DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2024-073923, filed on 04/30/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heichal et al. (US Patent Publication 2011/0297470).
a. Regarding claim 1, Heichal discloses a battery support structure 108 comprising restraint member 1016, 1018 that restrains battery 104 in a state of battery 104 being drawn [FIG. 10 shows two latch mechanisms 1016, 1018 attached to each torque bar 1012, 1014. These latches 1016, 1018 hold the battery pack 104 at least partially inside the battery bay 108 during normal operation of the vehicle [0095]] so that when battery 104 is drawn with a predetermined force battery 104 receives a reaction force against the predetermined force [compression springs 1806 are configured to generate a force between the frame 118 battery bay 108 and the battery pack 104 when the battery pack 104 is held and locked at least partially within the cavity 302 of the battery bay 108. Thus, the springs 1806 absorb vertical motion (Y-axis motion) of the battery pack 104 and bay 108 during driving or other operations. Also, the compression springs 1806 help maintain the latches 1920 in contact with the strikers 1924 on the battery locked position, and also help expel the battery 104 from the battery bay 108 when the locks are unlocked. FIG. 18 shows compression springs 1806 on either side of each latch 1920. Matching compression springs 1806 on either side of the latches balance each other such that the resulting force on the battery is substantially in a vertical (Y-axis) direction only [0112]].
b. Regarding claim 2, Heichal discloses the battery support structure according to claim 1, wherein restraint member 1016, 1018 [locking of the battery pack 104 into the battery bay 108 by means of the latch mechanisms 1016, 1018 in the transmission assembly 1000, described in FIGS. 10 and 19 [0090]; FIG. 10 shows two latch mechanisms 1016, 1018 attached to each torque bar 1012, 1014. These latches 1016, 1018 hold the battery pack 104 at least partially inside the battery bay 108 during normal operation of the vehicle [0095]] is disposed to face both side positions of a location where connector 1022 of battery 104 is disposed [FIG. 10 is a perspective top side view of one embodiment of the battery pack 104 connected to the battery bay 108; This embodiment includes a battery electrical connector 1022 being on one side of the first portion 401 [0091]]. Fig. 10 shows connector 1022 located between the longitudinally spaced regions of first latch mechanisms 1016 and second latch mechanisms 1018. Thus, the restraint structure is disposed at positions on both sides of the location of battery connector 1022.
c. Regarding claim 3, Heichal discloses the battery support structure according to claim 2, further comprising first latch 1920 as the restraint member drawing battery 104 via a first striker 1924 disposed at one of the both side positions and second latch 1920 as the restraint member drawing battery 104 via a second striker 1924 [strikers 1924, which are firmly attached to the battery pack housing and configured to carry the entire weight of the battery pack 104, i.e., the battery pack can be suspended from the strikers 1924 when they are engaged with latches 1920 (FIG. 19A) on the battery bay 108 [0084]] disposed at another one of the both side positions [When the latches 1016, 1018 on either side of the battery bay 108 rotate away from each other, they release the corresponding strikers 1924 on the battery 104 [0123]; latches on either side of the battery bay 108 rotate towards one another to engage their respective strikers 1924 substantially simultaneously and lift them. Then the battery is secured into the battery bay 108 [0126]].
d. Regarding claim 4, Heichal discloses the battery support structure according to claim 3, wherein first latch 1920 turns between an unlock position at which first latch 1920 is detached from first striker 1924 and a lock position at which first latch 1920 is engaged with first striker 1924 and first latch 1920 is further turnable between the lock position and a drawing position at which battery 104 is drawn toward a side of the vehicle via first striker 1924 [strikers 1924, which are firmly attached to the battery pack housing and configured to carry the entire weight of the battery pack 104, i.e., the battery pack can be suspended from the strikers 1924 when they are engaged with latches 1920 (FIG. 19A) on the battery bay 108 [0084]] and second latch 1920 turns between an unlock position at which second latch 1920 is detached from second striker 1924 and a lock position at which second latch 1920 is engaged with second striker 1924 and second latch 1920 is further turnable between the lock position and a drawing position at which battery 104 is drawn toward the side of the vehicle via second striker 1924 [When the latches 1016, 1018 on either side of the battery bay 108 rotate away from each other, they release the corresponding strikers 1924 on the battery 104 [0123]; latches on either side of the battery bay 108 rotate towards one another to engage their respective strikers 1924 substantially simultaneously and lift them. Then the battery is secured into the battery bay 108 [0126]; FIGS. 19A-19C are side views of a latch mechanism at various positions [0055]].
e. Regarding claim 5, Heichal discloses the battery support structure according to claim 4, further comprising a link mechanism [FIG. 10 shows two latch mechanisms 1016, 1018 attached to each torque bar 1012, 1014. These latches 1016, 1018 hold the battery pack 104 at least partially inside the battery bay 108 during normal operation of the vehicle [0095]; lifting happens as follows, substantially simultaneously, the rotation of the second torque bar 1014 causes the latch mechanism 1018 coupled to the second torque bar 1014 to rotate in a direction opposite that of the latch mechanism 1016 coupled to the first torque bar 1012. As such, latches on either side of the battery bay 108 rotate towards one another to engage their respective strikers 1924 substantially simultaneously and lift them [0126]] for synchronizing an operation of first latch 1920 and an operation of second latch 1920 with each other [latches on either side of the battery bay 108 rotate towards one another to engage their respective strikers 1924 substantially simultaneously and lift them. Then the battery is secured into the battery bay 108 [0126]].
f. Regarding claim 6, Heichal discloses the battery support structure according to claim 5 wherein the link mechanism includes fixed link 1902 fixed to the vehicle [latch housing 1902 which is rigidly attached to the frame of the battery bay; input link 1904 rotates/pivots together with a torque bar 1012, 1014 around the first pivot point 1906 with respect to the stationary latch housing 1902 [0114]], first link 1910 including one end portion 1912 in a length direction of first link 1910 [a first rod end 1912 of a coupler link rod 1910 [0114]] and another end portion 1914 in the length direction of first link 1910, one end portion 1912 being turnably coupled (via input link 1904) to fixed link 1902, the other end portion 1914 being turnably coupled to first latch 1920 [coupler link rod 1910 has a second rod end 1914 remote from the first rod end 1912 that is pivotably coupled to a latch 1920 [0114]], second link 1910 including one end portion 1912 in a length direction of second link 1910 [a first rod end 1912 of a coupler link rod 1910 [0114]] and another end portion 1914 in the length direction of second link 1910, one end portion 1912 being turnably coupled (via input link 1904) to fixed link 1902, the other end portion 1914 being turnably coupled to second latch 1920 [coupler link rod 1910 has a second rod end 1914 remote from the first rod end 1912 that is pivotably coupled to a latch 1920 [0114]], and intermediate link 1012 [torque bar 1012, 1014 [0114]] coupling an intermediate portion in first link 1910 with an intermediate portion in second link 1910, the intermediate portion in first link 1910 being located between one end portion 1912 in the length direction of first link 1910 and the other end portion 1914 in the length direction of first link 1910, the intermediate portion in second link 1910 being located between one end portion 1912 in the length direction of second link 1910 and other end portion 1914 in the length direction of second link 1910 [input link 1904 rigidly coupled to a respective torque bar at first a pivot point 1906 such that the input link 1904 rotates/pivots together with a torque bar 1012, 1014 around the first pivot point 1906 with respect to the stationary latch housing 1902. The end of the input link 1904 remote from the torque bar is rotatably coupled at second pivot point 1908 to a first rod end 1912 of a coupler link rod 1910. The coupler link rod 1910 has a second rod end 1914 remote from the first rod end 1912 that is pivotably coupled to a latch 1920 [0114]; input link 1904 is driven/rotated, by means of the torque bar 1012, 1014 connected to it].
g. Regarding claim 7, Heichal discloses the battery support structure according to claim 6 further comprising actuator 1310 [electric drive motor 1310 [0125]] that operates each of the first and second latches 1920 via the link mechanism [drive motor 1310 rotates the miter gear set, which rotates the gear shafts, which rotate the worm gears, which rotate the torque bars; torque bar 1012, being coupled to the input link 1904, rotates the input link 1904, which actuates the coupler link rod 1910 such that the latch 1920 engages the striker 1924 [0125]; rotation of the first torque bar 1012 then causes at least one latch 1920 to rotate and disengage a striker 1924 on the battery 104 [0124]].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heichal et al. (US Patent Publication 2011/0297470) in view of Heichal (US Patent Publication 2011/0223459).
a. Regarding claim 8, Heichal ‘470 teaches the battery support structure according to claim 7 having actuator 1310 [electric drive motor 1310 [0125]], first link 1910, and second link 1910 [coupler link rod 1910 [0114]].
Heichal ‘470 does not specifically teach the actuator includes an output rod coupled to at least one of the first link and second links. Heichal ‘459 teaches actuator 2510 [latching unit 2400 includes a motor 2510 [0143]] includes output rod 2520 [by actuating the motor 2510 in a first direction, which rotates the shaft 2512, which in turn rotates the worm gear 2514. The worm gear 2514 rotates the gear 2516 about the pivot point 2518, which moves the push rod 2520, which in turn rotates the bell crank about the pivot point 2528, thereby releasing the latch 2420 from the striker 2430 [0154]] for the purpose of providing for the weight of the battery pack to be converted into a compression force along the output rod, thereby helping prevent the accidental release of the battery pack and so that only minimal loads are transferred from the battery pack to the drive components of the motor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuator/link mechanism taught by Heichal ‘470 to include the push rod taught by Heichal ‘459 as an actuator output rod coupled to at least one of the coupler link rods because doing so would have provided for the weight of the battery pack to be converted into a compression force along the output rod, thereby helping prevent the accidental release of the battery pack and so that only minimal loads are transferred from the battery pack to the drive components of the motor.
b. Regarding claim 9, Heichal ‘470 in view of Heichal ‘459 teaches (references to Heichal ‘470) the battery support structure according to claim 8 having intermediate link 1012 [input link 1904 is driven/rotated, by means of the torque bar 1012, 1014 connected to it].
Heichal ‘470 in view of Heichal ‘459 teaches (references to Heichal ‘459) the battery support structure according to claim 8 having output rod 2520 that is movable backward and forward [See Figs. 25A–25B; latching unit 2400 transitions from the engaged position (FIG. 25A) to the released position (FIG. 25B) by actuating the motor 2510 in a first direction, which rotates the shaft 2512, which in turn rotates the worm gear 2514; which moves the push rod 2520; thereby releasing the latch 2420 from the striker 2430 [0154]]. Heichal ‘470 in view of Heichal ‘459 does not specifically teach the output rod is movable backward and forward along a direction in which the intermediate link extends.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange output rod 2520 to move backward and forward along the direction in which intermediate link 1012 extends because such an arrangement would have predictably provided a compact linkage arrangement by permitting the actuator output rod and intermediate link to extend along a common direction, thereby facilitating packaging of the linkage mechanism within the limited space available in the vehicle battery bay.
c. Regarding claim 10, Heichal ‘470 in view of Heichal ‘459 teaches (references to Heichal ‘459) the battery support structure according to claim 8 wherein output rod 2520 is movable backward and forward [latching unit 2400 transitions from the engaged position (FIG. 25A) to the released position (FIG. 25B) by actuating the motor 2510 in a first direction, which rotates the shaft 2512, which in turn rotates the worm gear 2514; which moves the push rod 2520; thereby releasing the latch 2420 from the striker 2430 [0154]] in a direction orthogonal to a drawing direction in which battery 104 is drawn toward the side of the vehicle [at least two latches rotate towards one another to engage, lift, and lock the battery 104 at least partially within the cavity of the battery bay 108 [0140]; Figs. 25A–25B showing translational movement of push rod 2520 transverse to the battery lifting direction].
d. Regarding claim 11, Heichal ‘470 in view of Heichal ‘459 teaches the battery support structure according to claim 10. Heichal ‘470 further teaches when first latch 1920 turns between the unlock position and the lock position [FIGS. 19A-19C are side views of a latch mechanism at various positions [0055]; FIG. 19B shows an intermediate position where the input link 1904 has rotated such that the latch 1920 begins to engage the striker 1924 on the battery pack 104 and begins lifting the battery pack 104, at least slightly into the cavity of the battery bay 108 [0116]], the length direction of first link 1910 forms an acute angle with a direction of a tangent line passing through a position on a circumference concentric with turning center 1918 of first latch 1920 the position being a position of the other end portion 1914 in the length direction of first link 1910 [link rod 1910 has a second rod end 1914 remote from the first rod end 1912 that is pivotably coupled to a latch 1920 at a third pivot point 1918 [0114]], and when second latch 1920 turns between the unlock position and the lock position [FIGS. 19A-19C are side views of a latch mechanism at various positions [0055]; FIG. 19B shows an intermediate position where the input link 1904 has rotated such that the latch 1920 begins to engage the striker 1924 on the battery pack 104 and begins lifting the battery pack 104, at least slightly into the cavity of the battery bay 108 [0116]], the length direction of second link 1910 forms an acute angle with a direction of a tangent line passing through a position on a circumference concentric with turning center 1918 of the second latch, the position being a position of the other end portion in the length direction of the second link [link rod 1910 has a second rod end 1914 remote from the first rod end 1912 that is pivotably coupled to a latch 1920 at a third pivot point 1918 [0114]].
Examiner annotated Heichal '470 FIG.19B
e. Regarding claim 12, Heichal ‘470 in view of Heichal ‘459 teaches the battery support structure according to claim 11. Heichal ‘470 further teaches when the first latch turns to the drawing position [FIGS. 19A-19C are side views of a latch mechanism at various positions [0055]; As shown in FIG. 19C, when the input link 1904 is in a fully engaged position, striker 1924 is cradled in the hook shaped distal end 1928 of the latch 1920, and the input link 1904 and coupler link rod 1910 are in a geometric lock configuration [0117]] the length direction of first link 1910 is parallel to the direction of the tangent line passing through the position of the other end portion 1914 in the length direction of first link 1910 [link rod 1910 has a second rod end 1914 remote from the first rod end 1912 that is pivotably coupled to a latch 1920 at a third pivot point 1918 [0114]] on the circumference [circumference concentric with turning center 1918], and when the second latch turns to the drawing position [FIGS. 19A-19C are side views of a latch mechanism at various positions [0055]; As shown in FIG. 19C, when the input link 1904 is in a fully engaged position, striker 1924 is cradled in the hook shaped distal end 1928 of the latch 1920, and the input link 1904 and coupler link rod 1910 are in a geometric lock configuration [0117]] the length direction of second link 1910 is parallel to the direction of the tangent line passing through the position of the other end portion 1914 in the length direction of the second link on the circumference [circumference concentric with turning center 1918].
Examiner annotated Heichal '470 FIG. 19C
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ohgitani et al. (US 8,925,983) and Singh (US 4,365,681).
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available
to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more
information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about
filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC)
at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/J. R. L./
Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612