting from a key center information of a first block of key information based on a first author fragment of content, wherein the first author fragment of content is associated with the content author (page 4, §3, line 6) and wherein the first block of key information comprises information of a first state author vector and a first digital signature (page 2, §1, lines 33-35; page 6, §3.2.2, lines 3-5).
Tang fails to specifically disclose:
obtaining a first user fragment of content, wherein the first user fragment of content corresponds to the first author fragment of content;
authenticating the content by checking the correctness of the first digital signature.
Nonetheless, these features are well known in the art and would have been an obvious modification of the teachings disclosed by Tang, as taught by Ruckriemen.
Ruckriemen discloses a system and method for tamper-proof issuing and storing of electronic certificates, the system and method having:
obtaining a first user fragment of content, wherein the first user fragment of content corresponds to the first author fragment of content (page 8, lines 27-30);
authenticating the content by checking the correctness of the first digital signature (page 8, lines 27-30).
Given the teaching of Ruckriemen, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying the teachings of Tang with the teachings of Ruckriemen by authenticating content using the signature. Ruckriemen recites motivation by disclosing that a signature is proof of authorization and ensures content in a data record is presented by an authorized author, thus ensuring an authentication (page 8, lines 22-30). It is obvious that the teachings of Ruckriemen would have improved the teachings of Tang by authenticating content using a signature in order to ensure the authentication.
As to claim 13, Tang discloses:
wherein the received content is fragmentized in a plurality of fragments prior to obtaining the first author fragment of content, wherein the first author fragment of content is one of the plurality of fragments (page 4, §2.4, lines 2-4).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Ruckriemen as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Holland.
As to claim 11, Tang in view of Ruckriemen fails to specifically disclose:
obtaining by the content user a first biometrics vector from the first user fragment of content; and comparing the first biometrics vector with biometrics vector data of the content author stored in a biometrics vectors database.
Nonetheless, these features are well known in the art and would have been an obvious modification of the teachings disclosed by Tang in view of Ruckriemen, as taught by Holland.
Holland discloses:
obtaining by the content user a first biometrics vector from the first user fragment of content; and comparing the first biometrics vector with biometrics vector data of the content author stored in a biometrics vectors database (0093, lines 10-11; 0094, lines 1-8).
Given the teaching of Holland, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying the teachings of Tang in view of Ruckriemen with the teachings of Holland by comparing biometrics vectors. Please refer to the motivation recited above with respect to claim 7 as to why it is obvious to apply the teachings of Holland to the teachings of Tang in view of Ruckriemen.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 10, 12, 14, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bekmambetov (WO 2023/195882 A2) discloses a system and method for distribution of media content.
Lee et al. (WO 2023/177013 A1) discloses a system and method for payment system using DID-based biometric authentication.
Xia et al. (CN 114826604 A) discloses a system and method for small program login verifying.
Zhuang et al. (CN 118629114 A) discloses a system and method for safety identification based on artificial intelligence.
Conclusion
/SARAH SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431