DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-20, drawn to a wig net cap, are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/28/2026.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
-Claim 15, line 3 recites, “carrying out quality inspection after product molding”. Paragraph [0047] of the specification only describes post-processing; however, product molding is not described.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, step 6 recites, “the hairnet”. Examiner recommends amending this line to, “the hairnet in combination”, for consistency with step 1.
Claim 8, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the assembled elastic net”. Examiner recommends amending this language to, “the elastic net in combination”.
Further claim 8 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1, step 10. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 12, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the arch edge”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinichi et al. (JP 2008163497 A; refer to provided translation), herein Shinichi, in view of Ostrom (US 3472246 A).
Regarding claim 1, Shinichi discloses a novel wig net cap sewing process (Figs.10-32) (refer to Paragraph [0056]), comprising the following steps:
Step 1, sewing a first hairnet (14) (refer to Paragraph [0060]; the non-stretchable net 14 forms the first base 46) and a second hairnet (47) to form a hairnet in combination (46) (refer to Paragraph [0060], Fig. 21; a 7 mm wide outer edge exposure prevention net 47 is attached to the first base 46; Fig. 21 shows this attachment means as a zig-zag stitch line);
Step 2, sewing a fixing band (24a+24b) and a hair band (28) (refer to Paragraph [0053], Figs. 22, 32; each of the adjusters 24a and 24b has a hook 27 made of synthetic resin or the like attached to the tip of an elastic rubber 26 wrapped in a strip of cloth 25, with Fig. 22 showing the attachment means as a single line stitch; an adjustment strip of fabric 28 for fixing the hook 27 is sewn in so as to be separated by a hook sewing line 29);
Step 3, combining and sewing a first elastic net (15a), a second elastic net (15b) and a third elastic net (15c) in combination to form an elastic net (54) (refer to Paragraph [0064], Fig. 19; the left and right temporal nets 51a and 51b, are sewn together with the occipital net 51c, to create the second base 54);
Step 4, fixing the hair band (28) on an extension net (15d) (refer to Paragraph [0073]; an adjustment strip of fabric 28 is sewn onto the nape piece 15d of the wig base 11);
Step 5, sewing the extension net (15d), the fixing band (24a+24b) and the elastic net (54 = 15a+15b+15c) in combination (refer to Paragraph [0067], Fig. 26; stitching is performed from the nape end 56a of the left adjuster 24a to the nape end 56b of the right adjuster 24b);
Step 6, marking an upper position (42) in the middle of the hairnet (46) (refer to Paragraph [0060], Fig. 13; a joint 16 is made by applying a polyurethane solution to the joint line 42, thus “marking” the predetermined position);
Step 7, sewing the hairnet (46) and the elastic net (54) in combination (refer to Paragraph [0065], Fig. 19; the seventh step involves sewing together the first base 46, and the second base 54);
Step 8, trimming the hairnet (46) after sewing (refer to Paragraph [0067], Fig. 26; the unnecessary portion 15e of the wig base 11 on the hair implantation side is removed);
Step 9, sewing a selvage (refer to annotated Fig. 21 below) along a shape path (refer to Paragraph [0065], Figs. 20(a), 20(b), 24; Examiner understands a selvage as an edge of the netting (Merriam-Webster); the side edge (selvage) of the second base 54 is folded back from the sewing line onto the second base 54 and sewn in place at the predetermined position forming the finished joint 42);
Step 10, trimming the elastic net (54) after sewing (refer to Paragraph [0064], Figs. 20(a)-20(b); the unnecessary netting on the surface (hair implantation side) is removed); and
Step 11, post-processing (refer to Paragraph [0074]; the wig base 11, which has been processed up to the 15th step, is reshaped, dried and corrected for distortions or wrinkles).
Shinichi does not explicitly disclose marking an upper position in Step 6 using a brush.
Ostrom discloses a method of producing a hair piece in the same field of endeavor (refer to col. 1, lines 44-55). The method includes the step of coating the wig foundation with a suitable elastomeric resin, analogous to polyurethane, using a brush (refer to col. 4, lines 18-24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the marking with polyurethane (refer to Paragraph [0060], Fig. 13) as taught by Shinichi with using a brush as taught by Ostrom, as this is a known method of applying resin materials to wig bases (refer to col. 4, lines 18-24).
Regarding claim 6, Shinichi and Ostrom disclose the novel wig net cap sewing process according to claim 1; Shinichi further discloses wherein the step 3 further comprises:
Step 3.1, cutting the first elastic net (51a/15a), the second elastic net (51b/15b) and the third elastic net (51c/15c) in advance for standby according to a radian of a mold made based on a human head circumference (refer to Paragraphs [0057], [0061]-[0062], Figs. 15-16; the stretchable net with a thread is cut to a size approximately 10 cm larger than the left and right temporal pieces 15a and 15b indicated on the manufacturing line 50; a similar elastic net used for the left and right temporal pieces 15a and 15b is cut to a size approximately 5 cm larger than the occipital piece 15c on the production line; the production/manufacturing lines are marked on a plaster mold 40 of the wig wearer’s head shape).
Regarding claim 7, Shinichi and Ostrom disclose the novel wig net cap sewing process according to claim 1; Shinichi further discloses wherein the step 3 further comprises:
Step 3.2, sewing edges of the first elastic net (15a), the second elastic net (15b) and the third elastic net (15c) in combination to obtain the elastic net (54) (refer to Paragraph [0064], Figs. 17-19; the left and right temporal nets 51a and 51b, are sewn together along folded edges 55 using a zigzag stitch 23 along the running stitch with the occipital net 51c, to create the second base 54).
Regarding claim 8, Shinichi and Ostrom disclose the novel wig net cap sewing process according to claim 1; Shinichi further discloses wherein the Step 5 further comprises: Step 5.1, trimming edges of the assembled elastic net (54) (refer to Paragraph [0067], Figs. 26-27; the unnecessary portion 15e of the wig base 11 on the hair implantation side is removed).
Regarding claim 9, Shinichi and Ostrom disclose the novel wig net cap sewing process according to claim 1; Shinichi further discloses wherein the Step 5 further comprises:
Step 5.2, sewing the extension net (15d) and the fixing band (24a+24b) in combination with the elastic net (54 = 15a+15b+15c) (refer to Paragraph [0067], Fig. 26; stitching is performed from the nape end 56a of the left adjuster 24a to the nape end 56b of the right adjuster 24b), wherein during sewing, the hair band (28) and the fixing band (24a+24b) overlap and are sewn at least partially in an overlapping manner (refer to Paragraphs [0067], [0073], annotated Fig. 32 below; the adjustment strip 28 is sewn at the ends of the left and right adjusters 24a and 24b on the back side, overlapping the nape ends 56a, 56b of the adjusters 24a, 24b), and an overlapping part (56a, 56b) is sewn back and forth twice to strengthen fixation (refer to Paragraphs [0067], [0073], Figs. 27, annotated Fig. 32 below; the nape ends 56a, 56b are sewn a first time when attaching the nape base, and then sewn for a second time when attaching the adjustment strip 28).
Regarding claim 10, Shinichi and Ostrom disclose the novel wig net cap sewing process according to claim 1; Shinichi further discloses wherein the Step 7 further comprises:
Step 7.1, according to marks (42) made in Step 6, combining a middle point of the hairnet (46) and the elastic net (54) to be overlapped, and carrying out sewing after finishing (refer to Paragraph [0064], Figs. 20(a), 20(b); the side edge of the second base 54 is folded back from the sewing line onto the second base 54 and sewn in place at the predetermined position of the joint portion).
Regarding claim 11, Shinichi and Ostrom disclose the novel wig net cap sewing process according to claim 1; Shinichi further discloses wherein the Step 7 further comprises:
Step 7.2, aligning arc edges of the hairnet (46) and the elastic net (54), and sewing (refer to Paragraph [0065], Figs. 20(a), 20(b); the second base 54 is placed on top of the joint portion of the first base 46 and sewn in place).
Regarding claim 12, Shinichi and Ostrom disclose the novel wig net cap sewing process according to claim 1; Shinichi further discloses wherein the Step 7 further comprises:
Shinichi discloses sewing inward along the arc edge (refer to Paragraph [0065], Fig. 20(b); the side edge of the second base 54 is folded back from the sewing line onto the second base 54 and sewn in place at the predetermined position); however, Shinichi does not explicitly teach the predetermined position as 1cm inward, only teaching that the joint is approximately 6mm wide (refer to Paragraph [0060]).
Although this limitation is not explicitly disclosed, Shinichi further discloses that the lower nape stitching line (58b) is set 1 cm inward for reinforcement (refer to Paragraphs [0037], [0067]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the arc edge to be sewn 1 cm inward for greater reinforcement.
Regarding claim 13, Shinichi and Ostrom disclose the novel wig net cap sewing process according to claim 1; Shinichi further discloses wherein the Step 9 further comprises:
cutting the selvage (refer to Paragraph [0065], Figs. 19-21; the unnecessary netting on the edge of the surface (hair implantation side) is removed as shown in Figure 20(b) to obtain the wig base 11 shown in Figure 21)
Shinichi does not explicitly disclose carrying out secondary overlocking and sewing along a reciprocating path along the selvage (42).
Although this limitation is not explicitly disclosed, Shinichi teaches that a combination of a running stitch (22) and reciprocating zigzag stitch (23) is more effective for strength, where the running stitch (22) is the primary technique, and the zigzag stitch (23) is the secondary, overlocking technique (refer to Paragraphs [0033], [0050], Figs. 8(a), 8(b)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the selvage (42) to be sewn using a secondary overlocking technique and sewing along a reciprocating path as the combination of techniques is effective for higher bonding strength (refer to Paragraphs [0033], [0050]).
Regarding claim 15, Shinichi and Ostrom disclose the novel wig net cap sewing process according to claim 1; Shinichi further discloses wherein the Step 11 further comprises:
Step 11.2, carrying out quality inspection after product molding (refer to Paragraph [0074]; Examiner understands “product molding” as fixing the base to the mold of the wearer’s head; the wig base 11 is fixed to the head-shaped male mold 57 with the hair implantation side facing outwards, dried, and any distortions or wrinkles in the net from the manufacturing process are corrected).
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinichi et al. (JP 2008163497 A; refer to provided translation), herein Shinichi, in view of Ostrom (US 3472246 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Young (KR 101551115 B1; refer to provided translation).
Regarding claim 2, Shinichi and Ostrom disclose the novel wig net cap sewing process according to claim 1; Shinichi discloses:
Step 1.3, sewing the first hairnet (14) and the second hairnet (47) in combination (refer to Paragraph [0060], Fig. 21; a 7 mm wide outer edge exposure prevention net 47 is attached to the first base 46; Fig. 21 shows this attachment means as a zig-zag stitch line).
Shinichi does not explicitly disclose:
Step 1.1, cutting and clipping the first hairnet (14);
Ostrom further discloses cutting and clipping a hairnet (57) as part of producing the wig cap (refer to col. 4, lines 30-35; Examiner understands cutting and clipping as a single cutting process; a piece of silk vegetable netting 57 is cut to approximate shape before draping the vegetable netting over the assembly).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method (Figs.10-32) of Shinichi with cutting and clipping the first hairnet as taught by Ostrom in order to cut the netting to the approximate shape before draping the net on the mold of the user’s head (refer to col. 4, lines 30-35).
Neither Shinichi or Ostrom disclose using a laser cutting machine to obtain the second hairnet.
Young discloses a method for manufacturing a wig in the same field of endeavor (refer to Paragraph [0001] wherein a laser cutting machine is used to obtain a hairnet (6) (refer to Paragraph [0012]). A laser cutter is advantageous for producing even, clean cuts (refer to Paragraph [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Shinichi and Ostrom with using a laser cutting machine to obtain the second hairnet as taught by Young in order to produce even, clean cuts (refer to Paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 3, Shinichi, Ostrom disclose and Young disclose the novel wig net cap sewing process according to claim 2; Shinichi is silent to:
Step 1.1.1, obtaining the arc-shaped first hairnet (14) by an arching machine;
Step 1.1.2, cutting the arc-shaped first hairnet (14) by using a special cutting template; and
Step 1.1.3, folding the cut first hairnet (14) in half and cutting again.
Ostrom further discloses obtaining the arc-shaped hairnet (57) by an arching machine (refer to col. 3, lines 60-67, col. 4, lines 45-48; Examiner understands an “arching machine” as a machine which forms a material to the contours of the head; a vacuum forming machine is used to produce the foundation 46, with the foundation 46 then used to obtain the silk vegetable netting 57 formed to the convex curvature of the of the foundation 46; thus, the arc shaped vegetable netting 57 is obtained by a process using the vacuum forming or arching machine), cutting the arc-shaped first hairnet (57) by using a special cutting template (46) (refer to col. 4, lines 53-55; the netting is trimmed based on the foundation 46, which acts as a template).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method (Figs.10-32) of Shinichi with obtaining the arc-shaped hairnet (57) by an arching machine (refer to col. 3, lines 60-67, col. 4, lines 45-48) and cutting the arc-shaped first hairnet (57) by using a special cutting template (46) (refer to col. 4, lines 53-55) as taught by Ostrom in order to cut the netting to produces a netting that conforms to the user’s head (refer to col. 4, lines 40-43).
Ostrom does not explicitly teach folding and trimming a folded hairnet; however, Ostrom does teach folding a sheet material longitudinally and trimming the folded material for the advantage of perfect symmetry (refer to col. 2, lines 62-70). As Ostrom also teaches trimming the cut hairnet (57) as part of producing the wig cap (refer to col. 4, lines 53-55), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method of Shinichi and Ostrom with folding the cut first hairnet in half and cutting again as taught by Ostrom in order to obtain perfect symmetry (refer to col. 2, lines 62-70).
Regarding claim 4, Shinichi, Ostrom disclose and Young disclose the novel wig net cap sewing process according to claim 2; Shinichi further discloses wherein the Step 1.2 further comprises:
forming a hairline shape (refer to annotated Fig. 21 below) on the second hairnet (47) with a hairline drawing template (12a) (refer to Paragraph [0060]; a polyurethane solution is applied to a 5 mm wide area from the hairline 12a toward the crown of the head on the exposure prevention net 47, forming the hairline of the wig base as shown in Fig. 21).
Shinichi does not explicitly disclose drawing the hairline shape on the second hairnet (47).
Although this limitation is not explicitly disclosed, Shinichi does teach marking another portion of the wig base netting in order to visualize the location of the folding portions and stitches for the elastic nets (51a-51c) (refer to Paragraph [0064], Figs. 16-18; the production line 50 marked with a marker pen on the occipital head net 51c for the folded portion 55 to be sewn with a zigzag and running stitch). As the second hairnet (47) is secured to the first hairnet (14) by sewing (refer to annotated Fig. 21 from claim 1 above) in a similar manner to the joining of the elastic nets (51a-51c), as demonstrated in Figs. 16-18, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this same method of drawing “the joints” to mark the hairline shape on the second hairnet (47), in order to visualize the location of the stitches.
Shinichi further discloses implanting/hooking hair onto the wig base (11) (refer to Paragraph [0071]), but does not explicitly disclose hooking the hair according to the hairline shape.
Ostrom further discloses hooking the hair according to the hairline shape (60) to conceal the foundation piece (refer to col. 4, lines 59-60, 67-70).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of hooking hair as taught by Shinichi with hooking the hair according to the hairline shape (60) as taught by Ostrom in order to conceal the foundation piece (refer to col. 4, lines 59-60, 67-70).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinichi et al. (JP 2008163497 A; refer to provided translation), herein Shinichi, in view of Ostrom (US 3472246 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Simbi (NPL- YouTube Video, How to Make a 360 Wig Cap).
Regarding claim 5, Shinichi and Ostrom disclose the novel wig net cap sewing process according to claim 1; Shinichi further discloses wherein the Step 2 further comprises:
Step 2.1, sewing the hair band (28) and the fixing band (24a, 24b) (refer to Paragraph [0053], Figs. 22, 32; each of the adjusters 24a and 24b has a hook 27 made of synthetic resin or the like attached to the tip of an elastic rubber 26 wrapped in a strip of cloth 25, with Fig. 22 showing the attachment means as a single line stitch; an adjustment strip of fabric 28 for fixing the hook 27 is sewn in so as to be separated by a hook sewing line 29);
Neither Shinichi or Ostrom further disclose trimming edge threads of the hair band and the fixing band.
Simbi discloses a method of making 360 wig cap in the same field of endeavor, with specific steps of trimming the edge threads of the hair band and the fixing band to make sure the attachment points look seamless (refer to annotated figures below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Shinichi and Ostrom with trimming edge threads of the hair band and the fixing band as taught by Simbi in order to make sure the attachment points look seamless.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinichi et al. (JP 2008163497 A; refer to provided translation), herein Shinichi, in view of Ostrom (US 3472246 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Simbi (NPL- YouTube Video, How to Make a 360 Wig Cap).
Regarding claim 14, Shinichi and Ostrom disclose the novel wig net cap sewing process according to claim 1; Shinichi further discloses wherein the Step 11 further comprises:
Step 11.1, finishing burrs as a whole (refer to Paragraphs [0069], [0070]; of-note, Examiner understands “burrs” as raised edges (Dictionary.com); the unnecessary base that is outside the outer edge of the front of the head and nape piece 15d is cut off after forming the wig base 11).
Neither Shinichi or Ostrom disclose finishing thread ends as a whole.
Seymour discloses a method of making a wig cap in the same field of endeavor. After sewing the netting of the wig cap to form a completed structure, Seymour discloses trimming the thread ends over the entirety of the wig cap (refer to figures below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Shinichi and Ostrom with finishing thread ends as a whole as taught by Seymour, as this is a known method of post-processing wig caps in the art.
Conclusion
/ADRIENA J WEBB LYTTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772