Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Reference character 101a, shown in figure 1, is absent from the written description.
Reference character 1a, shown in figures 2 and 5, is absent from the written description.
Reference character w35, shown in figure 10A, is absent from the written description.
Reference character 55f, shown in figure 9, is absent from the written description.
Reference character 60, shown in figures 2-9, is absent from the written description.
Reference character 61, shown in figures 2-9, is absent from the written description.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 of this application is patentably indistinct from claim 3 of Application No. 19047371. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons provided in the table below.
Application 19/052,446
Application 19/047,371
Claim 1:
A lower vehicle-body structure of a vehicle, the lower vehicle-body structure comprising:
a frame including a closed cross-section portion extending in a front-rear direction on a vehicle-width-direction outer side of a floor panel; and
a suspension housing provided on the frame and supporting a suspension, wherein the suspension housing includes a damper mounting surface portion extending along an upper surface of the frame, and
a peripheral wall extending downward from a peripheral edge of the damper mounting surface portion,
a vehicle-width-direction inner side of the frame has an inner flange portion to which the floor panel is fixed, and
the lower vehicle-body structure further comprises a connecting surface portion provided inward of the peripheral wall in a vehicle width direction, the connecting surface portion connecting a vehicle-width-direction inner part of the peripheral wall with the inner flange portion such that the connecting surface portion extends downward toward the vehicle-width-direction inner side of the frame.
Claim 1:
A lower vehicle-body structure of a vehicle, the lower vehicle-body structure comprising:
a frame that including a closed cross-section portion extending in a front-rear direction on a vehicle-width-direction outer side of a floor panel; and
a suspension housing provided on the frame and supporting a suspension, wherein the suspension housing includes a damper mounting surface portion extending along an upper surface of the frame, and a peripheral wall extending downward from a peripheral edge of the damper mounting surface portion,
at a part of the frame adjacent to a vehicle-width-direction inner side of the suspension housing, the frame includes a narrow width portion in which a dimension in a vehicle width direction of the closed cross-section portion is reduced compared with a part of the frame adjacent to the suspension housing in the front-rear direction,
the lower vehicle-body structure comprises a cross member provided inward of the frame in the vehicle width direction, the cross member extending in the vehicle width direction and being disposed at a same front-rear position as the suspension housing, and
a load transmission portion is provided to the narrow width portion, the load transmission portion connecting the suspension housing with the cross member in such a way as to allow transmission of an input load from the suspension housing to the cross member, the input load being input from the suspension.
Claim 3:
The lower vehicle-body structure of a vehicle according to claim 1, wherein a vehicle-width-direction inner side of the frame has an inner flange portion to which the floor panel is fixed, the load transmission portion includes a connecting surface portion that connects a vehicle-width-direction inner part of the peripheral wall with the inner flange portion such that the connecting surface portion extends downward toward a vehicle-width-direction inner side, and the floor panel is provided in such a way as to linearly extend in the vehicle width direction at a height position of a first inner fixation portion at whichthe connecting surface portion is fixed to the inner flange portion, the floor panel , in cooperation withthe cross member forms a closed cross-section portion extending in the vehicle width direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 states that “the lower vehicle-body structure further comprises a connecting surface portion provided inward of the peripheral wall in a vehicle width direction, the connecting surface portion connecting a vehicle-width-direction inner part of the peripheral wall with the inner flange portion such that the connecting surface portion extends downward toward the vehicle-width-direction inner side of the frame,” however, the written description fails to sufficiently detail which component in the drawings this claim is directed to. For the purposes of compact prosecution, “connecting surface portion” is construed to be what is shown in the drawings as component 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuoka et al. (JP 2011168121 A).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuoka teaches “A lower vehicle-body structure of a vehicle, the lower vehicle-body structure comprising:
a frame including a closed cross-section portion extending in a front-rear direction on a vehicle-width-direction outer side of a floor panel (see Matsuoka, paragraph 0022); and
a suspension housing provided on the frame and supporting a suspension, wherein the suspension housing includes a damper mounting surface portion extending along an upper surface of the frame (see Matsuoka, paragraph 0026), and
a peripheral wall extending downward from a peripheral edge of the damper mounting surface portion (wheel house inner extends down from damper attachment, see Matsuoka, paragraph 0030),
a vehicle-width-direction inner side of the frame has an inner flange portion to which the floor panel is fixed (see Matsuoka, paragraph 0033), and
the lower vehicle-body structure further comprises a connecting surface portion provided inward of the peripheral wall in a vehicle width direction, the connecting surface portion connecting a vehicle-width-direction inner part of the peripheral wall with the inner flange portion such that the connecting surface portion extends downward toward the vehicle-width-direction inner side of the frame (see Matsuoka, paragraph 0031).”
Regarding claim 2, Matsuoka teaches “The lower vehicle-body structure of a vehicle according to claim 1,
wherein an opening portion is formed in the damper mounting surface portion and has a front-rear dimension (see Matsuoka, Figure 1, Annotation Set 1), and
the connecting surface portion is positioned within the front-rear dimension of the opening portion in the front-rear direction (see Matsuoka, Figure 1).”
Matsuoka, Figure 1, Annotation Set 1
Regarding claim 3, Matsuoka teaches “The lower vehicle-body structure of a vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the connecting surface portion is fixed at a position higher than an intermediate position of the peripheral wall in a height direction of the vehicle (see Matsuoka, Figure 4, Annotation Set 1).”
Matsuoka, Figure 4, Annotation Set 1
Regarding claim 5, Matsuoka teaches “The lower vehicle-body structure of a vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the connecting surface portion is linearly formed in the vehicle width direction (see Matsuoka, Figure 4, Annotation Set 2).”
Matsuoka, Figure 4, Annotation Set 2
Regarding claim 6, Matsuoka teaches “The lower vehicle-body structure of a vehicle according to claim 1,
wherein a joint member is provided in the closed cross-section portion of the frame and is disposed inward of the peripheral wall in the vehicle width direction, the joint member having a U shape that is open downward in cross section in the front-rear direction (see Matsuoka, Figure 4, Annotation Set 3), and
the connecting surface portion is formed by an upper wall of the joint member (see Matsuoka, Figure 4, Annotation Set 3).”
Matsuoka, Figure 4, Annotation Set 3
Regarding claim 7, Matsuoka teaches “The lower vehicle-body structure of a vehicle according to claim 1, further comprising:
another frame provided on an opposite side of the lower vehicle-body structure in a vehicle-width direction from the frame (see Matsuoka, Figure 2, Annotation Set 1);
a cross member extending in the vehicle width direction, wherein the cross member connecting the frames with each other (see Matsuoka, Figure 2, Annotation Set 1),
the damper mounting surface portion has a front-rear dimension (see Matsuoka, Figure 2, Annotation Set 1),
the cross member is positioned within the front-rear dimension of the damper mounting surface portion in the front-rear direction (see Matsuoka, Figure 2, Annotation Set 1).”
Matsuoka, Figure 2, Annotation Set 1
Regarding claim 8, Matsuoka teaches “The lower vehicle-body structure of a vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the frame includes a frame front portion and a frame rear portion (see Matsuoka, Figure 1, Annotation Set 2), and the connecting surface portion is fixed to a coupled part at which the frame front portion and the frame rear portion are superimposed on each other (see Matsuoka, Figure 1, Annotation Set 2).”
Matsuoka, Figure 1, Annotation Set 2
Regarding claim 10, Matsuoka teaches “The lower vehicle-body structure of a vehicle according to claim 3, wherein the intermediate position is a substantially middle position in the height direction (see Matsuoka, Figure 4, Annotation Set 1).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka et al. (JP 2011168121 A).
Regarding claim 9, Matsuoka teaches all the limitations of the claims as applied to claim 1 above, except for “wherein the suspension housing is made of sheet metal.”
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the hollow vehicle frame from welded sheet metal, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka et al. (JP 2011168121 A), in view of Noboru et al. (JP 2010018087 A).
Regarding claim 4, Matsuoka teaches “The lower vehicle-body structure of a vehicle according to claim 1,
wherein the connecting surface portion includes an outer fixation portion fixed to the peripheral wall, and an inner fixation portion fixed to the frame (see Matsuoka, Figure 4, Annotation Set 4).”
Matsuoka does not teach “the outer fixation portion and the inner fixation portion at least partially overlap with each other in the front-rear direction.”
However, Noboru teaches “the outer fixation portion and the inner fixation portion at least partially overlap with each other in the front-rear direction (see Noboru, Figure 1, Annotation Set 1).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a vertically aligned set of fixation portions as taught by Noboru, into the lower vehicle body and damper support frame as taught by Matsuoka, in order to minimize the length of material required to connect the upper and lower fixation portions, therefore reducing material costs and production times, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Matsuoka, Figure 4, Annotation Set 4
Noboru, Figure 1, Annotation Set 1
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references disclose vehicle lower body frames and suspension housings.
Okamoto et al. (JP 2014008915 A)
Maruyama et al. (JP 6406321 B2)
/JRC/
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612
September 10, 2026